TOP

Reviews for US Navy Issue Mil Spec Type G-1 Jacket

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this jacket again for sure

  • By John from Mosinee WI USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: Perfect fit after second try. My mistake forgot that leather jackets run bit tighter then regular jackets.
  • Cons:
  • Review: It was just like the one I had back in high school. Love it. Couldn't be happier with it. The customer service was great working with me after first try ordering wrong size and needing to return it. Would work with my pilot store again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 24 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice jacket

  • By Joe from Cambridge MA USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: High quality; comfortable once worn a bit and "broken in." Very good value for price.
  • Cons: Mouton collar can rub against neck a bit
  • Review: A bit snug; recommend ordering 1-2 sizes larger than your suit size if plan to wear over a sweater.

    Relatively warm in "shoulder season" but no fleece lining so not warm below about 30 degrees unless a thick sweater is worn under it.

    Mouton collar can rub against your neck if jacket zipped all the way up. Can fix this by unzipping a bit.

    Leather and construction of jacket very high and durable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product, great service and worth the price.

  • By John (VP-47) from Michigan on Tuesday, May 08, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: I can't find any
  • Review: I have wanted to replace my G-1 ever since someone turned it in when I was Med-evaced from the pacific in early 68. Someone was nice enough to cut off my patches and put them with my personal belongings and they have spent the last 44 years waiting for a proper home, and it arrived today.

    The jacket was everything I had hoped it would be. The look, the color, the weight, the feel and even the smell are as I remember. When I put it on and closed my eyes, I felt that there must be a Lockheed P-3 Orion waiting on the flight line for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I felt as though I were back in the submarine NAVY!

  • By Dr. Joseph from Shelby MT USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Authenticity!
  • Cons: None, from my perspective!
  • Review: The quality of this jacket is superb, and I especially like that the collar is real lamb's wool shearling mouton fur rather than the Mil Spec acrylic currently being used. I followed the sizing recommendations for this jacket and ordered the next size up, which turned out to be a great fit, especially accommodating a heavy sweater. The "official" NAVY jacket did not have hand-warmer side pockets, so I was glad to see that the authenticity was maintained by not having them. If those pockets are important to someone, then there's another similar jacket that can be ordered. If a person is looking for a "warm" jacket, then there are others that would be more appropriate than this one, unless a heavy sweater is worn underneath. The other "authentic" touches that I appreciated were the loop for hanging the jacket (It wasn't attached to the leather, either, in the original.), and the "USN" stamped with small holes in the flap behind the zipper. Once again, if one is interested in a jacket that's "other than authentic", there are other models offered that would better-serve a person. I wanted "authenticity", as much as possible! Thank you...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Incredible quality; amazing jacket!

  • By DMC from UT USA on Monday, April 11, 2016
  • Pros: Incredible quality, authenticity, and awesome customer service
  • Cons: None. I would buy it again.
  • Review: After reviewing several of these jackets, I settled on this jacket because of the incredible reviews, and I was not disappointed. The leather is such high quality and the jacket is the most authentic replica I have ever seen - including the stenciled 'USN' on the lapel. It fits well; if you are long-torsoed a long would be good, but these G-1s are supposed to hit right at waist, so unless you typically buy long or want a less traditional fit (which I think looks odd) I would get a regular. The return process when I bought a long and didn't need it was easy. Incredible jacket!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Absolutely wonderful jacket!

  • By Crystal from Charlotte NC USA on Monday, March 27, 2017
  • Pros: Well made, soft, very stylish
  • Cons: none!
  • Review: The leather is softer than glove leather. Extremely well made and warm. I'm getting plenty of compliments and I just love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like my original issue Flight Jacket

  • By A Customer from Ocean Park WA USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Authentic in all respects, down to the smell.
  • Cons: Sizes run small. I had to order the next larger size. But the store had warned of this. Return process was easy.
  • Review: I ordered this jacket because my original - issued to me during my first months of flight training in Pensacola 50 years ago - had somehow shrunk over the years. ��
    The new one is hard to tell from the original - near perfect in every regard (materials, workmanship. And construction) down to the "USN" on the zipper flap.
    I had all of my service & squadron patches transferred from my old jacket, and am now ready for my next reunion!Authe
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Not only issued to pilots!

  • By Gary Roberts-USS Yorktown COD crew 767. from Littleton co. on Monday, November 12, 2018
  • Pros: Have it every where you go..
  • Cons: Don’t take your eyes off it , or you may lose it.
  • Review: More than met expectations.As a navy COD crew member, I wore mine 365 days—winter and summer. Any weather!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Worth the Price and More

  • By A Customer from Wind Gap, PA on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
  • Pros: Leather Smell, Great Collar, Tough Zipper
  • Cons: Every so often wished it had hand warmer pockets
  • Review: Have worn my jacket every day for the past 4 months and honestly looks as good as it did the day I got it, no wear evident. Quality construction and material. I was hesitant to spend this much and looked at cheaper alternatives. Returned them all and am glad I did. Did order a size larger as suggested and it fits me perfect with a heavy sweater under and I am happy with the fit without a sweater. I could not recommend a product more highly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than the original

  • By "Mrs. Maj" from Bloomington IL USA on Monday, December 30, 2013
  • Pros: Original specs, quality of leather, fit, price/value
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My husband was a Marine A-4 pilot in the early 70's. His original issued leather flight jacket in 1970 was a size 40. It is in great condition still, but too tight to wear zipped up. He says The new G-1 jacket (size 42) is better than the original and identical to the specs on his original. The quality of the leather is even better, although a little darker. The fit is perfect for him (5'8" and 150 lbs). He wears it everywhere.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket!

  • By Phil from Mountain Ranch CA USA on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
  • Pros: Very good quality.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I don't fly now, but I love the jacket. It is a nostalgia thing for me. Other than being brand new and smelling good, this jacket is just like my old one I wore in the Navy in the early 1960s.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The genuine article - the perfect jacket

  • By A Customer from Ireland on Sunday, September 27, 2020
  • Pros: If you want THE iconic jacket this is it.
  • Cons: Can’t detach the collar, but that’s part of the authenticity so I am fine with that.
  • Review: Exceeds my expectations, looks and feels amazing, perfect fit, super comfortable. I am 85kg & 6ft went with 42, it’s spot on. Profile looks great. Fast delivery.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just Like Dad Wore

  • By Richard from Eldridge IA USA on Wednesday, February 17, 2021
  • Pros: Goatskin leather will last years.
  • Cons: Runs small so size up.
  • Review: This is the same jacket my father wore while serving in the Navy for over 20 years as a Naval Aviator. Great quality, and runs on the small side so order up one size if you plan on wearing a shirt or other undergarment. Always a conversation starter, especially with my fathers squadron patches on the jacket!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

FANTASTIC SERVICE, FANTASTIC PRODUCT!

  • By Jay Krumholtz from Medway OH USA on Wednesday, March 22, 2017
  • Pros: It's form fitting. It will make you look good if you are fit.
  • Cons: It,s form fitting. It will make you look bad if you are not fit. Fortunately I have just dropped 25 pounds.
  • Review: I initially ordered an A-2 jacket. It was a bit oversized for me, I measure as a 43 chest so I rounded up on my order. I returned the A-2 jacket with no problem. I then saw that the Navy G-1 jacket was available so I ordered it. Fantastic! it was identical to the one I was issued while serving with VP16 in Jax Fla.in 1971. The customer service was on the job. She contacted me to verify my size selection, since I had changed it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Absolutely satisfied.

  • By JOSEPH from San Diego CA USA on Thursday, March 01, 2018
  • Pros: High quality materials and specifications.
  • Cons: None noted.
  • Review: This product is obviously made exactly to government specs with heavy duty materials, just like the government requires. It is EXACTLY like my first G-1 flight jacket that I got in the Navy in 1971, which wore out (and was always a little too small--I got this new one in size 44 instead of size 42). Their customer service was excellent, too. I initially ordered a size 46 and needed to exchange it for the size 44, which is perfect for me. Even the packaging, a pet peeve of mine with some online goods, was excellent. As soon as I opened the package, I smelled the thick goat leather and lambs wool collar, just as I had 47 years ago with my first G-1 flight jacket. I took the new one to my tailor and got my old name tag and some of my ships' patches sewn on, and have received several compliments since.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Top Notch

  • By Martha from Strafford MO USA on Thursday, January 28, 2016
  • Review: 5 star product and customer service! My husband is very pleased with this jacket, both with the workmanship and details. An added plus is that he looks thinner in it! I ignored comments of other purchasers and ordered his regular size, so it had to be returned for the next larger size. The exchange was very prompt and seamless. Love this company and will order other products.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Old Days

  • By Ron from Williston Park NY USA on Friday, November 18, 2016
  • Review: An accurate replacement of the flight jacket I was issued in 1961. Glad to see they haven't broken the mold.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Exactly what I wanted!

  • By JJ from Coppell, Texas on Monday, January 11, 2016
  • Pros: Exactly as described, no surprises!
  • Cons: Absolutely none.
  • Review: After chatting with the girl on your staff, I ordered a 52 L jacket. It arrived on Christmas Eve. Everything is perfect. The leather is a little darker than I remember but that doesn't matter, I am thrilled. I haven't seen my old jacket in years. One of the boys got off with it and he is welcome to it, wouldn't fit now in any event. I have worn it everyday since I got it. I even drove home from OKC wearing it. I haven't been able to stand the restriction of wearing a jacket while driving in years. But it is so comfortable and I had forgotten how well a properly made jacket feels when you move. No pulling or stretching, it is great. Thanks again, I couldn't be happier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Nice

  • By Michael from Acworth GA USA on Tuesday, October 25, 2016
  • Pros: Great
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It compares to my original which my children wear do use the sizing chart and YOU should not be disappointed I am getting wonderful compliments about the jacket it's nice to wear ONE again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, March 24, 2021
  • Review: I am 5'7 and 180lbs. I have a 40 inch chest and I bought the large because I figured I would use a sweater or maybe even sneak in a cardigan underneath. The leather has a true aroma. When I tried it on, wearing a light sweater, it fit perfectly. I even liked the mouton color!

    The only drawbacks for this particular model were that I could not take the mouton off and there were no side pockets. Where I live, the mouton is a bit too much for everyday wear and the side pockets are necessary if you are not wearing gloves. These two things I mention have nothing to do with the workmanship, the quality of the materials, or the customer service. It's just a personal preference.

    So, I returned this beauty and opted for the lambskin G-1 flight jackets. It has a removable mouton (although the color is different) and the side pockets. Can't wait for it to get here.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent replacement!

  • By John from Carmel IN USA on Thursday, February 18, 2021
  • Pros: Quality construction with quality materials.
  • Cons: None. Maybe pricy but then again, you get what you pay for.
  • Review: I bought this to replace identical jack stolen from me in 1968 in Newport, RI. This jacket is identical in every way. It exceeded my expectations, more rugged zipper than original. The fit and finish is all I expected and more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My husband was thrilled

  • By Cheryl, wife of George from Ocklawaha FL USA on Thursday, June 25, 2015
  • Pros: Exactly as advertised. The collar is nicer than his original flight jacket had.
  • Cons: Pricey, but worth it
  • Review: This is a very nice jacket. I did order one size larger than his normal size, also ordered a Tall size, since he is a big guy with long arms. It fits perfectly, with room for heavy clothes underneath.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT !

  • By "Rack" from Kennewick WA USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: I had purchased a "G-1" from a competitor for less money. It was a sad, poorly fitting obvious imitation.
  • Cons: Gotta think here... Ah. The waist band on my 52 is a couple inches longer than replacements. Buying 2 and splicing them will be required.
  • Review: I've owned 2 "Original Issue" G-1's in the past, gifted to me by Naval Aviators. This jacket is the spittin image.
    I recently spent time with FA-18F pilots at a Naval flight operation in California. When they noted my new jacket, they commented that they did not know that the Navy supplied G-1's in size 52. I love this fine piece of work. Soft, supple, warm and I must say, a bit suave.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beautiful Jacket!

  • By Susan from El Cajon CA USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Well made, nice leather, fits great
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Bought this jacket as a Christmas gift for my husband. It is beautiful, well made, and he loves it. He tells people that it is even nicer than his original Navy flight jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Outstanding, Authentic USN Mil Spec G-1 Jacket

  • By Bob "Dog" Maddocks from Colorado on Wednesday, December 18, 2019
  • Pros: Leather Quality, Authentic Mil-Spec, Workmanship
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I'm a retired USMC aviator, and this jacket exceeded all my expectations as a replacement mil-spec G-1 jacket. Outstanding workmanship and quality. The goat skin is buttery smooth, better than the issue jackets I wore over a 28-year career flying fighters. Superb customer service. Highly recommended product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Brings back memories for my husband. He loves it.

  • By A Customer from Wyoming MN USA on Tuesday, January 07, 2020
  • Pros: Fit was great
  • Cons:
  • Review: Met expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

My husband could not be any happier

  • By A Customer from Strafford, MO on Tuesday, November 17, 2015
  • Review: Wow! You guys are really GOOD! I went against the suggestions to order a size up in the Navy G-1 jacket and had to return the first one for the next larger size. All of the necessary transactions were handled accurately and speedily. Your crew is the very best I've dealt with. My husband could not be any happier with this Navy inscribed jacket. He is a 30-yr veteran who retired in 1986 as CWO4 in GCA-ATC. He is also a pilot - just not a Navy one. (He also currently has 6 holes in one.) He is long overdue for a gift like this one. Thank you for all your help in getting him this treat!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than older "Issue" G-1 jackets

  • By AF Chief from Robins AFB GA USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Quality all around
  • Cons: They run short so order Long to hide the thong!
  • Review: Outstanding quality of materials and workmanship. This leather is better quality than the old Navy/USCG Issue jackets that were very grainy. Heavy duty zipper is same as I remember. These G-1s are way better than our USAF A-2 jackets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

exactly as described great product

  • By Jim from Kalamazoo MI USA on Monday, November 23, 2015
  • Pros: very high quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: First one was too large the return and customer service was great it was exchanged no problem the second try fit perfict
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well made jacket

  • By Kevin from Auburn IN USA on Monday, October 03, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: If you are a bit heavy or want to wear a sweater under the jacket get a size larger.
  • Review: Fits well - was especially impressed by the quality of the leather and overall construction.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Dubuque IA USA on Friday, February 17, 2017
  • Pros: I'm already getting complements from people i have never met.
  • Cons: I have no regrets whatsoever.
  • Review: Just like the navy G-1 jacket i wore in VP-30 in 1973, I absolutely love this jacket! Thank you!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beautiful

  • By Anne from Chicago IL USA on Tuesday, February 16, 2016
  • Review: Bought this for my husband to replace his grandfather's flight jacket. It is beautiful and wonderful quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid Choice

  • By A Customer from Butler NJ USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: Good fit, sturdy construction, quality materials.
  • Cons: Could come with spare buttons.
  • Review: I have owned several jackets of this type over the years and have recently found it impossible to find quality anywhere near where it used to be in almost every type of product.
    Here is one exception to the rule. Jacket is as advertised with sturdy constuction made from quality materials. Looks great and fits true to size. Sleeves were long enough on the regular version and I am 6'-2" tall.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy again

  • By Admiral from Mattawa WA USA on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
  • Pros: matches in looks the original flight jackets
  • Cons:
  • Review:

    Looks, feels and smells like flight jacket I was issued when my Naval Air Reserve Squadron VS-891 was activated in Oct 1961 when the Berlin Wall was going up.

    Only worn it a few times but love the feel of it.

    Fits well.

    Somebody should tell my wife flight jackets are made to have squadron patches sewn on them. The patches are a walking history of where and what you done in your career.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Delightfully surprised

  • By mary jane nash from alexandria, va. on Tuesday, July 31, 2007
  • Pros: User friendly website, quick delivery
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The jacket I purchased looked even better in person. I was especially pleased with the quality and workmanship of the jacket. The online description was right on and as suggested I ordered one size larger. It was a perfect fit for my dad who was just thrilled with his 85th birthday present. I matched it up against my husband's own U.S. Navy issued flight jacket and was amazed at how every detail was duplicated. Good job!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A perfect gift !

  • By Esther Louise from Columbia Falls MT USA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Pros: Will be proud to wear this jacket for years to come.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Jacket was a perfect fit. Glad I choose tall size as it fit much nicer. Quality of leather is soft and smells good. Quality workmanship on entire jacket. The lining is good material too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

First rate experience.

  • By Jack Howell on Wednesday, June 17, 2020
  • Pros: Matches my USMC issued flight jacket.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exactly what I wanted for a birthday gift for my brother.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beautiful Jacket

  • By Rick from Nekoosa WI USA on Tuesday, December 10, 2019
  • Pros: Quality of material and construction.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I read all the reviews and decided to go for it and make this my Christmas/birthday present to myself. Very well made, great product. After wearing it for awhile I think I would order a tall if I had to do it over. It creeps a little in the back. I’m just over 6’ so I’m right in the middle between regular and tall. However no regrets. It’s a great jacket. Follow the sizing recommendations!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Flight Jacket, ever!

  • By JD from Milton GA USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2019
  • Review: Love the jacket, however, I would recommend ordering one size larger than your normal size.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Jacket, Just like my original

  • By A Customer from New Jersey on Saturday, October 12, 2013
  • Pros: Perfect in every way
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My wife purchased this for my 66th birthday, had my original patches sown on, added my air group patch. Embroidered my air station and Marine Air Group 26 in gold script above and under the group patch on the back, Perfect fit. Best present ever!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A terrific jacket

  • By Michael M. from Herndon VA USA on Monday, June 03, 2013
  • Pros: A very fine jacket, very well made and good looking.
  • Cons: Nothing that I could see.
  • Review: The jacket is everything I expected, and a lot cheaper than buying it from Cockpit. It is roomy and comfortable, and very good looking. I am very happy I bought it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product

  • By Anthony from Huntingtown MD USA on Monday, March 24, 2008
  • Pros: Quality leather
  • Cons: minor - zipper pull not issue version
  • Review: Nice fit and good substitute for my issued jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Chesapeake VA USA on Saturday, February 19, 2011
  • Pros: just like the one we were issued in the Navy
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very good jacket and just like the one I had in the Navy.Thank you for producing such a quality Product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm 23 years old again!

  • By Richard from Memphis TN USA on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Review: My old Navy flight jacket is 57 years old. Size 42. It fit great in 1952 and 1953. My new one, size 50, however, fits alot better today. I removed my squadron and carrier patches from the old one and I will have them sewn on my new one. The new one is the same as the great product that was issued to me as a Naval Aviator. A top product. Thanks for being there.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This jacket is the real McCoy

  • By SgtMaj. (ret) from Garden Grove CA USA on Thursday, May 19, 2011
  • Pros: It fits perfectly. The materials and workmanship are top quality.
  • Cons: If If you want a treasure map lining and a place to stuff your hands this is not for you.
  • Review: I was hesitant to spend $400 on a jacket without seeing it and trying it on. When I received this one and pulled it from the package my doubts vanished. It is the real thing. I feel qualified to judge having spent half of my thirty years in the Corps in aviation units.

    My issue jacket always seemed too short for my orangutan arms so I ordered a long. I have put my ID and squadron patch on with velcro. When they are removed the remaining velcro is barely visible on the dark leather and the jacket looks quite conservative.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comfort

  • By Richard from Palos Verdes Estates CA USA on Thursday, January 26, 2017
  • Pros: Leather, it breaths. Easy exchange.
  • Cons: Only mailing cost to return for larger size.
  • Review: I had to advance 2 sizes up from my Pensacola issued one. First was for comfort as advertised. Second was for 55 years shifting of weight and I am still a slimmer body shape than most older men. Regular 46 was long enough for 42 long, but I do not think longs existed in 1959. I like the embracing feel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding Product

  • By Daniel from Lago Vista TX USA on Friday, October 19, 2018
  • Review: Met Expectations.
    Jacket is quality made and right vintage look.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Manitowoc WI USA on Tuesday, November 06, 2018
  • Review: Great jacket, just like the one that one I was issued!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Quality.

  • By Ed from Greenbrier AR USA on Thursday, February 22, 2018
  • Pros: Great looking jacket, well made and fits perfect.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Excellent Jacket, well made in the USA! It fits perfect, make sure you follow the instructions to order the size above your normal, for the perfect fit. It has a heavy duty zipper which is good. The leather looks great and it is a very well made jacket. I would buy again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent quality

  • By Laurie from Richland WA USA on Tuesday, February 21, 2017
  • Review: Great product, don't hesitate in buying one
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like my original issue!

  • By Dale from Knoxville TN USA on Tuesday, April 26, 2022
  • Review: Exactly like my circa 1975 issue flight jacket. Extremely well made.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Real Thing!

  • By Daniel from Sun City CA USA on Monday, April 25, 2022
  • Pros: Genuine design and materials, quick shipment.
  • Cons: The finish of the leather less "pebbly" and shinier, but might wear in more like the original.
  • Review: This is the real jacket, just like the one I was issued in 1971. Goatskin, mouton collar. I think the leather is a bit smoother and shinier than the original, is all. Nice and thick, though. The stretchy waist and cuffs seem more durable than the old one.
    Quick fulfillment of the order, too.
    I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a jacket faithful to the original design.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Consuelo from Dayton, OH on Saturday, October 24, 2015
  • Review: THANKS!!
    The jacket arrived on my husband's birthday, like they promised me. Great service! The size was so perfect! We choose the 52 L because my husband is tall and he wants to feel comfortable. The lady on the chat (sorry I forgot your name) was very helpful, she advised me so well that I was very impressed. No frustration about the size! The jacket is strong but also lighter compare to another old (not so well made) jacket that my husband had, before we met. This was a nice gift for celebrate is 50 !
    Thanks! he is so happy. We love it!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Authentic

  • By Sherry /Steve from Brooklyn NY USA on Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Pros: Best quality , real , made well. MADE IN USA
  • Cons: Runs a size smaller
  • Review: Great jacket. Best leather , runs a bit small size up. It’s the real deal . Quality top notch. Bought for my boyfriend for Xmas . Looked in high end stores nothing compares to this . Price is worth it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G-1 Flight jacket

  • By Gunner from Edenton NC USA on Wednesday, May 18, 2022
  • Review: I loved my Flight Jacket. But by about 1990 (Retired in 1983) it had shrunk (LOL), so I gave it my son. Now it's 32 years later and I saw your web site. Bingo. It looks great it. It feels great, it fits well. Ask me again in Nov - won't be wearing it until than. It's warm in NC this time of the year.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Quality and functionality as advertised: buy it.

  • By Jack Scheid from Beverly, MA. on Wednesday, March 13, 2019
  • Pros: As functional as it is good looking. Worth every penny.
  • Cons: It fits snugly, so size it accordingly if you plan to wear it over a sweater.
  • Review: My father (R.I.P.) was a WWII Navy vet, Pacific theater. He bought this jacket in the 1970s and wore it until he passed twenty years ago. I have worn it ever since, another 20 years. One leather reconditioning and it looks like new.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too cool

  • By Dan from East Brunswick NJ USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Review: Wear this jacket and you will be noticed! Very form-fitting. Real quality construction. Love the smell of leather when I open my closet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

beautiful jacket

  • By kenneth from Ardmore PA USA on Thursday, December 21, 2017
  • Pros: looks great and fits right
  • Cons: no side pockets (neither did the original)
  • Review:

    This jacket is beautiful. The leather smells and looks great and the zipper is large and works well. The collar is perfect collar and size. My only problem is my arms are short for this jacket but it still works well.

    Although I would love side pockets - that is not the design and everyone I read about with side pocket modifications was not as nice or the pockets were in adequate.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Just like my original from the US Navy!!!

  • By Christopher "Sonic" Cline from North Bend, OR on Friday, January 14, 2022
  • Pros: Real Mouton Sheep Fur Collar, genuine Goatskin leather, fits very well, absolutely accurate in details to my original Navy issue jacket, beautiful stitching and high quality materials and a lot of nice touches in "presentation", even coming with a hanger with an extended hook to allow for the high collar.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: I joined the U.S. Navy back in 1989 and am a Gulf War Veteran (Operation Desert Shield/Storm). My original Navy G-1 jacket was one of the items which was lost (stolen?!) from my belongings when they were shipped home by the Navy when I transferred from active to reserves. I have wanted to replace the original jacket ever since. Over the years, I have gotten quite a bit bigger in size than I was back in my younger days, when I weighed a muscular 170 pounds and my jacket was a size 42. I am now a size 60!

    I did quite a bit of research and pricing and read many, many reviews, trying to determine the best quality, most authentic jacket for the price. I decided on the US Navy Issue Mil Spec Type G-1 Jacket made by Cockpit, USA in New York, New York and purchased it from MyPilotStore.com, which according to my research had the best price for this specific jacket.

    I have been totally impressed by the customer service from MyPilotStore.com! They got my jacket shipped off to me very quickly and I'm pretty sure that they even upgraded the shipping to Priority at no cost to me! I was pleased that the jacket came in a BOX, rather than a bag, as is so often the case these days.

    The jacket is just beautiful, with high quality goatskin leather and a real mouton sheep fur collar. All the colors, the dark brown leather, the brown mouton collar, brown waistband and wristbands and the brown lining are exactly right. It is extremely comfortable to wear. Sizing seems correct. My CWU-45/P Nomex flight jackets are 58-60 size, as well, and tend to "ride up" on me, but this size 60 jacket fits better, and I especially like how low the waist sits when zipped up. It sits just where it SHOULD sit and where it is most comfortable.

    I have already started getting a few of my squadron patches sewn on (by machine) the jacket and it is easy to stitch, with the correct leather needles and upholstery gauge thread. I will be hand stitching one of the "blood chits" I was issued during Desert Storm, into the back lining. I have created an unboxing/review video and posted it on my channel on YouTube, so here is the link to that: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edC9JrbceOo

    Overall, I give MyPilotStore.com a 5 Star rating for their customer service and shipping.
    I also give a 5 Star rating to Cockpit, USA for manufacturing an incredible jacket! It lives up to expectations, is exactly like the one I got when I was in the Navy and their attention to detail is superb, with a lot of nice touches too!

    I absolutely recommend the Cockpit, USA "US Navy Issue Mil Spec Type G-1 Jacket" to anyone who wants to replace their lost Navy issue G-1 or simply replace one that no longer fits, but also to those who just want a high quality, genuine G-1 jacket at a reasonable price! This jacket is the REAL DEAL!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Couldn't be happier with the jacket!

  • By Greg from Solvang CA USA on Friday, March 24, 2017
  • Pros: Excellent quality control and attention to detail!
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket

  • By Chris from Philadelphia PA USA on Wednesday, February 01, 2017
  • Pros: The rip stop sleeves makes it a lot easier to move around. It also helps to put a jacket on and take it off.
  • Cons: Sizes run a little small
  • Review: Awesome jacket. My son and I both really like it a lot. It fits like a glove. If you like to wear a sweater order one size bigger sizes run a little small. The ripstop make it easy to move your arms all the round. Makes easy to do many functions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good as my Original

  • By Gene from Lancaster CA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: No problems whatsoever.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very, very good. My original flight jacket somehow got smaller. I believe the new one as at least as good or better than the gov't issue. It arrived only a day or two after the order was placed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket!

  • By Paul from St. Paul MN USA on Wednesday, November 23, 2011
  • Pros: High quality jacket
  • Cons:
  • Review: This jacket is very nice and I'm very happy with it. The only thing different from a Navy-issue jacket that I can see is the tag on the inside. It arrived in about a week.
    Great job!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from pinehurst NC USA on Friday, December 16, 2011
  • Review: Just like the one I wore 60 years ago.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket!

  • By jack from colton CA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Review: I wasn't sure this jacket would be worth the money,but once it got here I was very impressed. It is as good a quality as my issued jacket from many years ago, and the tip to order one size larger was right on. Thanks great product and customer service.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I wanted and expected.

  • By John from Westerville OH USA on Monday, January 16, 2012
  • Review: Size was spot on. Fit and finish was as it should be. A tuly Great and comfortable jacket. Wanted one for more years than I care to admit. Wouldn't settle for a knock-off. Surprised it was a much better bargan than the So-Called name brand replicas! Can't believe how warm it really is.
    Semper Fi!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

What a gorgeous jacket!!

  • By Joe from Fairfield, CA on Wednesday, November 16, 2016
  • Pros: Appearance, fit and quality!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Spectacular product, guys! I think I like this one even more than my Indiana Jones jacket! Very comfortable, stylish and warm. Thank you for providing this beautiful article of clothing!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Naval Flight Jacket

  • By Cash from Carlsbad CA USA on Friday, May 11, 2018
  • Pros: Quality and comfort
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This jacket is superior in quality and comfort in comparison to my government issued flight jacket. Highly recommend purchasing. Shipping from this company was extremely fast.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bruce from Doylestown PA USA on Friday, January 03, 2014
  • Pros: excellent product.
  • Cons: sleeves are little long.
  • Review: Beautiful jacket.  It's what I wanted.   Ordered one size larger as suggested.   Fits great except that the sleeves are a little long.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

we would buy this article again

  • By brenda from San Bernardino CA USA on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
  • Pros: very attractive andwell made
  • Cons:
  • Review: This was purchased for a birthday gift. Stilll getting thank you's for it. Fit and everything totally met all expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Jacket!

  • By Paul from Minneapolis on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
  • Review: Tis is a great jacket - I wanted a jacket as close to the real thing as I could get. I get complements on the jacket - never had that happen before. Worth every penny. Delivery was done as promised. Sizing is good - I wear 44-46 coat and ordered a 46 - perfect fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tom from Watertown WI USA on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
  • Pros: Attention to detail/craftsmanship of the jacket.
  • Cons: None that I can think of.
  • Review: Jacket is what I had expected - just like the original - weight - feel etc. Same as my original - that I outgrew - in hindsight - wished I had ordered pockets with a side entry - I can live with it though. The goatskin leather is superb - has that feel. A very well made jacket. Especially like the deep inside pocket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket, Just Like the Standard Navy Issue

  • By A Customer from FL USA on Thursday, January 26, 2012
  • Pros: Fantastic quality, gorgeous jacket, just like the Navy issued jacket, great customer service, prompt shipping
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This is a stunning jacket, and is identical to the one my husband was issued. His was stolen last year out of my car, and this is the one we replaced it with after reading several of the reviews above. My husband and I both think it is actually a couple of steps up from the standard-issue jacket-- the collar is real fur (I think his first jacket was synthetic fur) and the stitching appears to be superior as well. As far as sizing is concerned, this is a jacket that fits a bit more snuggly, so if you're between sizes, definitely go up to the larger size.

    My Pilot Store was awesome about sending it the same day I ordered even though it was past the cutoff time. Thanks for such a great transaction and a beautiful product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Authentic Navy G1

  • By girlpilot from Saint Louis MO USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros: authentic, quality, size, appearance
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought this jacket as a gift for a Viet Nam-era naval aviator. He loved it - fits perfectly, has all the features he remembered from his Navy issue jacket right down to having U S Navy stamped under the zipper. Detailing appears to be authentic. The leather is substantial but supple so he can move freely in it. He had a friend transfer his squadron patches to it and is very pleased with how it looks and wears.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lots of Bang - it took years from my old age!

  • By chuck "matt" mathews from Brandon MS USA on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: There are none
  • Review: This flight jacket is just as I remember mine in the early 50's. It has reduced the age that I feel and has put a bounce back in my step. I ordered it a bit large so that I don't have to hold my "belly" in so much. Memories can't be purchased so there is no problem with the price. I really do love the jacket. It has been in the 70's here in Mississippi this Jan. but I've managed to wear it with the aircondition on low. Smile!
    Matt, VP47 52-55 BA7
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Hat Trick from Pacific Northwest on Friday, February 24, 2012
  • Pros: Accurate, well made, beautiful
  • Cons: none
  • Review: My original, which logged 2000 flight hours (before they made us wear the green one) and with all my unit patches was stolen during my last Navy move right out of my house by a temporary moving company kid (with helmet, boots, etc). Not a good day. A buddy of mine years later bought this G-1 as a gift. That was a good day. It's perfect, and if anything an improvement on the cuffs, which frayed quickly on the originals. The feel, weight and smell are identical...and of course you get the same reaction from the opposite sex. :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent quality jacket

  • By Mark from Reading MA USA on Friday, October 19, 2012
  • Pros: Solid construction and feel, Comfortable and warm but not too hot. Excellent collar for windy days. The pockets are all you could ask for.
  • Cons: Can't think of any.
  • Review: More than pleased with the quality of the materials and contruction of this jacket. It appears it will hold up well under use. I've been wearing it almost daily for the last three weeks and it's a pleasure every time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just LikeThe Original

  • By Steven from Sun City CA USA on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: Just like the original
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I am so pleased with my new flight jacket. It is just like the one I wore in Viet Nam, other than the size (ha ha). I have removed all of my squadron patches from my old one and am in the process of having them sewn on my new jacket. I will wear it with pride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The BEST Christmas gift of the year!!!

  • By Karen from Sunnyvale CA USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Review: What a great product. My brother's fiance and I went in together to get the jacket for my brother. He is a private pilot and is just finishing building his own plane!! He LOVED the jacket (we even got him a red scarf to go with it). The quality is excellent and the fit was perfect! DO get the one size larger.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wow.

  • By A Customer from Chesapeake VA USA on Friday, February 01, 2013
  • Review: Absolutely beautiful coat. Would definitely recommend. Runs small as per the recommendations on the site which were extremely helpful, My husband usually wears a 40 but I bought 42 based on the model who demonstrated the different sizes and the 42 was perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Margaret from Enterprise AL USA on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Review: Love the jacket and it fits like a glove.  Would buy all over again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sooooo much nicer than my original Government Issue jacket

  • By flghtmedic from MILTON FL USA on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
  • Pros: fair price, quality workmanship, MADE IN THE USA!
  • Cons: none
  • Review: After 20 years in the Navy my original government issue G-1 jacket no longer fit well. I had originally been issued a 38 and later traded it for a 42. Now that 42 was even too small. I ordered my 46 from mypilotstore.com at the end of January. It arrived in very good time and the price was right compared to other places I checked. I dug through all my old patches to find the best ones to put on my new jacket. I then took my jacket to Wings and Things here in Pensacola, FL where they do an outstanding job sewing patches onto jackets and flight suits. I only wish I could attach a photo to show you all how great it looks. I also wish I could afford to have all my patches made into the beautiful painted leather ones they sell here, that is the one thing that would make it better!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Collegeville, PA on Saturday, March 24, 2012
  • Pros: Very authentic
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great looking, beautiful fit
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love this coat.

  • By Doug from Valrico FL USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: Everything is perfect.
  • Cons: I have gotten used to having my hands in my pockets. Big no no in the Navy. No pockets for hands. That really is not a bad thing.
  • Review: I always wanted to get this flight jacket when I was in the Navy. I was a sea going sailor instead of a Airedale. I either did not have the money or the right connection. Now after almost 20yrs. I have what I desired for so long.It is definitely worth having if you are in the same boat I was in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thank you so much for such a memorable gift

  • By Shirl from Hilton Head Island, S.C. on Saturday, May 24, 2014
  • Review: My nephew absolutely loved his Navy G1 jacket, size was perfect. My brother said it is the first thing you see walking into his house, and he never flies without it. Delivery was excellent and now I am getting ready to order one for my BROTHER:-) (who is also a pilot) what a lucky girl I am!

    Thank you so much for such a memorable gift, and one that is made in the USA!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Oil City PA USA on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Pros: Materials and tailoring excellant..Appearance outstanding.
  • Cons: No cons
  • Review: The Jacket was a quality product.I purchased it as a gift for my son and he was very pleased with it.I ordered a size larger,as your site advised,however I was in error.Size 46 was his normal size and the jacket fit perfectly.I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect fit!

  • By Susan from Indianapolis IN USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Great quality and fit.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Bought this G-1 flight jacket for my dad for Christmas. He is 5'7" and weighs 150lb. I bought the size 40 for him and it fits perfectly - that is, a more form-fitting fit, but by no means snug or tight. He has room to weat a sweater underneath or a turtleneck. Not too big and not too small. Just right! He loves it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent jacket

  • By TACCO Paul from Honolulu, HI USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: Warm jacket and identical to the original; even the pros won't tell the difference.
  • Cons: Just one pocket button is unravelling.
  • Review: After losing my jacket in flight school, I went without one for a long time because the Navy's supply system is so skimpy in replacing them. The jacket I recieved from this store is identical to the original and I wear it to the squadron often. The fit was perfect for the size I ordered. The leather is high quality and the brass zipper is big enough to operate even while wearing flight gloves. However, the button on the left pocket has begun to unravel in just a few weeks of use, but it'll be an easy fix to sew back on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

US Navy issue Mil Spec Type G-1 jacket

  • By Marie from Portage MI USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Review: I am very pleased with my FLIGHT JACKET.
    Thank you for your service.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Pasadena CA USA on Monday, March 28, 2011
  • Review: Very satisfied with the jacket. My previous one was from the Navy's contract manufacturer, back when they still made 'em of goatskin with genuine sheep fur collars, and yours seems to be as good or better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Michael from San Leandro CA USA on Saturday, March 27, 2010
  • Pros: good details
  • Cons: the color couldbe lighter
  • Review: Good copy of navy issue jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Visalia CA USA on Tuesday, May 04, 2010
  • Pros: The color was nicer than the picture.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: We ordered this in a 44 (suit size) but it was just a bit too snug. Exchanged it for a 46. It was perfect. The exchange went very smoothly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great jacket

  • By Brian from Plainfield IL USA on Wednesday, April 09, 2008
  • Pros: Fast shipping
  • Cons:
  • Review: I ordered this jacket for my dad for his birthday. I had it shipped directly to my parent's house, and my mom said it arrived well-packed, a mere three days after I ordered it. My dad loves it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I was looking for - but never hoped to find

  • By A Customer from Sturbridge MA USA on Thursday, January 07, 2010
  • Pros: Very warm, good workmanship, American made
  • Cons:
  • Review: The jacket is just what I wanted - exactly the same as the one my CG chief gave me 30 years ago which was unfortunately lost in an auto accident.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

this product is the best

  • By A Customer from Monmouth ME USA on Wednesday, January 02, 2008
  • Pros: it is an exact replica of the navy bomber jackets down to the usn lettering on the placet
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I purchased this jacket for my husband for christmas. He is so satisfied that i could not believe it. He says it is exactly like the one he had in the Navy and could not be happier. It even has the Navy logo on it. I would recommend it for anyone that wants to please the one they love.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Beautiful jacket

  • By A Customer from Ketchum ID USA on Friday, January 25, 2008
  • Pros: Beautiful product; customer service always polite and friendly
  • Cons: Delivery problems and took too long to get tracking info
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

60's memories

  • By Larry from North Las Vegas NV USA on Tuesday, January 31, 2017
  • Pros: Very comfortable yet not to warm.
  • Cons: No side pockets
  • Review: Second Navy G-1 jacket. Look forward to cooler weather to wear it. Very comfortable. Only thing I would request is to have side pockets to put hands into. The Map pockets I can not use anymore. I am grounded.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Got exactly what I wanted

  • By Steve (sender) from Bloomfield IN USA on Wednesday, February 24, 2016
  • Pros: Quality met all expectations
  • Cons: None reported.
  • Review: Sorry, can't be direct in feedback, since sent to Brother-in-law. But he was very pleased, and I was happy to have matched the size correctly. Cost a lot (more for the XXL), but nice to send a great gift.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Earl from Greenville SC USA on Saturday, June 23, 2018
  • Review: It is just like what I wore on active duty. I look forward to wearing it when the weather is favorable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Robert from The Colony TX USA on Monday, October 08, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Absolutely fantastic

  • By Craig from Niceville FL USA on Wednesday, May 09, 2018
  • Review: Great and very authentic jacket
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic jacket!!!

  • By JJ from Coppell TX USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Pros: A great jacket!! Will wear it proudly.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It's a great jacket. Will be able to wear it across three seasons! The material and workmanship are of the highest level. The skins are superior and the real fur collar great on my neck compared to my old jacket. I guess I fall into the crack as far as size. I ordered one size up and it is a little too loose. Wish I had bought the size 50. Otherwise I couldn't be happier, I wear it everyday.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My son loves the coat.

  • By Irv from Melrose Park IL USA on Wednesday, October 26, 2016
  • Pros: Fits well. Good Fall & Spring Jacket.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this coat for my 21 year old son and he loves it.
    I saw him looking at himself in the mirror modeling the coat. He is currently taking flying lessons so I am sure we will be purchasing other things from your website.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Flight Jacket

  • By A Customer from Peyton CO USA on Sunday, January 25, 2015
  • Pros: Seems to be good quality
  • Cons: No cons so far
  • Review: Just like the Flight Jackets I wore for years in the service.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Alpharetta GA USA on Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Pros: Fits great. Breaks in really nicely. Looks amazing.
  • Cons: Color is darker than my grandfathers and fathers USN issued jackets. Stitching is slightly different in spots, but I'm not doing a re-enacting impression, so that doesnt really bother me
  • Review: My Grandfather and Father were both Issued one of these in the Navy, and unfortunately they were both much skinnier than I am, so I was never able to wear their jackets. I had wanted one of these for years and my wife finally OK'd it as a christmas present. I ordered my true size and it fit a little tight at first, but has broken in wonderfully. It's very soft and comfortable and I have gotten quite a few compliments. It's not a super warm jacket for below freezing weather, but the collar sure is nice when it gets that cold. I will definitely buy another from here, should I need one down the road.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They can't take this one away.

  • By "Doc" Hicks from Los Angeles CA USA on Monday, February 17, 2014
  • Pros: Fits and moves like a second skin. Authentic style, materials, and construction.
  • Cons: Excessive time spent looking for old patches
  • Review: Received great service from MyPilotStore -- even got a call to confirm my size selection before they shipped. Packing was excellent and the jacket is ... well, it's a G-1.

    I had two enlisted DIFCREW assignments. I was issued flight gear (suits, helmet, boots, gloves) and a G-1 each time, and each time I had to give it all back when the assignment ended. Could've cared less about the gear, but losing the jackets was painful -- when I tried to keep the last one, they had to threaten Mast and pry it off my back.

    They can't take this one away from me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than ever.....

  • By Don from Elk Grove Village IL USA on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
  • Pros: Great leather, workmanship, strong zipper and detailed just like my old one. I would not change a thing.
  • Cons: Absolutely none.
  • Review: I had a USN issue 422 for years; I passed it along to my son and I have regretted it ever since.
    This G-1 is everything I remember. The fit is perfect, the leather and workmanship top shelf. It is not a 'modern' recreation of my old jacket. It lacks hand warmer pockets etc. It is what is meant to be and I feel very at home in it.
    All I need is another twenty years to properly break it in......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Denis from Sylmar CA USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: leather, style, construction, fasteners, customer service
  • Cons: none
  • Review: No way around it, this is an absolutely fantastic coat! I think the sizing runs a bit on the small side but I also like my coats loose enough to wear a sweater or sweatshirt underneath. The size I finally got works great. The coat is warm, comfortable, and just looks so neat. It seems incredibly well made and durable.the service at the store was very good, the chat responsive and the turnaround time for both original coat and larger size was very timely.I'm hoping to keep and wear this coat forever - hmm be buried in it? - but surely would not hesitate a minute to come back and get a replacement for this tour if I ever had to.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Service after the sale

  • By Thomas from Midwest USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: Exactly as expected. Love the fact that it has the original mouton collar.
  • Cons: None whatsoever
  • Review: About a day or two after receiving the jacket I noticed what could be classified as a defect in the leather. I snapped some pictures and sent them to Cockpit, USA and they were extremely responsive in getting a replacement coordinated through My Pilot Store.
    You practically had to pry it from my hands but it was well worth it. They really stand behind the product.
    It's a terrific product. Very high quality and something I will wear for years.
    I old my wife I was supposed to wear it to bed to properly break it in but she didn't buy it.
    This jacket makes a statement all by itself. You'll have to up you game a bit because the Navy doesn't take well to it's "Aviators" walking around with their hands in their pockets. They have "Pilots" jackets for that. LOL
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like issue

  • By Ray (Hawkeye pilot) from Roswell GA USA on Thursday, December 27, 2018
  • Review: Love this jacket. Had our patched out and it looks awesome.

    Get a couple sizes too big. Fits snug.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Craftsmanship

  • By Butch from Omaha NE USA on Friday, December 27, 2019
  • Pros: I live in an area prone to cold weather and this jackets holds up to that.
  • Cons: Can't think of any.
  • Review: I have wanted one of these for over 40 years. I am retired Navy and did tours with three squadrons, 1 tour as ship's company onboard a Navy Destroyer and had collected many patches. Picked up a few following retirement. Now I have a home for them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

PERFECT FIT!

  • By Donnette from Hamilton OH USA on Friday, April 22, 2022
  • Pros: Nice workmanship, quality materials and a great fit.
  • Cons: None, really.
  • Review: Nice workmanship, quality materials and a great fit. The zipper was a little rough at first but, OK now. I was looking for a jacket like the one my husband had in high school (1960's), military surplus. I was thrilled to find one in an 'up-dated' size. Thanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Husband LOVES this jacket!

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, April 19, 2022
  • Pros: Attractive and warm
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband. He was absolutely over the moon - he wears it everywhere and absolutely loves it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like my original from the US Navy!!!

  • By Christopher "Sonic" Cline from North Bend, OR on Tuesday, April 26, 2022
  • Pros: Real Mouton Sheep Fur Collar, genuine Goatskin leather, fits very well, absolutely accurate in details to my original Navy issue jacket, beautiful stitching and high quality materials and a lot of nice touches in "presentation", even coming with a hanger with an extended hook to allow for the high collar.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: I joined the U.S. Navy back in 1989 and am a Gulf War Veteran (Operation Desert Shield/Storm). My original Navy G-1 jacket was one of the items which was lost (stolen?!) from my belongings when they were shipped home by the Navy when I transferred from active to reserves. I have wanted to replace the original jacket ever since.
    I did quite a bit of research and pricing and read many, many reviews, trying to determine the best quality, most authentic jacket for the price. I decided on this jacket. The jacket is just beautiful, with high quality goatskin leather and a real mouton sheep fur collar. All the colors, the dark brown leather, the brown mouton collar, brown waistband and wristbands and the brown lining are exactly right. It is extremely comfortable to wear. Sizing seems correct.
    I give a 5 Star rating to Cockpit, USA for manufacturing an incredible jacket! It lives up to expectations, is exactly like the one I got when I was in the Navy and their attention to detail is superb, with a lot of nice touches too!
    I absolutely recommend the Cockpit, USA "US Navy Issue Mil Spec Type G-1 Jacket" to anyone who wants to replace their lost Navy issue G-1 or simply replace one that no longer fits, but also to those who just want a high quality, genuine G-1 jacket at a reasonable price! This jacket is the REAL DEAL!
    I have created an unboxing/review video and posted it on my channel on YouTube and seen below.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love my jacket. Waited 50 years to finally get one and put my squadron patches on it.

  • By roger from Hood River OR USA on Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Pros: great fit especially the tall
  • Cons: nyetne t
  • Review: The only thing that would make it better would be to have angled front pockets on it . Not going to stop me from wearing it and showing off my colors
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Greg from Columbus MS USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2022
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic quality!

  • By Joseph from Oakland CA USA on Monday, January 28, 2019
  • Pros: Excellent workmanship and materials.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Completely authentic flight jacket with extremely high quality materials (goatskin leather, fur collar) and superb attention to detail.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Don from Mill City OR USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: High Quality - Excellent Value - Made In USA
  • Cons: Nothing Negative About This Porduct
  • Review: Very high quality USA made product. I have received nothing but very positive comments from everyone who has seen this jacket. It has exceeded all my expectations, and I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a flight jacket. It is a very good value for the price, and at the same time supports the US crafstmen who made it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Beaverton OR USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: see above comment
  • Cons:
  • Review: Looks and feels like the jacket issued to me in 1943.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My son loves it

  • By Philip from Radnor PA USA on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
  • Review: This is the jacket that my son's grandfather wore for many years in the Navy. The leather on the original finally became brittle and unwearable and this is a wonderful replacement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kent from Chesapeake VA USA on Friday, June 15, 2018
  • Review: There is simply nothing as good as the real thing. It is not only a comfortable good looking gentleman's jacket but you can feel the history associated with it as soon as you put it on. I love this jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Navy leather jacket

  • By stephen from Lancaster Pa on Tuesday, April 19, 2022
  • Review: Perfect fit great quality. Thank you
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great workmanship

  • By William H from Arlington TX USA on Wednesday, December 23, 2020
  • Pros: Goatskin as original
  • Cons: Normally wear a 44 ended up with a 48L
  • Review: This jacket is the twin to the one I wore in Korea as a Combat Aircrewman
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dreamed of this all my life

  • By David from Watkins CO USA on Sunday, December 13, 2020
  • Pros: Warm, real materials. I love shearling. True to size
  • Cons: Side pockets are not designed to keep your hands in, they are high and straight up
  • Review: The material is real, supple. It just feels good. True to size, I’m a big guy and it’s often hard to find nice things to fit. Meets my expectations in every way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket!!!

  • By Thomas from Tulsa OK USA on Thursday, February 08, 2018
  • Pros: Extremely well made
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought the jacket for my son, a Navy vet, as a Christmas gift... I called your customer service line and gave my sons' measurements... I was told what size they would recommend, it fits perfectly... He loves it!!! It appears to be very well made with the best materials... I'm sure as it ages the leather will get even softer and have that really cool, worn patina... Thanks!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket! Warmer than I thought it would be.

  • By James from Frederick MD USA on Monday, February 19, 2018
  • Review: I love this jacket. It fits good. It's warm. I have received many compliments on it. I ride a Harley and it fits right in with the rest of my riding clothing. It's built well, no air leaks through the zipper. It's warmer than my current motorcycle jacket.
    Great jacket,
    Jim Bullman
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

better than expected

  • By frederick from manalapan NJ USA on Monday, January 28, 2008
  • Pros: well made warm and just as described
  • Cons:
  • Review: Bought this jacket for my son to replace an old one what a beauty better than i had ever expected a real value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I was looking for

  • By Gary from Laurel MD USA on Monday, February 20, 2012
  • Pros: Good fit on shoulders and back, flexible, great leather
  • Cons: need a 1/2 size larger to go over sweater-see comment above
  • Review: I ordered one size larger as suggested by your ad. However, it should be designed 1/2 size larger than that to accomodate a sweater or bulkier clothing underneath in cold weather. Front panel pockets should be made to expand a bit more to accomodte gloves, other items; they are too tight. Needs a deep vertical inside pocket (like a shirt pocket) on the right side for airline tickets, papers,sunglasses, etc
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the money

  • By Chris from Jennings LA USA on Sunday, December 20, 2009
  • Pros: nicer than i expected
  • Cons: no pockets for your hands, but i guess thats the way they were
  • Review: Size was good, wears well, pretty cool jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beautiful jacket. . . very happy with quality and services.

  • By Sandra from East Greenwich RI USA on Friday, January 09, 2009
  • Pros: Husband loves it. .
  • Cons: Sizes run small
  • Review: This jacket is absolutly beautiful. I would get a size larger than my husband usually takes. Jacket is form fitting. Service was wonderful as well. .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent replica

  • By Frank from The Villages FL USA on Monday, February 28, 2011
  • Review: A velcro patch would be a big plus so that we could attach our aviator patch to the jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Oklahoma City OK USA on Thursday, January 09, 2014
  • Review: I was very pleased with not only the US Navy Issue Mil Spec Type G-1 Jacket, but also the rapid receipt and the notifications.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Spring Branch TX USA on Saturday, January 19, 2013
  • Review: Just what I wanted. Great quality and fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Superb rendition

  • By Rich from Huntsville, AL on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Authenticity, design, quality, appearance, practicality.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: True to original specifications and design, thus practical and comfortable as well as having an authentic, classic look. High quality leather and other materials, top notch workmanship.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket!

  • By A Customer from Alexandria VA USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Review: Definitely meets expectations!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

worth every cent.

  • By charles from Athens AL USA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Review: It's easy to see it's the real deal. Comfortable, warm, and very supremely constructed. If I could offer one improvement it would be to offer a long version for those of us with a longer body. It easily rides up above the waist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm satisfied

  • By A Customer from Cedar City UT USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Pros: Sturdy zipper and map pocket snap -- better than others I've seen
  • Cons: Hanging loop is just sewn to the lining -- better if sewn through the leather
  • Review: Authentic Navy issue styling... no handwarmer pockets (knockoff jackets have them, I didn't want them). The advice to order a bit on the large size is good. I normally wear a 44 -- ordered a 46 and it fits just right. Quality materials and construction. For some reason the collar tends to roll up -- ok if you want to keep the back of your neck warm.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket

  • By Rene from Lafayette LA USA on Friday, January 23, 2015
  • Pros: Good stitching and workmanship. Excellent color, very comfortable fit
  • Cons: Sleeves too long for me, but that is because no short sizes are available.
  • Review: I love my jacket. It met expectations in that it seems to be well made. It is very much like the one I wore in the Navy. I love the feel and smell of a quality leather jacket. It is obviously a quality product and I get compliments every time I wear it. Being short (5'7" 38" chest and 30" waist), I ordered a size 38, it fits perfectly except the sleeve length is too long by about 1-1/2" I wish the jacket could be ordered in "short size" which would make it a perfect fit. The fit recommendations; to order one size up is spot on. The jacket fits snugly which is the way I like it, but if you expect to wear several layers or heavy sweaters under it, be sure and order the size up. Since I don't expect to wear heavy sweaters or shirts under it, I find it fits perfectly over a medium weight sweater. The jacket is a perfect weight for wearing here in South Louisiana for our very mild winters most of the time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Good Purchase

  • By Ethan on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Review: Liked:
    - The quality of the jacket
    - The warmth it can provide

    Disliked:
    -Price
    -Mine was a bit tight

    Summary:
    - Every good leather jacket coats a lot of money
    This was a great leather jacket for a fair sum of money.
    Would recommend to a friend.

    Might suggest you order just another size larger for a non tight fit
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Happy Husband!!!

  • By Laurie from Virginia Beach VA USA on Thursday, June 16, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent customer service!!!
  • Cons: No velcro patches like the Navy issue ones...
  • Review: My husband couldn't wear his Navy issue leather flight jacket any more because pieces of it were worn out (holes init) and he really missed it! I found this one on-line and matched it up with what was left of his old one and it is pretty close to identical. I ordered it for him for a birthday present and he was VERY HAPPY to have a leather aviators jacket again. I followed the advise of others who had ordered and went up a size and it was perfect for him.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a good classic

  • By Patrick from Norwalk CT USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Pros: solidly made
  • Cons: collar was a bit thin and cheezy
  • Review: Collar and leather were a bit thin. Construction remains good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The jacket is exceptional!

  • By A Customer from Neptune NJ USA on Wednesday, January 06, 2010
  • Pros: Jacket is awesome.
  • Cons: Need it in a size smaller!!!!! Size 38 is too big.
  • Review: The product was exceptional. Unfortunately, it is too big. I ordered a size small (size 38). It will be two seasons before it fits my son but he liked the jacket so much he won't let me return it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By Nicolas from Punta Arenas . Chile on Friday, November 16, 2007
  • Pros: Design, weight, quality
  • Cons: cant remove the wool collar on sumer.
  • Review: The product met compleatly my expectations. I will buy another when is require. Nice build quality, good details design for pilots. Very functional.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very smart looking

  • By Nita from North Bergen, NJ on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Looks good and is comfortable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Bought the jacket for my husband for Christmas and he loves it so I am happy. It fits well and the fur collar really dresses it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Navy issue

  • By sailor jack on Monday, March 15, 2021
  • Pros: Nice jacket but its a intermediate weather not cold weatherr.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Not exactly the same as my Navy issue in Korean war. but to be expected as the Navy also changed the specks later on the collar. No more Muskrat or Fox Fur, .some were made with cow hide as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well made, very tight looks good on this old sailor

  • By Vinnie from Brevard NC USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2022
  • Pros: Well made, great leather, nice collar. True to the historical jacket
  • Cons: Very expensive
  • Review: The descriptors on the website are correct. The jacket has no side pockets and ends at the waist. I ordered a size slightly larger and it is very tight. But very nice leather and collar.
    I guess in this day and age, we are used to loose fitting clothing, so this jacket seems odd at first. The website did a good job of explaining this however.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic Jacket

  • By Roy from Walgett NSW Australia on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
  • Pros: Verry Warm
  • Cons: Could have velcro fasting's.
  • Review: Wore it in a Tiger Moth, in freezing conditions and all I can say is "Bloody Fantastic".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A wish fulfilled!

  • By Nancy Ellen from farmington NM USA on Sunday, February 20, 2011
  • Review: The jacket looked exactly right. The fit was perfect. The only change would be to the pockets. They need to have a separate entrance from the back not just from the top. Not quite as heavy as remembered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not what I expected, better than I thought

  • By William from Milan IL USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: It's mil spec.
  • Cons: Not a great fit.
  • Review: Well it is a mil spec jacket. Had to go up a size still not a great fit, but it works. Pockets would be nice, but it's mil spec. Collar does not look right, sorta sticks up in the back, might correct with more wear. Nice leather, sleeves a little tight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too short in the length of the torso material

  • By David from Minneapolis MN USA on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
  • Pros: Great construction, durable
  • Cons: Body of the jacket not long enough
  • Review: The body of the jacket should have been longer to cover my waist. I have never needed a size 44, the people at Cockpit told me I should wear a 38? No way!
    It was a rich looking leather jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Bridgeville PA USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Review: Recipient normally wears a M - but the jacket ran small. So it did not fit. We had it embroidered - so we could not return - we are currently working on having it tailored to fit him
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good

  • By David from Reno NV USA on Tuesday, February 28, 2012
  • Pros: Warmth and leather quality
  • Cons: Poor sizing and lack o hand pockets
  • Review: The sizing is too small and tight.
    Lack of hand pockets is not good.
    Good weight and quality of leather.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Disappointed

  • By A Customer from Soldotna AK USA on Tuesday, February 21, 2017
  • Pros: Right stlye but not insulated for cold weather use.
  • Cons: See above
  • Review: Your site did not state whether the jacket was insulated. I tried finding out but nothing indicated whether it was or not. So was disappointed when jacket came and it was not. My previous jacket of same style was insulated. I live in a cold climate, Alaska and was seeking a insulated jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too short to be called Regular

  • By AF Chief from Robins AFB GA USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Quality leather and workmanship
  • Cons: way too short
  • Review: Sorry for a bad review for an otherwise OUTSTANDING product but if you can't wear a jacket...no matter how well it is made and the quality of materials, it is useless. The size 50 reg is excessively too short.

    I exchanged with size 50 Long and am very happy. MyPilotStore no-fuss exchange went without a hitch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 25 Other people found this review helpful.