TOP

Reviews for US Navy Issue Mil Spec Type G-1 Jacket

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

worth every cent.

  • By charles from Athens AL USA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Review: It's easy to see it's the real deal. Comfortable, warm, and very supremely constructed. If I could offer one improvement it would be to offer a long version for those of us with a longer body. It easily rides up above the waist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm satisfied

  • By A Customer from Cedar City UT USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Pros: Sturdy zipper and map pocket snap -- better than others I've seen
  • Cons: Hanging loop is just sewn to the lining -- better if sewn through the leather
  • Review: Authentic Navy issue styling... no handwarmer pockets (knockoff jackets have them, I didn't want them). The advice to order a bit on the large size is good. I normally wear a 44 -- ordered a 46 and it fits just right. Quality materials and construction. For some reason the collar tends to roll up -- ok if you want to keep the back of your neck warm.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket

  • By Rene from Lafayette LA USA on Friday, January 23, 2015
  • Pros: Good stitching and workmanship. Excellent color, very comfortable fit
  • Cons: Sleeves too long for me, but that is because no short sizes are available.
  • Review: I love my jacket. It met expectations in that it seems to be well made. It is very much like the one I wore in the Navy. I love the feel and smell of a quality leather jacket. It is obviously a quality product and I get compliments every time I wear it. Being short (5'7" 38" chest and 30" waist), I ordered a size 38, it fits perfectly except the sleeve length is too long by about 1-1/2" I wish the jacket could be ordered in "short size" which would make it a perfect fit. The fit recommendations; to order one size up is spot on. The jacket fits snugly which is the way I like it, but if you expect to wear several layers or heavy sweaters under it, be sure and order the size up. Since I don't expect to wear heavy sweaters or shirts under it, I find it fits perfectly over a medium weight sweater. The jacket is a perfect weight for wearing here in South Louisiana for our very mild winters most of the time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Happy Husband!!!

  • By Laurie from Virginia Beach VA USA on Thursday, June 16, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent customer service!!!
  • Cons: No velcro patches like the Navy issue ones...
  • Review: My husband couldn't wear his Navy issue leather flight jacket any more because pieces of it were worn out (holes init) and he really missed it! I found this one on-line and matched it up with what was left of his old one and it is pretty close to identical. I ordered it for him for a birthday present and he was VERY HAPPY to have a leather aviators jacket again. I followed the advise of others who had ordered and went up a size and it was perfect for him.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Good Purchase

  • By Ethan on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Review: Liked:
    - The quality of the jacket
    - The warmth it can provide

    Disliked:
    -Price
    -Mine was a bit tight

    Summary:
    - Every good leather jacket coats a lot of money
    This was a great leather jacket for a fair sum of money.
    Would recommend to a friend.

    Might suggest you order just another size larger for a non tight fit
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a good classic

  • By Patrick from Norwalk CT USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Pros: solidly made
  • Cons: collar was a bit thin and cheezy
  • Review: Collar and leather were a bit thin. Construction remains good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By Nicolas from Punta Arenas . Chile on Friday, November 16, 2007
  • Pros: Design, weight, quality
  • Cons: cant remove the wool collar on sumer.
  • Review: The product met compleatly my expectations. I will buy another when is require. Nice build quality, good details design for pilots. Very functional.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The jacket is exceptional!

  • By A Customer from Neptune NJ USA on Wednesday, January 06, 2010
  • Pros: Jacket is awesome.
  • Cons: Need it in a size smaller!!!!! Size 38 is too big.
  • Review: The product was exceptional. Unfortunately, it is too big. I ordered a size small (size 38). It will be two seasons before it fits my son but he liked the jacket so much he won't let me return it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Navy issue

  • By sailor jack on Monday, March 15, 2021
  • Pros: Nice jacket but its a intermediate weather not cold weatherr.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Not exactly the same as my Navy issue in Korean war. but to be expected as the Navy also changed the specks later on the collar. No more Muskrat or Fox Fur, .some were made with cow hide as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very smart looking

  • By Nita from North Bergen, NJ on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Looks good and is comfortable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Bought the jacket for my husband for Christmas and he loves it so I am happy. It fits well and the fur collar really dresses it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well made, very tight looks good on this old sailor

  • By Vinnie from Brevard NC USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2022
  • Pros: Well made, great leather, nice collar. True to the historical jacket
  • Cons: Very expensive
  • Review: The descriptors on the website are correct. The jacket has no side pockets and ends at the waist. I ordered a size slightly larger and it is very tight. But very nice leather and collar.
    I guess in this day and age, we are used to loose fitting clothing, so this jacket seems odd at first. The website did a good job of explaining this however.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A wish fulfilled!

  • By Nancy Ellen from farmington NM USA on Sunday, February 20, 2011
  • Review: The jacket looked exactly right. The fit was perfect. The only change would be to the pockets. They need to have a separate entrance from the back not just from the top. Not quite as heavy as remembered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic Jacket

  • By Roy from Walgett NSW Australia on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
  • Pros: Verry Warm
  • Cons: Could have velcro fasting's.
  • Review: Wore it in a Tiger Moth, in freezing conditions and all I can say is "Bloody Fantastic".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.