TOP

Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

  • 49 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Best you can buy

  • By JOHN from Concord CA USA on Thursday, May 16, 2013
  • Review: I've spent a ton of cash on various Private Pilot training systems. I was never satisfied with any if them until I bought the Jeppesen system. This is a college style text book. Well written, quality printing, and well organized information. If your working on your pilots license, stick with Jeppesen. It's head and shoulders above Gleim, King, and Sportys. I know. I wasted my money on all of those.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By David from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent description of principles and very clear explanations
  • Cons:
  • Review: As an older student prepping for the pilot's exam, I have been having difficulty picking up some of the principles required to pass the exam and have used 3-4 different manuals with limited success. This manual however is very clear and is incredibly easy to follow. I wish I had purchased this manual first; I would have saved a few hundred dollars. It goes through each area, giving the necessary topics but also includes little notes of interest regarding each area or topic. Very helpful and interesting to read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Glad I went with Jeppesen

  • By Cragar Mags from Detroit, MI on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
  • Pros: Just a really well thought out manual.
  • Cons: None that I have come across
  • Review: This book is way better than the other manuals that I have read. It is very comprehensive yet easy to follow. I really like the descriptions and explainations of how the information will apply to the test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Every pilot should have one.

  • By Ben from Asheville NC USA on Tuesday, October 11, 2011
  • Pros: Great reference
  • Cons: The price
  • Review: I have owned a copy of this book for years and use it to help explain all the things that a private pilot should know to my flight students. (I have been a CFI for nine years.) I bought this copy for my fourteen year old grandson who is now very interested in becoming a pilot because I think it is the best reference available for aspiring, new, and old pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Coupled with a ground school instructor, this beats the DVD courses

  • By John from Midland MI USA on Friday, November 18, 2016
  • Pros: Excellent value, good examples and illustrations
  • Cons:
  • Review: Really like the way it is laid out. The small practice quizzes at the end of each section, with the answer key in the back, help a lot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Can't Beat It

  • By Nancy from Bloomfield NY USA on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
  • Pros: Fantastic graphics!
  • Cons: Maybe too much information, which could be overwhelming.
  • Review: I'm familiar with this product from 20 years ago. It was good then, but now it's really something! The color graphics are amazing and really help you understand and remember the material. It's well organized and packed with everything you need to know to pass the FAA Private Pilot written exam. It includes nice-to-know examples, too, that a Private Pilot won't need, but might be interested in if planning to continue to move up in ratings. Those examples are set off with a border and blue background, so you know it's not needed for the FAA exam. I wouldn't consider attempting my Private Pilot rating without it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Everything you need to know in 1 book.

  • By Vito from Staten Island NY on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Review: This book is great. It's very detailed and has everything you need fo know as a private pilot, is didn't have to look anything up online, it was all in the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sharon from La Grange IL USA on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
  • Pros: Very informative
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought it as a christmas present for my boyfriend. He's almost done reading it. He said it is very informative
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simply excellent book

  • By Roberto from Lincolnton NC USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: This very complete and well explained, besides bringing illustrations that support the study.
  • Cons: In this book not found any against, rather, I have been very helpful in my studies.
  • Review: It's great to learn the theory, is very complete in every chapter, and the best, is that it helps a lot, to bring detailed illustrations, with which one can support the learning process. A great book for those who are studying aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jeppesen did a great job with this book

  • By Robert from Brewton AL USA on Monday, June 28, 2010
  • Pros: Very well organized
  • Cons: Price
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Was a very good buy

  • By Norman from Kentwood MI USA on Monday, March 12, 2012
  • Pros: In depth explanations in each chapter/section.
  • Cons:
  • Review: It exceeded my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Private Pilots

  • By Mark from Iowa, USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Pros: A must for the student pilot
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Excellent material and great explanations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Incredible Book

  • By Mark Howard from Edmond, OK on Monday, June 18, 2007
  • Pros: Excellent content. Incredible illustrations.
  • Cons: None, other than being heavy because it has so much information in it!
  • Review: I had an old version of this book when I was in pilot training in 1985. The new version is incredible, with beautiful illustrations throughout that make learning even the most difficult concepts much easier. I now review chapters periodically for a refresher and learn something new every time I pick it up. It is up to date on the latest regulations, technology, etc. I highly recommend the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By JM from Kalispell, MT on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Review: I would recomend to any pilot
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Sure beats the previous edition!

  • By Full Boost from Grosse Ile MI USA on Thursday, December 20, 2007
  • Pros: Better graphics, more details, larger size.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Having homed schooled most of my ground work with the previous edition, since I already had it. This new version would have made the process much easier. Spend the money, upgrade, it's well worth it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andre from Sharpsburg, GA on Wednesday, January 23, 2008
  • Review: I learned on Jeppson. They are just the best. A bit pricey but worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

VERY GOOD

  • By A Customer from Johnstown CO USA on Thursday, May 20, 2010
  • Review: I love all the things it covers.  It is a very good book!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book.

  • By A Customer from Seattle WA USA on Tuesday, April 12, 2011
  • Pros: Good presentation of info.
  • Cons: Wish there were an edition for helicopters only
  • Review: This book is amazing- a great purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the cost, would definately buy again

  • By Savage from Charleston WV USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: Great color graphics, much more information that competitors books.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I checked out many differnt private pilot training manuals from the local library. Most were in the $20 to $30 range. When I was ready to buy, I researched the Jeppesen and read the reviews. At first I struggled with the cost. Within 10 minutes of recieving it I was very pleased. You get what you pay for. If you want a low end book buy one of the other brands, but if you want the best, buy this one. Would definately buy this again, very glad I didn't buy one of the others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Perfect for learning the basics.

  • By Alex from simi valley CA USA on Monday, November 19, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to understand
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It met every expectation,actually reading it for the second time. Love how it really breaks things down with diagrams really easy to understand.Didn't lack anything.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Riccardo from Sydney, Australia on Wednesday, November 28, 2007
  • Review: Perfect transaction,delivery on time........and very useful manual. Thanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Tucosn, az on Wednesday, January 17, 2007
  • Review: Loved this book has everything you need including FAA questions, detailed pics and a ton of review questions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

  • By ada from kansas city KS USA on Wednesday, August 17, 2011
  • Review: Loved it! Illustrations are clear, text is simple to understand. What more could you ask for?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Study Aide

  • By A Customer from Culver city CA USA on Thursday, July 15, 2010
  • Pros: Pictures, highlighting key points, clear explanations
  • Cons: Huge textbook, alomst like being back in school, side stories interesting, but not required really
  • Review: This is a good book to use while learining. Helps understand a lot of the stuff that you are actually doing. Has a lot of info - like the way it highlihgts in differnt colors or boxes the key points so you can go back and refresh easily
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Fabio from Sarnico Bergamo Italy on Wednesday, July 29, 2009
  • Pros: simply and complete
  • Cons: --
  • Review: It is a great book.Not only according to me but also according some pilots i met. It easy understanding.  It is complete.  It has the theory and exercise and summary that is very helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best of the best

  • By Petriman Marius from Madrid Spain on Sunday, October 18, 2009
  • Pros: illustrations,explanations
  • Cons: none
  • Review: By far the best aviation manual you could every find on the market.  I would recommend it to every future pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best source of information for pilots

  • By Ricardo student pilot from Gurabo PR USA on Wednesday, September 06, 2017
  • Pros: It has the necessary information
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book

  • By Claudia from CHUALAR CA USA on Thursday, May 01, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, June 03, 2020
  • Review: I really liked this book. All the information is laid out in concise manners and there isn't a lot of nonsense or jokes. Much easier to read through in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great introduction

  • By A Customer from Cupertino CA USA on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sean from North Hollywood CA USA on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good ground school reference text

  • By K. from Auburn WA USA on Thursday, February 21, 2013
  • Pros: Good visuals and text highlights. Good, straight-forward explanations
  • Cons: Some charts are a little small, making it challenging to get accurate calculations in exercises
  • Review: Currently using the Private Pilot Manual for my ground school curriculum. I find most of the visuals used in the explanations very helpful and like that they use a variety of photos and diagrams. I also appreciate the highlights used in the text where salient information is emphasized. Some of the graphs (especially multi-step, i.e., take-off and landing distances) are a little small in scale which make getting accurate results a little challenging. Overall, a very good text. I highly recommended it as a good basic reference for VFR flying fundamentals even if you're not planning on taking a formal private pilot ground school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book

  • By Nicole from NJ on Monday, September 29, 2014
  • Pros: Very informative, good pictures and understandable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book is great if you're learning about your private pilot license. The only thing I don't like is how it does not go with Gleim faa knowledge test that my professor uses to learn off of. However the Gleim book doesn't hibe pictures and gives vague information and this book clears it up so much. Great book, will definetly get the instrument book too
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am using this along with 2 others, they ea. compliment very well 😃

  • By Kurt from Arcadia OH USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: I like the extra tidbits & stories, also the FAA statements as you go along.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Top flite training material.

  • By Dean from Zion IL USA on Wednesday, March 02, 2011
  • Pros: Hardcover textbook, instant reference material.
  • Cons: No cd.
  • Review: When coupled with the syllabus and flight training, this will equip a person with all the necessary knowledge to pass the airmans written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Manual - Needs More Detail

  • By Phil "RittSea" Ritts from Lehigh Valley, PA on Monday, June 25, 2007
  • Pros: Great illustrations. Organized very well.
  • Cons: Summarizes all required suject areas without covering any one in great detail.
  • Review: This is a fantastic manual. The illustrations really help teach complex concepts in an easy to understand format. It's essential reading for new pilots like me. However, don't expect to read this manual and walk away with all of the knowledge that you need for your private pilot's license. Flying requires an enormous amount of technical and regulatory learning. This manual sufficiently summarizes all of the subject areas you need to know for private pilot training. But it should be treated as just the first (perhaps the most important) of many manuals you should study for your private pilot license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Book

  • By Steven on Monday, January 12, 2009
  • Pros: Great definitions and diagrams
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought the book because I'm working on becoming a commercial helicopter pilot. The book has good explanations of terms and often times it has a diagram that follows. The book is more geared toward fixed wing aircraft, but a lot of it applies to helicopters as well. So it was a good book, but there were some parts I didn't read, because they dealt more with fixed wing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Necessary Reading

  • By Benjamin from Salt Lake City UT USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros: Well organised.
  • Cons: Not enough rotorcraft materiel
  • Review: The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars, is due to my training being specific to rotary wing. The format of this book is concise and informative.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Too much unrelated examples with too many pictures.

  • By Anthony Garcia, Ph.D. from Hearst Museum of Anthropology, Berkeley, California 94720 on Thursday, August 02, 2007
  • Pros: organization
  • Cons: too many examples to make a point.
  • Review: Enjoyed the text book overall. However, the text could have accomplished each topics with much less over-use of diagrams. The books seems to target junior high school audience. I have the Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual from 1977 and although could have used more, its format was much more desirable for a more mature audience. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed all the colors and photos you used. However, black and white descriptions of action gets the example across with more bang. The book was much too big to lug around. I might try your CD version and test drive it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent resource

  • By Dave from Bel Air MD USA on Thursday, October 25, 2007
  • Pros: Great explainations of technical and practical points.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Provides a great reference for bringing together topics learned from my instructor and other materials.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great book

  • By A Customer on Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • Pros: Ease of reading
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book was actually used as the reference for learning the material prior to taking the FAA exam. Was concise and explained the material thoroughly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good book

  • By Thomas (Kope) from Thief River Falls MN USA on Friday, August 28, 2009
  • Pros: concise
  • Cons:
  • Review: It appears informative and useful, I still haven't thoroughly reviewed it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very descriptive

  • By Laurie from Waukesha WI USA on Thursday, December 04, 2008
  • Pros: Easy format to follow
  • Cons:
  • Review: The Jeppesen texts always provide very detailed diagrams to help explain concepts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Falling apart

  • By Kenneth from Crandon WI USA on Thursday, November 05, 2015
  • Review: The content of the book is very good. But, I purchased the book a little over a month ago and it is falling apart already. For what is charged for this book, it should at least hold together.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Peter from Albuquerque NM USA on Monday, October 21, 2013
  • Review: Much prefer the older hardback version. With the amount of reading this volume gets, the paperback edition just doesn't hold up. Content seems to mostly be an updated, but watered down version of the Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge, which is available free in download on the net. The Jeppesen volume does have good (though occasionally confusing) graphics. Found a few, just plain out and out errors, so if something Jepepsen says, just doesn't make sense, double check it with another source (e. g. PHAK)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

instructor said the revisions made it worse

  • By Christine from CT USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: great graphics and easy to read
  • Cons: missing some basics in the revision
  • Review: I think overall the textbook is solid, but when I was looking to read up on s-turns, turns around a point, and rectangular courses, it was very difficult to fine (not in the index) and sort of buried in the text. this is FAA basic material so it was strange that they excluded out of the volume. i order the FAA handbooks just to make up for it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Assumes too much up front knowledge.

  • By Mark from Bradenton FL USA on Thursday, June 25, 2009
  • Pros: pictures
  • Cons: Poor explanation of many details.
  • Review: Advisable to start your lessons before reading too much. They assume you know some of the buzz words and they also assume you have some basic knowledge of flying. They do not adequately and thoroughly explain everything as well as they should. You will need an instructor to better explain the proper use of radio communications, etc. They should better explain the different class of airports and advise how to fly over or under ceiling and floor altitudes. If anyone knows a better training manual please let me know.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the GLEIM book better.

  • By Trex from Tucson AZ USA on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Pros: Nice cover.
  • Cons: Dry.
  • Review: My wife and I used Sporties DVD's, Jeppesen,Gleim and Rod Machado during training at a part 61 school here at RYN. I got the most out of the Gleim books but the real issue for us was going to a good ground school. We will take all the rest of our training at a part 141 school. Finally finished at American Flyers, real professional instructors.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Poorly made book. What happened to the hard cover that last?

  • By A Customer from Crockett TX USA on Tuesday, November 04, 2014
  • Pros: Information good.
  • Cons: Cheap made book. Don't buy it. There are other companies that offer the same information. Buy Gleim. Their books are cheap, but with a cheap book price, and it will teach you the same thing Jeppesen will.
  • Review: The information in the book is great. The problem is the cheap paper back cover that replaced the hard back cover. I have picked the book up five times at the most, and the cover is already about to fall apart from the pages inside the book. What happened to the hard cover? With a cost as much as this book cost, it should be a quality product. I own the Jeppesen Instrumental/Commercial book that has a hard back cover, and it is very durable. This shows me that Jeppesen is a cheap product company. Don't buy this book unless you want to keep the pages in a bag or box. The cover does not hold together. Poor product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.