TOP

Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

  • 49 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Best you can buy

  • By JOHN from Concord CA USA on Thursday, May 16, 2013
  • Review: I've spent a ton of cash on various Private Pilot training systems. I was never satisfied with any if them until I bought the Jeppesen system. This is a college style text book. Well written, quality printing, and well organized information. If your working on your pilots license, stick with Jeppesen. It's head and shoulders above Gleim, King, and Sportys. I know. I wasted my money on all of those.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By David from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent description of principles and very clear explanations
  • Cons:
  • Review: As an older student prepping for the pilot's exam, I have been having difficulty picking up some of the principles required to pass the exam and have used 3-4 different manuals with limited success. This manual however is very clear and is incredibly easy to follow. I wish I had purchased this manual first; I would have saved a few hundred dollars. It goes through each area, giving the necessary topics but also includes little notes of interest regarding each area or topic. Very helpful and interesting to read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Glad I went with Jeppesen

  • By Cragar Mags from Detroit, MI on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
  • Pros: Just a really well thought out manual.
  • Cons: None that I have come across
  • Review: This book is way better than the other manuals that I have read. It is very comprehensive yet easy to follow. I really like the descriptions and explainations of how the information will apply to the test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Coupled with a ground school instructor, this beats the DVD courses

  • By John from Midland MI USA on Friday, November 18, 2016
  • Pros: Excellent value, good examples and illustrations
  • Cons:
  • Review: Really like the way it is laid out. The small practice quizzes at the end of each section, with the answer key in the back, help a lot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Can't Beat It

  • By Nancy from Bloomfield NY USA on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
  • Pros: Fantastic graphics!
  • Cons: Maybe too much information, which could be overwhelming.
  • Review: I'm familiar with this product from 20 years ago. It was good then, but now it's really something! The color graphics are amazing and really help you understand and remember the material. It's well organized and packed with everything you need to know to pass the FAA Private Pilot written exam. It includes nice-to-know examples, too, that a Private Pilot won't need, but might be interested in if planning to continue to move up in ratings. Those examples are set off with a border and blue background, so you know it's not needed for the FAA exam. I wouldn't consider attempting my Private Pilot rating without it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Everything you need to know in 1 book.

  • By Vito from Staten Island NY on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Review: This book is great. It's very detailed and has everything you need fo know as a private pilot, is didn't have to look anything up online, it was all in the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Every pilot should have one.

  • By Ben from Asheville NC USA on Tuesday, October 11, 2011
  • Pros: Great reference
  • Cons: The price
  • Review: I have owned a copy of this book for years and use it to help explain all the things that a private pilot should know to my flight students. (I have been a CFI for nine years.) I bought this copy for my fourteen year old grandson who is now very interested in becoming a pilot because I think it is the best reference available for aspiring, new, and old pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sharon from La Grange IL USA on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
  • Pros: Very informative
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought it as a christmas present for my boyfriend. He's almost done reading it. He said it is very informative
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simply excellent book

  • By Roberto from Lincolnton NC USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: This very complete and well explained, besides bringing illustrations that support the study.
  • Cons: In this book not found any against, rather, I have been very helpful in my studies.
  • Review: It's great to learn the theory, is very complete in every chapter, and the best, is that it helps a lot, to bring detailed illustrations, with which one can support the learning process. A great book for those who are studying aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Was a very good buy

  • By Norman from Kentwood MI USA on Monday, March 12, 2012
  • Pros: In depth explanations in each chapter/section.
  • Cons:
  • Review: It exceeded my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jeppesen did a great job with this book

  • By Robert from Brewton AL USA on Monday, June 28, 2010
  • Pros: Very well organized
  • Cons: Price
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Private Pilots

  • By Mark from Iowa, USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Pros: A must for the student pilot
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Excellent material and great explanations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Incredible Book

  • By Mark Howard from Edmond, OK on Monday, June 18, 2007
  • Pros: Excellent content. Incredible illustrations.
  • Cons: None, other than being heavy because it has so much information in it!
  • Review: I had an old version of this book when I was in pilot training in 1985. The new version is incredible, with beautiful illustrations throughout that make learning even the most difficult concepts much easier. I now review chapters periodically for a refresher and learn something new every time I pick it up. It is up to date on the latest regulations, technology, etc. I highly recommend the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By JM from Kalispell, MT on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Review: I would recomend to any pilot
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Sure beats the previous edition!

  • By Full Boost from Grosse Ile MI USA on Thursday, December 20, 2007
  • Pros: Better graphics, more details, larger size.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Having homed schooled most of my ground work with the previous edition, since I already had it. This new version would have made the process much easier. Spend the money, upgrade, it's well worth it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andre from Sharpsburg, GA on Wednesday, January 23, 2008
  • Review: I learned on Jeppson. They are just the best. A bit pricey but worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

VERY GOOD

  • By A Customer from Johnstown CO USA on Thursday, May 20, 2010
  • Review: I love all the things it covers.  It is a very good book!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Perfect for learning the basics.

  • By Alex from simi valley CA USA on Monday, November 19, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to understand
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It met every expectation,actually reading it for the second time. Love how it really breaks things down with diagrams really easy to understand.Didn't lack anything.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Riccardo from Sydney, Australia on Wednesday, November 28, 2007
  • Review: Perfect transaction,delivery on time........and very useful manual. Thanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Tucosn, az on Wednesday, January 17, 2007
  • Review: Loved this book has everything you need including FAA questions, detailed pics and a ton of review questions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Study Aide

  • By A Customer from Culver city CA USA on Thursday, July 15, 2010
  • Pros: Pictures, highlighting key points, clear explanations
  • Cons: Huge textbook, alomst like being back in school, side stories interesting, but not required really
  • Review: This is a good book to use while learining. Helps understand a lot of the stuff that you are actually doing. Has a lot of info - like the way it highlihgts in differnt colors or boxes the key points so you can go back and refresh easily
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book.

  • By A Customer from Seattle WA USA on Tuesday, April 12, 2011
  • Pros: Good presentation of info.
  • Cons: Wish there were an edition for helicopters only
  • Review: This book is amazing- a great purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the cost, would definately buy again

  • By Savage from Charleston WV USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: Great color graphics, much more information that competitors books.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I checked out many differnt private pilot training manuals from the local library. Most were in the $20 to $30 range. When I was ready to buy, I researched the Jeppesen and read the reviews. At first I struggled with the cost. Within 10 minutes of recieving it I was very pleased. You get what you pay for. If you want a low end book buy one of the other brands, but if you want the best, buy this one. Would definately buy this again, very glad I didn't buy one of the others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Fabio from Sarnico Bergamo Italy on Wednesday, July 29, 2009
  • Pros: simply and complete
  • Cons: --
  • Review: It is a great book.Not only according to me but also according some pilots i met. It easy understanding.  It is complete.  It has the theory and exercise and summary that is very helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best of the best

  • By Petriman Marius from Madrid Spain on Sunday, October 18, 2009
  • Pros: illustrations,explanations
  • Cons: none
  • Review: By far the best aviation manual you could every find on the market.  I would recommend it to every future pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

  • By ada from kansas city KS USA on Wednesday, August 17, 2011
  • Review: Loved it! Illustrations are clear, text is simple to understand. What more could you ask for?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best source of information for pilots

  • By Ricardo student pilot from Gurabo PR USA on Wednesday, September 06, 2017
  • Pros: It has the necessary information
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book

  • By Claudia from CHUALAR CA USA on Thursday, May 01, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, June 03, 2020
  • Review: I really liked this book. All the information is laid out in concise manners and there isn't a lot of nonsense or jokes. Much easier to read through in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great introduction

  • By A Customer from Cupertino CA USA on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sean from North Hollywood CA USA on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.