TOP

Reviews for FuelHawk Cessna 182 Long Range Fuel Gauge

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Don't Use the Wrong One!

  • By Donald from Plymouth NH USA on Wednesday, July 18, 2012
  • Pros: accurate when you have the right stick
  • Cons: The wrong stick is still labeled C182 leading you to believe it is correct
  • Review: A club member had a 182 gauge stick that was not the correct one for our 1980 Turbo RG 182. It showed 10 gallons left when we had about 2 gallons left. I bought the correct model stick and got a real eye opener.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Trophy Club TX USA on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
  • Review: Accurate measurement, takes any guesswork out of the picture.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

GREAT PRODUCT TO CHECK FUEL AND FUEL BURN

  • By SAWDUST63 from MOUNT GILEAD NC USA on Tuesday, July 19, 2011
  • Review: GUAGES ON MY 182 WERE NOTORIOUSLY BAD. THE MORE YOU USE THE MORE CONFIDENCE YOU GAIN TO KNOW YOUR FUEL BURN.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple but works great.

  • By Roger from Chandler AZ USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Ridiculously easy to use. Stores easily in the airplane or your bag.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: What a simple concept for keeping you safe. It's always nice to know exactly how much fuel you have. Never ever trust the gages 100%.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Handy Stick

  • By Bob from Little Rock AR USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros: Easy the use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The Fuel Hawk Gauge works great. No more guessing. I recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Harold from Manning SC USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Peace of Mind!

  • By A Customer from Fort Worth TX USA on Friday, January 25, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to read. No moving parts to wear out.
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet
  • Review: [This review refers to the FuelHawk Cessna 172 Long Range Fuel Gauge version] Ever looked into that deep, dark hole called a fuel tank and wondered just how much fuel is really in there? I always hated that and now there is no more wondering for me. I have a lot more peace of mind knowing exactly how much fuel is in each tank before take-off. I used the "stick method" in the past and all you really know is that you have 5" of fuel but how many gallons is that? How many inches per hour does your airplane use? I didn't know either. The fuel hawk gives you a readout in gallons which is useful information that you can actually use in calculations without having to guess. Great product!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

valuable tool

  • By A Customer from Burlington MA USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: simple to use and easy to read
  • Cons:
  • Review: As most of us know, the only reliable fuel indication a pilot can get from the gauges is "EMPTY", so this simple add-on to my flight bag has proved to be of great value. Simple to use and easy to read, this product has met all my expectations and posted description. Please, just make sure to order the right one for the equipment you are flying, or adjust its scale, if you get the generic FuelHawk. The only suggestion I would make would be the introduction of some sort of wrist band attached to a collar on the top portion of the stick, to prevent any chance of having it sliding into the tank itself.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Sarah from Houston TX USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It's perfect for doing what it is meant to do - reading the amount of fuel in the tanks. I like it a lot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By John from Irmo SC USA on Monday, October 20, 2014
  • Pros: Small, easy to read and easy to store away.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very accurate works as advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jack from Johnson City TX USA on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Pros: well built, easy to handle
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Excellent measuring device. I know exactly how much usable fuel is in my airplane and there is no more guessing. Well designed
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Piece of mind

  • By CAPFlyguy from Indianapolis IN USA on Monday, September 11, 2017
  • Pros: simple see through design
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Simple to check fuel levels in the tanks. Give me piece of mind that I know exactly how much fuel I have and so I can calculate the exact weight and balance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jerry from Danbury TX USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use, stores in pouch on backside of pilot seat
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It's quick, simple and very accurate
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly What I Expected

  • By David from Topeka KS USA on Friday, December 30, 2016
  • Review: Very durable and exactly what I was expecting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Kelly from Hixson TN USA on Wednesday, June 28, 2017
  • Review: Just the thing to keep in your flight bag
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hand-held fuel gauge

  • By Jim from Newton MA USA on Monday, June 28, 2010
  • Pros: easy to use and precise
  • Cons: gauges can fall into the tank
  • Review: The gauge is well calibrated, easy to read and very useful for knowing what you really have in the tanks. We share two planes among a group of owners and always leave them with just enough space at the top of the tank to avoid having fuel spilling out in the hangar -- about 1.5 g down. No way other than measuring the fill works. The only problem is that these "sipping straw" gauges can fall into the tank and they are something of nuisance to fish out. We solved this problem by putting a PVC container top above the last calibrating mark. The top is secured by two stainless hose clamps and two washers. Works well and won't fall in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Brockton MA on Wednesday, July 21, 2004
  • Review: it is a good product, but could use a finger grip or knurling on the top to prevent slippage. Also, a spring loaded rubber stopper on the top would make the product easier to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend it to other pilots.

  • By A Customer from Cortez CO USA on Thursday, March 10, 2011
  • Pros: Simple to use
  • Cons: Some have trouble keeping fuel in tube when dipping, learning curve.
  • Review: Works great, we run with reduced fuel, so it nice to know exactly what fuel is in the tanks since you can't trust the gauges.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I like this product but...

  • By Susan from Crystal Lake IL USA on Wednesday, March 12, 2008
  • Pros: Accurwate, dependable, sturdy
  • Cons: Cunfusing packaging, numbers wear off
  • Review: The fuel tester is much more accurate than the Cessna fuel guages in the aircraft. On a 2000 mile trip it helped me accurately plan my fuel stops. At home, it also is very good for calculating partial fuelings when carrying a load. Although it is made of very sturdy plastic, the numbers and markings tend to wearm off after a few years. However the packaging is very confusing. You must rely on the verbage "Long-Range" and "Standard" rather than the capacity of the tanks each specifies. The "Standard" model indicates 43.5 gallon tanks, whereas the "Long Range" indicates 42 gallon tanks. GO figure. No one (the Pilot Store people or my mecahnic)could not give me a good explanation, nor was I able to locate the manufacturer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By A Customer from Cave Creek AZ USA on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
  • Pros: resonably accurate as best I can tell
  • Cons: Needs a fitting on top to keep from dropping stick in the tank
  • Review: Needs a fitting on top to keep from dropping stick in the tank
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, June 04, 2018
  • Review: Not especially accurate in my 182. Reads 28-30 gallons when long range tanks are full.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

inaccurate but a good reference

  • By henry from henderson NV USA on Thursday, February 21, 2013
  • Pros: a good reference
  • Cons: not accurate enough
  • Review: I thought this device would be much more accurate, the tabs on my airplane are 34.5 gallons but the gage varies quite a bit not sure why
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.