TOP

Reviews for Kool Scoop Aircraft Vents - Left Side

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By robert from Ramona CA USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Pros: Solid, well made, product
  • Cons: No cons
  • Review:

    I used Velcro to attach and it only took a couple of minutes.  The design prevents the door from accidently opening too far.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I should have bought this years ago

  • By Carlos from Lexington Park MD USA on Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to install and very effective
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was not aware of this product until I saw it in a plane a couple of months ago. I ordered it the same day. This is great! Only a few hot days remained but hose were a lot more comfortable than without. I should have bought this with the plane 15 years ago.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A fantastic device for your airplane

  • By Vtaildoc from Venice FL USA on Monday, April 04, 2022
  • Pros: Easy to install and very effective in helping to get airflow into the cabin especially when the single door to my Bonanza is closed
  • Cons: At 6 foot 3 I have wide shoulders so it does bump into my left shoulder but I can put up with this inconvenience
  • Review: Bonanza's are notorious for poor airflow when she shut the door the little side window does not provide enough ventilation when you are on the ground to help cool you off especially in Florida. This device helps tremendously. It is easy to install.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works

  • By Brad on Monday, October 21, 2019
  • Pros: Works.
  • Cons: None at this time. Hopefully lasts.
  • Review: Pulls more air into the cabin. (I live in Texas)
    1960 PA-24 250.
    Moves out of the way. (I am 6'4" tall and weigh over 300 lbs)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Kool Scoop is a must-have

  • By James on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Review: This thing is a life-saver. I'm based out of Texas and it's about 100 degrees outside. I can tell you the Kool Scoop is a blessing on the ground in a plane without AC. Easy to install and effective. Just starting the plane the prop generates a flow of cooler air right in your face.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

long over due

  • By David from Minnesota City MN USA on Tuesday, December 01, 2020
  • Pros: almost as good as air-conditioning
  • Cons: Its almost winter in Minnesota
  • Review: I wish I had come across this 30 years ago. It works so well and is so easy to install.  Absolutely love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must have on a Piper warrior

  • By Yamil from Pembroke Pines FL USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2022
  • Pros: Fits well, excellent quality product.
  • Cons: I sometimes rub against it in flight but not a big deal
  • Review: I recently replaced the side windows on a recent Piper Warrior 1973. I made the mistake of making the storm window larger and thought the scoop would not fit. The scoop does fit and works very well during taxiing in very hot S. Florida.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Lake Havasu City AZ USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2015
  • Review: Living in Arizona this is a must have. Super easy to install and works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good product

  • By Arturo from Laredo TX USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
  • Review: Working pretty well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By A Customer from Marshall MO USA on Thursday, October 13, 2016
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Perfect fit in my PA-24-250. Easy to install and provides great airflow.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Way Kool!

  • By R. Link from Powell OH USA on Tuesday, August 01, 2017
  • Pros: Very sturdy and brings a large amount of fresh air inside to keep the cabin cool. It really does the job.
  • Cons: Can't think of any.
  • Review: Excellent quality and was easy to install on my Piper Cherokee. Very sturdy. Brings the prop wash inside at just the right angle to keep the cabin ventilated and cool. A must have on a hot day and your passengers will like it too. Easily flips back out of the way when not in use. Well worth the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great! Get one

  • By Don from Westport MA USA on Wednesday, November 01, 2017
  • Pros: No better way to cool a coco
  • Cons: None
  • Review: If you have the vent window, then you must have this! There is no better way to cool a cockpit during taxi. I had one in my Cherokee 140 years ago. When I bought my 180, the first thing I bought was this! Get one!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than expected

  • By A Customer from Fernandina Beach FL USA on Friday, May 12, 2017
  • Pros: It works better than expected.
  • Cons: Some have mentioned the rattle when extended. I have it, but no big deal whatsoever.
  • Review: Easy to install. Solid construction. Flips out of the way easily.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Product

  • By David from Henderson TX USA on Friday, September 25, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to install
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works great. Simple and easy to install.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Godd buy

  • By Robert from Bettendorf IA USA on Tuesday, October 18, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to install
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a great addition to our non-air conditioned Piper Arrow. Provides a cool air source when ever the engine is running. Very easy to install
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great item

  • By matthew from Hopkinsville KY USA on Monday, April 11, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome device!

  • By Donald from Advance NC USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • Pros: Cheap AC!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: High quality. Easy to install and works great. Nice flow of fresh air from the prop while on the ground. If you forget to take the scoop out for flying, you will get a strong gust as a reminder upon takeoff.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from St Pete Beach FL USA on Tuesday, February 27, 2018
  • Review: The Kool air scoop works great and easy to install!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is a simple, but effective devise

  • By Michael from Pegram TN USA on Thursday, July 28, 2016
  • Pros: Simple, easy to install
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I purchased this air scoop in June and it sure has helped with venting my plane on a hot day ground operation. I highly recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Useful

  • By Francisco from South Padre Island TX USA on Friday, August 05, 2016
  • Pros: Sturdy, Effective
  • Cons:
  • Review: Living and flying in hot climate the scoop is a must!
    Great product and would recomend it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By Jeff from Gainesville FL USA on Tuesday, April 02, 2019
  • Pros: Cool air inside when you are on the ground
  • Cons: I have to close the window before I takeoff
  • Review: It’s nice because it brings in the air from outside when the propeller is spinning
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works

  • By glen from Wickenburg AZ USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2020
  • Review: It works. Easy to install.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Alan @ KVCB from Vacaville CA USA on Tuesday, October 06, 2020
  • Pros: Works
  • Cons: Vibrates with wind, engine, etc.
  • Review: It does what it was designed to do. Be careful you don't try to force your window lock over the Kool Scoop unless they are the same thickness. One of our pilots did so and put small cracks in the Kool Scoop as well as the side window at the lock pivot point.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Kool Scoop

  • By PA-28-140 from Reading PA USA on Tuesday, August 01, 2017
  • Pros: Performs as claimed.
  • Cons: Can't be used while in flight.
  • Review: Works way better than sticking your hand out to deflect air inside.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very pleased with scoops thus far

  • By Tom Hutchisson from Waxhaw NC USA on Saturday, October 15, 2016
  • Pros: fair costs, does what is says
  • Cons: may take up a slight amount of window / and or elbow room but its NOT an issue
  • Review: So far so good, with 2 of these installed in my Debonair and both storm windows open I get a VERY positive airflow into the cabin with the engine at idle. With the engine off it does help to cross ventilate as much as mother nature allows. For the money its a pretty quick and easy way of adding some air to the cabin. Have to say its a lot nicer than taxing around with you and your passengers arm hanging out the window!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A cool addition to the PA-28-235

  • By William Brendel from Texas on Wednesday, October 07, 2020
  • Pros: You have to have it in this part of Texas
  • Cons: Pricey - but you'll probably only need one for decades
  • Review: Anything to bring some air into a Piper cockpit is appreciated, particularly here on south Texas ramps. It may be the only option on the market and a bit expensive but worth it. Installation instructions could be better in terms of placement. Most pics you see, even on pilot supply websites, don't show the best placement. Improperly - placed the vent will blow shut. Important: if you use isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol to prep your window - don't get it on the scoop unit - it will permanently dull/fog the unit. Lesson learned! Instructions warn you about other agents but we'll extend it to 70% rubbing alcohol too. Use only a mild? soap and water.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Won't stay in place

  • By William from Annapolis MD USA on Tuesday, August 08, 2017
  • Pros: It looks good and would probably work as advertised if it would stay in place
  • Cons: Velcro will not hold it in place with the engine running
  • Review: The scoop will not stay in place with Velcro when the engine is running
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.