TOP

Reviews for GoPro HERO 3 / 4 Aircraft Audio Adapter - Fixed Wing

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great so far

  • By Paul from Riceville TN USA on Saturday, January 10, 2015
  • Pros: Definitely serving its purpose, recording flight lessons. Has second plug included in case you only have 2 in the plane. You can plug it to the plane then plug your headset to it. Makes my DC headphones cord a little longer and keeps it out of the way.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The cable works perfectly with my GoPro hero 3. Great sound and seems to be great quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed

  • By Joao from Lisboa Lisboa Portugal on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Review: Couldn't be more satisfied with the adapter.
    It's just what I needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the purpose

  • By A Customer from Hillsborough NJ USA on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
  • Review: I get very clear aircraft audio in my GoPro 3 camera with this. The cord is plenty long, and the extra plug allows a headset to be plugged in on the same airplane socket. Note that using this with the GoPro shuts out all external sound, so you can't hear engine sounds at all on the camera recording.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best thing

  • By Steven from Johnson City TN USA on Monday, April 21, 2014
  • Review: Works great haven't had a problem out of this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By JT from Fort Worth TX USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Review: Great product, audio recorded from aircraft intercom and ATC crystal clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

WORKS GREAT!!

  • By Robert G1000 from River Ridge LA USA on Friday, November 28, 2014
  • Pros: works as advertised
  • Cons: a bit pricey
  • Review: Just plug it in and you're done.

    audio is perfect
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly

  • By A Customer from Fremont CA USA on Saturday, December 28, 2013
  • Review: This works exactly as advertised
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product!

  • By Jake from Tequesta FL USA on Saturday, December 28, 2013
  • Pros: The whole product is a 5 star rating.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a great product. Sound is crisp clear and has great quality. Excellent choice for pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for making GoPro cockpit video

  • By James from Airdrie AB Canada on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Good quality, and hope it will last a long time.
  • Cons: A bit on the expensive side for a cable, especially when the older GoPros only needed a 3.5mm setup, but thats more GoPro's fault than this cable.
  • Review: Very good quality, and works perfect with the Hero +3. I use it to make instructional videos in the jet, and the intercom, aircraft alert/warning voice, and ATC audio is crisp and clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Dan from Clovis CA USA on Sunday, August 25, 2013
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: Too expensive. Had a friend build his own for a third the price.
  • Review: Simple to use. Audio is fantastic sounding. Records cockpit and ATC.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great adapter, makes videos much more interesting

  • By Sarah "Fullthrottle" Rovner from Houston TX USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: No more hearing just bland engine noise when flying
  • Cons: It has to be connected to a camera and the wires can be a pain
  • Review: This adapter makes airborne videos much more interesting by recording cockpit audio. You would be surprised what conversations come up, as well as funny things you hear on the radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Herman from Antioch IL USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Pros: fast, simple, and reliable
  • Cons:
  • Review: A MUST HAVE for the GoPro Pilot. The Aircraft Audio Adapter is a simple to use and reliable way to include ATC and pilot to crew/passenger communications in your videos. An excellent tool for creating training videos. I am not sure if there is a way to include background sounds such as the plane's engine in case for whatever reason you would want to include these sounds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed

  • By Joao from Lisboa Lisboa Portugal on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Review: Couldn't be more satisfied with the adapter.  It's just what I needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well built, works great

  • By A Customer from Seattle, WA on Monday, August 12, 2013
  • Review: I'm very happy with this purchase. It brings a lot more value to flying with the gopro.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product & Better Customer Service!

  • By Eric Trerotola from Irvine, CA on Tuesday, July 30, 2013
  • Pros: Well made product.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Although my adapter did not work like 'Steve from Winnetka IL USA' I took mine back to Pilot USA. They were extremely helpful in testing and determining the problem was with my GoPro Hero 3 Black.

    I contacted GoPro and they replaced camera. Now everything is working great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Works for me!

  • By Jim F. from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
  • Pros: Coiled Cable, Quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I plugged this adapter in to my new HERO 3 Black edition and I am able to record everything I hear through my Bose Headset. My recordings sound great and I do not hear all of the background noise of my engine!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I have bought two

  • By John Oji from Yuba City CA USA on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
  • Pros: Works exactly as advertised.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The adapter worked exactly as expected. Audio quality is excellent. I ordered a second with a 15'cord to place the camera further out on the wing away from the fuselage.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sounds Great

  • By eskull from Phoenix AZ USA on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: Audio sounds great, eliminates engine noise.
  • Cons: Need frame mount to access audio jack.
  • Review: Used it on a few flights, captures the audio perfectly. Need to use a Frame mount to allow access to the audio out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect fit

  • By Michael from Seattle WA USA on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use, plug and play
  • Cons: If using protective GoPro case, must drill hole to pass cable through.
  • Review: This is exactly what I needed to get headset audio into my GoPro recordings. The only bad thing is that the protective case for the camera doesn't have a way to connect this (because it's waterproof). However, I was easily able to drill a hole through the side of the case to allow the cable to connect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Serves its purpose very well.

  • By Earl from Troy AL USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Review: We use it for the communications sound (intercom and com) in cockpit video in a training environment. Very helpful in standardization.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Christopher from West Orange NJ USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Review: It was exactly what I was looking for. Great product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Christopher from West Orange NJ USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Review: It was exactly what I was looking for. Great product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, March 02, 2016
  • Review: I've used it for at least 15 flights. Sound quality is very good, materials are good too. Installation is piece of cake. Never had problems with that. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, January 09, 2017
  • Review: This is amazing! It drowns out the outside noise and records clearly you, tower and your passengers. Great for reviewing. If you're an instructor, you can use this to replay and debrief with your student on their communication with tower and other aircraft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I needed!

  • By Jason from Payson UT USA on Friday, June 24, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use, works great
  • Cons:
  • Review: Being a new pilot in training, I wanted something to record my lessons and this was it! Works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Australia on Friday, July 29, 2016
  • Pros: Clear Audio
  • Cons: Not a single one!
  • Review: It went well past my expectations!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Item Landed Safely, Worked with SJCAM!

  • By Ghino Luqyano from Philippines on Tuesday, March 21, 2017
  • Review: Finally! I got my Product in 2 weeks (Philippines). I ain't test the Product yet actually, but I tried to connect the USB to my SJCAM SJ6 Legend USB Port and it's connected PERFECTLY!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By Andrew from Austin TX USA on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Pros: Strong cable, easy to use in every way
  • Cons: Depending on your cockpit, it could get away, just make sure you have a place to keep the wire hidden!
  • Review: I really really love the cable! I've been using it for about 2 months now and it's still in tip top shape! Very strong cable, so I'll never have to worry about it tearing or such.. One thing to keep in mind when you get this, make sure you have a case that will allow you to plug in the adapter! It uses the same port as your charging port! Overall, highly recommend!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for editing video of flying and radio communication

  • By Hans Christian Amlie from Oslo NORWAY Norway on Thursday, April 20, 2017
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Loves my new toy :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Ronen from Israel on Saturday, June 03, 2017
  • Review: Works very good, totally as expected, using it in a CESSNA with RUGGEDAIR Headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

If you have the money then why not ?

  • By Johan from Pretoria Gauteng South Africa on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use, great recording quality.
  • Cons: Overpriced by $20 easily, 5ft isn't much.
  • Review: Works perfectly, recording quality is outstanding. Very simple and easy to use. Would have given it 5 stars but the price is way to high and 5ft is not as much as you would think, still... thumbs up!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

  • By Michael from NSW, Australia on Thursday, April 02, 2015
  • Pros: audio quality, workmanship, ease of use
  • Cons: too short
  • Review: Great idea, I've been searching for one of these for a long time. The audio is clear and crisp and it appears to be well made. The only issue I have with the cable is that it's too short. The description claims it's 5 feet long but it's coiled like an old phone cable so to make it reach from the cannon ports on the aeroplane to the camera I had to stretch the cable right out which might cause damage to the cable or the ports. On the whole, good cable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

go pro cable

  • By Barry from Las Vegas NV USA on Monday, April 13, 2015
  • Review: Simple works great , but I'm not sure I like it curled.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Tom from Huntersville NC USA on Wednesday, August 05, 2015
  • Pros: Great audio quality
  • Cons: Drains battery and coiled wire should be stait and longer
  • Review: Great product. Works as advertised. It does drain the GoPro battery quickly and I wish the coiled wire was lomger and strait. Gets in the way of a passengers face.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pretty good but the sound doesn't record right.....

  • By Luke on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Does exactly what it says it does. Very clear recording.
  • Cons: Sound goes out of sync but this may not be due to chord.
  • Review: Does what you want it too but sadly the sound goes more and more out of sync as the recording progresses, still trying to work out whats going one but over all, its awesome!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great quality, but overpriced.

  • By A Customer from Fairbanks AK USA on Sunday, August 25, 2013
  • Pros: Great as long as you have the frame for the GoPro
  • Cons: You may have to make a purchase from GoPro, over-priced, and another cable in the cockpit.
  • Review: This adapter met my basic expectations of getting audio to my Hero 3. I had to buy a separate frame because I only had waterproof housings. So together I spent around $100. $45 for a cord seems a bit high. I did love being able to go back and listen to ATC and make videos out of it without having to remix the audio to match it up. I do not like the cord and it's limited area. If you're training in a Cessna 150 and want audio, the best bet for the camera, unless you're solo, is on the left window or top left windshield. That way the cord isn't in your way. It is a cable and does its job well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worked as advertised

  • By Frank from Howell MI USA on Monday, September 09, 2013
  • Review: Liked everything but the coiled wire. I thing it would be easier to route around the cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hero3 USB > microphone adapter

  • By John from Naperville IL USA on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
  • Pros: GoPro compatible
  • Cons: dam USB weirdness
  • Review: works great! simple
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Yes, but......

  • By Skydro from Nijmegen Gelderland Netherlands on Monday, June 08, 2015
  • Pros: Sound quality
  • Cons: no charging possibility fot the battery
  • Review: It works fine, just as promised.
    Used with active noise reduction headset (Bose), you hear only the conversations, between crew and pilot - ground, no ambient noise. The sound quality is excellent.
    A big disadvantage is, that you cannot charge the battery of the GoPro camera via the usb-port at the same time. So you need a lot of spare batteries in a longer flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product, but ...

  • By Lannymon from Long Island, NY on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Does exactly what it's supposed to do.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This *should* be a 5 star product. But the presence of a coiled section of cord virtually guarantees that, unless the Hero 3 camera is mounted very close to your headset jacks, at some point during every flight the return force exerted by the coiled cord will pull the connector either completely away from the camera or out just enough so that the camera no longer recognizes an external microphone input. Availability of an extension cable would fix this issue, but the proprietary 10-pin mini-usb connector of the Hero 3 doesn't permit successful use of a "standard" [5-pin] mini-usb extension cable; at least not for the external microphone functionality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The product came broken

  • By kenneth frost from Largo FL USA on Monday, March 14, 2016
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons: It was smashed sometime before delivery
  • Review: Two screw mounts out three were damaged. When you shook the little box you could hear them rattle. I needed to use the product for a trip. The product actually worked. Because I used it, I felt shouldn't of returned it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I can't get this product to work

  • By Steve from Winnetka IL USA on Monday, July 08, 2013
  • Pros: Would be a great teaching tool
  • Cons: Can't get it to work
  • Review: I know they work because I got the idea from another pilot. It seems simple enough but I cannot get the sound to flow through the GoPro Hero 3. Sound flows from the radio to my headset just fine. Not sure if there is anything else to do but plug and play.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AIRCRAFT AUDIO ADAPTER

  • By yoram from kfar saba israel Israel on Saturday, February 15, 2014
  • Pros: GOOD QUALITY OF AUDIO SOUND
  • Cons: BAD QUALITY OF MATERIALS. TOO SHORT USE LIFE TIME
  • Review: AFTER EXACTLY 3 FLIGTHS USING THE GO-PRO CAMERA CONECTED TO THE ADAPTER, THE CABLE WAS BROKEN . THE METAL PART IN THE CAMERA SPLIT AND THE PLASTIC PART OF THE CABBLE WAS REMOVED WITHOUT THE METAL ELECTRONIC CONNECTING PART PLEASE REPLACE THE ADAPTER AND SEND A NEW ONE
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Doesn't connect when camera in mount!

  • By Marlin from Peoria,il on Thursday, April 03, 2014
  • Pros: Should work
  • Cons: Would have to drill hole in mounting case to plug into camera!
  • Review: Ok yep it all its plugs together - sorta. With the gopro3 in its mounter case there is no opening the which to plug in the adapter! Am I missing something.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Mini USB connector/jack got loose after less than a month of use

  • By Michael from Aurora CO USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: Audio quality is great
  • Cons: Mini USB connector/jack is cheap
  • Review: Mini USB connector/jack got loose after less than a month of use. Have to disassemble it and fix with a scotch tape. For now it works, but who knows for how long.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.