TOP

AirClassics HS-1A Headset

  • 127 Customer Reviews

Reviews for AirClassics HS-1A Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset

  • By Brandon from Gilmer TX USA on Friday, June 24, 2016
  • Pros: Good comfortable fit
  • Cons: Adjustment is cumbersome for unfamiliar passengers
  • Review: Great headset for the money, I purchased two sets for backup and passenger use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Vanjikumaran from Walnut Creek CA USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Review: This headset is impressive!! Really impressive. For given $$$,I'm shocked at the sound quality. They sound as good . It is worth for the money. :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just Fine

  • By Joe from Durham CT USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Review: They work fine. Not as comfortable as my David Clarks, but very functional and a good deal for the price. We'll see abput the longevity going forward.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Pawleys Island SC USA on Monday, October 15, 2018
  • Pros: Excellent sound and fit
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I asked my CFI to recommend a headset for me. He recommended the one he has used for years...Air Classics HS-1. I was a little skeptical after reading how tight it fitted. That said, with a little recommended bending of the metal it fit perfectly, is most comfortable on a long flight, and to me sounds as well as a much more expensive brand B that I use in his plane. I could not be more pleased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Invisible

  • By Thomas from Mountain View CA USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent comfort, noise blocking and audio quality. Great price.
  • Cons: Can't think of any.
  • Review: I'm a student so I don't necessarily have a lot to compare with, but this headset is as good as I can imagine needing a headset to be. From the moment I put it on until the moment I take it off, I never think about it once. It doesn't draw attention to itself by being uncomfortable or by performing poorly. It goes on my head and then vanishes from my consciousness until the end of the flight. It becomes invisible. That is the highest praise I can give any piece of equipment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best headset for the price

  • By Gehrig from Columbus GA USA on Friday, December 16, 2016
  • Pros: can be adjusted
  • Cons: it's a little tight but store it opened up on a box about the size of your head
  • Review: This headset is not as sexy as a lot of headsets that I see professional pilots with but it doesn't cost $1000 dollars either. It's great for the money. I can hear ATC clearly and it's fully adjustable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value!

  • By Bill from Boise ID USA on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Review: Comfortable, reliable, and it has excellent sound quality!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great buy!

  • By Travis from Phoenix AZ USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: price and volume controls
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: My son (3) and I both wear these when we go up amd they work great..the volume controls are great in case he wants to take a nap...I can still talk to other passengers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Affordable with Clear Sound

  • By Richard Scott Smith 150/150 from Scottsdale, AZ USA on Friday, February 14, 2014
  • Pros: Inexpensive, clear, *not* noise canceling
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Let me preface this with some facts about me. I hate the radio (although I operate out of mostly towered airports), I hate headsets (because I like to hear everything around me), and I have horrible, old radios. Having said that, I recently went to Las Vegas from Scottsdale, about a 2 hour flight, and I did the whole approach thing and had flight following the whole way. This is a really nice headset. I was replacing my old 20 plus year old headset because the wires were falling out. So this is my second headset. But I've used others at various times including David Clarks.

    I don't have any desire for noise cancelling because I like hearing the motor. Of the 3 forced landings I've had in my 20 years of Pilot in Command, the motor has always given me a little warning before it quit. That's helpful in my experience.

    I have a fairly noisy 150/150 and I usually opt for ear plugs instead of a headset, but I knew I was going to be busy getting into North Las Vegas so I sucked it up and put 'em on. They were comfortable for the 2 and a half hours (I had strong headwinds), which I consider to be a good comfort test.

    ATC was always able to understand me clearly and I could hear them clearly. Until I had a total radio failure, but that's not due to a faulty headset. My radios are junk (I have *old* KX170s and KX175s). The headset is awesome.

    Anyway, this is a good, inexpensive headset and considering my extreme hatred for headsets, I couldn't be happier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great buy

  • By T140v from Turlock CA USA on Monday, August 15, 2011
  • Pros: Outstanding sound for the money.
  • Cons: Just buy the gel pads from the Git Go.
  • Review: Wow it's a no brainer once you buy the gel pads. Flawless performance and really gets the job done.Once you adjust them you can leave them alone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pleasantly surprised

  • By john from 2GA2 on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: price, comfort, function.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very cheap ($) headset that I bought as a backup to mine and my wife's more expensive and much bigger name headsets and because I occasionally have an extra passenger in my C172. The airclassics has become my primary headset, my old trusty "green" headset is now my backup. I am very happy with this purchase: they are comfortable and sound great. They seem to be well made, time will tell.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buy this headset

  • By James from Belleville IL USA on Thursday, August 23, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable, clarity of sound it top notch
  • Cons: Was tight fitting at first until I spent time (15 min) adjusting.
  • Review: I researched the heck out of headsets under $200, leading me to only more confusion than I started. This headset fits me better and performs better than the DC headset that I had been borrowing from the flight school. Granted it was well used, but retailed for 3x what the air classics set cost me. It is light weight an the padding on the top of the headset is comfortable and does not leave indentation marks on my bald scalp. Only drawback is that there is not an accessory jack for iPod or other device, but as a student pilot, I don't need the distraction of music in the cockpit. When I get my ppl I will probably buy another for my passengers to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Sheffield Village OH USA on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
  • Pros: I can fly with it on for many hours,without too much disconfert.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Excellent unit for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Headset for the $$

  • By Michael from Woodlawn IL USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Good noise reduction, excellent price point
  • Cons: Would consider the gel ear muffs on replacement
  • Review: This was a purchase of a second HS-1A, as the first purchase met all expectations and is providing great service. Have worn some Telex headsets that were no better, and in fact, did not fit as well. For the money, this one is a great value!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Trust the other reviews...very good product

  • By William from Northwood NH USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: Comfort, sound
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: I have been more than pleasantly surprised. I read all reviews (on this and other sites) for many headsets, and this consistently scored among the highest. Admittedly, as a student pilot, my experience level is low...but I have to say this outperforms the Dave Clarks the school uses a loaners. It is more comfortable and the audio is clearer. I upgraded with gel earseals, and forget I have the headset on during all lessons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

love this product

  • By charles from columbia sc on Monday, November 11, 2013
  • Pros: great headset for price , great for students
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Bought this headset for passangers for my c182 and prefer them over my 1000 dollor noise canceling headset I bought another one for self love. The fact it cuts most of noise out but yet can still hear the pitch of engine in my opinion witch is a good thing if want more comfort buy the gel earmuffs but me personally I like them way they are very comfortable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Like it so much that I wish it has other colors.

  • By Eric H. on Sunday, December 08, 2013
  • Pros: Great capability/price ratio. Simple design and easy to use. Cheap but not looking cheap. Well constructed.
  • Cons: Earseals sometimes drop.
  • Review: It's been used for a year before I bought it for a half price. I've been using this headset for 6 months and everything is still working very well.

    With gel earseals, I don't feel heat even when it's 100 degrees in the cockpit. Noise reducing is pretty good, I can still hear engine sound pitch or yelling/loud talking.

    Personally I have trouble with many headsets, often get headache wearing one. This has a thick headband pad, which let the headset 'sit' on my head pretty well and I don't have to set it so tight that makes tight spots.

    For its price, there's not much more you can actually ask for. Best deal under 200 bucks. Ideal for students or passengers or everyone.

    Earseals sometimes drop. This makes me not dare to slide the earseals through my cheeks.

    The microphone, especially with its muff, looks a bit fat comparing to other brands, but this is not really a con. The new flexible mic boom is a great feature that not usually seen in this price level.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Review of HS-1A Headset

  • By Bob from Clovis NM USA on Saturday, March 02, 2013
  • Pros: The pros of this headset are the cost, comfort, durability, and sound quality.
  • Cons: There are no cons!!!
  • Review: The HS-1A headset exceeded my expectations in appearance and performance. Its cost, comfort, durability, sound quality, and noise canceling feature are its best features, and I have absolutely no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the money

  • By A Customer from Altoona IA USA on Saturday, June 01, 2013
  • Review: Works very well with ample volume adjustment
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Woth the money.

  • By Al from Peoria IL USA on Thursday, May 11, 2017
  • Review: Good product. I will buy another one. Clear as a bell.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, November 27, 2017
  • Review: Fast arrival and high quality product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent value and performance

  • By robert from Lincoln ME USA on Monday, April 11, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great!

  • By A Customer from NM USA on Saturday, June 01, 2013
  • Pros: Great sound quality, lightweight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Fits comfortably, doesn't put pressure on sunglasses like most. Better sound quality than some DCs I've used. Clear sound, clear transmissions. Lightweight, hardly notice it on my head
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Billy D on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
  • Pros: comfort
  • Cons:
  • Review: Perfect for the student pilot. Reasonably priced and works perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

For the price vey good value

  • By Nigel from Waynesville OH USA on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
  • Pros: A good head set for the money.
  • Cons: None to date.
  • Review: I have used it twice so far so good. However I have not been able to complete product registration.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By A Customer from Columbus GA USA on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
  • Pros: Lifetime warranty
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I recommend that all my students purchase this headset for its comfort, reliability and lifetime warranty.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headphones

  • By Tom from Chester MD USA on Saturday, October 19, 2013
  • Pros: Works well
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works as advertised without exception at a great price
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great first headset

  • By Raymos from Richmond Hill GA USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: Price, quality and lifetime warranty
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Compared to the more expensive headset in use where I am taking lessons, this is better. The mic pickup is better and sound performance is just as good. Comfort seems equal and good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great base headset to build from

  • By Wings from Modesto on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
  • Pros: Dead reliable, good value, makes accessories affordable
  • Cons:
  • Review: I ordered 2 of these headsets 4 years ago and immediately accessorized the them with gel ear cups, cloth earpiece covers, a microphone muff, and sheepskin headband pad. Total invested per headset $200. They have been terrific in all regards, very comfortable, good function, good sound in and out. I am extremely happy and wouldn't remotely consider ANRs as a good value as well as these have worked with the added features. Highly recommended if you think you might "build-them-up" in the fashion I describe. I suspect they're very serviceable "as-is" as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great price great product

  • By Kenneth from Scottsdale AZ USA on Sunday, March 23, 2014
  • Review: Comfortable affordable they look good too, lost the wind screen on the first use but very good product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jeffrey from Killeen, TX on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
  • Review: The type of headset every pilot needs. Although inexpensive, it works exceptionally well, alongside all of the other more-expensive headsets. Great noise reduction, great audio clarity, great mic, great comfort. All around great headset! I don't plan to buy any other headset, since this "basic" one works so well. A must for all student-pilots who are looking to get their own headset, or for any pilot, and even instructors!

    ---Jeff M.
    Student-pilot
    Killeen, TX
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good starter headset

  • By Rakesh from Mountain View CA USA on Tuesday, June 25, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable, good sound quality
  • Cons: Some people may prefer more noise reduction
  • Review: I'm still learning to fly and my instructor recommended these to me a couple of months ago. So far they've served me well, comfortable fit, sound quality is great. I'm sure they could do a better job of cutting out engine noise, but I tend to use the hum of the engine as a cue to the judge the rpm, so I actually like it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Lester from Saline MI USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: low price, good fit.
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: Great product at an acceptable price.. Love the headset, good fit, excellent sound.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for a great price!

  • By Jeffery from Lansing KS USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: Great price and great performance.
  • Cons: None noted yet.
  • Review: Fits well and is comfortable. No problems noted. Good sound reception. I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Scott from Redwood City CA USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable and affordable
  • Cons:
  • Review: Nice for the price I got them for, can hear control tower crystal clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best deal in headphones

  • By Gary from Kennesaw GA USA on Thursday, March 12, 2015
  • Pros: why pay more?
  • Cons:
  • Review: I been using one for 5 years or so now
    I bought the softer earseals for mine

    I just bought two more headsets since I joined a flying club. My 8 year old had them on for two hours or so no complaints. She took a nap with them on
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Everything it says

  • By austin from apo AP USA on Monday, January 09, 2012
  • Pros: Sturdy design for cheap
  • Cons: Get the gel earcups right away
  • Review: I'm very pleased. My first headset and I suspect I'll use it for years to come. I have nothing to complain about, and I'm happy it's not cheaply made
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great buy for the price

  • By Jared from Houston TX USA on Monday, June 06, 2011
  • Pros: Great price, comfortable, durable, lifetime warranty.
  • Cons: Could be lighter,
  • Review: I am currently a student pilot and the sorry shape of the cords on the flight school's headsets, combined with the idea of sharing them with someone else's sweaty heads, lead me to want my own.

    I decided to get a cheap set with the idea of buying a nicer ANR set later on (and keeping the cheap set for a passenger). This set is working very well for me. It is relatively comfortable after two hours in a Cessna in 100-degree southeast Texas heat, and the audio clarity is just fine. I am a big fan of the flexible boom, which lets me position the mic just right.

    ASA's lifetime warranty sealed the deal for me, though the set does seem to be very rugged. I am still using the ear seals that came with it. The comfort level is fine, though it would probably be even better with the gel seals.

    You can't go wrong with this set. It is every bit as good as a much more expensive David Clark unit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Buy for those pursing PPL

  • By Peter from Austin TX USA on Monday, June 06, 2011
  • Pros: Quality, functionality, style, and PRICE and LIFETIME WARRANTY
  • Cons: Start feeling pressure over 1 hour of wear time..Gel seals will eliminate this
  • Review: I fly once a week for 1.5-2 hours. The headset is perfect for my needs in terms of durability, functionality, and style. Fits comfortably for the first hour or so, then you start to notice the pressure a little (but it isn't overbearing). I will probably spring for the HS-1 gel seals very soon just for added luxury, but you can absolutely get by without them if you are flying as little as I am.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A Student Pilot Must Have

  • By Zach Gilbert from Allentown, PA on Tuesday, July 26, 2011
  • Pros: Cost, Comfort, Functionality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: After getting hooked by the aviation bug it came time to look for a headset. I at that point was flying in a very noisy Piper Cadet (Warrior). The flight school had David Clark headsets they rented out, but I wanted my own headset. I own the first generation ASA HS-1 headset after buying it off of Ebay. It is amazing right out of the box preformed every bit aswell as the David Clarks I was used to using. I recently moved into a Cessna 152 and once again my ASA headset preforms well. I highly recommend switching to the gel earseals, doing so adds a whole new level of comfort and noise cancelation to an already amazing headset. For a student pilot on a tight budget this is an amazing headset for a great price. Why spend more for something then you need to? This headset is also very durable and well built.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Product

  • By A Customer from Hialeah FL USA on Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable to have on.
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: This product is amazing. Great for a starter headset and its good for its price. Im currently a student pilot and this headset works just fine for what i need it for. I would recommend this product to any person. Mostly, student pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Very Good Deal

  • By Tight Wad from Diamond Bar CA USA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Review: This headset works much better than the more expense ones i was renting from the flight school....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good enough to make this my secound pair purchased !

  • By Dana from Long Beach CA USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Comfort after 2-3 hrs, clear voice, well made, peace of mind warrenty
  • Cons: Stiffer cord than most other sets
  • Review: I bought the first pair from a local FBO for my wife after getting my PPL. With positive reviews from her reguarding comfort, sound reduction, and clarity of voice transmissions another pair was purchased online for our occational passenger. They are well built, look good and the lifetime warrenty made my choice an easy one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

For the price it can't be beat

  • By Mike from Reisterstown MD USA on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
  • Pros: Great for short flights under 2 hours
  • Cons: If I flew longer flights I would go with lightweight noise canceling headphones
  • Review: I am happy with these headphones however I have never tried the more expensive noise canceling units
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headsets at any price

  • By Ray from Powell OH USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Pros: Comfort, adjustablility, good audio quality, cost, lifetime warranty
  • Cons: None
  • Review: External noise is blocked well and the volume adjusts for each ear as you might expect. I bought these to use during my pilot training and thought I would upgrade to a more expensive pair after getting my license. Well, that didn't happen. They are very comfortable and I can wear them for 3 or more hours in a stetch. I liked them so much that I bought another pair for passenger use. These work great, are inexpensive, and have a lifetime warranty. A super bargain.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I've bought it before, I'll buy it again..

  • By John from Jupiter FL USA on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: Comfort and durablilty
  • Cons: The mono/stereo switch is annoying. The headset can lose hearing if the switch is bumped.
  • Review: We've used these headsets on our airboat for 6 years and are very satisfied with their performance. They are very comfortable and durable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dependable and affordable

  • By George from Collierville TN USA on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Review: I have purchased three of these headsets in the past six month. They have been dependable and excellent quality for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By andrew from titusville FL USA on Monday, November 21, 2011
  • Review: Will buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the price!!

  • By Joe from King of Prussia PA USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: I'm giving it a 5 star rating for the quality you get for the price...great price and a nice pair of headsets!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ralph from Baldwin WI USA on Thursday, April 04, 2013
  • Pros: Headset has what is need to get started at a good price
  • Cons:
  • Review: A very nice headset for the price. Can update later for a more expensive one if needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Two Words of Advice - Buy It!

  • By spydergun from Bedford, IN on Saturday, May 21, 2011
  • Pros: price, performance, lifetime guarantee, quality materials and design
  • Cons: Head cushion could be more foamy as well as the ear cups.
  • Review: I got a fantastic deal on this, won't tell you how much but it was one of those, in the right place at the right time deals. I was cynical that a headset of this price range would be adequate. I've used it in a Piper Tomahawk (Lycoming O-235) and a Aerotrek A220 (Rotax 912UL) and found the 23db PNR to be quite adequate. I have mild Tinnitus and find being around loud noise aggravates it. This inexpensive but effective headset makes a great starter headset or one for passengers or students. This is the first headset I've ever purchased and it's met all my expectations. It's comfortable enough that even after a constant two hours of wearing it, it never got uncomfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

why spend more

  • By Jesse from Fallbrook OH USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Review: You can't go wrong with this unit. For the price its all you need and it works well. Maybe if you fly forty hours a week you would need somethin better but if you fly a few hours a week or need a set for the wife or something these are great. For training this is all you need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great value buy

  • By Saahbs from Aurora IL USA on Wednesday, July 14, 2010
  • Pros: durable metal construction, looks sharp
  • Cons: separate Left/Right volume controls - annoying to adjust.
  • Review: I like it. Built like a tank, not too heavy, doesn't give me a headache, good mic, good speakers, long cord and affordable. You won't worry about it getting crushed or anything cracking when your flight bag rolls down the stairs :) I would prefer a single volume control instead of separate left/right - OR if left knob would control overall volume while right knob would control the difference between sides. ASA, are you reading this?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset for the price

  • By SJM from Leonardtown MD USA on Monday, July 19, 2010
  • Pros: Great audio and voice quality
  • Cons: None noted
  • Review: The perfect balance between quality and economics. This headset is comparable to other headsets costing up to three times as much, and comes with ASA's lifetime warranty. I recommend the HS-1a for flight instructors, flight schools or anyone looking for a high quality headset at a great price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

NICE

  • By A Customer from chicago IL USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: Awesome headset.  Works 100% perfect.  Very comfy and is not annoying to wear. Also sound quality is superb with the volume control.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By gail from coopersburg PA USA on Tuesday, July 27, 2010
  • Review: Fits well, wears nice, great for the price as well.  Would recomend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Islamorada FL USA on Monday, November 02, 2009
  • Pros: Fit and sound
  • Cons: none found
  • Review: It exceeded expectations. Comfortable, clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice headset

  • By James from Laramie, WY on Wednesday, December 02, 2009
  • Pros: Good fit, good sound quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This headset is a great bargain. Good sound from mic, easy to hear, and comfortable to wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for the price

  • By Tandra from Rio Rancho NM USA on Tuesday, December 29, 2009
  • Review: I use a HS 1 and love it. We purchased the HS 1-A to have as an extra headset for passengers. Everyone that has used it says it is great. I actually like the microphone better on the 1A and am thinking about switching to it and letting passengers use my old one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best purchase to begin in private pilot

  • By A Customer from Barcelona Catalunya Spain on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Review: After using during few weeks the training headsets from my flight school, I just can believe the change about sound and comfortable.The price vs. quality is good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from King City, ONT Canada on Tuesday, February 02, 2010
  • Review: They are very good value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Hugo from Barcelona Spain on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very Impressive

  • By A Customer from N. E. Texas on Saturday, October 02, 2010
  • Pros: Amazing volume from mike and radio.
  • Cons: Could add a cell phone interphase.
  • Review: Love the black look. Really liked the volume of the mike. Very clear on the talk-back. Radio reception was also loud and clear. Very satisfied with noise level. Much less than D.C. Would be perfect with leather ear pads. Would rather use these than my Bose. If you have a little trouble hearing as I do, these are a good choice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buy Them!

  • By Sforza from el paso TX USA on Monday, October 11, 2010
  • Review: If you don't have the need to plug your phone or other accessories, this is the set to buy. Rugged, clear and inexpensive Spend your money in the upkeeping of the aircraft! Great for people who understand that a good pilot does not need expensive gadgets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the beginner

  • By Drew from Marietta GA USA on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Review: Great intro headset for the student (like me). Sounds good and flexible boom is very easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best for the price

  • By Philippe from Atlanta GA USA on Monday, January 10, 2011
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Awesome price. Good product and you cannot beat a lifetime warranty. Bought them for my wife as an extra set and she has been very happy with them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't let the low price scare you

  • By Richard from Lincoln DE USA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
  • Pros: Low Price, comfortable
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: Low price and very functional and comfortable. What more could I ask. These headsets are outstanding. I'm buying another set to keep in the plane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty good with accessories

  • By A Customer from Modesto, CA on Monday, April 04, 2011
  • Pros: Initial price, build quality, warranty, sound quality, and add-ons fit budget
  • Cons: For comfort needs add-ons: gel cups, head band, cloth covers
  • Review: Reading the reviews I decided to try these but just go ahead and order gel pads, cloth ear cup covers, and a sheepskin head band right away as part of the purchase. After taking the effort and expense to set them up this way, the result is a pretty comfortable headset for around $200. So far I'm very happy, find the passive noise reduction just fine in my plane, and expect them to last long time with the lifetime warranty. Finding the right add-ons took research.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

asa headset

  • By shawn from goose creek SC USA on Wednesday, May 11, 2011
  • Review: I like the headset I got. It's a lot better than my old one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Mike Valentin from Somerville, NJ on Sunday, May 28, 2006
  • Review: Best headset's for the price!! Great sound and clarity even in a noisy Bell 47G!! Recommended for any type of flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Clear and clean.

  • By Vivian from Pflugerville texas USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: light
  • Review: It has a clear audio output and clean transmission.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC!!

  • By Brad A. from Poway, CA on Friday, March 13, 2009
  • Pros: To many to list...
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is my very first headset ever. I am a student pilot at this point and I couldn't be happier with the performance this headset gave me in the Cessna 172s that I am currently flying. Don't be fooled by its price, this headset will serve you well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset for the money

  • By Richard from Weaverville NC USA on Friday, August 17, 2012
  • Pros: works as advertised
  • Cons: no noise reduction
  • Review: I got this for my passengers. It does a fine job for not a lot of money and has a life time guarantee
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far so good

  • By M from Marietta GA USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros: Inexpensive, lifetime warranty
  • Cons: None at this point
  • Review: I have had this headset only a couple of months and used it only 2-3 times. So far, it has performed as advertised and I feel that it is good value for the money. I personally found it a bit tight, but others that have used it said that it was comfortable - I purchased it as a second headset so am happy the others find it comfortable. Of course, the really good aspect is that it carries a lifetime warranty. I would buy it again knowing what I know now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

work great

  • By kitchb32 from Monroe LA USA on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
  • Pros: light weight, sound great
  • Cons:
  • Review: Got these for people that might go up with me, tested them the other day and they are more than sufficient to be a primary headset for a private pilot looking or a reasonably priced headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exception Price/Performance!!

  • By SoCal Pilot from Los Angeles Area, CA, USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Great features and price.
  • Cons: Not an active noise cancellation - but at this price who cares!
  • Review:

    This is my 2nd Air Classics HS1-A headset and I love them both. The headset fits great with the adjustable headband, the gel ear seals work very well even over my glasses and even my teenage daughter doesn't complain about the pressure of the headset.

    Best of all, the audio quality is excellent. The mono/stereo switch helps as do the dual volume controls which are, conveniently, located on each earpiece.

    I also love the fact that ASA backs this up with a lifetime warranty!

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Without complaints

  • By A Customer from lima . Peru on Thursday, June 30, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Only too much taxes when it came to Lima Peru!!!!
  • Review: This headset is excellent, I use it for all my air navigations. No problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice product

  • By george from sharon WI USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Review: The only problem I have had is the cover over the boom mike come off sometimes, so I have to check that before I start the plane
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loud and clear

  • By Larry from abilene TX USA on Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Pros: quality sound
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: good quality for my needs; priced economically
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Really great headset!

  • By Brian from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Clear sound, feel nice.
  • Cons: none as of yet.
  • Review: Great looking headset, high quality and very clear!
    As a student the cost was great and surprised how well it works, im sure I will be using this for years to come.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great value

  • By Dan from Pilot Point TX USA on Friday, February 01, 2013
  • Pros: value
  • Cons: needed gel ear covers
  • Review: Great value, added gel ear seals much improved comfort.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent for the money. Got them for a starter but see no need to upgrade anytime soon

  • By Dewayne from Ellsinore MO USA on Friday, August 26, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use controls
  • Cons: Sound canceling would be nice but then again, not their fault
  • Review: Fairly comfortable. I had to bend the metal frame a little, it had a little to much curve for my fat head but that's more my fat head's fault than the headphones. I doubt any others would be much better. Love the individual volume controls.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Cedaredge CO USA on Saturday, August 27, 2016
  • Review: The headset is working very well, noise cancellation, working . A very good headset. Quality built.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the Money

  • By David from Pahrump NV USA on Tuesday, December 13, 2016
  • Pros: Good fit. comfortable, clear audio, clear mic. Adjustable volume controls
  • Cons: Earcup size just a hair on the small side but gel replacements are available.
  • Review: I bought this headset as I'm just getting back into flying after a long absence and couldn't see spending $80-$1000. The first time I used these in the cockpit I could hear nothing from the aircrafts noises. The earphones were clear and the tone was great. The mic does a great job and is clear to the others in the cockpit. Adjustable volume controls on each side is a plus. I would purchase these again in a heartbeat, especially if you need something for passengers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, December 23, 2016
  • Review: Pros: Affordable, adjustable, good ATC communications.

    Cons: Uncomfortable on long trips.

    Great for the money. Good option to use as backup/passenger headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definatly a Student Headset

  • By Anthony C. from Prescott, AZ on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Pros: Good fit, easy to use, ear pieces are fairly comfortable, and Embry-Riddle Student Approved
  • Cons: Uncomfortable earpiece, and lack of compatable parts.
  • Review: When I began my search for my first headset, I knew that since the cost of flying is as much as it is, I needed a cheap headset, but fairly good quality. I knew from the reviews it was a beginner entry level product, and that was what I needed. Upon arrival I was excited to finally try my first headset, in the beginning it was comfortable, but as I started wearing it more and more, it got more uncomfortable, particularly on the headpad when wearing for over 2+ hours of flying. Otherwise, I love it, I recently ordered the gel ear pieces for increased comfortability, and will soon order a new headpad once one is available. Thanks you guys!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good budget headset

  • By Seth from Middleburg FL USA on Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • Pros: Good price and works well as a budget set
  • Cons:
  • Review: Works well and also keeps the noise out pretty well. For the price the headset performs very well. I can't see spending 500$ on a set of headphones that I'll just upgrade in a couple years when this 120$ budget set will do just fine for flying the small planes until I upgrade to the bigger stuff. If you buy this set then get the Gel earseals as well as they really make it a lot more comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product for the money

  • By Jeremy from Richmond, VA on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Pros: Inexpensive, great sound quality, good noise cancellation, good fit, not too tight
  • Cons: Adjustable mic gain would be nice
  • Review: I'm a student pilot, just starting out training. I wanted to get an inexpensive headset to start out with so I'd have a passenger headset once I purchase an ANR headset later on down the road. This has fit that bill perfectly, and while using it, I don't really even see the need for ANR.

    The headsit sits comfortably on my head (under 2 hour flights so far) and the sound quality is excellent. I don't have difficulty hearing radio calls or my CFI, and the mic quality is sufficient that it seems I'm always understood as well. I wish there was a way to increase the mic gain, as sometimes I have to speak louder than I wish in order for the mike to start transmitting. We don't usually change the squelch on the intercom, as my CFI does not have this problem with his headset, and increasing the squelch causes his mic to inadvertently transmit.

    Overall, I would definitely recommend this product to pilots starting out or on a budget.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad for the money.

  • By Greg W from Ashton ID USA on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
  • Pros: Very functional for the money.
  • Cons: Took a little time to adjust for comfort.
  • Review: Nice headset for the money. My biggest complaint was it fit too tight and became painful after an hour. It was an easy fix after I landed. I manually flexed the headset, bending it until it felt better and fit my head. Worked well and is almost as good as my David Clark set. The noise reduction works well and communication is crisp and clear. Can't beat the value. I ordered the gell ear pads although the pads that come with the set seemed comfortable enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value, adequate for budget pilots

  • By Keith from Katy TX USA on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
  • Pros: Value, good quality, made in USA.
  • Cons: Could be more comfortable.
  • Review: Sound and mic quality good enough for my use - working on IFR and occasional trips in C-172. Just took a xc total 15 hrs and occasionally was aware that my ears hurt a little, but not too much to stand, some readjusting helped. Clamping force is maybe a little to hard. I ordered the gel seals and I believe that gave me a little more room.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Head set worked great.

  • By Jay from Camden SC USA on Wednesday, July 01, 2015
  • Pros: Worked as avertised
  • Cons: Can not get the jell ear muffs to fit
  • Review: Very satisfied with the head set but are unable to get the jell ear muffs I purchased to go on the head set. Any ideas as how to make them fit would be appreciated . Thanks
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK product

  • By Leonard from Des Moines IA USA on Monday, April 02, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good quality, especially for the price

  • By robert from Burbank CA USA on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Pros: durable quality
  • Cons: not noise cancelling
  • Review: Met all expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value

  • By michael from Incline Village NV USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: price/value
  • Cons: few features
  • Review: Good basic headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset, needs some features.

  • By Byron from Kuna ID USA on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • Pros: Great audio. Rugged.
  • Cons: Needs PTT on cup.
  • Review: The HS-1A is a great headset at a great price through MyPilotStore.com, but needs the addition of some features that would make it even better. While it is NOT a noise cancelling design (ANR), it is very quiet with the gel ear seals. It is as comfortable as a headset of this type can be, WITHOUT gel ear seal cushions. I purchased the gel seal cushions for the product, and that makes all the difference in the world, both in comfort and noise immunity. It also needs a cup mounted PTT to be more operationally flexible. Overall, the headset is a great buy, and I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Lee from Huffman TX USA on Sunday, September 15, 2013
  • Pros: great value with good sound and comfort
  • Cons: none yet
  • Review: I bought this headset for my passengers and what a great value. clear, comfortable, good fitting headset, yet doesn't cost a fortune.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset

  • By A Customer from Asheville NC USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Review: Good headset. Easy to adjust ear cups for head size. Good sound.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

worth every cent

  • By christopher from Chicago IL USA on Tuesday, December 09, 2014
  • Pros: light weight, clear speakers, excellent price
  • Cons: mouthpiece has to almost touch the lips
  • Review: I have been using DCs, and was wary of a brand other than DC or Bose. This set is light, bars out excessive outside noise, has sharp clear ear speakers. The only concern is that the mouthpiece has to be REALLY close to the mouth to activate. However, if that does not bother you, I doubt there is a better value in aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Really great headset!

  • By Brian from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Clear sound, feel nice.
  • Cons: none as of yet.
  • Review: Great looking headset, high quality and very clear!
    As a student the cost was great and surprised how well it works, I'm sure I will be using this for years to come.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Steven from Medina OH USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable and clear.
  • Cons: Microphone could be more sensitive.
  • Review: Very comfortable (I added the gel earseals), clear sound. The FBO where I train has a set they use as "loaners", so I knew what I was getting when I bought it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Recommended

  • By Jackson from Houston ,Texas on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
  • Pros: Cheap, well built, durable, good sound
  • Cons: A little uncomfortable on trips 3 hours or more
  • Review: Great for their price good for the sunday flyer who doesn't want to spend a ton.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality sound

  • By Darrell from Concord NH USA on Monday, September 19, 2011
  • Pros: sound quality
  • Cons: could be lighter
  • Review: I'm pleased with the product...great buy for the price. They are a bit heavy and could use some more padding on the top to ease pressure on the top of the head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Set, Good Price, Good Warranty

  • By A Customer from VT on Monday, August 13, 2012
  • Pros: Lifetime Warranty, Value
  • Cons: Weak Strain relief where cable enters headset
  • Review: I bought this set as a secondary headset for passengers and was really impressed with not only the functionality, but the price as well. What sold me on this headset was the flexible mike boom, the price tag and the lifetime warranty. There is even more volume adjustment on these than my David Clark 13.4's. I agree with others that the clamping pressure is a little more than desirable, and could see them getting uncomfortable on long flights. The one major thing that concerns me with this headset though is the poorly designed strain relief on the cable where it enters the headset. The strain relief dosen't pass through the headset housing but is simply butted up against it allowing the wire jacket to rub on the plastic as it pivots. If this set didn't have the lifetime warranty, I would have probally thought about returning them only for that reason, but should that wire wear through and they stick by their warranty, I'm a happy customer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By Rayford from Temple TX USA on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Review: Audio is clear and crisp in and out. Comfort is unremarkable. Too soon to evaluate durability.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headsets for the money

  • By A Customer from Portland, OR on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Pros: Good PNR, flex boom.
  • Cons: foam earsels make the headset a bit snug, but not painful.
  • Review: I up graded from the David Clark 10-40 to the HS-1A and haven't looked back. Good headsets for the money and very dependable. Although they were first a little snug, the gel ear sels made it more comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for the price!

  • By Terry (Funk B85) from Rockwall TX USA on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
  • Pros: A lot of bang for the buck!
  • Cons: Wish I would have know about them sooner!
  • Review: I was really surprised at how comfortable and how quiet they are. I tried a friends headset and quickly ordered one for myself. I have two of the ANR headsets and this is as quiet without having to worry about batteries. I really don't like the gel ear piece in the summer as they make me sweat to much. So these work just fine with the foam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well in my noisy Cub.

  • By Martin from Hayden Lake ID USA on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Review: Flying a Super Cub on floats with window out and door open is a noisy environment, and windy from the back seat. This headset works well, better than my noise cancelling Telex.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Donald from Lexington KY USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Ear pads could be softer
  • Review: Good value for cost
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good basic headset

  • By Richard from Weaverville NC USA on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
  • Pros: Inexpensive and reliable
  • Cons: Head band adjustment screws come loose easily
  • Review: I bought 3 of these headsets for each of my occasional passengers and they have worked well over the years. They were inexpensive and they have a lifetime guarantee.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent so far

  • By Toni from Venice FL USA on Monday, February 20, 2012
  • Review: I purchased it for my 16 year old grandson. He used it once so far and says it was great. His instructor was jealous! Since I didn't experience it myself, I have limited knowledge.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

A Good Headset Does Not Have To Be Expensive

  • By SpamCanFlyer from Los Angeles, CA on Thursday, September 30, 2010
  • Pros: A great alternative to the DC H10-13S at a great savings.
  • Cons: Air foam earseals are too hot on the ears.
  • Review: It goes without saying that this is a very reasonably priced headset. What the price won't tell you is that this is a great headset. I own a DC 10-13XL and a Flightcom 6ANX. Both have served me well but I grew so attached to them that I refuse to leave them in the aircraft. I got the ASA HS1A thinking I would not care much about such an inexpensive headset. But, after doing side-by-side tests with my other headsets, I found the HS1A to be equal to both of my older headsets in terms of passive noise attenuation and its microphone is comparable to the DCs M7A mic and far superior to the Flightcom mic. I am now thinking of of upgrading this headset with ANR. Do spring for the gel seals, the difference in comfort is night and day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

solid product for a good price

  • By Jose Cintra from Santa Cruz de Tenerife Spain on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
  • Pros: Light, and good design
  • Cons: For the price no cons.
  • Review: A product that meets the specification of users.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Headsets - But if you have a big head...

  • By CB from PSL, FL on Friday, June 12, 2009
  • Pros: Cost, practical application, excellent mic and great sound.
  • Cons: It's like wearing a vise on your skull - ear muffs don't allow your ears to breathe.
  • Review: I'll give four stars to the operative portion of the set itself. However - the top band will cause headaches if you have a normal to big circumference of a head. It's like a vise! I also suggest changing the muffs - the plastic ones that they come with will leave you sweating into your ears.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well Built For the Price

  • By Eric from Buena Park CA USA on Monday, March 07, 2011
  • Pros: Well built does not feel cheap
  • Cons: heavy and can get a little uncomfortable after a couple of hours
  • Review: Headset works well, sound quality is good. the headset began to be uncomfortable about after two hours. It is a little heavy. Well worth the money, good for passengers or student pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best deal in headsets

  • By Gary V from Dallas GA USA on Tuesday, November 23, 2010
  • Pros: works as good as any David Clark they let me us
  • Cons: the headset does not hurt at all but not comfy either...if they just softened the pads a bit
  • Review: For the price I would so recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the old style better but they're good headsets

  • By john from jupiter FL USA on Wednesday, December 08, 2010
  • Review: The mic adjustment was easier to move away from your face on the old style. Volume is a little lower on the newer style. The newer style is more comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Micheal from Webster SD USA on Thursday, December 09, 2010
  • Pros: Good sound quality, comfortable, Price
  • Cons: Wish it had a bag of some kind
  • Review: The sound quality is very good and it is a comfortable set to wear. I would look at this headset for additional ones in the future. So far, I am impressed. Wish it came with a bag of some kind, I would even be willing to pay a bit more with a bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good geadset for the money

  • By Justin from Illinois on Monday, October 18, 2010
  • Pros: Fit Well, Volume control is great, Noise reduction is much better than my CFI's backup set, pretty comfortable
  • Cons: Only thing that bothered me was the mic could be a bit more sensitive to activate, but works great once its listening - very clear
  • Review: Ive only used this headset two times now. My first impressions are very good. My background - I am a student pilot midway through my private pilot. I have been using my CFI's back up headset up until I ordered this headset. I fly a 180hp cessna 172 skyhawk. Review - Overall this headset is much better than the David and Clark headset I was using from my instructor. I would definitely recommend this headset for pilots in training or for anyone looking for a good value on their primary headset or backups.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does its job.

  • By John from Delbarton WV USA on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
  • Pros: Price. Satisfactory performance.
  • Cons: None considering the price.
  • Review: Bought this set for rear seat passengers. Adjustable microphone works well, sound is clear, fairly comfortable to wear. Nice to be able to adjust volume on each side.  Works for the service intended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good enough for the price, but

  • By Kevin from Upper Sandusky OH USA on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
  • Pros: The quality of sound is good for the price.
  • Cons: right speaker doesn't work
  • Review: The quality of sound is good for the price. But the right speaker doesn't work. The warranty happily accepted the send back. I will see when it mail back.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not great, but ok

  • By Kevin from New Haven CT USA on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
  • Pros: Lightweight, easily adjustable mouthpiece, comfortable
  • Cons: Too much background noise is picked up.
  • Review: I bought one set, which turned out to be defective. There was so much static, and the background noise of the engine was loud, that my instructor finally asked me to unplug it. We tried adjusting volume levels, squelch, etc., but nothing worked. We could not even hear what each other was saying. I sent it to the manufacturer; they tested it and immediately sent me a new headset. I am using it now, but it still is not what I would like. My instructor still has a few issues hearing me at times, and there is a lot of background engine noise that comes through. For what I paid, I guess I can't complain too much, but I am actually thinking of purchasing another set of higher quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just getting to know you

  • By Robert E from Vancouver WA USA on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
  • Pros: Individual adjustment on each ear piece. Crisp sounding.
  • Cons: Comfort adjustment for across the head? Will it be acceptable?
  • Review: Worked very well under ground static test; will give it the dynamic test in actual aircraft in several days.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

ok but no 5stars

  • By KEN P from MINNEAPLOIS, MN on Saturday, November 30, 2013
  • Pros: OK, JUST OK,
  • Cons: ADJUSTABLE, COMFORTABLE I SHOULD HAVE GOT THE DAVID CLARKS!!
  • Review: ok. they do the job but nothing to write home about! The microphone is not sensitive enough! the ear pads fall off sometimes and when your going through your checklists try to put those SOB'S BACK ON!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad for the price

  • By Michael from Patuxent River MD USA on Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Pros: Inexpensive and simple
  • Cons: not as comfortable
  • Review: Bought these as back up head phones. Not as comfortable as more expensive headsets but they are usable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great bang for the buck

  • By John Daly from Fort Worth TX USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: No Ipod jack, would pay $20.00 more for jack
  • Review: Great for the kids in the back seat. I don't mind too much using them either.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for short flights

  • By Warren from Katy TX USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: Good sound, great looks, great price.
  • Cons: Not comfortable on the ears. Long flights very painfull!
  • Review: They were pretty much what I expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good inexpensive headsets

  • By Scott from Kalispell MT USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros: Decent quality for the price.
  • Cons: The screws that hold the headsets together keep coming unscrewed.
  • Review: Just fine except the screws that hold the headsets together keep coming unscrewed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.