TOP

Reviews for ASA Pilot Master Log Book, Black

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Logbook

  • By Ricardo from Guatemala on Monday, May 02, 2016
  • Pros: Authorities acceptance
  • Cons: A little big and heavy.
  • Review: This logbook meets majority authorities requirements and has a lot of record pages. It was a good buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use with right categories

  • By Ron from Sharpsburg GA USA on Thursday, May 14, 2020
  • Pros: Ease of use
  • Cons:
  • Review: This logbook is big enough to enter all the necessary information. The categories are in a logical order that makes it easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed and expected

  • By Bill - from Appleton WI USA on Wednesday, August 05, 2015
  • Pros: Good Price, Good Quality, Shipped fast
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is everything I expected in a log book. It's a hard cover log that's laid out well and adaptive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pilot Master Log

  • By Scott from West Hollywood CA USA on Thursday, February 18, 2010
  • Pros: Everything about it
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: Best Log Book on the market. If you are a serious pilot, this is the one for you!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Log Book Ever!

  • By Scott from West Hollywood CA USA on Monday, March 08, 2010
  • Review: This is the only log book a serious pilot should have. Don't waste your valuable time looking at any others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Logbook

  • By Paul from Orland Park IL USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2009
  • Review: I bought a version of this logbook over 20 years ago for myself, and recently purchased this new version for my son as he starts his aviation career. It has plently of columns for logging whatever you want. Based on my experience, the logbook is also durable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Logbook!

  • By Kristin from Columbus, OH USA on Tuesday, December 29, 2009
  • Review: The white pages are clear and easy to write on and read. The grey columns also help you stay organized - they make transferring numbers to the next page easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Christa from Philadelphia PA USA on Monday, January 19, 2009
  • Review: Very good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Room for almost everything

  • By A Customer from Woodlawn TN USA on Monday, July 27, 2009
  • Pros: Ample room
  • Cons: Needs some more blank spaces
  • Review: This was recommended to me by my IP and looks to be a great book that will last for a long time. No need to purchase book after book. I just wish that there were a few more lines that you could fill in other options than what are given.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Jasper Indiana on Tuesday, August 03, 2004
  • Review: Great logbook.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Everything you need

  • By Flygirl77 from Traverse City, MI on Monday, August 20, 2007
  • Pros: many space for logging, and tons of pages
  • Cons: spine sometimes can come detached from cover
  • Review: This is my second logbook, my first fell apart (because i abused it) and was a real mess. So I ordered the same one, and this time I am taking a lot better care of it. I love that it has spaces for almost everything of logging importance. The only thing I dont like is that if you aren't real careful, the cover will detach and it can easily separate from the spine of the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, July 10, 2007
  • Review: Very nice logbook.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

A good logbook if you're planning on going commercial.

  • By Skadojan on Friday, August 24, 2007
  • Review: It has a very nice cover, and is made of high quality materials throughout.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from rutherford NJ USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Review: The best logbook available.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's good

  • By Chuck from Kingwood TX USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Review: It seems to work ok. The original that I had (same p/n) was a little easier for use with the open columns. Its a little more scattered since I have to log PIC and SIC in Jet and Turbo prop. I purchased the original some years back and it was perfect for this application. Given a say I?d recommend the original format over their new one. But it does, at least, have the same number of open columns available. Info is just a little less organized now than it was.
    Hope this helps. ps. it still offers more personalization than many of the others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Too big

  • By Mike from Sacramento, CA on Thursday, August 30, 2007
  • Pros: Has the columns needed for a CFI
  • Cons: Too large to be portable
  • Review: This product is too large to carry around from car to office and out to helicopter. I'm switching to a smaller ASA-SP-57 logbook.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great logbook!

  • By William from Statesboro GA USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Many pages, lots of entry classifications
  • Cons: Paper is thin, and no entry for complex / high performance aircraft
  • Review: This is a great logbook. The hard cover is excellent and it has multiple pages in the back for extra notes, endorsements, or record keeping purposes. It also has yellow pages in the back for a breakdown of time into aircraft categories and classes. Only thing I don't like is that it doesn't include Complex / High performance aircraft. The pages could be made of a thicker, more durable paper like the other green colored logbooks. But still a great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Logbook for EVERYTHING

  • By Steve from Windham NH USA on Tuesday, November 17, 2009
  • Review: Nice logbook. Has a lot of categories to keep track of and additional spaces for non standard items(example, NVG's) Not enough space for manuevers and IP's signatures for each entry. Works well otherwise. Great book for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Choice!

  • By Deep from Hongkong/Toronto on Saturday, September 19, 2009
  • Pros: Simple to use
  • Cons: Too big and bulky
  • Review: For a professional pilot its a good logbook. Holds about 3500 hours of flight time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for my needs.

  • By James from O Fallon IL USA on Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • Pros: Big log book should last a long time.
  • Cons: Solo and Cross County check offs need to be written out. My last log book had a pre-written section for sign-offs.
  • Review: I purchased this book as a replacement for me previous log book which was older and had literally been chewed on by my dog. This one should last me a long time. There is lots of room for logging your flight time as well as updating medicals and ratings. It doesn't appear to have considerations for student pilots because there are no pre-written solo or cross county sign-offs. If you are a student pilot, your flight instructor will have to write in your entire solo and cross county check off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Havelock, NC on Sunday, May 20, 2012
  • Review: I've only had this log book for a couple months now, but so far it's been great. It has more spaces for information than I care to use though. It's made for more of a professional pilot rather than a new student. No physical problems with it though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Kajzer from Norfolk VA on Wednesday, May 30, 2007
  • Review: It is vary good book, has a lot of details, but doesnt have endorsements
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ASA Pilot Master Log Book

  • By Thomas from Hillsboro NH USA on Monday, December 14, 2020
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Revamped columns not consistent with earlier versions of the log book.
  • Review: This is my third, and probably my last ASA Master Log Book, I prefer the earlier versions of the log book verses this newer version. They revamped and changed all the columns. Had I had the option of viewing the actual page lay out, I would have searched for an earlier version to stay consistent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not the same FORMAT

  • By Les DA-7X,DA-EASY,DA-2EASY , from North Little Rock AR USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: high Quality
  • Cons: Difficultity in carrying over from one ASA-SP-6 to the new one. also in getting use to using the new format the new format has MUCH LESS flexibilitry that the previouse ASA-SP-6
  • Review: Pilot Master Logbook ASA-SP-6.
    I am very disappointed that the format has changed considerably from the previous ASA-SP-6(different headings, number of columns per heading etc)

    MUCH less flexibility.

    I'm sure someone thought these were improvements, but it would be nice if they id NOT keep the same - number ASA-SP-(?)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not the best laid out

  • By Stephen from Olympia WA USA on Monday, September 18, 2017
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Bad column layout, no pages to log ground instruction received
  • Review: A number of the columns for entries are poorly placed. The columns for To and From are too small to easily fit the ICAO identifier. There is no corner tear off to help find the currently used page. There is no section for ground instruction entries. Some of the endorsements that are typical of pilot training are missing
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

To expensive!

  • By Dash-8 Captain from PHNL on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
  • Pros: Blank slots to add personal specific categories.
  • Cons: Cheap product, flimsy, comes apart, way too expensive.
  • Review: For the quality and craftsmanship of this logbook, it is too expensive. To charge almost $30.00, is a ludicrous. ASA - you ought to think about the customer, and the product your offering, versus making an extra dollar.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Mixed Reviews

  • By Roger from Waltham MA USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Well formatted in terms of info content and design
  • Cons: Binding lacks quality: pages are already starting to come out
  • Review: ASA generally make good products.
    As most of their products, the design is sold, but the binding needs improvement. A logbook needs to be durable dues to the necessity of permanency.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Too big for hobby pilots

  • By A Customer from Miami FL USA on Sunday, February 17, 2008
  • Pros: Nice cover
  • Cons: Too big and bulky
  • Review: Nice hard cover but too big and bulky. Might be suitable for a commercial pilot but not for someone who only flyes as a hobby.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good logbook that needs refinement for airline flying

  • By John from Saint Louis MO USA on Tuesday, October 06, 2009
  • Pros: Best product for completely recording airline type flying that I have found
  • Cons: Room for improvements in column titles and location
  • Review: I use this product for recording airline flight time. I have not found any other full-size logbook that is more suited to the task. Having said that, I feel that there is room in the market for a complete logbook geared exclusively for scheduled airline flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not Original ASA-SP-6

  • By John from Blanco TX USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: It is a place to record time
  • Cons: Columns are small
  • Review: This logbook is not the same as the ASA-SP-6 produced 1993-1998 and years prior. Beware if you are looking for the same product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A product evolving in the wrong direction.

  • By Ray from Sturgeon Bay WI USA on Monday, August 12, 2013
  • Pros: Well, it is a physical logbook.
  • Cons: Not enough room to enter airports and landing totals, it just ends up looking sloppy.
  • Review: I purchased my previous ASA-SP-6 in 1998, now that it's filled I purchased a new one in 2013. I'm very disappointed in the changes that have been made to the logbook's format in those years. The new departure and arrival airport columns have been narrowed and slashed to add times, and there just isn't enough room to enter the information. Same thing with the T/O and LNDG column total blocks. There just isn't enough room to enter the totals at the end of the column. I'd like to see ASA go back to the format that was in use in 1998.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dissapointed with the format changes

  • By A Customer from IL USA on Wednesday, March 09, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Field order and fields less user friendly than previous version
  • Review: This is my third version of this logbook and the first one I am disappointed with. I do not like how ASA has chosen to change the various fields, including order, placing unnecessary lines in boxes and all in all making what was one of the most versatile logbooks available into a much less user friendly logbook. I will not order this version again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad quality

  • By A Customer from Crescent City CA USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Pros: Not really
  • Cons: BAD paper and cover quality
  • Review: I have gone through 3 previous ASA International Master Pilot Log Books (discontinued in 2009, ed.), and since I couldn't find a place to buy another, thought I would get this one instead. The quality of this log book compared to the 'International' log books is awful. The pages are really really thin, the black ''leather'' cover is plastic and overall feel of it very cheap.

    I called ASA and told them of my disappointment and they ended up sending me a replacement, once I sent them mine, but its still the same bad quality. This will be my last ASA log book unless they get their act together and start grinding out a better product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

NOT AS GOOD AS THE OLD ONES

  • By ROUGH RIDER from SAN JOSE CA USA on Tuesday, February 21, 2012
  • Pros: If you keep a paper logbook, it still works.
  • Cons: Like many other products, the quality has declined.
  • Review: The ASA Pilot Master Log is not what it used to be. Some new useless columns have been added such as the time of TO and the time of Landing. Writing space for flight notes has been decreased. Binding is not as thick and durable as the old ones. It bruises easily. I think I should self publish my next Master Log.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Not the quality i expected...

  • By Andreas from Greece on Thursday, October 11, 2012
  • Pros: FAA, JAA compliant
  • Cons: Disapointing quality of paper. Very thin. It doesn't excuse its price
  • Review: I had bought Master Logbook from ASA, from US, in 2009 (printed in Canada) and I was pleased with this product. Although I need a logbook that meets JAA requirements so I bought the new Master Logbook (printed in China). The overall quality of logbook is much worser and realy disapointing for this price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't Like it

  • By Stephen from Cordova TN USA on Friday, January 09, 2015
  • Pros: Big
  • Cons: Not the old layout " the new layout isn't pilot friendly"
  • Review: When I ordered this product they had the old version layout as the picture but they have changed the layout to not be like the old one and I just don't like it. had the company I bought this logbook from had the new picture I wouldn't have bought this logbook.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Page format obviously not designed by a pilot!

  • By joel A. Turpin from hampton NJ USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
  • Pros: None!
  • Cons: The Standard Pilot Master Log ASA-SP-6 cannot be used by professional pilots.
  • Review: 20 years ago I bought 2 Model SP-6 The Standard Pilot Master Logs. I have been very happy with them as they were well designed and very user friendly. However, I am filling in the last page of the second log book and recently ordered 2 new Pilot Master Logs from you. The only one you offer for the professional pilot is the ASA-SP6 [editor note:  we also offer the Jeppesen Professional Logbook]. This log book cannot be used by any pilot with 1,000 hours or more. Real professional pilots will easily have this much flight time, and in my case, my flight hours are in the 24,000 hour range. The problem is that the idiot who designed the page format has never filled out a log book or flown an airplane. Here is how I know. Just as one example, look at the column for PIC. If a pilot has PIC time requiring space for more than 3 numbers, it will not fit into the space at the bottom of the page, which should represent total PIC time to date. I have 17,152:28 hours of PIC time. How am I supposed to cram a 9 digit (including comma and colon) number in a space that is exactly 1/2 inch wide? How about a pilot with only 1,246:31 hours? Even with this small amount of PIC time, IT WON'T FIT INTO A SPACE THAT IS 1/2 INCH WIDE! The same problem holds true for the columns for Instructor time, actual instrument time,night time and a few others. If you have 100 hours or less, your total times for each type of flying will fit in the spaces at the bottom of the page, but pilots with so little time will be using the smaller log book, the ASA-SP-30. Now lets look at the tiny space left for "Remarks, Procedures, Maneuvers, Endorsements". I am Flight Instructor and give instrument dual instruction. On my last instrument training flight, we did 4 ILS Approaches,4 missed approaches, 2 VOR approaches, and 2 holding patterns. How do I cram all of that plus the pilot's name who I trained into the miniscule space allowed for remarks? What if my student had this log book? The FAA requires that I write all of the above maneuvers plus my name, my CFII number which is 7 digits long plus the date my CFII expires which is 9 digits (includes 2 slashes)? There is not enough room for half of this information! Look at the space provived for "Number of Instrument Approaches". It is also exactly 1/2 inch wide. There is way too much space here as you would never have more than a double digit number per day and at the bottom of the page is enough room for a number in the 1,000 range, which is way too much. No one would need this much room here. Then there is a column for "PIC Name". This is wasted space as the PIC name usually goes in the remarks section. The bottom line is this log book was poorly designed and is not user friendly for any pilot with more than 1,000 hours in any category. It is typical of how products are made today. The person who designed it NEVER USED IT! I am returning the two log books I purchased from you and expect a full refund.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.