Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for Foggles IFR Training Glasses - Clear

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Raoul from Monroeville, AL on Friday, June 12, 2015
  • Review: These were great - toatally unable to see where I was going!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I use them over wire rim glasses

  • By Christopher from Phoenix AZ USA on Monday, April 21, 2014
  • Review: I don't think you can making anything better. Handy case has a short lanyard that makes stowing easy and accessible. Easy to maintain a proper scan.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Work fine

  • By Av8ter from Carrollton TX USA on Thursday, August 14, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: They do what they do. Work well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Pavel Antonio from Miami FL USA on Wednesday, August 18, 2010
  • Review: Great fit and comfort for IFR flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Mayhill NM on Friday, August 20, 2004
  • Review: Top notch quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By KRic from Maryland on Friday, January 12, 2007
  • Review: These are the best foggles by far because they fit well. Great quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By R22 pilot from Aurora CO USA on Tuesday, November 27, 2007
  • Pros: Did not have to worry the about the glassing falling off like other brands
  • Cons:
  • Review: Would highly recommed this style over other brands for rotor craft pilots. Very comfortable fit
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By Andrea from Magnolia TX USA on Friday, February 01, 2008
  • Pros: Fit the nose and over your ears
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this product for my fiance and he loves them. He said they actually stay on his face and don't scratch easily.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than a hood

  • By Stephen from Albuquerque NM USA on Wednesday, July 13, 2016
  • Pros: comfortable and real feeling of flying in the clouds
  • Cons: pricey for plastic
  • Review: Foggles are comfortable, fit easily over glasses, and give the impression of IFR in the clouds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than the Hood

  • By Hannah from Madison WI USA on Tuesday, October 18, 2016
  • Pros: Easy on and off
  • Cons: A little awkward over glasses
  • Review: The foggles are definitely easier to use in instrument training than the hood; they're easier to take on and off without having to take your whole headset off. They still sit sort of weird if you wear glasses, but they provide a more realistic sense that you're in the soup than the hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Richard from Graniteville SC USA on Monday, July 08, 2013
  • Pros: Fits well, even with glasses
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It met all expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Does the job

  • By Dave on Tuesday, November 11, 2008
  • Pros: Come in white or yellow
  • Cons: Hurts my ears with headset
  • Review: Fit well but, not too comfy under the headset. Comes with lanyard for hanging around neck.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By David from Cypress TX USA on Tuesday, January 25, 2011
  • Pros: packaged in a carrying pouch
  • Cons:
  • Review: Met expectations, fits perfect over small framed eye glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

There may be a better way...

  • By Randy from Grayson GA USA on Tuesday, January 06, 2009
  • Pros: Nice price. Stayed in place.
  • Cons: Clear pair expldes light when flying into the sun. Not very comfortable/distracting with my Serengetti aviator sunglasses.
  • Review: They do the job nicely. Were everything they were advertised to be. There may be a better product out there for the money but I don't know what it is. I will probably take dark tape and cover the frosted areas because when flying into the sun I was unable to see the panel. The frosting explodes the sunlight and washes everything out in front of you. My sunglasses underneath were cumbersome and were distracting from all the important things I was trying to learn and do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Casey, cfi from Olive Branch MS USA on Monday, March 28, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: The only problem is step turns into the sun.
  • Review: The only problem is steep turns into the sun.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comfortable and fairly sturdy

  • By Thomas from Auburn AL USA on Monday, February 23, 2009
  • Pros: comfortable
  • Cons: pricey
  • Review: The Foggles are comfortable and fairly sturdy. A good substitute for a hood. But a little pricey.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beats the hood

  • By Thomas from Cibolo TX USA on Tuesday, May 19, 2009
  • Pros: light weight, small
  • Cons: breaks headset seal when used with glasses
  • Review: A substantial substitute to using the hood. If you wear glasses, they can be slightly uncomfortable, but the foggles allow airflow across your face, where the hood restricts not only visibility, but airflow as well. If you have issues getting air sick under the hood, this is the cure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Darrell from Lexington KY USA on Monday, June 15, 2009
  • Review: The foggles are light and are good for IFR training. You can put them over your sun glasses if you need and they are comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Stuart, FL on Wednesday, February 20, 2008
  • Review: Needs some adjustment to stay put.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth having your own pair.

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Thursday, December 18, 2008
  • Pros: They do what foggles do.
  • Cons: A little uncomfortable with headset.
  • Review: Nice to have your own pair. They come with a lanyard for hanging around your neck.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good product

  • By Bryan from Northglenn CO USA on Thursday, January 31, 2008
  • Pros: Price and comfort
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Good product for early instrument training. Not preferred by many examiners (they prefer hoods). Lightweight and easily doned.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product but I modified them anyway

  • By MJ from Livermore CA USA on Wednesday, October 28, 2009
  • Pros: Well made and they work good.
  • Cons: See review.
  • Review: As most folks know Foggles are a good product, nonetheless they have two bad design flaws. 1) They are not headset friendly and the ends will dig into your head behind your ears. 2) Yellow lenses are horrible to look through and when the sun hits the fogged out portion of the clear lenses it defusses the light and darn near blinds you. I don't have the answer to number 1, but created a great fix for number 2. I taped off every area of the glasses that was not fogged out and painted the rest flat black. 100% better, no more glare.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Product

  • By A Customer from GOM on Friday, June 08, 2007
  • Pros: Well made
  • Cons: Should have hard case issue with the glasses
  • Review: Fit well, good quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By karl from orchard park NY USA on Tuesday, May 27, 2008
  • Review: Adequate to do the training function.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

They get the job done

  • By A Customer from NJ USA on Monday, November 26, 2007
  • Pros: They allow you to see the insturments and block as much as the outside as can be expected.
  • Cons: It makes it a little louder because they break the seal of the headset, but it is no worse than sunglasses
  • Review: They are great at limiting your view. In the Cherokee 140 I have been flying you can see a sliver of the window. They will reduce the noise cancellation of your over-ear headset since it will break the seal, but it is the same as wearing sunglasses. It is about everything you can expect from foggles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from CLEVELAND OHIO on Tuesday, August 03, 2004
  • Review: comfortable and lightweight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Decent VLD

  • By A Customer from Rochester NY USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2015
  • Pros: Fits over eyeglasses
  • Cons: Not completely view-limiting
  • Review: When flying left seat, you can still see out of left side, it is too easy to "cheat" with these. They are basically $1 safety glasses that were sanded. My advice would be to pick up a $1 pair of safety glasses and make some yourself. Saves time and money, especially since these Foggles need to be covered up with duct tape/paint anyway!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Bozeman MT USA on Tuesday, February 21, 2012
  • Pros: best i've found
  • Cons: better if the line between clear and foggy at the top of the glasses was more precise or clear. it's a little fuzzy
  • Review: Pretty good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Functional but bright

  • By A Customer from Middletown DE USA on Wednesday, June 10, 2009
  • Pros: fair price, work well
  • Cons: buy the tinted version
  • Review: They work great, however with no tint and a sunny day they are tough to use. Sunglasses don't fit well under them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Foggles are just that!

  • By A Customer from Cypress TX USA on Monday, June 17, 2013
  • Pros: Fit over glasses, Relatively comfortable
  • Cons: Not vented well enough to keep from fogging up your corrective lenses in the heat.
  • Review: I bought a pair for my private check ride. Unfortunately I have to wear corrective lenses as do many other pilots. The foggles I bought are to fit over corrective lenses and they do. So there's a plus. Unfortunately when you are in an aircraft that is 85 degrees inside, you have a tendancy to sweat especially during a check ride. Well after putting the foggles on, the sweat tends to fog up the corrective lenses which by the way are now between you and the foggles. What visible area there are in the foggles becomes......well!....fogged and you can't see anything. Not a good thing to happen when you are trying to bring an aircraft out of a banking dive and get everything level off and back to a normal attitude. I did get my check ride completed and successfully I might say. I did however get a double take from my examiner when I took the foggles off and he saw the sweat drenched and half fogged corrective lenses I was wearing. Guess he figured I was go to go. These things probably work well in cooler temperatures but am seriously thinking of investing in a hood for my IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Read This FIRST!!

  • By Victor A. Santiago from San Juan, PR on Thursday, October 15, 2009
  • Pros: Greater Restricted Viewing Than Others
  • Cons: Cheap Frosted Finish
  • Review: Waaaay too bulky. Really Cheap Frosted Finish, spray painted without even having the viewing area aligned. Worked really good after I modified them with 3M Electrical Tape.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Unless the Sun Is Out

  • By Jim from Lenexa KS USA on Friday, November 27, 2015
  • Pros: Block most sight
  • Cons: Blinding when flying into the sun, Don't block sight at edges, Require painting to correct
  • Review: They work fair at blocking sight, although I still get too much peripheral. The showstopper, however, is what happens when using them on a sunny day and you turn into the sun. I was practically blinded on a practice ILS approach, and the distraction was so bad I couldn't finish the approach. I can fix this with a can of flat black spray paint; however, if I have to go to that extent I can just make my own from safety glasses, which is all these are anyway. Oh well, live and learn.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Doesn't work with eye glasses

  • By AJ from La Canada CA USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Review: It said it works with eye glasses, but it does not.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

disappointed

  • By Dan S from Havana IL USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable. Fit over glasses.
  • Cons: Overpriced for product.. Sun glare issue.
  • Review: These are basically an inexpensive safety goggle that has been etched except for the "instrument area". When flying into the sun they make a blinding glare. To resolve this problem I masked the view area and spray painted the fogged area. This resolved the problem, but I would have been better served to just paint a pair of safety glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Not the best.

  • By Anonymous from Pittsburgh, PA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Over prices & ineffective
  • Review: Severely overpriced item. As stated in another review, they are just safety goggles that are etched or painted. They do not do a good job of blocking out everything. I get no sensation of instrument flying. I often find myself putting my head against the glare shield, like a grandmother driving down the road, just to block out the outside view. Until a better product comes along, I would rather deal with the hassle of wearing "the hood." It will give you 10 fold better sensation of "real instrument" conditions...over the Foggles. Spend your money on something else.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't fit over glasses or sunglasses. Gave foggles to IFR CFII.

  • By Marc from Livermore CA USA on Wednesday, May 12, 2010
  • Pros: Limits vision adequately.
  • Cons: Do not fit over regular glass or sunglasses.
  • Review: Reviews were mixed on whether or not the Foggles would fit over regular glasses or sunglasses. In my case, they did not. I gave them to a CFII friend for his students. I made my own "Foggles" using simple plastic saftey goggles from my local hardware store, taping over the area I wanted to remain clear, then spray painting the rest. The safety goggles fit easily over my glasses and sunglasses, do not interfere with my David Clark headset, and are easy to put on and take off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't buy these foggles.

  • By Dissatisfied from Spartanburg SC USA on Wednesday, September 30, 2009
  • Pros: They are lightweight.
  • Cons: Don't serve their one intended purpose
  • Review: Foggles only serve one purpose in life - to keep you from seeing outside. I am constantly turning my head in weird positions to keep from "cheating" and catching the horizon. They are not adjustable and don't fit well under your headphones.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"I would buy this product again"

  • By Carlo from Buffalo NY USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: they fog
  • Cons: good for decoration
  • Review: there is nothing about foggless, the fog all the times and defeat the purpose of glasses, I had to take them down and clean them, to the point I give up. and got an old hood.
    don't buy them, they are useless
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Can't hear with foggles on

  • By George from Slidell LA USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Good material
  • Cons: Breaks headphone seal & noises up comms too much
  • Review: Not OK for those who wear glasses. In my case they fit over the glasses ok, but held my headphone muffs out and let in so much noise; I couldn't hear. Suggest "clip on" foggles be made for glasses wearers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.