TOP

Reviews for Alpha MA-1 Nylon Flight Jacket - Gunmetal Gray

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

MA-1 Nylon Jacket

  • By Capt71 from Redwood City CA USA on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
  • Pros: Faithful to original specs and well made.
  • Cons: Alpha sizing--order one size larger than you take.
  • Review: I purchased the gunmetal version of this jacket. I found the overall workmanship and materials to be excellent. I was happy to see that Alpha made it with the orange liner. It is warm, but I don't think it would stand up to sub-zero temperatures. I had heard that the Alpha jackets run somewhat small in size, so I ordered one size larger than I normally take and it fits perfectly (I had previously purchased an Alpha CWU-45/P and its sizing was similar).
    I recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good jacket, Be careful of sizing.

  • By Casey from Orlando FL USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Worth the money.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Runs VERY small. If you need a Large then you will need at least a 2x.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

GREAT QUALITY!!!

  • By Dean from Los Angeles CA USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Pros: Warm, high quality and durable
  • Cons: I don't have any cons....
  • Review: MyPilotStore had the best price. I wanted a jacket from this manufacture, not a cheap knock-off. These jackets are genuine. MyPilotStore had it on my door step with in three days! Their web site was extremely help in choosing the correct size. My first jacket was purchased at a PX in a VA hospital. I was not aware that I should purchase a jacket one size larger than I normally wear. I will purchase from MyPilotStore again!!! 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By jim from newark OH USA on Monday, April 02, 2012
  • Review: At my last helicopter reunion I had many people ask about the jacket. They all loved it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I WOULD BUY THIS JACKET AGAIN

  • By SCOOTER from Northport AL USA on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Review: JUST LIKE THE ONE I HAD IN AIR FORCE, IT MET MY EXPECTATIONS!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By The ToyKannon from Baton Rouge LA USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Review: I love the jacket, the fit was good. Reminded me of my days in the Navy, brought back many good memories of the good old days
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Los Angeles, CA USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Review: I Love it! It's Classic and Cool! I will purchase another one in another color. This Jacket Rocks!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Second one I ordered,

  • By Ed from Bossier City LA USA on Monday, November 10, 2014
  • Pros: As good as the one I had in the 70s
  • Cons: Updated for a cell phone pockett
  • Review: I ordered one in sage green and loved it so much I ordered one in gunmetal. Very warm.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Newton WV USA on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations,exceptionally warm and comfortable. Would recomend to anyone looking for a stylish and functional jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Morgantown, WV on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: smaller so go bigger..
  • Review: My daughter took my jacket 2 years ago. hmm never gave it back so I wanted to try out the gray anyway... will get small on you when it is washed...so get a bigger one.. great coat and looks good to. Love you Skylar... uncle mike
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this pjacket again

  • By Peter from Minneapolis MN USA on Monday, December 12, 2016
  • Pros: Good construction, warm, comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: I was a little unsure about buying a flight jacket without trying it on. I've had one for over 20 years; it's been great but it was starting to fall apart and I couldn't remember what size I'd originally bought. (Collar tag is missing.) Anyway, the reviews for this were fairly good, so I thought I'd take a chance with a Large. It arrived in just a few days, and fits perfectly. It seems well constructed and keeps me warm. I like to wear a hoodie with it, too, and there's plenty of room for that. Nice sturdy inside pockets as well as outside pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

love it

  • By Daryl from Dothan AL USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2016
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Great Jacket THANKS
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I won't have to buy this product again.

  • By Steven from Chesterfield MO USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Pros: Warm and cozy
  • Cons: Pricey compared to the chinese knock offs, still worth it.
  • Review: My mil spec flight jacket is so well constructed it may very well be in my will.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By SD from PASADENA, CA on Saturday, October 22, 2016
  • Review: Quality product for a great price.  You see this jacket at one of those trendy store for double the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great jacket. Buy it!

  • By Mark L. from Woodland Park NJ USA on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Pros: Great Jacket light and warm comfortable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great jacket, buy it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By A Customer from Fort Mill SC USA on Thursday, February 02, 2017
  • Pros: I was very pleased with your product, I wasn't sure how I would like it.
  • Cons: I have no cons about my pilot jacket.
  • Review: It fits very well, nice and warm,and I love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost identical to the original

  • By Kenneth from Reno NV USA on Friday, April 17, 2020
  • Pros: It is a great cold weather jacket.
  • Cons: I cannot think of any.
  • Review: Other than the angle of the sleeve pocket, this jacket is identical the one I had in the Air Force.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket

  • By John Sliter from Medina OH USA on Tuesday, May 23, 2017
  • Pros: Quality, Prompt delivery
  • Cons: So far no Cons
  • Review: This is a great jacket. Good fabric quality, Good zipper Quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Really great jacket!

  • By Curtis from Sterling Heights MI USA on Wednesday, April 26, 2017
  • Pros: Style, fit, comfort level.
  • Cons: Has to be dry cleaned, but that is being picky.
  • Review: This jacket is really great. I bought a similar jacket from someone else and it was not worth the money I spent for it. The jacket proved to be really warm and very comfortable and the fit is spot on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hits the nail on the head...

  • By Bill O'Hara from West Winfield NY USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Pros: Good product, no complaints
  • Cons: I had to apply bee's wax to the zipper to have it slide more easily
  • Review: This jacket fits well, is warm, and is practical. I bought a size larger than I usually wear in order to comfortably wear a thick sweater underneath for colder weather...is roomy enough to do so. I receive a lot of compliments on it; not a lot of people wear this style of jacket here...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great coat at this price,

  • By Roger from Phoenix AZ USA on Saturday, March 14, 2015
  • Review: The coat is providing excellent warmth and wind resistance. I used it extensively during the superbowl week at Glendale Airport. Winter coat season is rather short here in Phoenix, but it looks like it will last for years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for this "auto" pilot

  • By James from Costa Mesa CA USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros: warm, comfortable, can wear in the car, looks good, secure pockets
  • Cons: zipper a bit sticky at times
  • Review: I live in S. California and was contemplating a trip to the mid-west over Xmas. Since I was driving I wanted something that I could wear comfortably in the car. This jacket served beautifully and is surprisingly warm. The knitting at the wrist and waist effectively keeps out the cold breezes. The only reasons it did not rate a "5" are 1) that I would have liked pockets a bit larger. (They are secure and large enough to stow gloves.) and 2) the back of the jacket sometimes rides up when I bend over.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

MA-1 jaccket by Alpha

  • By A Customer on Sunday, April 21, 2019
  • Pros: Warm, looks sharp, zipper is smooth.
  • Cons: Made in China!!
  • Review: Love this jacket!! It's my 2nd one in 15 years. However, my first 2 cost the same, but were made in the USA!! This one is great, but made in China!! No issue with the zipper. But the quality is 90% of the American made jackets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice jacket overall

  • By Gary from Qulin MO USA on Wednesday, February 07, 2018
  • Review: The jacket is a little bulky, however it is warm and the zipper is very easy to use. Probably not worth the purchase price unless it is on sale.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Jacket for the money

  • By Ken the Van's RV-9 pilot from Greendale WI USA on Thursday, January 26, 2012
  • Pros: Overall look / color
  • Cons: Zipper / Price
  • Review: I like the looks of the jacket but,the zipper is very rough and difficult to operate. Also, many of my pilot friends have purchased a similar jacket for as low as $38. Quality is as good or better. I paid $89
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Walter from Missoula MT USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Review: I bought one in 2000, for $100 in an military surplus store. My memory isn't the best but I remember that jacket having more insulation. All in all it is a great jacket and I look forward to wearing it for years.  I've worn out two others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality got much worse. Zipper is not working smoothly.

  • By David from Forest Hills NY USA on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
  • Pros: Warm and look good.
  • Cons: Quality need improvment.
  • Review: I loved my old Flight jacket. This one is made by non skilled workers. Will not buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Zipper is difficult to connect and sticks

  • By Lawrence from Fayetteville, GA on Friday, November 21, 2014
  • Pros: warm
  • Cons: zipper
  • Review: Zipper is your biggest issue here. Sticks and jambs when zipping up. However, very warm and comfortable to move around in. Last, it is a tad over priced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.