TOP

Rugged Air RA900 Headset

  • 18 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Rugged Air RA900 Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Graet product, great quality

  • By Keith from Burlington WA USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Construction, clarity, comfort
  • Cons: So far none
  • Review: We purchased these headsets for our ground crew, adding a bit of safety while out on our tractors and equipment on the airfield. The construction of the headsets appear to be quite stout and the comfort is spot on. The convenience of the music jack keeps the guys happy. Clear and easy to use. Ihave using these headsets almost daily for about a month, I am truly happy with our purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't judge a book by its cover

  • By Felipe from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
  • Review: Is a very nice device, nice sound, very clear.  It is a good price and quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Really good budget headset

  • By KJ from Thailand on Wednesday, August 17, 2011
  • Pros: Tough & Quiet
  • Cons: As comfortable as a cheapt headset could be
  • Review: I bought this headset a year ago and found out quickly that its a really good piece of kit.  Highly recommendable if you need a durable good sounding headset. Only moderately comfortable on long trips but very quiet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset for the Price!

  • By Dave from Greenfield IN USA on Sunday, September 04, 2011
  • Pros: Quality construction, reasonably lightweight, comfortable
  • Cons: This one did not come with a case (my 950 did).
  • Review: I bought this headset for my passengers. I upgraded it with gel ear seals, and the comfort head band. It is very comfortable to wear, and is suprisingly quiet. Great value and peformance for a stereo headset. I would not hesitate to buy another!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rugged Air Headsets Work

  • By Bobby from Columbia SC USA on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Pros: Volume, clarity and passive noise reduction.
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: I have been buying "inexpensive" headsets for years with good results. Recently I purchased two "inexpensive" ANR headsets for my wife and I. Both failed the first time they were used. The factory refurbished them at no cost, but I still was not pleased with them. The ANR feature was not effective and I had to contend with additional wires and batteries---way too much effort for the very small reduction in noise. In addition the maximum volume was very low; I missed a lot of ATC calls. I read all of the literature and looked especially at volume. The Ruggged Air RA900 headsets have proven to be excellent. The volume is more than adequate and the "passive" noise reduction far exceeds the ANR headsets I have tested. Rugged Air is the best Headset at any price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kenroy from Virginia Beach VA USA on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
  • Review: It is one of the best you can get for the price....this was my first headset since starting flight training and so far it works perfectly
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, February 20, 2017
  • Review: Doing it's job Perfectly!
    I've also ordered the "Deluxe comfort headpad" and the gel ear protectors.
    makes it super comfortable, 11/10 for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Michael G. from San Antonio TX USA on Wednesday, August 05, 2015
  • Pros: well made, great price, comfortable
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I'm a student pilot and did not want to spend too much on my first headset. These are not the cheapest out there. So far they have been wonderful. The quality of the sound is very good and no issues with the mic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Rugged Air RA900 Headset

  • By Scott Hall from Daytona Beach, FL on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
  • Pros: awesome price, sounds clear, feels sturdy.
  • Cons: not loud with MP3, but if your in the left seat, you shouldn't be listening to music anyway.
  • Review: Love this headset. I'm a student pilot with 16 hours. I have not had one bit of problem with this headset. The longest I have worn them was for 1.5 hours. I didn't have any discomfort after using them. For the money, you can't beat them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would tell people to buy this headset!!

  • By Dennis from Independence MO USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Works great in my noisy airplane
  • Cons: I cant think of any.....OH it was a little tite so I sprung them out a bit
  • Review: This headset really works great in my single place all aluminum ultralight airplane. Called a Hummel Ultra Cruiser. For the price it can not be beat ...............
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No regrets

  • By Michael T. from Crystal MN USA on Monday, October 08, 2018
  • Review: Completely met my expectations;
    Affordable
    Functional
    Comfortable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid product

  • By Bo from Bailey MS USA on Monday, July 12, 2010
  • Pros: Comfort and audio quality.
  • Cons: MP3 plug.
  • Review: Good well built product. Comfortable and quite even on longer flights. MP3 plug dosen't work consistantly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good staff

  • By Boris from Mesa AZ USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Pros:
  • Cons: The soft earings are weak sitting on their place. Need to put it back from time to time.
  • Review: Basically meet my expectations. Loud and clear sound. Impressive look.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as Advertised

  • By Brent from Winder GA USA on Sunday, October 18, 2015
  • Pros: Comfortable, sound quality, durable
  • Cons: Looks (wire seems too long for the headset across the band. Also not easily adjustable for fit, but it is adjustable...
  • Review: Meets all expectations...except in cosmetics. I'm not fond of the wire across the headband, but that's just me. I would rather it be concealed or flush with the band. The sound quality is good and the fit is as expected. I would buy another and probably will when the time comes. Adjustment should be easier, but once you adjust the headset for fit, it's there...unless someone else needs to where it...and then hopefully it fits them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Inexpensive second headset

  • By Everett from Bayport NY USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Review: I needed a second headset for friends that fly with me. This headset fit the bill. It works perfectly, has audio controls, stereo and mono, jack for an I-pod or phone, and an on/off switch. It also appears like a more expensive set. It was exactly what I needed at a very reasonable price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the price!

  • By A Customer from Montreal QC Canada on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Review: I'm no pro, but it does what it says!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By A Customer from Mundelein IL USA on Monday, April 11, 2016
  • Pros: Good value, great sound.
  • Cons: Strobe noise
  • Review: This is my first headset and it fits well, is very comfortable and sounds great. The only negative thing I could say about it is that I can very slightly hear interference? from the beacon strobe. Most of the time I don't hear it except for when the engine is at idle.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice one!

  • By Carlos R. from Hialeah FL USA on Thursday, October 23, 2014
  • Pros: Clear sound! Stereo sound good.
  • Cons: Too tight.
  • Review: It worked as advertised, good inexpensive set, will buy another one if need it one. Will be better with the optional head pad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.