TOP

Reviews for Gleim Commercial Pilot Written Exam Guide

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Useful exam preparation guide

  • By David from Seattle, WA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Pros: Easy question and answer review
  • Cons: Paper absorbs hand moisture like a sponge
  • Review: Excellent guide in preparing for the commercial written exam. Answers are presented on the same page, making the quizzes and reviewing efficient.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Jade from Thornton CO USA on Monday, May 04, 2015
  • Pros: Specific, concise.
  • Cons: A bit narrow in scope, focuses specifically on the knowledge the FAA wants to tes on the written.
  • Review: This book addresses the knowledge on two levels, it specifically deals with the questions that an applicant will see on the exam and the information in the way the FAA wants to see it, but it also does a good job of explaining the concepts. I wouldn't write an FAA exam without one of these references.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding book--

  • By Terence Kindlon from Glenmont NY USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Thorough and highly organized.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Extremely helpful study guide. I highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

fantastic service

  • By A Customer on Thursday, October 15, 2015
  • Pros: Fast delievery and shipped professionaly
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Ordered Tuesday, arrived Thursday lunchtime. Book brand new and packaged perfectly. Would definitely order again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

well assembled

  • By Jerry from Trenton NJ USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Review: Good exam guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

well assembled

  • By Jerry from Trenton NJ USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Review: Good exam guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An excellent resource for the commercial exam

  • By Jim from Chehalis, WA on Monday, April 04, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent organization and a must have resource
  • Cons:
  • Review: Used this book exclusively to prepare for the written commercial exam. Scored a 97% and should have done even better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Study guide

  • By Joshua from Port Neches TX USA on Monday, January 16, 2012
  • Review: Loved it. Studied for one week 2-3 hours per day.Passed with an 85.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Randy Poteet from Portland OR USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Pros: I am studying for fixed wing and Gleam commercial book is laid out that way. Asa you have to skip questions for rotorcraft and lighter than air.
  • Cons: No cons.
  • Review: Much more informative than asa products.Explained in more detail on calculation problems,grafts,and aviation weather.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Loving it, very helpful

  • By Eric from Norco CA USA on Monday, March 30, 2009
  • Review: Just what was needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I have used these study guides on my private,instrument, and commercial. Very satisfied.

  • By Jeff from Kaysville UT USA on Monday, April 28, 2008
  • Pros: Clear, to the point. Straightforward.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I passed my private, instrument, instrument instructor, and commercial all with scores in the 90 percent range with the help of these study guides. Very clear to the point. Some good alternatives for solutions to some problems, i.e. weight and balance weight shift equation. NDB problems could use a little more explaining for some questions. Will use them for instruction and help when I get My CFI ratings.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Its a book that helps you pass but could use some work

  • By Anthony from Raleigh, NC on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Pros: Answers right next to questions
  • Cons: needs a thorough revision.
  • Review: Really helped understand most of the math problems and I like how it breaks up each part in sections with the practice test in the back which helps you take a simulated one. Though the questions need to be revised. I used this and the dauntless online software and made a 87. I used dauntless more and they have a lot more questions than gleim. Also, some of the questions dauntless had were not in the gleim book and I saw those on the test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Collierville TN USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: good review of material necessary to pass the exam.
  • Cons: Could be updated
  • Review: Covered MOST but not all questions on the exam. Good, concise coverage of the problem section
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Passed the written

  • By Ryan from Kansas City MO USA on Monday, September 12, 2011
  • Review: Recognized probably 90% of the questions from just this book. Scored an 85% using just this book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would recommend this book

  • By J' from Lynchburg VA USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Pros: Summarize, all the questions
  • Cons: Not enough to understand all the concepts
  • Review: Very good book to pass the exam with a good grade. Contains all the questions and very good summarize of what you need to know.

    However, it is better to start studying with the FAA book available on their website to be proficient and pass the checkered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Good

  • By A Customer from Lee, NH on Monday, April 02, 2007
  • Pros: Cheap
  • Cons: Still work
  • Review: Cheap way to pass the commercial written test. I like the little introduction followed by questions. Interesting I read a number of times the introduction and I was able to answer 90-95% of the questions correctly the first time. I only look at the questions twice. I got 98% and this was the only material I used for the test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It does the job

  • By A Customer from Castro Valley CA USA on Thursday, June 12, 2008
  • Pros: Complete in covering the subject matter
  • Cons: Can be a bit more expansive in the narrative sections.
  • Review: Definitely complete and covered everything I needed to pass the written exam. The practice question were spot-on with answers briefly answered. It lacked in-depth subject treatment, but the authors caution "that the sole purpose of this book is to expedite your passing the FAA pilot knowledge test...". Divided into subject chapters and covers each subject briefly before a question and answer section. Also provides a good summary of the flight time required for the commercial license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's okay

  • By Clark from HOUSTON TX USA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Pros: Cost
  • Cons: Not descriptive enough. Plane Jane.
  • Review: This book is okay, but the explanations could be a lot better. It's all in b&w, and nothing fancy, which matches the price you pay. I haven't tried the expensive DVD options, or Internet options, but I'm sure they are much better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Traditional Gleim Product

  • By A Customer from Waukesha WI USA on Wednesday, January 02, 2008
  • Pros: Has the questions you need to study.
  • Cons: Answer explanations sometimes aren't very deep-just a restatement of the fact that the answer was wrong.
  • Review: It's what you'd expect from a Gleim study guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.