TOP

Reviews for SPOT Satellite Personal Tracker - Generation 4

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

It works!

  • By Michael from Sterling VA USA on Monday, October 07, 2013
  • Pros: Works as advertised.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I've owned the two previous iterations of this device, and this is, by far, the best of the lot. I use it to track my motorcycle rides, and the Gen 3 unit has almost no dropouts. The earlier versions would sometimes go for an hour or more without a tracking point. Not this one. Very happy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 107 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Product - must have

  • By George VanderMeer from Idaho Fall, Idaho on Monday, July 03, 2017
  • Pros: Small / easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I activated my SPOT SOS feature yesterday in backcountry of Idaho when I crashed my motorcycle and broke my leg. The called helped LIfe Flight to confirm GPS coordinates so local EMTS and Helicopter could come get me.....
    I carried it for years in hopes that I would not need but I'm glad that I had it with me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 106 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple to use

  • By Dwight T from Orlando FL USA on Wednesday, April 19, 2017
  • Pros: Few buttons and easy to use
  • Cons: Must pre-program messages in the computer ahead of time
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I purchased this product in case of emergency while horseback riding. I ended up using it track my driving and just carrying it along on riding trips in case of an emergency. It sends out a blip every 10 minutes and creates a great map so my emergency contacts can see when and where I'm traveling. Think about any of the additional plans (rescue, roadside assistance) you may want before you sign up for the service as some are only offered when you initially register.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 99 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pease of mind in your pocket

  • By Peter from Mankato MN USA on Thursday, August 17, 2017
  • Pros: Compact , easy to use and set up
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] Unit purchased and used for recent remote adventure motorcycle ride along the Continental Divide. Kept my family and friends advised of my progress and safety on the trip
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 96 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Functions exactly as promised.

  • By A Customer from Gillette WY USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: Reliable satellite comunication
  • Cons: Wish I could use the USB port to change the messages with my cell phone.
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] The product works great. My wife can keep track of me when I hunting, motorcycling, etc. I received an email that said my purchase rebate in on the way, so that seems to be working as promised. Great product and easy to set up!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 96 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It actually works, even on some cloudy days here in TX

  • By PlaneSet llc from Addison TX USA on Wednesday, March 23, 2016
  • Pros: Nice quality, works as promised, useful
  • Cons: Drains battery quickly
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] It is a very nice and useful product, it actually works even on some cloudy days in TX!  The quality build is very nice and seems to withstand some abuse, definitely worth the investment.
    Thanks
    flyplaneset.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 94 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Dorothy' brigman from Weir mid on Monday, August 15, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 88 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty neat

  • By Passin Thru on Wednesday, February 07, 2018
  • Pros: Small hooks to a backpack, Very few places it wont send from.
  • Cons: Batteries are short lived.
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] Used it and and a Garmin etrex to hunt in Roosevelt NF in Southern Co. Nearest town was 25 miles but my wife said she could find me anytime on her computer. It has a lot of features including the emergency call. It worked in Europe and India for me also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 88 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product!

  • By Derek from Gunn AB Canada on Sunday, February 05, 2017
  • Pros: a must for flying over uninhabited terrain
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] Best price on the market.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 82 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Great Personal Track per

  • By Tom from Pensacola FL USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Pros: Small, lightweight and easy to carry with included belt loop.
  • Cons: Not as waterproof as I'd like for possible water landings.
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I bought this to have a personal tracker during flights over the many wooded areas or swamps in the southeastern USA. With its ability to transmit an SOS and my coordinates, I keep it on my belt during my flights. I've tested the tracking and message transmit ability in flight and so far it works very well. Yes, there is an annual subscription required but it's a small price should I really need help.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 81 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and useful unit.

  • By Robert from Missoula MT USA on Monday, January 25, 2016
  • Pros: Set it and forget it.
  • Cons: The subscription plans are a little confusing.
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] It works as advertised and it is quite simple to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 75 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome device!

  • By Jeffrey from Juneau AK USA on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
  • Pros: Size and love the added external power option.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] Upgraded from the SPOT gen 2 and it's everything people have come to love about SPOT. I don't go anywhere without it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 72 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

fantastic tracker

  • By Derek from Gunn AB Canada on Monday, January 09, 2017
  • Pros: Small and lightweight
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] Exceeds expectations, will do more than what I expected it would do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 66 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent pros

  • By Derek from Gunn AB Canada on Sunday, February 05, 2017
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 63 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is an excellent tool

  • By JR from Phoenix AZ USA on Tuesday, September 18, 2018
  • Pros: Very accurate, battery life was better than advertised. batteries are still good after 13 full days of use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] It is very accurate. took a 4200 mile trip on a motorcycle. It located my location to the exact spot on motels i stayed. Was a great relief to my wife to follow my location at anytime.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 28 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love my Sunshine

  • By Dallice from Boulder, CO USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Flying small planes in the mountains, it's could be a lifesaver.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I like that it's more intuitive than the previous model, it's also much smaller and lighter. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars is it didn't work in the overhead bin of an airliner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 66 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reliable but no speed/altitude data

  • By Damon (COZY III N22AZ) from Saco ME USA on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
  • Pros: Reliable, very easy to use
  • Cons: No speed/altitude data - just position
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I bought the SPOT Gen 3 (with "extreme tracking" option as well as GEOS SAR plan) before researching the Delorme InReach, and my ground team for a planned RTW record attempt next year (cozyroundtheworld dot com) - after taking a look at the Delorme system at OSH - is vexed about the lack of speed and altitude data in the feed from the SPOT, nor having the data file easily downloaded for spreadsheet speed calc. It is reliable - it's only missed maybe 4 position updates out of several hundred points logged over the past couple months - but the InReach 2-way texting via Iridium, and speed/altitude data along with the position, at similar costs, are probably swaying me toward using that device.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 81 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John A. from Nutley NJ USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the previous Generation 3 SPOT] I tested it, thank goodness I haven't had to use it for real. I have faith in it and hope I truly don't have the opportunity or need to use it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 77 Other people found this review helpful.