TOP

Reviews for ASA CX-3 Pathfinder Flight Computer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy 7 more if I could

  • By Fernando from Drummondville QC Canada on Sunday, December 03, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use, well made, reduces work time drastically.
  • Cons: Software a bit laggy sometimes, you can see weird black spots onscreen when typing down something.
  • Review: The ASA CX-3 Pathfinder, what can I say? When you thought nothing was ever gonna be as good as the ole Trusty CX-2 comes the CX-3 sayin' holdma beer.

    It is with all honesty one of the best aviation products I have ever purchased, really easy to use, good quality, well-made, user-friendly and most importantly it does the job is supposed to do flawlessly, it is quick on the operations and it really reduces workload and time planning your flights exponentially. It is a sure upgrade from the already great CX-2, apart that the screen is a sure upgrade from the black with green background game boy like screen from the previous version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Alexander from Charlotte NC USA on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Pros: This is a very handy product that make your calculation time very easy.
  • Cons: I have no cons
  • Review: I am a student pilot and I love this calculator for the ease of use as well as making calculating time much faster over the slide rule. I would honestly say this is a must for any pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic Calculator

  • By Russ from Glen Burnie MD USA on Monday, September 09, 2019
  • Pros: Perfect
  • Cons: Have not found any
  • Review: This Flight Computer makes everything so much easier. I especially like the backlit screen. I read previous reviews regarding the calculator not working...chaulk those up to user error. Once you get the understanding and flow this thing kicks butt. You can get a full manual online.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT ELECTRONIC CALCULATOR

  • By JUAN from Danville PA USA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: Numbers and letters are easy to see, easy to use, nights appearance.
  • Cons: Difficult to open the back cover to replace batteries.
  • Review: It was easy for me to start using a calculator, placing the numbers on the appropriate places. Helped me a lot during the computer test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Flight Planning Tool

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, May 08, 2019
  • Pros: Designed for pilots
  • Cons: Cost
  • Review: This is a very simple but powerful tool for flight planning. The flight plan mode is ideal for the related questions on the Instrument Knowledge test. It is clear to read and I love the tactile feel of the buttons when pushed. It is intuitive to use and easily changes to a simple calculator mode. I have yet to use all of its capabilities but even then, it blows away my old electronic E6B. I was reluctant to buy it because it is a little expensive but I have no remorse now that I've used it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Every student should own one

  • By Dale from Santa Clara CA USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Pros: Very intuitive and work flows easily between functions.
  • Cons: none
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great!

  • By Andre from Sandton South Africa on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
  • Review: Had the 1990 model of this and what a difference! - Great to finally see a newly developed product! - great to use and intuitive

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By mike on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Great looking easy to operate.
  • Cons: protective cover a small pain to get off.
  • Review: Easy to read and operate. This is allowed in for testing which I needed it for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use calculator

  • By A Customer from Phoenix AZ USA on Friday, October 12, 2018
  • Pros: Easy to use, menu driven functions
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great calculator that made exam and practical entries easy. The necessary functions are easy to find and the memory function helps with calculations not already carried over from one function to another.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from Moweaqua IL USA on Monday, January 08, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

CX3

  • By Jim from Spokane Valley WA USA on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Pros: Approved for exam
  • Cons: Reset function?
  • Review: Although today’s electronic equipment can do appreciably more this little guy will help you on your pilot exam and it is approved by FAA.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tammy from Lakeland FL USA on Friday, March 27, 2020
  • Review: Awesome flight computer! Saves a lot of time when filling out Navlogs. 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Tool

  • By D L from Camp Hill PA USA on Tuesday, March 31, 2020
  • Review: Far easier to use than my old E6B slide rule.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Short learning curve, more information faster

  • By FlyingPops from Calvert City KY USA on Friday, July 26, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to use, battery life good.
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet.
  • Review: Very easy to learn to use and get more information faster than using a wiz wheel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome accuracy

  • By Karen from Grand Rapids MI USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Review: I bought this for my son who is taking aviation classes. Very accurate and holds so much information. Best gift ever
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Tuesday, October 06, 2020
  • Review: Bought and used this for my ATP Helicopter written test. Works great and have no complaints what so ever. It does all of the weight and balance calculations on the ATP written test except for two which were simple math and was not an issue that it didn't do those. I highly recommend this flight computer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

One of the best tools ever

  • By Just Flying for Fun from Wetumpka, AL on Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Pros: Does everything the Whiz Wheel (E6B) can do and more....quickly and accurately
  • Cons: I can't think of any except it needs batteries every so often.
  • Review: I have the 1987 version of this Flight Computer that my wife bought me for Christmas right after I got my PPL. I have used it since and still do. Older version used 2 2032 batteries, so the new version is cheaper to get batteries for. I recommend it highly not only for written and practical exams (I did Instrument, Commercial, and CFI exams with mine) but a great tool when trying to do quick inflight calculations. I'd buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Sunday, February 17, 2019
  • Review: After downloading the manual and exploring with it i used it for my written private pilots exam.It was very helpful and faster than my EB-6.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Tuesday, May 01, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By joseph from Coral Gables FL USA on Monday, April 22, 2019
  • Review: mypilotstore has proven to be outstanding for order processing , shipping and tracking has proven t be outstanding.. keep up the great work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Seems to be a good, useful aviation planning device

  • By Bob from Cedar Mountain NC USA on Thursday, October 11, 2018
  • Pros: It is small & light weight. The screen is bright enough to see in sunlight.
  • Cons: The cover should slide on/off like the CX-2. Easier to operate wearing flight gloves that way.
  • Review: This unit was purchased to replace the previous CX-2 flight computer, which over time, failed to work correctly & became unreliable. The "flow pattern" of needed computations is good; the stored data from the previous calculation is carried forward to the next calculation, as in pressure altitude to density altitude. The unit can do many calculations, and it does take some study to become familiar with all that the CX-3 can do, but so far no major learning curve issues.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

For the intuitive

  • By Ken on Thursday, December 27, 2018
  • Pros: Simply layout
  • Cons: No instruction manual. Multiple screens required for simple tasks
  • Review: The CX-3 is good; although I think Sporty's Flight Computer is better laid out and easier to use. Leg time functionality is also unusual in that it is featured outside of the wind correction function so a calculation normally done in one screen in other flight computers has to be performed in two separate screens, i.e. work out wind correction based on TAS, wind direction, wind speed, etc, and then take the ground speed from the calculation into another screen and input that against the leg distance to determine the leg time. Clunky but quite functional.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool!

  • By Dr. Nic from Okemos MI USA on Friday, October 12, 2018
  • Pros: Nice, simple UI, firm positive button feel, clear display and appropriate selection of algorithms. Attractive case and rugged. Good job.
  • Cons: For its purpose, I have no complaints
  • Review: I just passed my FAA Knowledge exam with a 95% using the CX-3 during the exam and during the online training by Gleim. I much prefer the CX-3 to the slide rule-like E6B computer. I used slide rules all through my initial education as an engineer during the 60's and I do not want to go back there. I recognize the issue with batteries and loss of function compared to the E6Bs and that's why I have two CX-3s; one as a back up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good purchase for me

  • By A Customer from GEORGIA on Wednesday, May 09, 2018
  • Review: I'm still learning all the different ways to use it. I don't know that I had to have it, but I think it was a good purchase for me. Good price from a good store.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As expected, quality is good. UI is decent, if not at Apple levels.

  • By Jay from Oakland CA USA on Thursday, July 23, 2020
  • Pros: Good build quality, acceptable UI.
  • Cons: Needs batteries, does not do the dishes.
  • Review: So if you tend to be a number puncher, this is probably the best solution for you.

    The display is clear and not hard to read, even if your eyes are over 50. The keypad is well spaced, not cramped, so that's pretty good. The menu system will require some familiarization, but it's not a UI nightmare like, say, an older Icom radio. You don't have to have the manual open next to it in order to use it. It might not be as pretty as an apple product, but it gets the job done and looks decent enough doing it.

    Some prefer the E6B, and with appropriate training, I can see where that might be faster for some functions. I have both, I'd probably fly with an E6B if I had to choose, but now that I think about it, I don't have to.

    Electronics are more fragile, although I have to say the CX-3 seems to be pretty solid. Of course that doesn't help when you forget to check batteries, so have a battery item on your checklist for all your "dead battery holders" in your flight bag.

    Where this shines would be in flight planning where stored data adds convenience. Also during knowledge tests (no stored data allowed there).

    Both approaches will require some effort to become comfortable with the procedures, nothing is magic. If you want an electronic flight computer that is test legal, then this is probably best of breed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Happy to have it !

  • By MAC Hvy 640629 from Worthington MA USA on Friday, August 09, 2019
  • Pros: Fast, accurate, with a good display.
  • Cons: Received no manual in the box. Learned on YouTube.
  • Review: Meets my needs and beyond. I’ve been using the CX-3 while studying for the PP written and find it faster than the classic whiz wheel. I have been through two sets of batteries in three weeks. Bring a set of four along in your headset bag as backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chico from Cureglia Canton Ticino Switzerland on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Pros: Tutto
  • Cons: niente
  • Review: Prodotto molto buono
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Maybe Yes Maybe No

  • By Don in Tulsa from Tulsa, Ok on Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Pros: I was disappointed in the weight and balance features. I was hoping for better what if calculations, like if I move this where will my new CG be or I need this number what needs to be moved. I contacted tech support about this and was told to review the manual which I did again. I emailed again explaining again what I was looking for, no reply this time. I would have returned it since I wasn’t using it but was a day late. I would recommend buying the Sporty’s model it’s a better value.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well built solid construction I Really like the feel of the buttons. Many good features for new pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EB-6 is Superior to the CX-3

  • By A Customer from Liverpool TX USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Review: I find the EB 6 far better do I am going to replace the CX-3 with an EB-6
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.