TOP

Reviews for Travelpro FlightCrew5 24" Expandable Rollaboard (checked baggage only)

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Superb Luggage for Longer Trips

  • By A Customer from Truckee CA USA on Wednesday, June 22, 2016
  • Pros: Most importanly - its size: bigger than a carry-on, but still easy to handle. Durability. Price.
  • Cons: If fashion is important to you, look elsewhere. But if you want luggage that makes travel better than you could possibly imagine, buy this one.
  • Review: This 24" 2-wheeled rollaboard is absolutely superb for intermediate length travel. Unlike most 24-25" luggage, this rollaboard is reasonably sized at 24x16x9.5", yet it easily holds enough stuff for 3-5 weeks of comfortable travel (without even using its 2" expansion capability). It is very well-built, and easy to handle in all situations. Unlike a spinner, it is right at home on even the most rugged of French cobblestones - which is where all good luggage loves to go! The zippers on the FlightCrew 5 are top knotch, and the size and locations of its various pockets are perfect. You will not find a better, reasonably-sized 24" rollaboard in the market today.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 30 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product and brand again!

  • By David from Gresham OR USA on Tuesday, September 13, 2016
  • Pros: Good storage, well made, excellent handle and wheels
  • Cons: None that I can think of--very pleased with this bag
  • Review: Purchased (2) of these for my wife and I on a 10-day trip to Scotland. Bag is well made, has a good handle, and rolls very well. We traveled with my cousin and her husband. We changed hotels in Edinburgh and new hotel was 3 blocks away. These rolled very easily through the streets (including cobblestone). My cousin's 4-wheel bag (other brand) lost a wheel during the 3-block trek to new hotel. I'm glad I purchased a high-quality 2-wheeled bag, instead. Fully loaded this bag was 42-pounds. Under the 50-lb. international weight limit and overall size under limits too--which means no oversized or overweight baggage charges from airline which can be $300 or more per bag!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 26 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bag is designed to take a beating.

  • By 777 captain from Collierville TN USA on Saturday, August 10, 2019
  • Pros: High end materials, rugged zippers, expandable.
  • Cons: Wheels are good, but will fail after a couple years of heavy abuse. Easily replaced.
  • Review: I’ve owned Travelpro Flight crew bags for the past 20 years. They’re designed specifically to handle the wear/tear and abuse of flight crew members. On average, I use my bag 10 days a month.
    Most suitcases are designed for the occasional traveler. Not Travelpro Flight crew bags. The materials used are heavy duty and will last for years. I’ve never had a rip, tear, or zipper failure. About the only “weakness” are the wheels. But that’s not Travelpro’s fault. I drag my bag through parking lots, rough sidewalks, curbs, and long walks through the terminals on a daily basis. About every two years, I replace the stock wheels with high-end rollerblade style wheels. Replacement wheels are available on Amazon (approx $20) and “how to” available on YouTube. In 5 minutes, your bag is as good, if not better, than new.
    I recently returned to international flying, so I purchased a new Flight Crew 24” expandable. Just finished a 11 day Asia trip. The bag was the perfect size and worked as advertised. 5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great bag

  • By KD from Stuart FL USA on Wednesday, August 22, 2018
  • Pros: Just the ?right? size for smaller checked luggage
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: I was looking for a bag a bit larger than my carryon but smaller than the larger bag I have. This is perfect and easy to wheel around. Just what I had in mind.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding suitcase

  • By Fox from Ocala FL USA on Thursday, April 14, 2022
  • Review: I have use this suitcase on mini trips from one end of the country to the other. I found it it is the smoothest highest quality suitcase I’ve ever owned I think it will last many many years. It even got lost at the airport twice this year. The only thing I have not tried to do is put it in the overhead compartments on a 737. If someone has done that I would love to know. I always check this bag because I hate rolling a bag to the airport and having to keep track of it. But that may have to change with all the cancellations of flights and being rerouted and having to stay extra nights at a destination they were not planned for. On one trip I put two weeks of clothing and it had no problem carrying it. If you want a strong suitcase I would definitely purchase this one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Suitase

  • By A Customer from Nashville TN USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2022
  • Pros: Good size. Good quality, Handles on top and side. Pullout ID card. Pull up handle works well. Inside web pockets.
  • Cons: I don't know any cons.
  • Review: Best suitcase ever. Pockets galore and just where they are needed. I chose it because it is not a spinner (they don't work well on cobblestones and rough pavement). This suitcase is not too big but holds everything; I couldn't pick up a larger one. The expandable feature is also useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, November 01, 2018
  • Review: Very well made; worth the little extra weight over the consumer model. Sturdy handle, solid frame, zippers are strong, tough material. I like a rollaboard more than a spinner: spinners run away on an incline; you can much faster with a rollaboard when you're rush in a crowded airport.
    Comes with the hook for a backpack/carryon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Karen from Greensboro GA USA on Tuesday, April 05, 2022
  • Review: Very nice suitcase.   It seems more durable than our other suitcases.   Twenty-four inches is an uncommon size, but very useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Nathan from O Fallon MO USA on Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Review: Seems very well built.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lightweight, basic bag that looks well made

  • By on Monday, August 16, 2021
  • Pros: Lightweight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Time will tell if this is the very durable bag it is presented to be.

    The nylon material looks tops; it has big, easy-to-use zippers on every compartment. And quality, larger sized, smooth wheels.

    The most striking aspect of this 24" is how lightweight it is for a heavy duty bag.

    The size- 24x16x10" (50 linear inches) is larger than a "max" carry-on but not so bulky that items will shift around inside when it is heaved to and fro by baggage handlers. Little risk it will be subject to extra bag charges, even if expanded 2".

    Knowing this is a checked bag, and most of the "action" is on the inside, the bag would benefit from a second interior pocket and to orient the shoe sleeves to one side so packing the compartment is congruent.

    Smaller versions of this bag have a large zippered pocket for a laptop; it would be good to have this protected pocket on this version- it is useful not only for laptops but also for a compressed laundry bag, beach clothes, etc. My preference would be to have that in place of the 2" expansion.

    If the bag has been subjected to the lengthy durability tests (dropping, freezing, zipping cycles), just make the 3 year warranted "full" not "limited."

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jay from Miami Springs FL USA on Tuesday, December 29, 2020
  • Review: Great suitcase !!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Hugh Lucas from Jersey City NJ USA on Friday, September 20, 2019
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good choice

  • By A Customer from San Francisco CA USA on Tuesday, November 22, 2016
  • Pros: Lightweight and sturdy, easy to maneuver, large wheels
  • Cons: Cannot lock back pocket and front top pocket
  • Review: I have been using the 22" version for a couple of years. Needed something bigger to accommodate packing needs for longer trips and winter time trips (to fit knee high boots and heavier sweaterss). Thought it would be a bigger version of the 22", but there are a few differences. Cannot lock two of the three external pockets. Back pocket does not expand. Quality is up to the same Travelpro standards I have found in past purchases over a span of 20 years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 26 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Disappointed

  • By A Customer from Estero FL USA on Thursday, January 17, 2019
  • Pros: Well made and holds a lot
  • Cons: The weight and handle length.
  • Review: I bought this for a 3 week trip to Europe. It has good storage and I was able to fit what I needed, especially using packing cubes. While well made, the suitcase is heavier than I thought it would be—although only about 3 pounds more, it made a difference. The handle is too short and my new carryon, which is longer but fits under the seat, did not work. Attached by the hook, the wheels touched the ground. Placed over the handle, I didn’t have enough handle to comfortably hold on and drag it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not as Durable...

  • By Hema Vishnuraman from Powell OH USA on Wednesday, April 13, 2022
  • Pros: Ease of rolling and good storage.
  • Cons: Quality not so good. More durable zipper handlers.
  • Review: We bought the suitcase and travelled with it to Europe. The zipper handler just broke off from the front pocket on my first journey with this suitcase. Shocking!!
    When I called TravelPro for replacement for the zipper handler, they said I have to send the suitcase on my own expense to fix this. Finally got it fixed at a local store for $30 :-( with no reimbursement

    Needs to be more durable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.