TOP

Reviews for Yaesu FTA-550L NAV-COM Aviation Transceiver

Sort By:
Filter By:

Yaesu Pro-X

  • By from Lincoln, Nebraska on Friday, May 13, 2016
  • Pros: Good radio, comes with all of the adapters and charging equipment you need.
  • Cons: People who don't read the instruction book.
  • Review: Many have suggested the back light duration is too short. A quick look at the instruction book reveals it is adjustable through the settings mode.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 26 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great portable

  • By A Customer from Prescott AZ USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: good size, seems durable, easy to read and navigate functions, good comm quality
  • Cons: can't think of any
  • Review: Very easy to use, clear communications. I had it connected to aircraft external antenna and the com received and transmitted wonderfully. Have not tried nav functions yet. Battery charged quickly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 20 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By A.N. from Beaver Dams NY USA on Thursday, August 11, 2016
  • Pros: Very well built!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The programming of the radio was simple, and a great feature. I like that you can program edit and save all of your data on your laptop. The radio functions as it should and is very clear and easy to use in flight. A huge plus is that it comes with all the very nessary assecories in one package!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Leesburg FL USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Light weight., maybe I'll learn!
  • Cons: Back light short time, still learning
  • Review: Slow to learn.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, terrible manual.

  • By Clark from Moorpark CA USA on Thursday, March 22, 2018
  • Pros: Seems to be a good radio
  • Cons: Complex menu system and poor manual descriptions make some features hard to use.
  • Review: A good Radio that does almost anything you might desire.
    Manual is tough to understand. Simple function controls are buried beneath multiple menu layers making them hard to find. Manual doesn't help in some cases. I had to go to YouTube channel where someone posted a How To for some functions. That helped for some. Lots of trial and error for other functions.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.

EASY TO USE

  • By ARCHER 181 from SAN DIEGO, CA. on Thursday, January 22, 2015
  • Pros: LIGHT WEIGHT AND LONG LIFE BATTERY
  • Cons: BACKGROUND LIGHT GOES OUT TOO SOON
  • Review: EASY TO OPERATE BUT NEED TO KNOW HOW TO DELETE UNWANTED FREQUENCIES. HELP.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This transceiver is an all around good aviation radio. I made a good purchase.

  • By RAUL from Sugar Land TX USA on Monday, January 07, 2019
  • Pros: Battery life is substantial. Adapted well to my headset.
  • Cons: No cons.
  • Review: It has a large display for reading all frequencies. Does not feel cheap and easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice product

  • By Martin (Cessna 182) from Montevideo, URY on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use, good battery, nice accesories.
  • Cons: Changing between MEM and COM is not so easy.
  • Review: It's a good handheld. I had a sportys VHF and definitely this is much better.
    I recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Like it

  • By Stephan from Minocqua WI USA on Monday, October 13, 2014
  • Pros: Overall good, battery lasts a long time
  • Cons: Did not figure out yet how to delite a single frequency
  • Review: The book is a little complicate for an old guy to understand.
    Had to install an external antenna for good range
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality Radio

  • By Jonny from Richmond Hts OH USA on Wednesday, May 20, 2015
  • Pros: good quality, large screen
  • Cons: no case, background light is off too soon, price
  • Review: This is a great quality radio and it will pick up a signal very well. It is a little expensive but when you open the box you notice the great quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ok but reception sensitivity does not rival icom

  • By sean from Lake Havasu City AZ USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Pros: Came with all accesories, appeara to be high quality
  • Cons: Not happy with sound quality
  • Review: Sound quality on weaker signals does not rival an Icom handheld.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Radio

  • By A Customer from Chesterfield, VA on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use as a basic radio.
  • Cons: Would like to plug in headset without separate external dongle.
  • Review: It's a good size and nice to use on the tarmac before start-up. I would like it if the Headphone Jack was built in and didn't require a separate adapter/dongle to be screwed into the side. This might make it awkward in a real radio emergency when you need to talk to someone quickly. It is my first handheld so I don't have anything to compare it to. I have not and will not likely use many of the other advanced features.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, November 20, 2020
  • Review: I think the basic radio works fine and it has a lot of nice features. There are two major gripes that I have with it. The first is that it takes a rather klutzy adapter to work with headphones; it would be much better if you could just plug them into the radio, or if the adapter just plugged in (instead of requiring screws.) The second complaint is how it works with my Lightspeed Zulu 3 headset. There is a godawful feedback squeal when I transmit, which is sometimes solved by moving the transceiver far enough away from the headset. I've not gotten customer support from either company with the issue. I think I solved the problem by turning off the sidetone on the radio, but that's annoying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.