TOP

RAM Yoke Mount Clamp Base

  • 12 Customer Reviews

Reviews for RAM Yoke Mount Clamp Base

Sort By:
Filter By:

Will not fit on a Piper Cherokee yoke...too small

  • By Terry from Ft Myers, FL on Thursday, December 21, 2017
  • Review: If your flying a PA 28 Piper Cherokee get the next bigger mount clamp. It looks like the diameter of the Cherokee yoke is 1.47 inches and this clamp only expands to 1.25 inches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Floyd from Millsap TX USA on Sunday, February 22, 2015
  • Pros: It and the Mini are perfect, no instrument blockage
  • Cons:
  • Review: I had no problem with the mount slipping on yoke shaft as told by others. (Have a 172) I think it fits perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Rawil from HUNTINGTON BEACH CA USA on Sunday, August 18, 2013
  • Pros: It is as advertised.
  • Cons: It takes 3 pieces to mount the Ipad Mini
  • Review: It fits well on a Mooney yoke, could not have expected a better fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid / Versatile Product

  • By Robert from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, February 22, 2018
  • Pros: Positive lock on any yoke shaft, double-quick set-up and take-down
  • Cons: Tightening knob is a bit small, and is slightly challenging to torque if you have large hands.
  • Review: This yoke mount is a perfect, functional solution for anyone who flies several different A/C. Regardless of yoke shaft diameter, this clamp holds-fast and keeps your Tablet in locked in position through all phases of flight and turbulence.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joseph from Cayce SC USA on Thursday, October 22, 2020
  • Review: I like it very much.  Fits my needs perfectly by allowing me to see the mini ipad clearly and all instruments clearly.  One of the best purchase I've made for my plane, a Piper Cherokee 140 made in 1971.  Thanks people.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is a well made product I have used ram products before, the're great

  • By Vincent from Stratford CT USA on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
  • Pros: rigid construction,good clamping power
  • Cons: none
  • Review: compact,durable,versatile
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good....as expected

  • By JR from Offutt AFB NE USA on Friday, October 10, 2014
  • Pros: As advertised.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Solid construction. Easy to use, install.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well made, but not perfect

  • By Gene from Mount Holly NJ USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
  • Pros: Well made, Durable, Affordable
  • Cons: Needs rubber pad or coating on the clamping mechanism. The shape clamp may be too narrow for other than the one 72 yoke column.
  • Review: It may not be fair for me to rate this product yet as I have not installed on the yoke but I can offer my initial insight. My first thought was that the vise part of the mechanism which is a V-shape appear to be modeled after the 172 yoke which has a very thin yoke column. The V-shape clamp is very narrow, and I am concerned that it will not attach to my aircraft control firmly. Further, I think it would be advisable to apply a rubber coating or pad to the inside of this V-shaped clamps to obtain a better holding force and to mitigate any possible slipping in a rotational fashion. Otherwise the clamp is well-made, durable and is appropriately priced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Lawrence from Gig Harbor WA USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better for bigger planes?

  • By A Customer from Simi Valley CA USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: RAM Mounts make sturdy stuff.
  • Cons: Better if you can see it in use before you buy
  • Review: Bought this for use on a C-150 for my iPad Mini; not a good idea. It was too bulky for such tight quarters and added too much weight to the yoke. Better option was the suction mount I also bought mounted on the passage window.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Broke immediately

  • By scott from San Jose CA USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros: RAM makes rock solid products in general
  • Cons: Plastic clamps break. End of story.
  • Review: Normally I would rate any ram product at 5*, and I *love* my RAM mount in general. This particular mount, however, broke almost immediately on use. It is designed to clamp to the yoke from behind. I found it slipping until I tightened it quite a bit, and then it broke on the plastic part of the clamp. I got another one, and it broke immediately.

    Ram makes other types of clamps, I'll be exploring those.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.