TOP

Reviews for Logitech Saitek Pro Flight Radio Panel

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

the best item yet!

  • By LBray from collaroy NSW Australia on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
  • Review: It is the most fantastic item. As a pilot this device can allow me to put in ILS frequencies, DME, COM 1, COM2, etc.  I highly recommend this product for any type of pilot or to any person for personal fun!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Is priority no. 1 in panel purchases

  • By robb13 from Australia on Tuesday, October 14, 2014
  • Pros: Allows for good interraction between user and the FS
  • Cons: The mode button should have been back lit.. hard to see the setting in low light.
  • Review: After you buy one, you will want to buy the other saitek panels but think about getting another radio panel too. I did so as I can have COM1, NAV1, DME Nm & Knots and ADF displayed simultaneously. Makes it all much easier than clicking knobs all the time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great addition

  • By dean from Lansing KS USA on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
  • Review: Installs easily and works great, lets you change radios without mouse. Cons, some frequencies are between detents ons knobs, but minor annoyance at best.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love this product

  • By Mark from Rochester MA USA on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
  • Review: This product works great with X-plane. The console needs to be lit a little more. But would purchase this again
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By erv from Clarkson KY USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Pros: Does what I expected them to do, outstanding.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Really addes to the flight experince. I have approx 40 flight hours on these products and would not fly without them. Followed the installation instructions with no problem, very easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Another Step closer to the real thing.

  • By Bob Ski from Philadelphia PA USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Pros: Very close to the real thing. Setup was a snap.
  • Cons: The mode selecting dial, on the left, is very tight and hard to turn. I got a blister from it.
  • Review: The Saitek Pro Flight Multi Panel brings you another step closer to sitting in the pilots seat of a real aircraft. Now I dont have to reach for the mouse and try to get it on the button or dial I want to use. I just reach out and turn a real dial or push a real button or flip a real switch. It gives me a feeling of full control over what Im doing. You see the changes you make with Multi Panel on the screen as you are doing them. I have come to expect Top Quality from Saitek products and the Multi Panel is no exception
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good

  • By carlos from miami FL USA on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
  • Pros: workd
  • Cons: big
  • Review: great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Radio and Multi panel fix

  • By A Customer on Saturday, March 26, 2016
  • Pros: Fixes Radio Frequency Issues
  • Cons: None
  • Review: There's a mod by www.motivemods.com which replaces the OEM encoders eliminating the skipping of frequencies completely on the radio and multi panel.

    Here's a review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1StSpRnhHOY

    The product can be found here: http://www.motivemods.com/Flight-Sim-s/888.htm
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By NAVARRO from Pensacola FL USA on Monday, April 22, 2019
  • Pros: Works Great
  • Cons: No cons
  • Review: The best
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A different must on your stack.

  • By Bruce paz from Eureka CA USA on Thursday, October 08, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Awesome gear a must need to learn VOF navigation, still learning but thats whats all about.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Brian from Nashua NH USA on Monday, March 14, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I really enjoy it very much...works great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Lake Charles LA USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: made very well.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This product is made of high quality material. It works well and I am enjoying using it. I plan to buy more panels to complete my set up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saitek just keeps making it more realistic

  • By Michael from Winter Springs FL USA on Wednesday, November 04, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to install, plugged in and worked right out of the box
  • Cons: Alittle expensive for what you get.
  • Review: It does what it says it will do. Makes tuning in Nav and Com freq. so much fast and easier. Just wish the LED readouts were smaller, thus adding a second Com and Nav display. Very pleased with all their products.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

saitek radio

  • By thomas from rocky mount VA USA on Monday, April 18, 2011
  • Pros: easy to use precise and well built
  • Cons: drivers had to be downloaded from spad
  • Review: After downloading spad drivers (which are free) the saitek radio worked great. I use it in my 737 sim and it brings it to a new level of reality.I have seen other reviews that said the buttons were hard to turn and knobs were touchy....but I found all that untrue. I feel the product is great for a reasonable price. I promise you will enjoy if you purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Adds great immersion

  • By Benjamin from Springfield Missouri USA on Tuesday, October 27, 2009
  • Pros: Add good immenrsion and makes Vatsim so much better!
  • Cons: Dial sensitivity
  • Review: Anything that gets your focus from the screen to an actual tactile element on the desktop is great. I now have all three saitek panels and the immersion is so much better. I like the fact that the radio panel does several functions - radio, nav, ADF, transponder etc. I don't have any real issues. The one thing I would note is that the dial is very sensitive and will skip numbers you are trying to land on. I have dealt with this type of dial before - I just "rock it" back and forth and the number will come up correct. My YouTube video "Components of the system" is shown below.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy radio switching

  • By Scott from Renton WA U SA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: takes over using radio's onscreen / mouse wheel scrolling
  • Cons: Observation Not a CON: If your using xplane some custom aircraft might require tweaks for radio frequency changes - but once addressed no problems
  • Review: Used this with X-Plane - just a heads up to anyone else who uses windows 8 you may encounter an issue with USB3 ports that causes this display to be blank text... there is a software bug 'caused by MS' .. to fix you simply find the USB deviceID and and shut off the advanced power management in the registry...

    Link to the thread I found to fix...
    http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=71325&page=3

    If radio frequencies act up when setting 'skipping a tenth when switching active standby frequencies...

    http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=82236&p=876418
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Concept.... But...

  • By Steven from Tampa FL USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2009
  • Pros: Price and Functionality
  • Cons: Inacurate Control
  • Review: The combination of a radio stack and an affordable price has been something for which I have been waiting a long time. Thank you to Saitek for answering the call! However... operationally, the tuning control detents are not accurate and changing frequencies is often difficult; very annoying. I would still recommend this product even with this design flaw.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saitek radio Panel

  • By Mark from tampa FL USA on Friday, September 04, 2009
  • Review: In general I really like this product. It was easy to install and it works great. A couple key observations; The unit is a bit bigger than I though it was going to but thats OK is not a Major deal. It acts differently depending on plane your flying . i.e. if your flying an older AC that dosent have a stand by option for Coms and or Nav. Then the second set of numbers light up but dont do anything. Also you need to have your NAV powered up. This may seem like a no brainer and it kinda is but the panel is lit up and so it may deceive you for a second into thinking your Nav power is on. This is all minor stuff, There is one troubling design flaw which is the rotary knobs click as you rotate them, Similar to your car radio. and you would think that 1 click would change your radio 1 increment. This is not the way it works with this unit. Sometimes the station you need to select is between clicks an is very hard to select and some times it will slip to a different freq. If they could fix that issue I would give this product a 5 out of 5. However even knowing about this flaw I would still purchase it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellant Training Tool

  • By Ronald from Bremerton WA USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2009
  • Pros: see review
  • Cons: see review
  • Review: Frequency dials whould have been better if they were "clickers". The smooth dial is touchy and to sensitive when setting frequency numbers and you have fine tune it. Still a good traing tool. Hope the number lights last a long time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It makes working the radios a lot easier!

  • By John from Eau Claire WI USA on Saturday, August 25, 2012
  • Pros: Feels like the real thing
  • Cons: Too sensitive (can miss frequency, taking attention away from the IFR 'scan')
  • Review: Very solid product - built well. I appreciate the mounting hardware that comes with it. It works very similar to the Bendix/King radios found in many single-engine trainers. Minor issue - sensitivity is very high with dials. If you're a spinner (like me), you'll easily blow through the desired frequency. This is solved by slowing down when turning, but takes away from the instrument scan when I'm simulating IFR/IMC scenarios.

    Overall, this is a great product, bringing the simulation one step closer to the real thing. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to use the computer to save some flight time to gain proficiency.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

pretty cool

  • By scott from hayesville NC USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: I did learn how to track VOR's and towers
  • Cons: Sometimes the left and right side don't work correctly
  • Review: I think it does what it's supposed to do with just a few glitches. I wish it came with better instructions
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Monty from Olton TX USA on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
  • Pros: nice looking and functional, better than instuments on a screen
  • Cons: knobs could be stronger
  • Review: Good product, had one out of 7 that didnt work and broke a knob off of one of them. Even so quality was better than I expected. Ads say you can get 12 instument designs I only found 6 and would like to have vor head and an HSI if there is a way someone let me know how.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saves a lot of tedious mouse work

  • By Richard from Jackson GA USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Pros: faster set up and changes
  • Cons: would have to be reset for accurate freq changes. would skip 2 no.s
  • Review: Works very well for what I wanted it for
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

When the eyes don't have it!

  • By Ted from Woodbridge VA USA on Thursday, September 03, 2009
  • Pros: If you have the full stack of Saitek add-ons,the internal hub of the yoke may not have enough power to drive all of the devices.
  • Cons: Easy to use
  • Review: Easy installation and use. If you are like me, the radio comms on the computer screen can be hard to read, and using the mouse or keyboard take extra time. With the radio panel the displayis large and well lit. Tuning the knobs is a breeze! It's a key part of my Saitek stack.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bigger than necessary but it works

  • By Nick from Kenmore WA USA on Monday, August 31, 2009
  • Pros: Works, shallow depth for mounting as you like, bright LED readouts, stores several nav & comm. Freq.
  • Cons: Bigger than necessary, Radio knobs are not realistic & the potentiometers are of poor quality making it difficult to change frequencies quickly, Radio/ Nav/ xpndr switch is very stiff, transponder freq displays on NAV/ COM readout. Would appreciate a separate transponder display.
  • Review: Works with FS2004. Saitek give the impression on their website that its primarily for FSX, however they include the required plug in on the install CD. Install was quick & easy. Bottom line, the unit works as advertised, perhaps even a bit better. Will make your sim experience MUCH more realistic so you can focus on the flight rather than pausing the sim to try to find the key to press.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks great, works OK

  • By Jim from Austin TX USA on Tuesday, November 17, 2009
  • Pros: Much easier to adjust and read than trying to mouse about on the screen.
  • Cons: No backlight of switch label's - This is a bad design oversight with all 3 of the Saitek switch clusters.
  • Review: I really like the large readable numbers. The switches are smallish but tend to work well. The integration to FSX is pretty solid as long as the machine does not go to sleep in between flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Unit, but has a few minor issues

  • By Firefox from Houston, TX on Friday, December 11, 2009
  • Pros: Active/Standy is nice, quick tuning, multiple functions via selector knob
  • Cons: Tuning can be sensitive, Selector Knobs can be hard to turn
  • Review: Works exactly as expected in FS 9. The unit DOES have two issues that need to be addressed: 1) The tuning knobs can sometimes be very sensitive causing you to be off by one full digit. 2) The selector (Gorilla) knobs on the left can be very hard to turn. If you are technically inclined, a fix can be found at: http://www.pegasuswoodcraft.com/fs/articles/Saitek_Radio_Panel_Fix.htm
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

It's fine, could be better.

  • By A Customer from New England on Wednesday, March 07, 2018
  • Pros: Solid piece of hardware.
  • Cons: Software functionality is poor.
  • Review: I've owned this product for more than a year. It seems sturdy and does what I need it to do. I think it's a good value. That said, there are issues that keep it from being a five-star product, all related to software. First, at least on the Mac, it too often is not recognized by XPlanes on startup necessitating a restart of the application. This is a big hassle. Second, managing the pulse rate of the the rotating switches is difficult and, in my setup, does not persist (so I have to reset the pulse rate each time I use it... or live with the default which is very clumsy). My guess is that these problems track back to the freeware drivers Xsaitekpanels 2.71, not sure. Resolving these problems would take my rating to 4.5 stars.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Great tool with some issues

  • By Adam from Montana on Saturday, April 30, 2016
  • Pros: Good support from MadCats and adds reality to sim
  • Cons: Cheep hardware in construction
  • Review: I got this for Flight Simulator 2004 on a windows seven PC. I am using the SPAD v0.5 drivers. There are some issues that people have listed on other reviews that I would like to talk about.
    1)The radio selector knobs are a little stiff but I like that, it makes it harder to skip the radio I want.
    2) The frequency selection knobs are really cheap and it dose skip digits. However with the SPAD drivers and turning the knobs slowly that doesn't happen as much. I might end up doing something about it later but for now it is not much of a problem.
    I had problems getting the drivers to run on my computer. Turns out you need to "run as administrator " for things to work. I recommend SPAD because the Saitek drivers seemed harder to get to work with Flight Simulator 2004 because it is old.
    99% of the functions worked on my add on aircraft. I have several from different companies like Coranado, Aerosoft and Abacus to name a few. The only issue was the Aerosoft Piper Cheyenne, I could not set the transponder, everything else worked.
    I am using this to practice for my real world IFR flights.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saitek Pro Flight Radio Panel

  • By A Customer from ALABAMA USA on Friday, September 25, 2009
  • Pros: realistic
  • Cons: selector knobs hard to turn when panel is not mounted to a surface
  • Review: Overall I'm satisfied with the radio panel. I like the realistic ease of switching between active & standby and tuning to actual channels. The panel is bigger than I expected and the digital numbers are big enough to see from way across the room, which is fine. The only thing I don't like about it is the selector switches are too hard to turn. I don't have the panel bolted to a stationary surface so the switches require both hands, so I have to pause the Flight Sim program to change the selector knob...not ideal for my use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't buy if you are going to use in on FS2004

  • By Glen from Chattanooga. TN on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
  • Pros: Can't say til I get it working
  • Cons: Major problem getting it to work on FS 2004.
  • Review: Only good thing I can say is that it came on time, good quality workmanship but haven't been able to get it to work on FS 2004. I have done exactly what they said to do and it still won't work. I contacted tech help and it took over 3 weeks to get an answer and it doesn't work either. I guess I am going to have to purchase FS 10
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Needed for Serious Multiplayer

  • By Jettech from Rosemount, MN on Sunday, August 23, 2009
  • Pros: Ease of use, functionality, display, set up
  • Cons: Tuning knobs could have been much better, <-> button could have been better placed. Out side of Multiplayer FSX its only use would be for Nav freq's. Little to no use in free flight or missions.
  • Review: The radio panel is not what I expected, although very much worth the money I paid. As an avid multiplayer, I enjoy the multi functionality of the panel. It allows setting of all the various radio frequencies, from com 1 to transponder. The panel gets very high marks for usability but looses points for realism. It also scores highly for ease of installation, this is in every way a plug and play panel, there is no need to program anything. Like the switch panel, I have had some minor problems with mounting it to my personal liking. Although it is ready to mount directly to the yoke or on top of the switch panel I prefer not to have anything in my view, so mounting has been a challenge at times. The panel gets very high marks for displays but looses marks for layout of the panel. On the real thing the act/stby <-> button in between the two freqs, this one sits to the far right on the panel. It also looses points for the tuning knobs. As a student I am used to having knobs that will not over shoot my desired freq, this panel seems to give a bit of difficulty when tuning. Despite its short falls, I still find it highly useful and intend on buying at least one more, possibly two. I would still recomend this panel to anyone who is a serious multiplayer
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not happy. Kind of works if you use 3rd party drivers

  • By Mosart from Parkland, FL on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Looks good.
  • Cons: Native drivers skips two numbers for every knob "click". Unusable.
  • Review: Native drivers skips two numbers for every knob "click". This is quite an issue when you have to concentrate on other aspects of flying, and can't quite set the desired frequency. SPAD fixes this issue, but does not work well with Prepar3d under Windows 8.1

    Manufacturer help was next to useless. Very responsive with generic replies. They won't even read your messages, just copy and paste something out of a list of standard replies and send it it you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.