TOP

Jiffyhood

  • 29 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Jiffyhood

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect hood for me

  • By LeRoy from Laurel MD USA on Wednesday, December 30, 2009
  • Pros: Perfect for progressive lens wearers/ No extra weight on nose
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I wear progressive glasses. I really wanted to get foggles, but it dawned on me that the foggles will obstruct the top portion of my progressive lenses. That simply means that with foggles, I would be looking out of the bottom of my lenses all the time which means I would be looking at the instruments with the reading portion of my lens. I always look at the instruments from the top part of my lens. So foggles were out. My instructor has this very same hood, but the elastic in the band has worn out and it's uncomfortable. The elastic on the new hood is perfect and should work fine for years to come, because it won't get used by others. I also like this hood because I can push it up at DA/MDA and even land/taxi with the hood up. And there are no plastic hinges to break!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jiffyhood over foggle anytime

  • By sai from Fort Smith, AR on Tuesday, June 09, 2015
  • Pros: comfortable visually scanning inside cockpit like in real life.
  • Cons: head band too tight around the head
  • Review: I chose the jiffy hood over Foggles due to I am wearing prescription glasses. Actually, I could discipline myself not to look out side flying instrument but it is required to wear restriction during the checkride and making sure you are not cheating yourself in training, so this is next best thing I would recommended to others that is getting into IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It Works

  • By Norman from Gardnerville NV USA on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
  • Pros: Cheap, funcitonal, comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is the only hood I have found to work over my "cheaters" that I use to clearly see the panel. Other things like foggles do not properly fit over my granny glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ruben from Chula Vista CA on Friday, August 26, 2011
  • Review: I think its better than the foggles, but neither are one size fits all, this one I think it just fits most. I prefer the elastic band over my forehead than glasses pressing on the sides since it causes me headaches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great hood!

  • By Paul from Southlake TX USA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Review: I used two other hoods before this one arrived. It's comfortable and works very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for IFR

  • By Matt from Salt Lake City UT USA on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
  • Pros: good for glasses
  • Cons:
  • Review: It was great for IFR training because I wear glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best IFR hood

  • By A Customer from NM USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Pros: Very effective, inexpensive, durable
  • Cons:
  • Review: It's simple and restricts your view outside the cockpit well while still giving you good visibility of the instruments. Use with glasses and headset are not a problem. The hood can be worn with the elastic band outside the headset, so no need to remove your headset to don/doff the hood. If you need a bigger elastic band or want to replace the existing one, regular elastic and regular snaps are all you need to make a new one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

More Comfortable Than Foggles

  • By Gideon Ma from Portland OR USA on Sunday, August 19, 2018
  • Review: I was about to start my IFR training and needed a good view limiting device. I considered foggles but they were not comfortable for me as I also have to wear glasses. Also considering that I need almost 40 hours of instrument time, getting something comfortable was obvious. I decided that a hood was the best solution for me. Its comfortable and doesn't grip my head too much during the hours of IFR training. If I need to go visual, I just push the hood up and I can see as normal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great buy!

  • By Adam from Duryea PA USA on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
  • Pros: Great field of vision on the panel, no tilting your head to an painful angle.
  • Cons: A little tight to fit over the older Lightspeed, square top headsets.
  • Review: Great hood for the money, bought it because I wear glasses and it's no problem. Comfortable too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent!!!

  • By A Customer from Nogales, AZ on Friday, November 30, 2018
  • Review: Help me fully when do a instrument rating, strong material, all great!! Very worthy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this again

  • By Everett from Carterville IL USA on Tuesday, January 31, 2017
  • Pros: Can ware this over glasses and under head set
  • Cons:
  • Review: It met all my expectations.
    Lightweight.
    Easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tuan from Memphis TN USA on Thursday, February 18, 2021
  • Review: The hood is really good. 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Sunday, May 29, 2022
  • Review: Does exactly what it needs to do. Fits well under the headset and around glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

itss a bang up whiz

  • By John from Visalia CA USA on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
  • Pros: can't wait to use it
  • Cons: don't want to use it
  • Review: Looks great sitting in the back seat of my car
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good product

  • By Bryan from Turlock CA USA on Thursday, June 28, 2012
  • Pros: works well with my eye glass's
  • Cons: none that I have found
  • Review: Rugged
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jiffyhood just what I needed

  • By Robert from Monrovia CA USA on Monday, March 30, 2009
  • Pros: inexpensive, fits over headset and sunglasses
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Simple, inexpensive, works as expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Most comfortable hood I have ever used

  • By Wesley from Leesport PA USA on Monday, November 05, 2007
  • Review: I have been using a hood for instrument training for years. The old one actually broke and I replaced it with this one. It is unbelieveablely comfortable and make using it a real pleasure and as a bonus it goes on easy and comes off easy. This is a great improvement on an old idea.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works

  • By Robert from Statesville NC USA on Wednesday, April 07, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable and effective
  • Cons:
  • Review: I've used foggles and I like the hood better. It definitely blocks outside reference if worn properly. Also, I found if you wear it under your headset, it works best. All you have to do is raise it up on your forehead when DA hits and it's not cumbersome for landing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jason from Texarkana TX USA on Monday, September 15, 2008
  • Pros: Can wear with corrective lenses or sunglasses and is comfortable
  • Cons: Take up more room in flight bag than foggles
  • Review: This product met my expectations. The Jiffyhood is good for pilots who need to wear glasses for corrective vision or sunglasses. The Jiffyhood is light weight and easy to take on and off in the cockpit and it limits the pilots view more than foggles. The Jiffyhood is also more comfortable than foggles when wearing a headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Travis from Placerville, CA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Review: It's definitely useful. I wear glasses so this allows me to put it on without taking off my glasses. The only con I have about it is that the sides near my temples push in a little bit, but that could be because I have a larger head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Serves it's purpose for someone who has to wear glasses.

  • By A Customer from Dunnellon FL USA on Monday, October 17, 2011
  • Review: Works well even though it is easy to cheat and look outside if you so desire. The only real negative I have with the product is that it is a little unconfortable where it attaches to the temples of your head. However, I put a small piece of duct tape on each side of the unit on the inside to create a cushion and it solved the problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

It does the job!

  • By Dale from Kansas City, MO on Wednesday, April 25, 2007
  • Review: The unit performs the same function as the "foggles" however one big plus for me is the fact that it blocks out the sun and as a result its much easier to see the instruments when flying into the sun.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

GOOFY BUT GREAT

  • By OSCAR / COMMANDER 114 from Duncan OK USA on Tuesday, January 01, 2008
  • Pros: GOOD FIT AND FINISH, LIGHT WEIGHT, GOOD LIMITATION OF VIEW
  • Cons: VIEW LIMITATION COULD BE A LITTLE BETTER
  • Review: EXCELENT FIT AND GOOD LIMITATION OF VIEW. MATERIAL AND WORKMANSHIP IS EXCELLENT. BY FAR THE BEST SOLUTION FOR THE PILOT WHO WEARS GLASSES. I HAVE TRIED MANY OTHER PRODUCTS AND HAVE BEEN REPEATEDLY DISAPPOINTED. THIS ONE DID NOT DISAPPOINT.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Bill from Grass Valley CA USA on Monday, July 18, 2011
  • Pros: Long enough out front and comfortable under the hood
  • Cons: Sides do not come down enough to prevent outside references
  • Review: The hood is plenty long, comfortable, and works well under the headset. Unfortunately I doubt there is a product to cut all outside references. I fight cheating because the sides of the hood do not come down quite far enough to prohibit seeing out the window. I'd buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Steven D. from Milan MI USA on Monday, February 02, 2009
  • Pros: Adjustable fit, good price, stability while in use, reasonable cost
  • Cons: Larger to store than some other designs
  • Review: Not pretty but works great. Fits over your cap and headset. Comfortable, stable, and good at allowing you to see what you need while restricting your vision outside.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Billy from lincoln AL USA on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
  • Review: Good for what its used for.. a hood what can one say
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

NEED A LITTLE BIT MORE PANEL CONCEALMENT

  • By RONALD DOMEK from APPLE VALLEY CA USA on Thursday, April 22, 2010
  • Pros: LIGHTWEIGHT
  • Cons: NEED MORE PANEL CONCEALMENT
  • Review: THE BILL NEEDS TO BE A LITTLE BIT LONGER TO AVOID ANY PEEKING EVEN IF YOU DONT WANT TO. IT COULD ALSO BE DOWN ON THE SIDES A LITTLE MORE. OTHERWISE, THE CONCEPT IS THERE. WHEN INSTRUMENT TRAINING, YOU CERTAINLY DONT WANT TO UNAVOIDABLE "SEE OUTSIDE".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

  • By Bill V. on Thursday, April 02, 2009
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: Very Clumsy, strap binds
  • Review: Felt like my dog coming out of the vet. with a cone on his head. Difficult to put on while flying. Wish I had of done more homework.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't Buy

  • By John from Powell OH USA on Tuesday, November 22, 2016
  • Pros: View limiting visor would do a good job if you could stand the pain to wear it.
  • Cons: Head strap way to tight
  • Review: The elastic head strap is entirely too short thus making view limiting visor unwearable because it is too tight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.