TOP

ASA Holding Pattern Computer

  • 28 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Holding Pattern Computer

Sort By:
Filter By:

  • By Bob from Burlington, NC on Tuesday, August 14, 2007
  • Pros: Best pattern tool I've seen!
  • Cons: Sometimes difficult to set.
  • Review: I had not flown in 17 years when I started my instrument rating. While under the hood, I just could not visualize the holding pattern entries so as a last resort I ordered the ASA Holding Pattern Computer. This product was everything I was looking for. The only thing I did not like was the difficulty setting the two dials correctly while under the hood. Other than that I highly recommend it to the holding pattern challenged. Now it is a breeze to visualize the entries. Thanks ASA and MY Pilot Store.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Tavares FL USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Review: A very handy tool.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

best holding pattern learning aid

  • By A Customer from CA USA on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Pros: simple, clear, concise
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have come across a lot of techniques to learn holding pattern entries. Some of them confusing, convoluted, or clumsy. Tried a couple variations of the finger method and at least a couple of other calculators. I finally settled on the 3-step method which is by far the simplest, and closely resembles how this calculator visualizes the holding pattern entry. Compared to other calculators this one is relatively decluttered and speaks to its simplicity. Note: I consider any of these calculators learning tools only - in the cockpit this stuff needs to be ingrained into muscle memory; no fumbling with these devices.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Colorado Springs CO USA on Thursday, July 28, 2016
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By William from Topeka KS USA on Monday, February 18, 2008
  • Review: Every IFR student must have one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Juergen from Bottrop . Germany on Wednesday, March 17, 2010
  • Review: A perfect tool, I love it!! Jrgen Exner, Germany
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Westminster CO USA on Wednesday, October 28, 2009
  • Review: It works as described.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great tool for the student struggling with holds.

  • By Brian from California on Tuesday, September 08, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to use and understand.
  • Cons: Holding pattern tab is tight and tends to move the compass disk during rotation, should loosen up with continued use, but double check you heading .
  • Review: This item works exactly as advertised. I was taught the "pencil method" by my instructor and this computer helped me bring the entire concept home. I have not tried using it in flight yet, however I don't expect it to be an issue.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and easy to use

  • By David from Mechanicsville VA USA on Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • Pros: simple device
  • Cons: Make sure you know how which radial to select
  • Review: Use this device as a backup in the event I get a "vapor lock" while in flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

A good product, built well and wont fail. easy to understand

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
  • Pros: Its correct every time, and dont fail. built well too
  • Cons: its a bit difficult to move the wheels at first, but you get the hang of it.
  • Review: I will give this 4 out of 5 stars because its a bit difficult to operate with one hand, you need two which can be a challenge in IFR. I read the previous reviews, and I dont see how this dont work unless people are using wrong or they updated it, because I went to my instrument ground school book, and looked up the holding entry questions, and this device calcaluted EVERY one of them correctly! its all plastic construction too, so maybe that was upgraded from cardboard. but it works, and even though you gotta get the knack of working the dials physically while in the air, its worth it. this is a must have tool for IFR. it dont fail, its right every time. for the price its a no brainer, buy one now. its easy to understand, set the heading, then rotate the red tab to the holding radial, and the red tab is residing in one of the 3 zones, parellel, teardrop, or direct. simple, and easy. no muss, no fuss.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helpful

  • By Joseph from Jasper IN USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to use.
  • Cons:
  • Review: What I expected. Help me in learning entry patterns. I carry it in the flight bag if I have any questions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good practice tool

  • By A Customer from San Juan PR USA on Tuesday, January 13, 2009
  • Pros: Clear, easy to use, good memory aid
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It's a good tool to visualize entries. It helped me commit to memory the location of the different sectors and then mentally visualize them in the cockpit. Calling it a computer is a bit misleading it's really a memory aid.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Faris from Port Orange, FL on Monday, March 30, 2009
  • Review: Nice product and is definitely handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy this product again.

  • By Roger from Fort Smith AR USA on Friday, October 30, 2009
  • Review: It met all expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Alan from Gresham OR USA on Monday, January 25, 2016
  • Review: Portable and informative.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, February 07, 2019
  • Review: Hard to rotate
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dan from Rockville MD USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Review: I bought two, one is correct, the other one has the holding pattern is the same on both sides, left and right are both on the same side, the other one is fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Grand Rapids MI on Wednesday, July 21, 2004
  • Review: A little hard to understand and use but an overall good product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't bother with this one

  • By Dave on Tuesday, November 11, 2008
  • Pros: Small
  • Cons: Not easy to use
  • Review: Nice idea but, doesn't make anything easier. Should be all plastic. Cardboard center probably won't last long. The instrument plotter is easier to use. No need to have this one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well...

  • By Georges from Denton TX USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
  • Pros: Simplifies hold calculations (if you know how to use it)
  • Cons: Cheap aspect, does not rotate easily.
  • Review: Haven't really used it,just feel more comfortable (and trustworthy) of actually drawing out my holds with a pencil and paper. Maybe that will change when I really get proficient at using it, because it is not that self-explanatory.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wouldn't bother with this one.

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Thursday, December 18, 2008
  • Pros: Small.
  • Cons: Not gonna be used.
  • Review: It's kind of cool to have any type of "computer". But this really isn't worth it. My instructor showed me an easier method for holding patterns anyway. This just made me more confused when learning.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Challenging

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, December 29, 2020
  • Review: Granted, I am just learning. I find it difficult to use; certainly can’t use it with one hand, as someone else mentioned. You pretty much need to know what you are looking for, it is not going to tell you very clearly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Challenging

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, December 30, 2020
  • Review: Granted, I am just learning. I find it difficult to use; certainly can’t use it with one hand, as someone else mentioned. You pretty much need to know what you are looking for, it is not going to tell you very clearly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Seems backward to me

  • By Bob from Mineola TX USA on Tuesday, March 16, 2010
  • Review: On both right and left turns, when AC heading is at top, holding radial at tab AC is always in the "direct" area, while pattern is on reciprocal side. But, according to FAA (based on heading and radial) that would be a parallel or close to a teardrop. What am I missing?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Incorrect Layout

  • By Jeffrey Clarke from Fort Myers, Florida on Thursday, December 23, 2010
  • Pros: Does show pattern relative to center fix
  • Cons: Entry positions in wrong place
  • Review: On both the standard and non-standard sides, the position of the parallel and teardrop entry are in the wrong place!!! Someone should report this to the manufacturer...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not what I expected

  • By Jeffrey from Fort Myers FL USA on Thursday, February 03, 2011
  • Pros: Good paperweight
  • Cons: Wrong sector depictions for entry methods on both sides!! Someone should let the manufacturure know about this discrepency.
  • Review: Sure, the concept of this device is good, but needs improving in design for useability.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Not Worth It

  • By Frederick Randall from Ormond Beach, FL on Sunday, September 20, 2009
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Cheap, confusing, Unfortunate waste of money
  • Review: Bought from another vendor, but in my search for another product my CFII recommended, here I see it. Well let me tell you this flimsy foreign holding computer made it more confusing than ever. You're better off with either the Visihold or the Jeppesen product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I Don't Like The Product

  • By Don from Warren MI USA on Tuesday, March 22, 2011
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Doesn't function properly
  • Review: It is not easy to move or swivel. That makes it very cumbersome. Maybe this one was not put together right by the manufacturer. It won't be used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.