TOP

Reviews for Cessna 172 M Checklist by CheckMate

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great for flow

  • By Rich from Philadelphia PA on Monday, August 12, 2013
  • Pros: concise, at-a-glance presentation
  • Cons: Only a backup for somebody who understands the procedure
  • Review: This is a great brief checklist. There are others that are much more thorough/procedural. This one covers all the essential items in a few words at most.

    I'm still a student. I found the more verbose checklists more useful for the purpose of learning procedures, but they're a liability in flight and I'd end up relying on the instructor to either manage the checklists or the plane while I hunted through the list. This list is single-sided and all in-flight procedures are readily available.

    Only potential concern is that emergency procedures require flipping the card. Those should generally be done from memory anyway and referenced after-the-fact.

    The preflight/exterior section isn't really written from a flow perspective. All the key items are there, but I use a separate checklist for preflight written from a walkaround perspective.

    Bottom line though is that I'd recommend this checklist to anybody.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This Checklist is the balls!

  • By Tony from Litchfield NH USA on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly like it said

  • By A Customer from Enterprise OR USA on Tuesday, January 25, 2011
  • Review: Met my expectations. It was exactly what I purchased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy it again!

  • By Steve from Monticello KY USA on Thursday, June 11, 2009
  • Review: Its better then the owners manual check list.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Charles from Lake Havasu City AZ USA on Wednesday, June 10, 2009
  • Pros: simple and convenient....
  • Cons: perhaps the steps might be numbered..
  • Review: Super convenience...Simple to use..easially stowed.. 90% of anything you might need in an emergency... It lacked nothing that I needed for checking out the aircraft. It was concise and to the point..You could not read it wrong...For what I used the "check mate" for I have not seen anything better...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Hoschton GA USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great one page checklist

  • By Tim from PA on Wednesday, October 05, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, easy to use, durable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I belong to a club and the checklists in the plane are old, tattered, and just don't cover all the smaller details. For just a few bucks I have my own list that I keep with the rest of my supplies and it covers everything I need...normal opps and emergency procedures and I always know where it will be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My Favorite Checklist

  • By Jeff from Abbeville SC USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Review: CheckMate check list are the only ones I use. I am a flight instructor and this is what is in my plane and what I encourage my students to have in their planes. These check list are large and easy to read and I like them much better that having to flip pages in the book-style check list.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is a real checkmate

  • By Javier from Doral FL USA on Friday, July 12, 2013
  • Pros: It is protected againts water or other liquid.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Excellent item. Very practical.  Fit perfect in my kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pretty good checklist

  • By David from Clay Center KS USA on Sunday, May 04, 2014
  • Pros: Durable, easy to read, pleasant, quick emergency reference and V speeds
  • Cons: Outdated transponder use. Just slightly time consuming for beginner VFR students.
  • Review: This is a very good checklist. It is very concise and easy to use. It has helpful reference speeds and emergency procedures included for quick reference. It is colorful, pleasant to look and at and very readable. It is durable and right sized.

    As of 2014, most airports in the US have the policy to leave the transponder in the on position, however, the checklist still suggests squawking standby during taxi. It is very good for IFR operations, and just slightly time consuming for beginner pilots. However, my students have been able to readily adapt.

    I highly recommend this checklist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great!!!

  • By Oscar from Miami FL USA on Thursday, October 15, 2015
  • Pros: Great size quality and its tuff
  • Cons: Some checklist items out of order
  • Review: Great size and quality. Nice and tuff only complain is the extirior checklist is out of order. Your constantly waking from one side to the other of the plane to follow the checklist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Flying Club Skyhawk

  • By John Thompson from Illinois on Thursday, July 25, 2019
  • Pros: Everything right out of the pilot operating handbook.
  • Cons: A lot of information on one page. I might prefer multiple pages...incorporating the emergency procedures on another easy to find page. But...that's just me.
  • Review: Many of my students are members of a local flying club. The club members have developed their own checklists...but none incorporate an approved emergency procedures section. In preparation for their checkride, I have recommended they buy and use a CheckMate checklist. It has everything right out of the POH in a standardized easy to use format.

    Well done, CheckMate!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Cockpit Friendly & Versatile

  • By Robert from Orange Park FL USA on Monday, February 25, 2008
  • Pros: Durable, Emergency Procedures, KT / MPH inclusive.
  • Cons: Somewhat smallish print.
  • Review: This is a checklist you can use and abuse. I like being able to stuff this between the side glass and instrument panel (readily at hand) without it coming apart. It also functions quite well as a flight bag divider between sorties.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Spring City PA USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Checklist

  • By Matthew from Salem OR USA on Sunday, July 10, 2011
  • Pros: Very Detailed
  • Cons: Wish it was available in the spiral bound option
  • Review: Very good checklist
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not Totally satisfied

  • By RICHARD from Redondo Beach CA USA on Wednesday, May 18, 2011
  • Pros: Convenient
  • Cons: Small print, lacking in the checklist procedures
  • Review: First off, I would have preferred the flip page version of the Cessna 172M but I was told that it was no longer in production. With respect to the single card version, I was dissappointed in the the checklist procedures. Had the checklist been the same as that used in the flip page version, it would have been better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.