TOP

Reviews for FuelHawk Cessna 172 Fuel Gauge with Long Range 26.5 gallon tanks

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it needs to do!

  • By Matthew from Anchorage AK USA on Monday, January 13, 2014
  • Pros: Simple, reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a great, simple, reliable method of checking how much fuel you've got in your tanks. I only wish one was made for the 24 gal useable extended range tanks on the older, carbureted 172s (M,N,P,etc) which is the plane I use this for. I think this product is designed for the 172S, specifically, but I just round down a few gallons and call it good. I have only used it a few times so far and can't speak to whether or not the print on the stick will rub off over time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and effective

  • By Jeff from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
  • Review: Easy to use and reasonably accurate... certainly beats guessing or relying on fuel gauges.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the 172xp

  • By Robert from Whitefish MT USA on Sunday, July 28, 2013
  • Pros: Clear, easy to use
  • Cons: Might want to attach a strap so that it doesn't end up in the tank
  • Review: Great confirmation of what actually is in the tank.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed.

  • By A Customer from Folsom CA USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: Does what it is made for.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Never trust your fuel gauges. This product allows me to get an exact measurement of my actual fuel in the tanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple to use

  • By FGOS from Groveland FL USA on Tuesday, October 11, 2016
  • Pros: As advertised
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Worked great. Showed left tank gauge "dead on" and right gauge 3gal more than actual. Just follow simple instructions and make sure fuel gauge is off the rib inside wing when measuring.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Manual fuel gauge

  • By A Customer from Montreal QC Canada on Tuesday, August 08, 2017
  • Review: Exactly what I was looking for. Quick and easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I need

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Review: This was a replacement for my previous dipstick of the same model. Served me well until I lost it, and the new one continues to work just fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, May 30, 2022
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't drop it!

  • By Slick from Iowa on Wednesday, October 05, 2011
  • Review: Great product.....but don't drop it in the tank....virtually unretrievable.....it will ruin more than a day....don't ask how I know......otherwise really like it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An oldie but goodie!!

  • By Don from Batavia Il USA on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
  • Review: Just like you remember... works as published. Never trust your fuel guage.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ioannis from Mill Creek, WA on Thursday, June 07, 2012
  • Review: It works as advertised
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Wallingford PA on Friday, July 30, 2004
  • Review: very easy to use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and works well

  • By Luis from Nashua NH USA on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
  • Pros: Simple
  • Cons:
  • Review: Works as advertised. I use it to validate what fuel gauge is telling me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Good Supplement to Cockpit Fuel Gauges

  • By Jim from Gainesville FL USA on Monday, June 16, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to Use, Relatively Inexpensive
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I use mine all the time, especially after a flight to confirm remaining fuel levels in the tanks in order to calculate fuel burns. If the cockpit fuel gauges are operating properly, then the measurements from "FuelHawk" just supplement the gauge values. On the other hand, if there's any doubt about the cockpit gauges, then the "FuelHawk" values are a more precise way to obtain such measurements directly (as opposed to pencil marks on a wooden stick, and so forth).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Peace of Mind!

  • By A Customer from Fort Worth TX USA on Friday, January 25, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to read. No moving parts to wear out.
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet
  • Review: Ever looked into that deep, dark hole called a fuel tank and wondered just how much fuel is really in there? I always hated that and now there is no more wondering for me. I have a lot more peace of mind knowing exactly how much fuel is in each tank before take-off. I used the "stick method" in the past and all you really know is that you have 5" of fuel but how many gallons is that? How many inches per hour does your airplane use? I didn't know either. The fuel hawk gives you a readout in gallons which is useful information that you can actually use in calculations without having to guess. Great product!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice one, you are 100% acurate.

  • By Kei from New York NY USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Review: After purchasing this, I can finally count on how much fuel I have in the tank. Never guesstimate or rely on fuel guage in the cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does exactly what it's supposed to

  • By James from Colorado Springs CO USA on Wednesday, July 30, 2008
  • Review: It was what I ordered and expected. It fits in my flight bag and gives me a much better idea of how much fuel I have than the fuel gages do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Foolproof. even fools can use it

  • By Joseph from Pinehurst NC USA on Monday, July 26, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to use.
  • Cons: non
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations. Especially useful when the tanks are not full.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect

  • By Judd from Buda TX USA on Tuesday, May 12, 2009
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: nothing
  • Review: Does exactly what you need and tells you how much gas you have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy Breezy

  • By Sue from Harrison TN USA on Monday, January 12, 2009
  • Review: You had the exact product I needed. Finding it was simple, purchasing was user friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from chillicothe OH USA on Monday, April 06, 2009
  • Review: Great! proper scale-no need to convert
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JReevesTx from Round Rock TX USA on Tuesday, April 14, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to read.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reliable way to know how much fuel you have

  • By A Customer from Saint Joseph MN USA on Monday, March 16, 2015
  • Pros: Works great - I can always get an accurate reading on fuel
  • Cons: I have dropped it in the tank - I wish there was a way to attach a strap.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect product - durable

  • By Christian from Muelheim an der Ruhr NRW Germany on Friday, August 05, 2016
  • Pros: Durable
  • Cons: none in general - for metric users you just have to convert gal/ltr
  • Review: Ordered these from Germany for various aircraft types in the fleet. I will place a new order soon for customers. The ones we had from a company in Germany are more glass type. Very rigid. They are even more expensive. Those broke latest after a couple of times of usage when bounced against hard surface.
    Fuelhawks are almost unbreakable compared to those we had before. They are even a little flexible which makes them hard to break by accident.
    Thumbs up!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost perfect.

  • By Steve from Hampton VA USA on Tuesday, September 20, 2011
  • Review: Excellent tool, but markings wear off too quickly with use. Figure out a way to get the markings more resistant to wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

There's no reason for guessing

  • By Kevin from Milwaukee WI USA on Monday, September 08, 2008
  • Pros: Inexpensive, much better than "eyeballing" or guessing
  • Cons: Too easy to drop into the tank.
  • Review: I have one of these with me in my flight bag at all times. There's no reason to guess how much fuel one has. Stick this in the tank and check. I just wish it had something on the "handle end" so one could not drop it into the tank. It hasn't happened yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.