TOP

Reviews for Jeppesen Instrument/Commercial Manual

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

High Quality

  • By A Customer from Palmer AK USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Wonderful training material. It comes with a commercial training manual in the same book.
  • Cons: It's pricey for a paperback.
  • Review: Jeppesen has produce a high quality text for anybody training for their instrument rating. I don't think there is anything better. Great pictures with thorough explanations. Excellent summaries and review questions for each section.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great study guide

  • By A Customer from Hamburg NY USA on Monday, March 12, 2018
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons:
  • Review: Loved it. Great text companion to online course. I like having a hard copy of what I'm studying to refer back to for review, and this has everything the online course covers. Nice layout, pictures and stories to keep it interesting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, November 01, 2019
  • Review: Absolutely great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Flying Book I've bought

  • By David from Aliquippa PA USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: I would have preferred less exposure to Jepp plates and just stuck with Gov't plates. I believe that is what most beginning Instrument students will start with. We can learn about Jepps later in our training.
  • Review: This book has proven to be very descriptive of the intellectual part of the IFR environment. I'm very glad that I purchased it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent explanations w/examples

  • By Billy Carnley from Bentonville, AR on Saturday, July 05, 2014
  • Pros: Explanations of charts/plates and IFR details
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I have several books I'm using for to obtain my IFR rating and this by far the best at explaining details of departure, enroute and approach maps/plates. Plus, excellent in other areas related to IFR. I haven't used the commercial, yet, but once I get my IFR completed, it's next.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, April 10, 2019
  • Review: Great price, great shipment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Manual Worthy Of Any Personel Library

  • By Rick from Winfield KS USA on Wednesday, July 31, 2013
  • Pros: Very concise and informative. An invaluable learning ref!
  • Cons: High cost
  • Review: This is no doubt, a very expensive manual but I have not seen a equal to the depth of information!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Old Pilot Review

  • By Pierre from Houston TX USA on Monday, December 02, 2013
  • Pros: Great use of actual charts
  • Cons: Some old stories that could be refreshed
  • Review: I got my instrument ticket 32 years ago and decided to relearn some of the new instrument procedures and rules. This is a great, easy way to review some rules seldom used in day-to-day instrument flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love this book

  • By Claudia from CHUALAR CA USA on Thursday, May 01, 2014
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: I got my instrument rating over 10 years ago but this book helps me stay current on the ground portion. I love the pictures and the content is very easy to read and comprehend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What an amazing book

  • By Daniel G from Toronto, Canada on Thursday, November 25, 2010
  • Pros: good book, good tools, good information.
  • Cons:
  • Review: The book is a really good tool for learning, English is my second language and i find the book really easy to understand, they really know how to make things simple and logical with all those diagrams that the book has. I'm currently getting my commercial license in Canada, and even tho there are some parts and procedures that are made different here, i think the book is good tool anywhere in the world.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding. Highly recommended

  • By Daniel from Lubbock TX USA on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Pros: Illustrations
  • Cons: None noted
  • Review: Exceeded expectations
    Illustrations outstanding. Very helpful
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Resource.

  • By Steve from Rincon GA USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2015
  • Review: As a CFII/MEI I can attest to this being an excellent resource for any pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book

  • By Ed from Yorba Linda CA USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Pros: Lots of great instrument and commercial related information
  • Cons: Price is high
  • Review: Great book
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book !

  • By Elad from Boca Raton FL USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Review: Color
    Easy to manage
    Excellent source of info
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Amazing Aviation Book

  • By A Customer from Provo, UT on Saturday, September 01, 2007
  • Pros: Extensive Information and Easy to Understand
  • Cons: It is big book
  • Review: This book exceeded my expectations. It is a bit intimidating when you first pick it up and then you realize how easy it is to read. The material is presented in an excellent and easy to understand way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent

  • By A Customer from Oakland, CA on Tuesday, September 11, 2007
  • Pros: Comprehensive.
  • Cons: Weighs a lot.
  • Review: Does a great job, just what you'd expect
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great buy for your money!

  • By Tyler from Buckhannon WV USA on Thursday, October 18, 2007
  • Pros: Great Presentation
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great reference to have to learn from or to have as a reference. I would definitly purchase this book to have for future questions you may have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK

  • By Jonathan from Marysville WA USA on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Review: Honestly out of all the books I have used to study material either for a review or for the first time I always found jep to be the most readable. Great buy - wouldnt suggest any other book. Except they have this book with the dvd combo, kinda wish I would have bought it. It might have added some insight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

  • By Ron from Jacksonville NC USA on Monday, December 10, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to read and absorb
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Met my expectations throughout.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book

  • By K9-11 from Reston VA USA on Friday, January 29, 2010
  • Pros: Buy it you need it for all levels
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Excellent book, with all the necessary details, even if your only doing your private license this books answers many of those niggling questions you may have
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

excellent manual

  • By luis from brooklyn NY USA on Monday, April 21, 2008
  • Pros: so far everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very good illustrations and very well written. If you buy the kit with the knee pad and other manuals you get a better deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good

  • By Alessio from Norfolk VA USA on Tuesday, May 24, 2011
  • Review: Status... very good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book

  • By A Customer from Fremont CA USA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Review: Good detail. nice illustrations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Alessio from Norfolk, VA on Friday, April 29, 2011
  • Review: perfect!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best you can get

  • By Juan from edwards CO USA on Friday, February 27, 2009
  • Review: All the information you need from private to commercial. I'm not an english native speaker and I find it really easy to read and understand
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dale from Greenville MS on Tuesday, August 18, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent!

  • By Matthew from Ft. Myers FL USA on Wednesday, December 08, 2010
  • Pros: Has everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: An excellent textbook! The benchmark!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent resource

  • By NH Flyer from Merrimack NH USA on Tuesday, November 22, 2011
  • Pros: Well organized and excellent quality
  • Cons: Book is big
  • Review: Great resource for studying for the written tests. Easy to read and good graphics that support the text.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Peng Ho from Lynnwood, WA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Review: Lots of valuable information.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Modern, comprehensive

  • By Dale from Grand Junction CO USA on Thursday, November 01, 2012
  • Pros: quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I was impressed with the quality of this book, hard bound, easy to follow, color photos and legends. Very well done.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Needed to college

  • By A Customer from Chester IL USA on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Review: All that it was meant to be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Marina, CA on Saturday, August 30, 2014
  • Review: This is a good refresher for CFI's as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Enough to build a foundation

  • By ChicCFII from New York, NY on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: A great foundation of most basics in IFR flying, colorful pictures and FAA hot spot knowledge bubbles
  • Cons: Soft cover now, which is not as sturdy as the old hard cover, Jepp plates are still highlighted, bulky if student chooses not to go the CPL route
  • Review: As a CFII, I like students to always have a foundation to build upon as they progress deeper into aviation. Most GA pilots don't aspire to go the "airline" route and therefore a lot of the Jepp plates and more 121/141 geared parts are a bit overwhelming. That being said, I learned out of this book (the 2000 edition) and the 2015 edition is a very pleasant upgrade complete with transition, RNAV and glass teachings.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's a good book

  • By Richard from Huntington Woods MI USA on Sunday, July 31, 2016
  • Review: It met my expectations. Although I needed other books to supplement the actual questions that would be on the FAA text.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This book needs to give a quiz in FAA format at the end of each section.

  • By Tom from Portland CT USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Very thorough and comprehensive.
  • Cons: This book needs to give more examples and exercises that will allow the student pilot to develop the skills needed to pass the FAA written exam.
  • Review: Overall, an excellent text prepared by a very reputable industry leader in the field of pilot training. However, this book is expensive, but it provides the background knowledge necessary to be a safe and competent instrument pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Great, but NOT HARDCOVER???

  • By Max from Chicago, IL on Saturday, June 08, 2013
  • Pros: Tons of useful up-to-date information
  • Cons: NO HARDCOVER! Ridiculous!
  • Review: A fantastic book, and now very up-to-date with the 2013 revision, but I was very upset to see that it was now no longer printed in hardcover. For a study textbook, it not being hardcover is a big hassle. I will have to likely break the binder just to get it to stay open, and that makes it look like crap in short order. So it will be a great book that looks like it's 10 years old by next month.

    Jeppesen, make it in hardcover!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's a text book

  • By A Customer from Hidden Valley Lake Ca USA on Tuesday, November 02, 2010
  • Review: It's exactly what you would expect of a well written text book. All of the information is in there and easy to understand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sam from Hayward CA USA on Friday, September 18, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andres from San Antonio TX on Friday, April 25, 2008
  • Review: Very good book overall, I just would like it to focus on some certain things, instead of writing just 1 paragraph for it. A copy of the Private Book of Jeppesen with instrument approaches, charts, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Could be alot thinner

  • By kevin from dorr MI USA on Saturday, November 28, 2009
  • Pros:
  • Cons: repetetive
  • Review: This book is similar in quality to other Jeppesen books that I have read. Unfortunately it is very similar to the Jeppesen Private Pilot book. That makes it a very repetetive read if you have recently gone through the Private Pilot book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By KPS from Long Island, NY on Wednesday, January 24, 2007
  • Pros: Must have
  • Cons: Must read
  • Review: It is just what it says it is. Nothing more nothin less. A must have with the DVD,CD course.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Peter from Wilmington DE USA on Wednesday, April 22, 2009
  • Review: Have not finished it yet but the pictures are great. It is easy to follow.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Killeen Texas on Tuesday, September 27, 2005
  • Review: pricey but good Jepp quality book
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Content OK. Production quality trending downward

  • By Bob from Cherry Hill NJ USA on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Pros: Good content. Good graphics.
  • Cons: Detail lacking in some explanations. Low construction quality and durability.
  • Review: Jepp is the industry standard training text and I use it to teach ground schools. Content is still good, but I am disappointed that the weight of the pages has been reduced substantially so they easily crease and curl and stain from handling. Paper thickness is less than standard 20lb printer paper - maybe 16 lb. Over the years, they have gone from a hard bound book with heavy glossy pages to a paper bound book with lightweight, low durability pages. Some of this may have been in response to complaints about the weight of the earlier version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Way out-of-date and numerous typos

  • By Derf from Albuquerque, NM, USA on Thursday, June 30, 2011
  • Pros: The basics are still there
  • Cons: Out-of-date
  • Review: I took an IFR Ground School a year ago, using this book as the text. While this book is not totally worthless, it has many parts that are way out-of-date. For example, it still talks about NOTAM(L), local NOTAMs, which haven't existed since 1/28/2008. It covers the "old" Instrument Approach Chart formats, saying that the FAA and Jeppesen are in the process of changing to the new format. Well, the "old" format is long gone. It spends time on TWEBs, but those are only used now in Alaska. It even references some Jeppesen products (GoJepp on CompuServe, e.g.) that no longer exist. A lot of the approach chart examples have changed (not just the format but the whole design of the approach itself); so, if you look up the current version (on AOPA, e.g.), it's different. The book also puts heavy emphasis on Jeppesen charts and symbols. It does cover the FAA charts, but having two standards to deal with is confusing, especially considering that the FAA written test only asks about the FAA standards.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not worth the money

  • By Gregor from New York City, NY USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
  • Review: Too much information unrelated to the actual knowledge for IR-flights. And the actual knowledge needed not enough in dept.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.