TOP

Reviews for Brightline Bags B7 Flight Pilot Bag

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Best bag I've ever own with some customization!

  • By George from Phoenix AZ USA on Friday, July 07, 2017
  • Pros: Plenty of pockets for organization. Versatile configurations to accommodate all forms of travel. Great design, with good zippers.
  • Cons: Plastic snap clips for handles and shoulder straps are garbage. Shoulder strap is uncomfortable when bag is fully loaded.
  • Review: I'll start with the "Cons":

    First time I yanked on the luggage strap the cheap plastic snap clips broke. The metal "D Rings" provided are a joke; and when fully loaded the shoulder strap is uncomfortable, and bag doesn't ride level when carrying.

    After the first plastic snap clip broke I immediately cut every one of them off, as well as the crappy "D Rings". Since I added the CS5 module to the B7 for my application the bag is longer, but the CS4 and CS5 modules have double Nylon loops on each side remaining (once the plastic snap clips and D-Rings were cut off) which left a perfect spot to install Black Diamond climbing carabiners. This gives me a heavy duty anchor point at four points of the bag. I used four Black Diamond Quickdraws (two 12cm, and two 18cm long) attached to shoulder strap which allows me to carry the bag sideways like a duffle bag, but rigs it to carry level. Then I ditched the uncomfortable original shoulder strap using two rubber iStay shoulder straps doubled up connected to the Black Diamond Quickdraws. With 1/2" total thickness of rubber on my shoulder it acts like a "suspension" for a heavily loaded bag absorbing the bounce walking, and doesn't slide off my shoulder.

    Problems solved, and the climbing apparatus used creates a versatile harness system for whatever configuration I use, and it's weight rated for more than I could ever fit in the bag.

    Now to the Pros:

    I'm not a Pilot, so using this bag to carry a pilot's gear was never intended. I'm a Field Service Engineer doing extensive travel via commercial airlines, and I wanted a bag to organize / transport my work tablet, electronics, personal protective equipment, five days worth of uniforms, and necessary essentials while being versatile enough to accommodate overhead bin space from a Regional jet to an Airbus.

    This bag fits my application PERFECTLY! I added the short array palet to the CS4 module to organize my items, and I can fit two days worth of vacuum sealed uniforms in the CS3, and three days of uniforms in the CS5 modules. Plenty of pockets throughout bag to satisfy my OCD, and organize everything I have to travel with for work.

    The versatility of this bag lets me unzip it in half at the gate which satisfies the airlines "One Carry-On, and One Personal item" regulations. The CS3 and CS5 modules zipped together fit in overhead space, while front, back, and CS4 modules zipped together fit under the seat in front easily. For the overhead space in a regional jet I just unzip the CS3 and CS5 modules and lay them flat.

    Going through TSA Security checkpoints is a snap with my tablet fitting in the rear module; just pull it out and put it in bin and I'm ready to go.

    If I haven't mentioned it.......I LOVE this bag, and I've recommended it to every other Field Service Engineer I work with!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

the 90% solution

  • By Bruce Elliott from Mt Pleasant SC USA on Wednesday, August 19, 2015
  • Pros: A good number of pockets.
  • Cons: Not enough pockets
  • Review: I really like this bag. My only beef is that for all its mix'n match versatility I can't buy another front pocket stack to put on the rear. It lacks the proper sipper pull. At least I can't find such an option. Otherwise, sturdy and versatile.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

weak handle if loaded up

  • By A Customer from Santa Rosa CA USA on Monday, May 11, 2015
  • Pros: plastic clasps for handle detach under heavy loads
  • Cons: ability to add/remove compartments depending on needs
  • Review: The ability to add compartments is a real plus, but it comes with a downside: the handle will not accommodate a heavier load. The plastic clasps attaching the handle to the bag release under heavier loads. If this part were beefed up, then the bag would be truly amazing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great design and utility

  • By Gene from Mount Holly NJ USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: Well made, well designed, keeps everything organized and configurable.
  • Cons: Can be heavy even empty. Would also rather a form fitted handle instead of the straight handle which is a bit awkward
  • Review: This is a well designed bag and made of strong materials. I love all the individual pockets and compartments to I can quickly find the items I need, when I need them.

    My only compliant is the rear cap exterior pocket flap was mis-sewn and misaligned and has a crooked appearance when zipped on the center section.

    The manufacture has stepped up and stepped in and is working with me to remedy this problem. The jury is out if a new rear end cap will fix this issue.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best of the best

  • By ZAID OSAMAH SUBHI from ERBIL ERBIL IRAQ on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: WOW
  • Cons: Non so far
  • Review: Really built to the pilots & there is a room for every thing you need on plane with you (for a private pilot).

    The only thing that you have to order the Brightline Flex Slim Handle kit (as it is not delivered with the bag as written)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Overall a great bag

  • By Gene Wentzel from United States on Wednesday, August 13, 2014
  • Pros: Well made, well designed, keeps everything organized and configurable.
  • Cons: Ok...it is heavy even empty and the carrying handle is straight and I think it would be more comfortable if the handle was curved. I also loved the 2 tubular pockets on the original bag for the fuel tester and flashlight. I was very disappointed that they changed those.
  • Review: I had the original BL Bag. I only upgraded to this for the ability to expand. As a flight instructor, I needed lots of room for books, 2 headsets, each student's syllabus and teaching aids.

    The multiple pockets are its hallmark.

    I also loved the 2 tubular pockets on the original bag for the fuel tester and flashlight. I was very disappointed that they changed those.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great bag, a bit heavy.

  • By Flying J on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Pros: Lots of pockets, very slick looking bag.
  • Cons: Heavy, threading for the Brightline "B" logo came out.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Brightline B10 Bag. The B7 has replaced the B10 so this is informational only and may not apply to the B7.] Very nice bag, love all the compartments and the degree to which I can organize the bag. The downside is the bag is noticeably heavier than my old ASA bag that carried the same amount of equipment. Other than the weight the bag is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like them

  • By Gary from Sonoma County, CA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros: I like the design, the size, and the exterior material.
  • Cons: needs heavier zippers
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Brightline B10 Bag. The B7 has replaced the B10 so this is informational only and may not apply to the B7.] I have had a zipper pull come off and one of the interior zipped pockets is coming apart at the seam. I bought 3- one for small airplanes, one for work airplanes, and one as a gift for a fellow pilot. They help me organize, fit a headset and all I need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Bag(s)

  • By Peter from Orange CA USA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Pros: Lots of Bags
  • Cons: Still trying to remember where I put things!
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Brightline B10 Bag. The B7 has replaced the B10 so this is informational only and may not apply to the B7.] Great quality and workmanship. Happy to have one place for my flying gear and equipment. And certianly places for gear keeping me organized.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great looking pilot bag

  • By Rodrigo from Springfield Gardens NY USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2015
  • Review: Great looking pilot bag, recommended !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Handy Nice Bag

  • By Bickts from Dallas TX USA on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
  • Pros: Sturdy material, plenty of pockets and right size.
  • Cons: The handles may need to be refine. Kind of heavy in your hand.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Brightline B10 Bag. The B7 has replaced the B10 so this is informational only and may not apply to the B7.] Overall well thought. Many compartment to store quite anything. Comfortable size and color-coded zipper openers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

practical but heavy

  • By ATTILA from BUDAPEST Hungary on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Pros: helps to keep everything organized
  • Cons: excessive empty wight
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the Brightline B10 Bag. The B7 has replaced the B10 so this is informational only and may not apply to the B7.] I like the amount of pockets. However flying a 180hp Cardinal and not a Falcon X,I find the empty weight of the bag a bit excessive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Lasted 6yrs. Zippers are cheap.

  • By from Atlanta ga on Sunday, January 09, 2022
  • Pros: Functionality. Good size
  • Cons: Cheap zippers.
  • Review: So it's lasted 6 years. Aircraft swaps, faking outta the crew van etc.. the only real problem is the zippers are the cheapest and weakest link of the product. Bottom zipper has been broken last couple years I've just made due.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.