TOP

Reviews for Rod Machado's How to Fly an Airplane Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Best book on flying an airplane ever published

  • By John from Cuero TX USA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Review: Fantastic book on learning how to fly an airplane. I have had an instructor rating since 1980 and sure wish this book had been available all those years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

his books are very helpful

  • By James from Hygiene CO USA on Tuesday, September 09, 2014
  • Review: Still reading as it helps to keep me current and to learn old ways in a new way
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Must Have

  • By martin from Pinconning MI USA on Thursday, October 23, 2014
  • Pros: Great detail, illustrations and info.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Finally a book that does the How To, not just theory. A real book about hands on FLYING.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Instructional Book and Fun to Read

  • By A Customer from Asheville NC USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Very detailed but explains things well.
  • Cons: Maybe a little expensive but you get what you pay for!
  • Review: A great book for a student pilot all the way thru a CFI trying to learn some new tips and instruction techniques. The pictures and drawings are very good and helpful. Any pilot would benefit from reading this book and it is a fun read as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am enjoying this book

  • By Joseph from Kenner LA USA on Monday, January 12, 2015
  • Pros: Easy style, fraught with humor and a plentiful supply of supporting pictures.
  • Cons: Not really a con, but I would like to see an additional section, covering the G1000 glass canopy. It is so different from previous dashboards.
  • Review: Unlike other books in this area, I am enjoying the written details, accompanied by adequate pictures supporting the instruction. The writing style is light with a reasonable amount of instruction. That helps when the information is almost too much too much to absorb.
    As a retired educator, I am reading and underlining significant information with the intent to reread for complete understanding. Very nicely organized.
    Three years ago I got my helicopter pilot's license and am trying to get an airplane add-on certification. This book is a great start.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An outstanding resource

  • By Brian from Anaheim CA USA on Wednesday, March 04, 2015
  • Pros: Very clear explanations of both flight theory and piloting techniques, very good illustrations
  • Cons: Sometimes the corny humor overloads the text and gets to be annoying
  • Review: This is a very good book and has certainly helped me build my flying skills. So far it has been especially helpful in the areas of flying the pattern, approaches, and landing techniques. I have a much better understanding of the approach, round-out, flare, and touchdown now. The book has helped me get the most out of my flight hours practicing in the pattern. Recommend getting the audio version as a companion to the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I LOVE this book!

  • By Karen from Phoenix AZ USA on Friday, March 06, 2015
  • Pros: VERY clear explanations of both how and why.
  • Cons: that it didn't come out sooner
  • Review: I've been slowly working toward my private pilot's license for 2 1/2 years, and every day I read something in this book that I "sort of ran across" in my training, but I never quite got. The explanations in this book are perfectly clear, as far as what's going on with the airplane, and why.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Review Book

  • By Sandy from Placerville CO USA on Wednesday, March 04, 2015
  • Pros: Clear, concise, simplified explanations
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Rod Machado has a knack for making clear otherwise complex descriptions of aeronautic maneuvers. His illustrations are helpful and add to clarity and simplification of explanations. Machado's well known humor adds to readability. I ordered the book so I could have ready reference anytime I wanted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful Product (Book)

  • By Keith from Canton MI USA on Wednesday, November 04, 2015
  • Pros: Down to Earch training and Common Sense and Pratical
  • Cons: I could find any cons but I've been flying a while and have over 150 flight hours
  • Review: This was a wise purchase. It is a down to earth type of educationing a flying student. As I said in the prior sentence that this book is a down to earth education on actual flight in the cockpit. Also, it is full of useful common sense tools for flight instruction that is very useful for a student. I wished I had purchased it sooner. Thank You Rod.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic

  • By norm from Lawrence KS USA on Friday, February 05, 2016
  • Pros: Very nicely illustrated
  • Cons: none
  • Review: A great informative and concise book on flying. I bought this as a give for my grandson and will soon be ordering one for myself, a 'rusty' pilot who wants to start flying again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT BOOK!

  • By Paulflies from Summerfield FL USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Very Informative and a lot of illustrations.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My wife bought me both this and the Audiobook of "How to Fly an Airplane" for an anniversary gift. I love both of them, the audiobook is nice because I can listen to it while I am working, but I also like the hardcopy for the visual reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent. Very helpful.

  • By Victor from Melrose MA USA on Friday, January 09, 2015
  • Pros: Provides several different explanations on a given topic
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The first handbook I have read that clarifies in detail the maneuvers needed to fly an airplane with confidence
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.