TOP

Reviews for Yaesu FTA-550AA (Alkaline) NAV-COM Aviation Transceiver

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Can't beat it for the money

  • By A Customer from Lincoln NE USA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
  • Pros: Price, plenty of volume, Big Screen, Ease of use.
  • Cons: Haven't found any
  • Review: Just what I expected and more for a radio that cost $200. I have the headphone adapter pugged in it all the time so I can use it in an emergency if needed. I have tested it when I was on the ramp to contact the FBO for fuel. No issues. I used the VOR function the last time I flew to a different airport. Seems to work as well as the VOR equipped in the plane. I have been looking at air band radios for a while. I received this for a gift and haven't looked at another radio since.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 27 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what we needed!!!

  • By John from Willcox AZ USA on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to use and set up.
  • Cons: None at this time.
  • Review: We needed to replace our radio, because aircraft couldn't hear us even in line of sight. This radio cured that problem in spades. The advertised range is pretty accurate from ground to air.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Radio

  • By Dave from North West Pennsylvania on Saturday, December 05, 2015
  • Pros: Fantastic Radio
  • Cons: Likely can't be run over by a truck and survive
  • Review: Solid radio with excellent receiver. Actually works better than most panel radios!! I installed lithium aa batteries from the grocery store, and battery life is amazing. CFII and A&P, 20yrs military radio work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, July 11, 2016
  • Review: Best bang for the buck radio. I bring this with me all the time and it fits nicely on my Brightline B4 Pilot Bag. I place it inside the "Alpha" pocket and it fits nice and snug. And since I cannot justify paying an extra $100 for the rechargeable version, I bought this and I use rechargeable eneloop AA-size batteries against manufacturer advice (the manual says to use only alkaline batteries). Aside from the radio not being able to correctly tell the amount of batteries left due to this, it's been working flawlessly!

    The downside I see to this is that if not taken care of properly, the plastic LCD display is easily scratched because of its size. Other than that, I have no complains whatsoever.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Operates as advertised - Great

  • By Gregor from Port Orchard WA USA on Thursday, August 06, 2015
  • Pros: Works as advertised & easy to program
  • Cons: You need a screwdriver to remove the cover plate in order to plug in a headset.
  • Review: The transceiver worked right out of the box. Programming was very easy and the reception of weak signals is great. No complaints. I would strongly recommend the purchase of this Yaesu Pro-X. FYI: I ordered it on a Friday Morning via standard shipping and got it on Monday afternoon here in the Seattle area. Great service!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By ben from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
  • Pros: Well made, easy of use, range, sound quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I love this model. The first time i turned it on, i knew it was worth the price. It is very well made and very easy to use. I was expecting it to be more complicated. I like how when on the NAV setting, it automatically tunes to the closest navaid. A must have for any instrument pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product great price!

  • By Eric W from Greenville KY USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Review: This radio is fantastic and user friendly. Display is clear and I can hear traffic even in my office at work. The only thing I dont like is the securing of the antenna. It seems that it could hold a bit better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent transceiver

  • By Mick O'Connnor from Davis CA USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Large easy read screen, easy to programme and use, features
  • Cons: squelch control not as easy as an Icom, would like and LED to confirm transmit
  • Review: I bought this transceiver to replace my old Icom A3 for use in my ultralight. I modified the supplied GA headset adaptor lead to allow connection to the Icom interface cable and it interfaces perfectly. Very easy to programme memories, large bright screen (love the ability to tag freqs with full name). Loads of useful features
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as it should. Owners manual explains it well.

  • By DM from Pequot Lakes MN USA on Tuesday, November 04, 2014
  • Pros: Great price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Works well. Takes a couple steps to do some things, but it is explained well and it is quite intuitive to figure things out. Just go through the manual once and most stuff works well. Can be plugged into the intercom music jack with the same standard cord for listening on the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great radio

  • By Brandon from Gilmer TX USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2015
  • Pros: Lots of features for a low price
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: Great radio at a great price. The alkaline batteries last for several hours.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Bang For The Buck

  • By Mark from Anchorage AK USA on Thursday, September 24, 2015
  • Pros: Nav AND com; ports for aviation headset, DC power
  • Cons:
  • Review: Simple, reliable, many more bells and whistles for the money than most other models.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Peoria AZ USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Review: I Like the size and sound. The app to use headsets is also great. Works fine. Only thing that would be better is if there was way to get side tone.
    Ken
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Oran from Spring TX USA on Friday, January 23, 2015
  • Pros: Sturdy and well made.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It is an excellent hand-held receiver and has just enough features to make it fun to experiment with.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Markos Magkanaris from ERMOUPOLI SYROS Greece on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Review: Ðïëý êáëüò äÝêôçò êáé ðïìðüò. Äåí õðÜñ÷åé êÜôé ðïõ èá Þèåëá ðåñéóóüôåñï, áðü Ýíá åíáëëáêôéêü ðïìðïäÝêôç ìÝóá óôï áåñïðëÜíï.
    Ðïëý êáëÞ ôéìÞ óå ó÷Ýóç ìå ôçí ðïéüôçôá ôïõ.

    Very good receiver and transmitter. There is nothing to add to this alternative transceiver in the aircraft.
    Very good price and quality too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, simple product

  • By David from Mechanicsburg PA USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Relatively inexpensive
  • Cons:
  • Review: It is exactly what I expected. A relatively inexpensive backup transceiver for communications and NAV in case of an electrical or radio failure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loving my Yaesu550..

  • By Jeff Brinkerhoff from Paisley FL USA on Friday, July 16, 2021
  • Pros: Small size
  • Cons: Only shortcoming that comes to mind is having to give permission at bootup
  • Review: Stuffed with features, high build quality, the Swiss army knife of handheld trancievers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid Performance and Well-Built

  • By A Customer from St Augustine FL USA on Tuesday, December 29, 2020
  • Pros: Well built, clear audio, easy to use basic features.
  • Cons: None that I've found so far.
  • Review: I use my radio for ground ops at a glider club and as a backup when flying. It's very easy to dial in a frequency and recall previous ones, even while flying. The audio is loud enough to hear over engine noise when using the radio's speaker.

    I have to give praise to the customer service of My Pilot Store. My first radio was listed as delivered but was not in my mailbox. MPS worked with the post office to find the package, then sent a second radio at no charge when it was determined the first one had been lost or stolen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.