TOP

Reviews for Yaesu FTA-550AA (Alkaline) NAV-COM Aviation Transceiver

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use with a little help

  • By Sal from Rohnert Park CA USA on Thursday, November 20, 2014
  • Pros: Nice size; good sound; easy to use
  • Cons: Direction a little unclear and not in the correct order.
  • Review: The directions are a little difficult to understand at first, but after using it at the airport, it becomes clear. You can see all your frequencies at once and just scroll down to the one you want. When you scroll down to a VOR frequency, the OBS pops up automatically. I had to call tech help to figure out how to adjust the squelch. You just tap the button once to see the squelch bar, then you can adjust it. I was holding the button down too long. After that, no other problems. I recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 21 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well, User Manual Needs Tweaking

  • By David from Winchester CA USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Value, ease of use, clarity in and out
  • Cons: User manual not sufficiently explicit on how to adjust squelch
  • Review: This little handheld works well. Clear transmit and receive. Adjusting squelch is not adequately addressed in the owner's manual, but other than that I'm very happy with it. I haven't connected the aircraft antenna to it yet, but I expect excellence there, too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but could be better

  • By Paul from Cave Creek AZ USA on Wednesday, October 14, 2015
  • Pros: Powerful frequency storage functions, compact, easy to read and hear.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Generally happy with it however there's room for improvement. Biggest issue: Antenna does not twist lock onto the radio. Assuming this is a feature and not a manufacturing defect then I understand why... you can't break it off. But you don't want it falling off and disappearing behind your seat in an emergency, so I think it's more important for it to be fastened on than to eliminate the risk of breakage.

    Second,the VOR is cool but range appears to be limited so if you are looking for backup NAV just get a GPS NAV app for your phone.

    Last, battery life is limited with alkalines and the battery indicator can only be trusted during transmission when the batteries are under load.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dan from Pequot Lakes, MN on Monday, December 01, 2014
  • Review: Good radio overall. Gave 4 stars because the description says it has ILS but in reality it has only a LOC no Glideslope. Easy to use and hooks up to my external antenna for okay range. Good backup and 2nd radio for weather and emergency use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will recommend this product to someone

  • By Marwan Natsheh from Arlington Heights IL USA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Pros: Small and easy to use
  • Cons: No hot keys, would be great to set up hot keys with pre program frequency
  • Review: I like the product, I did not test the VOR localizer yet
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Saturday, July 18, 2020
  • Review: It was great! So great that someone stole the darn thing from me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not Bad At All

  • By Dewey from Addis LA USA on Friday, September 19, 2014
  • Review: Product works well. No issues and everything works great, easy to use, display is very easy to see. Pleased with my purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rebeca from Los Angeles CA USA on Wednesday, February 08, 2017
  • Review: Good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awsome for the price

  • By Robert from Palatka FL USA on Monday, July 13, 2015
  • Review: Nice, but wish display was brighter with backlight off
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.