TOP

Reviews for Bad Elf Pro Bluetooth GPS Receiver for iPad / iPhone

Sort By:
Filter By:

Fantastic product, you won't be disappointed!

  • By Bruce from Grand Junction, CO on Sunday, April 12, 2015
  • Pros: Simple to use. Money well spent.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to set up with my new Ipad Mini. I didn't want the extra cost of buying a mini, with built in GPS, from Verizon and paying for a data plan. The Bad ELf Pro is a great alternative. From what I've read, an external GPS is more reliable and accurate for flying than the built in GPS on the Ipads. The Bad Elf at $149 is a lot cheaper than a 2 year data plan from Verizon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Seems to meet its expectations

  • By Charles from Goodlettsville TN USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: small and efficient
  • Cons: would like to have a mount for it
  • Review: I'm not the sharpest tack regarding Ipads and GPS's but it does what I wanted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great GPS in Small Package

  • By Lon from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, November 08, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use. Small, light and convenient. Reasonably priced. It was delivered to me even sooner than mypilotstore's expect-by date.
  • Cons: It has an LCD Display, but it doesn't display distance. If it displayed distance, the Bad Elf would be great for hiking and exercise. As is, it's necessary to download logged data to the Bad Elf app to see how far the user has traveled.
  • Review: I bought this Bad Elf Pro after buying a new iPad Mini 4 that didn't have an internal GPS. The Bad Elf connects to the iPad effortlessly. I put the Bad Elf in my shirt pocket, and it runs the ForeFlight moving map and Track Log, perfectly.

    The Bad Elf also has its own internal Data Logger, so it can be used by itself to record a flight. The recorded flight can then be transferred to my iPad and displayed on the Bad Elf app (available without charge) and on ForeFlight and Google Earth. I used this feature recently while doing transition training in a plane that was new to me. I didn't want to use ForeFlight during that training, because I was concerned it would distract me from what I was being taught. But I did want to have a visual record of the flights I took during that training, and I used the Bad Elf Data Logger to do that.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great

  • By Colin from Alaska, California on Thursday, July 21, 2016
  • Pros: Works well
  • Cons: Unique power cord means another thing I'm carrying around
  • Review: I bought this and immediately took it on a several day 3000nm trip from Buffalo to Alaska. Battery life lasted the whole trip and I had zero issues with the unit losing gps reception. As long as this receiver continues to work reliably into the future I'll be convinced the iPad/fore flight/bad elf combo is my "go-to" gps solution
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Changing LCD display units.

  • By dennislee from 45.711, -121.888 on Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Pros: Great GPS, I have had mine for years.
  • Cons: Display window scratched and a little yellowed, after years
  • Review: Great GPS. Not mentioned that it has barometric altimeter. Not so useful in pressurized cockpit, great in ultralite.
    Martin D from WA said in his review, "I don't like that the latitude and longitude are expressed in decimal form. This makes it difficult to reconcile Bad Elf positions with other devices which display degrees, minutes and seconds" but this is not true. From the app one can setup units displayed on the GPS LCD screen, including DD:MM:SS.
    2nd item down on left (of app) where it has the name one has given their unit>
    >>"Display Settings", on the "Product Details" window that opens on the right>>
    >>>"Coordinates", on the "Display" page that opens>>>
    >>>>DD.dddddd, or DD:MM.mmmm, or DD:MM:SS.ss, as one chooses.
    There is a different place for changing the units in the app.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best GPS receiver ever!

  • By Ratso, F-18 pilot/TopGun instructor from Tampa FL USA on Monday, March 09, 2015
  • Pros: Simple, small, sensitive to Sat frequencies. It has it all.
  • Cons: None found yet.
  • Review: I have owned a GPS receiver since they came out a couple of decades ago. But I have never had one that is this small yet powerful enough to pick up 12 - 15 satellites in seconds. Bluetooth paired with my iPad and I'm off and running, or flying as the case maybe. Truly unbelievable product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Couldn't Be Happier

  • By Frank from Chestertown NY USA on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Pros: Small, light, accurate, fast, no loss of signal. Great battery life.
  • Cons: None. Could use a velcro like bottom to stick it in place
  • Review: Reasonable price, great accuracy, fast acquisition, excellent bluetooth. Interfaces seamlessly with IPad Air and Foreflight. Will lock and interface with Foreflight when carried in your shirt pocket. Would definitely buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Curtis from San Clemente CA USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2015
  • Pros: Works great, easy to use, In the air or on the ground
  • Cons: Hard to find a position to make it stay in one place
  • Review: I have used this in many ways, flying, on vacation in Dubai. It works great. If you use with foreflight it's even better. If on vacation download the maps and carry this around and you'll never get lost. It works without wifi to keep your situational awareness at it's peak. I recommend for anyone. I'm an airline pilot and use it with my electronics and it works great there too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it

  • By Timothy from Menifee CA USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Pros: Battery life, fast start up, ease of use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works flawlessly. Battery life is excellent. I can connect both my iPad and my iPhone as a back up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Tracking and Trekking

  • By David W. Smith, Sr. from Pewaukee (KUES) on Wednesday, November 19, 2014
  • Pros: Bad Elf Utility is also easy to set-up and match with iPad and iPhone.
  • Cons: None noted.
  • Review: Easy, intuitive set-up instructions. Seamless matching with iPad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Chris from Colleyville TX USA on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to use, long battery life
  • Cons: None noted
  • Review: Worked immediately and in different aircraft to include commercial airliners.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad elf pro, A GREAT unit

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Pros: Small, Long battery life, will easly last through a 14hr flight
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Good, prompt, service from "mypilotstore.com"
    I have used the bad elf from sea level to 40,000 feet,in Europe, Canada, USA, Japan, Korea, China and Australia. Fast to lock on to its position and a snap to pair with. Battery life exceeds 24hr with data logging off. I would recommend the Bad Elf pro!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Rob from RANCHO CUCAMONGA CA USA on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
  • Pros: Quick acquisition of Satellites, holds signal
  • Cons: Rear USB port cover (falls out too easily)
  • Review: Exceeded expectations; was also owner of the Bad Elf dongle GPS and the Pro is much improved and has more features. Worth the extra $$.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice item to have anywhere you go.

  • By Jon from Beaufort, NC USA on Thursday, November 21, 2013
  • Pros: Small, compact and reliable.
  • Cons: Need to remember to recharge after prolonged use (>25 hrs)
  • Review: I am very pleased with the Bad Elf Pro. It augments my iPad when I am out of cell coverage with very accurate data. The Bluetooth feature makes it very simple to use anywhere without all the wires. It's a great addition to the cockpit, car or boat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Check compatibility

  • By Sean from Bend OR USA on Monday, July 20, 2015
  • Pros: Accurate location, outstanding customer service
  • Cons: Waiting for Apple
  • Review: Product works great, unfortunately I could not use it for the first month I had it due to an apple update on my iPad. Once Apple resolved the issue the GPS receiver synced flawlessly with foreflight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great 99% of the Time

  • By SeaWolf from Key West FL USA on Friday, September 25, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Occasional Signal link loss
  • Review: I use my Bad Elf flying mounted on the aft cockpit window. Unit works great and lasts all day. I have noticed and occasional loss of position in Jepps FDPro while taxing. Unable to determine if the problem is the bluetooth link or satellite signal. I also use a Bad Elf on my boat for navigation with iNavx. Works very well
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works great & intuitive

  • By Ari from Tucson AZ USA on Wednesday, December 11, 2019
  • Pros: works great as standalone & in combination with smartphone/pad
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Very easy to use, connected bluetooth in no time.  With BadElf I will buy WiFi-iPad instead of more expensive cellular-iPad and have better performance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Let's my iPhone work like a Garmin area

  • By Larry from ORO VALLEY AZ USA on Thursday, July 30, 2015
  • Pros: Right out of the box, easy to set up and works great.
  • Cons: Battery life...carry extras.
  • Review: I wanted to buy a Garmin area 500 for my airplane, but quickly figured out that my iPhone running the ForeFlight app, using the Bad Elf bluetooth GPS was the perfect combination, for much less money. The better solution is an iPad, which will let the software and hardware be fully functional with all options.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Bruce from Severn MD USA on Saturday, January 28, 2017
  • Pros: light, accurate
  • Cons:
  • Review: Does everything you expect it to do. I've matched it with my iPad and Foreflight and it works great. Matching was easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reliable Product

  • By John from Puyallup WA USA on Wednesday, July 29, 2015
  • Pros: Easy and reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I have used this product over 10 times. It is easy to set-up, power on, sync with both my iPad Air 2 and iPhone 6.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It awakened my iPad 2

  • By William from Fernwood ID USA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Pros: What I expect from gps locator/tracker/buy again
  • Cons: A carry case would be a plus
  • Review: It is accurate and out performs gps assist in other iPads.
    The cover is a bit weak.
    Would like to see a more substantial tether.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What a little great GPS!

  • By Garystal from Groveland FL USA on Sunday, March 23, 2014
  • Pros: light, accurate and easy to use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great little GPS. Fits great around the neck and not intrusive. Very Accurate. Use it with iPad mini and iPhone (backup) using ForeFlight. Just great. Strap latch was broken upon arrival but fixed it.....no big deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Allan from Santa Margarita CA USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
  • Pros: Good price, simple product
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Quick to connect via blutooth. No problems to report.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great product

  • By Len from Troy MI USA on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
  • Pros: works as advertised
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Flew from PTK to ORF at 16,000. Tracked true the entire trip and back again. Worked as described
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Stisfied

  • By A Customer from Upper Chichester PA USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Pros: Works, great Service.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: So far the product works perfect and no reason to expect anything different. What's even better as the outstanding service when I ordered the product. I got t two days faster without any additional shipping costs than could have gotten at the much more famous supply store in OH. Very satisfied customer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By A Customer from Plano TX USA on Thursday, January 16, 2014
  • Pros: See above
  • Cons: Cover for charging port fit is loose and does not stay in place.
  • Review: Worked perfectly with the new Ipad Air right out of the box. Excellent reception anywhere in the airplane. Doesn't need to be on the glare shield or on a window.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Absloutely brilliant.

  • By Wayne from Whangarei Northland New Zealand on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
  • Pros: Does everything they say it does and very easy to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Would strongly recommend to anyone
    Terrific battery life
    Use it in my R44 with ipad
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Vint from Lander, WY, USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: Informative display and easy to use with iPad/iPhone
  • Cons: Display lens scratches too easily
  • Review: This is a very nice product and works well on day hikes for recording my path in and out of the forest (desert, etc.). I hang this around my neck so I can easily read the time and altitude but found that the display screen gets light scratches from swinging side-to-side across my shirt or sweatshirt (no buttons). Other than the rare need to reboot my iPad and restart this device, it does everything I expected and all without draining the batteries in my iPhone/iPad to run their gps logging features. :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Ray from Bath PA USA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
  • Pros: Portability and battery life
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great battery life, great signal strength. Works perfectly with the non gps iPad minis--
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great if you you need it but it is a bit pricey!

  • By Jay from Wachapreague VA USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: The unit hooks up quick and is accurate....
  • Cons: THE SCREEN IS TOO SMALL and the polarization cf your sunglasses conflict and you cannot read the screen with good sunglasses.
  • Review: It does everything I need it to do. I use it for my IPad for the boat INAV and for the car, Copilot. It might be a little slow once in a while but usually you are where it says you are.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Item!

  • By Rick from Pattersonville NY USA on Thursday, October 06, 2016
  • Pros: Perfect for flying!
  • Cons: The IPhone built in gps is better for local, like GeoCashing.
  • Review: Easy to connect to your IPad. Works great with Jepps FD! Great tool for SA.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By XAVIER from ARES GIRONDE France on Monday, March 12, 2018
  • Review: Reliable and helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Ed from Santa Rosa CA USA on Monday, October 10, 2016
  • Review: Excellent performance world wide. Great battery life, over 15 hours on a single charge so far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Lampasas TX USA on Thursday, March 12, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Operating buttons are some time hard to tell if they have actually been pressed, rubber coated an no distinct click or action.
  • Review: I uses it with Jeppeson Flight Deck pro loaded on a MS Surface 2, works great. Ran the BE Pro 2200 once for about 21 hours on a single charge, better then advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Battery life is awesome

  • By ezweepay 172 commando from Nashville TN USA on Monday, June 20, 2016
  • Pros: long battery life, strong bluetooth, perfect for i pad mini w no sim
  • Cons: its not free!
  • Review: i have a red dot and this, this outlasts the red dot 8 times over on battery life. much more raw satellite data for you extraterrestrial satellite fanboys and girls. it looks funny but it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great with iPad and iPhone and Foreflight!

  • By Scott from South GA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: Much more convenient than Bad Elf. Install and blue tooth sync is a breeze.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this GPS.

  • By Andrew from Auckland Auckland New Zealand on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Pros: Small, lightweight, robust, easy to use.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a great product, I had it connected with my IPAD minutes after unpacking it and it has worked brilliantly since then. I sit it on the side window of the aircraft and it locks on in minutes and then tracks for the entire flight which is often over 11 hours on oceanic routes. I use the APP Pilot Map ($99) for tracking.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it said it would.

  • By Mel from Las Vegas NV USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Review: It worked beautifully with an Ipad2 and Rand McNally RV GPS app.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Working fine!

  • By A Customer from Monclova OH USA on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
  • Review: Gave me information needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great

  • By Dan from Broussard, La on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: Bought this to replace a Dual unit that would not work in our Falcon at altitude. Works like a charm. We have had three devices hooked up at once. Really like the logging function also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great GPS. Definately buy again!

  • By Jimh from Niederwald TX USA on Monday, May 16, 2016
  • Pros: Size, functions, battery life
  • Cons: Cant replace batteries
  • Review: Everything works as described. Battery life is even greater than expected or advertised. Laynard is a lil goofy, the quick disconnect clasp can come loose. Easy fix but moderately annoying while hiking. Great addition to Iphone/pad etc. Highly reccomend MyPilotStore for this purchase, cheapest around by far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied customer

  • By A Customer from Jefferson City TN USA on Thursday, June 14, 2018
  • Pros: Easy to use and connect via Bluetooth.
  • Cons: A little hard to read info on the device itself.
  • Review: Very easy to use and performs exactly as advertised. Accuracy is very good and it's very easy to connect via Bluetooth. Excellent situational awareness tool that works great with ForeFlight. Highly recommended for a low cost GPS solution.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product - Definitely Recommend

  • By A Customer from Amarillo TX USA on Monday, September 09, 2013
  • Review: Very good GPS! Paired with all my devices! Easy to read display and all information you need! Took several trips without having to recharge! Still don't know how long charge will last! Maybe forever!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does just what you'd expect

  • By Scot from Monterey Park CA USA on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
  • Pros: Easy, accurate, very inexpensive Nav with a WiFi iPad.
  • Cons: So far, just the failed port cover design.
  • Review: Bad Elf's pre-sales support, and then their product were both excellent. I utilize it with my WiFi-only iPad as a motorcycle and automotive Nav system, coupled with TomTom. Easy to setup and use.
    But, sorry Bad Elf, as of Mid-2013, your port-cover is a failure. It is poorly designed and fitted, and will not stay in - and I guarantee that it is pushed in all the way (I use the "Extra Strong" rock-climber finger crunch for hand exercise).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

HAK

  • By HAK from California on Sunday, September 15, 2013
  • Pros: 24 plus hours use, nothing comes close.
  • Cons: Needs a silicone carry boot. Occasional burp.
  • Review: This while not the prettiest unit smokes everything out there. Wish it had a silicone holder for the birds dash. The 24 battery life just blows every ones mind. It puts the original Bad Elf to shame. Had it hiccup once in awhile but a reboot usually fixes the issue. Would buy one again if need be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simply Delivers

  • By A Customer from Midland MI USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Pros: Simple Device Operation; Trip Recorder; Simple Integration to iPad
  • Cons: Power Port Cover
  • Review: This product delivers exactly what it advertises: GPS functionality for my iPad. It is small, has a long battery life, and integrates into the iPad extremely easily. The app has a simple map tool but it integrates into my other mapping tools easily too. I epecially like the trip record mode. It can show me simple things like actual trip routes, traffic patterns, or practice patterns. It is great to see where I am not making proper wind corrections. It is pretty much hands-free during flights and that allows me to focus on other things. The only draw-back is the dumb design for the charger port. The plastic does not grab the opening and is always hanging on its tether. Very minor annoyance though. I have also found it to be fun to use in non-aviation activities (walking, boating, driving) too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great!

  • By Chris from Knoxville, TN on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
  • Pros: Works perfectly
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My Pro froze once while flying, but after contacting tech support, they said they knew of the issue and had just released a firmware update. I did that, and now e unit works perfectly all the time. I've had it running for 10 hours one day, and the 12v trickle charger I use to recharge my gel cells had the Bad Elf recharged in less than 4 hours. The app that comes with it really works well. It checks for firmware updates and installs them via Bluetooth, plus the trip can be viewed in google earth or emailed. I couldn't be happier with my Elf!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING PRODUCT!

  • By TIMOTHY from NEW CUMBERLAND WV USA on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
  • Pros: Quick Connection. Multiple devices. Wireless. Battery life.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The Bad Elf Pro is amazing. It locks on to the satelites quick and stays connected. I love the screen on the front too. I like that I can have my ipad and iphone connected at the same time. Battery life is excellent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not an aviation enthusiast or pilot but LOVE this device!

  • By Cathy from Vonore TN USA on Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Pros: The pros are all listed above. Affordable and user friendly.
  • Cons: Can not really think of any
  • Review: I apologize in advance to all the aviation people reading this. Much respect to you!
    I am a trail rider with a great GPS app that I could not read on my phone. I have an I Pad that is WiFi only and was trying to figure out how to get good gps. I found this VERY affordable and USER FRIENDLY device. I am now the champ of reading where I am, where I want to go, and how to get back to where I am parked.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great!

  • By john from Marco Island FL USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Review: I love it. Thats why I have two. One in the south ie Marco Island and one in the north thats Lake Huron and the North Chanel. You service upon purchase was fast and delivery quick. I would recomend your service to anyone and in fact i have done that already.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied with purchase

  • By Gary from Gilberts IL USA on Thursday, September 21, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Worked well during flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the $ !

  • By Carson from Clifton CO USA on Sunday, January 27, 2013
  • Pros: Reliable, Consistent, Inexpensive and worth the investment.
  • Cons: It wasn't free.
  • Review: We operate our C-421C at FL180 to FL240. Before the Bad Ellf Pro, our ForeFlight and Flight Guide iEFB were somewhat unreliable and "Off" at times. With the B.E.P. we now have a very reliable, consistent and GOOD input signal and have experienced NO glitches in our systems. The battery has long life and the B.E.P. has been operating as advertised in all respects.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joseph-Remos G3 pilot from Sumter SC USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Has been excellent so far with an IPAD 2, 32 gig.
  • Cons: Instructions are a little meager-could use a tip info sheet.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what's expected and more.

  • By A Customer from Medford NY USA on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
  • Pros: Outstanding performance, extra features
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Concerning the things you expect the unit to do, provide a good GPS receiver and feed multiple Bluetooth devices it does very very well. What wasn't expected was how well it provides data as a stand alone logger. Plus it plays well with the very competent mobile device software. All in all I couldn't be happier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome!

  • By Michael from Henderson NV USA on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
  • Review: Had bad elf plug in before and upgraded to iPad mini so decided on bad elf pro is awesome with my garmin pilot program and is also incredible as a stand alone device. Thank you bad elf
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, reliable

  • By A Customer from Mountain Home ID USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: Simple, reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to use and always works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the price.

  • By Kenneth from Northport NY USA on Thursday, June 20, 2013
  • Pros: fits in a pocket or hags around your head on a lanyard.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great battery life, especially if left in a flight bag for a month or more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Purchase

  • By Joe from Chattanooga TN USA on Wednesday, October 03, 2018
  • Review: Ordering was easy, product priced right, and easy and delivered. Product works as advertised. The ordering process and product are as promised. I wish everything else in my life is this efficient, proficient, and easy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very effective instrument

  • By Martin Daniell from Port Ludlow WA USA on Tuesday, September 19, 2017
  • Pros: Compact and accurate
  • Cons: Speed measurements vary by 1/2 knot while steaming at a steady speed
  • Review: I use it to provide location data to my I pad. It works as advertised.

    I don't like that the latitude and longitude are expressed in decimal form. This makes it difficult to reconcile Bad Elf positions with other devices which display degrees, minutes and seconds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad Elf GPS

  • By A Customer from Houston TX USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: needs mounting hardware
  • Review: Great product easy setup, connects everytime so far
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very helpful assistant

  • By Tom from Bellingham WA USA on Tuesday, May 30, 2017
  • Pros: Long battery life
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: I purchased the Bad Elf to assist with test flying my Experimental and for it's logging capability. It's first duty, however, was to help me cross the US and back by providing Bluetooth GPS for my iPad for turn by turn guidance. Altitude and bearing was dead on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Missouri USA on Wednesday, January 25, 2017
  • Pros: price relative to stratus
  • Cons: no ads-b in
  • Review: I haven't used it a lot but it meets expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad Elf Is a Great Elf

  • By FLYDIVEMDV from Mililani HI USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Pros: Compact, lanyard makes it easy to wear around neck.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was a skeptic but finally had a chance to use the Bad Elf during a short cross country flight around the Hawaiian Islands. It worked perfect without any signal drops and the battery keeps a strong charge. I highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product a Must have...

  • By David from New Smyrna FL USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I used the Bad Elf on a Sailing trip to the Bahamas this year.. It worked great when we where out of cell range.. It was nice to be inside the cabin and be looking at the ipdad on the charts... It would also be very helpful to have it in a Ditch bag..A Must BUY...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works exactly as advertised

  • By Dan from Louisiana USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Pros: See above
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It replaced two other GPS units that would not work above about 38,000 ft in our Falcon. Works just as advertised. Long battery life. Multiple devices hooked up at once. Highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performs as advertised

  • By Jeff from Sacramento CA USA on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
  • Review: I love the small size and minimal battery drain. Functions work very well and transition to Bad Elf App gives good an accurate accounting of trip.  The waterproof feature has yet to be tested. The electrical cover on back is a bit loose indicating water could enter unit if not careful. Fantastic customer support.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best GPS device for pilots

  • By Mark Eaton from Moorpark CA USA (KVNY) on Tuesday, September 12, 2017
  • Pros: All good
  • Cons: Not found one yet; doesn't do weather but for the price, it shouldn't have to
  • Review: Battery lasts forever! Small, tough and works like a charm!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use

  • By matt from Lincoln NE USA on Thursday, June 29, 2017
  • Review: Took a few minutes to calibrate. After that it syncs great with flight plan.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Charles from New Braunfels TX USA on Sunday, April 24, 2022
  • Review: My company-issued iPad has spotty GPS performance resulting in ForeFlight position accuracy of typically 65m or worse. Bad Elf Pro instantly tightens this performance to 5m. The battery lasts for an amazingly long time, too. I am a charter pilot and recently, after using my Bad Elf Pro for a full day of flying, accidentally left it in the plane and powered on overnight. The battery was still strong the next morning and the unit continued to function fine throughout another full day of flying. I highly recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Bad Elf Pro model is all I needed, would buy again

  • By DJ from Massachusetts on Sunday, April 18, 2021
  • Pros: fast satellite capture, good accuracy, nice iPad integration, 5 Bluetooth connections, good water resistance (no holes)
  • Cons: Manufacturer could make a more tight fitting cover for the USB charger port. For on water use I'll will add a layer of water resistant tape to ensure no salt water get on the connector.
  • Review: Bad Elf better than I expected. All my mapping apps come alive on my 6th Gen iPad. For on the water use the BAD Elf Pro is the way to go too. Shipped and delivered faster than expected. Very satisfied with the product and mypilotstore.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I absolutely love this product!

  • By Michael from Haverhill MA USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Accurate and precise. Works as advertised. Works great with ForeFlight Mobile or any other navigation app on your iPhone/iPad, etc.
  • Cons: When you power it on, it sometimes takes several minutes to lock onto satellites. Even if you're standing outside in the open.
  • Review: I bought the Bad Elf Pro GPS to be used with my ForeFlight Mobile app that I run on my iPad Mini when I go flying. It works as advertised, especially when used with ForeFlight. I've already used it on several flights and it actually saved my neck once.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad Elf with Surface Tablet

  • By Frank from Fallbrook CA USA on Sunday, August 02, 2015
  • Pros: Accuracy, ease of use. Love that the power switch must be held down for several seconds before powering up. No accidental turn ons while being stored.
  • Cons: Bluetooth connections can be randomly tricky.
  • Review: Very happy with this product. The only issue I have is with the Bluetooth connection. It seems to randomly drop and then reacquire. Sometimes I will have to turn the app or the GPS unit off and then back on for the connection to resume.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By William from Ferndale WA USA on Friday, June 06, 2014
  • Pros: Works
  • Cons: Charger door
  • Review: Tried this after mixed results with the Garmin GLO. This one hooks up to the apps and ipad with no problem. Works faster if you link the device and then open the app. The Garmin GLO was a device that I couldn't trust. Had issues linking to the iPad. No way to know how much battery life was left.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Crandon- Instrument student from Windsor CA USA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Pros: Works well, long battery life
  • Cons: Plug cover doesn't stay in without being held in somehow.
  • Review: This GPS has worked well. I have been using it for about a month or two. The plug cover in back is loose and I have to wedge it in with a small piece of plastic to keep it in- poor design. But otherwise I have been very happy with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the $

  • By Rene from Senoia GA USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2015
  • Pros: love the lanyard, its easy to find a place to hang it.
  • Cons: Can easily lose signal with few sct
  • Review: Im a Flight Instructor in GA, and use this daily. So I have lots of experience with this product. Wx is fairly decent these days here, however I have noticed that even a few sct clouds can affect the signal. When I don't see the airplane position, I look up, and have noticed that clouds are nearby. Of course as soon as I fly away from clouds, the signal comes right back. So, not terrible signal coverage.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent.

  • By Jay from Oakland CA USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Pros: Just works, lasts long, good software integration on i-devices.
  • Cons: Mounting options a bit sparse, usb port cover is slightly loose.
  • Review: I like this device a lot, I'm only dinging it one star as it's not perfect. It's flaw? the usb port cover. As others have noted, it's not quite big enough and tends to fall open, and is unlikely to form a seal even just up to IP 67 (splash proof).

    But other than that, it's painless to run, the battery is long lasting and can be backed up with a usb charger, and the software works.

    The user interface is pretty good, given that it's resource limited (LCD and a few buttons). But generally the only thing I'd ever use that for is turning on tracking. Otherwise it's basically turn on and leave alone. I would check that the LCD backlight isn't on during the day, but that's easy enough.

    The real user interface is via the software app anyway, and it works with foreflight, cloudahoy, and of course the bad elf app, as well as google maps etc.

    I would like to see more mounting options for it, but since I have a 3D printer, I'll probably just make one and post the file.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Peter from Wellington, New Zealand on Sunday, August 03, 2014
  • Pros: Low cost, great performance, easy to use.
  • Cons: The cover to the USB port is utterly useless.
  • Review: Great value for money. Locks on to satellites very quickly. Absolutely no hassle getting this device to work with my iPad - it simply could not be easier. Very stable, the displayed values are very smooth, they do not jump all over the place as sometime is the case with the iPad without assistance.
    The only criticism has to be the cover for the USB port, which will not stay in place, no matter what you try. Did no one pick this up in pre-production, or was the cost of getting this right too high. This one dreadful feature detracts from what would otherwise be a brilliant product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dave from Modesto CA USA on Saturday, February 06, 2016
  • Review: I wish I have bought the plus version for better Russian satellite reception
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great GPS with one exception

  • By Torben from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: Fast boot up and precise.
  • Cons: Over 2000 feet off when flying at cruise on every single flight
  • Review: I am a captain for a major airline and use the GPS with my Ipad so I get a moving symbol on the map on the Ipad. Now, everything is correct exept altitude. Once at say 35000 feet, it always shows an altitude which is at least 2000 feet too high which is not acceptable in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for IPAD

  • By Joseph from KENNESAW GA USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: Good quick solid sat lock.
  • Cons: None depending on APP usage.
  • Review: Bought unit to use with IPAD and FLYQ EFB. At outset all worked well. I got a position status of 10 Meters both vertically and horizontally.Things changed after using it with the EFB program after a couple of weeks. Initially, I could not get the EFB program to see the GPS. Later I only got a position of 165M horizontally. I was told to turn on airplane mode and it should help but if I do that it turns off blue tooth. The Bad Elf with blue tooth then does not communicate. Good unit but I guess the plug in unit would be the way to go if you plan on using it with the EFB program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice

  • By Gary from Rapid City SD USA on Friday, January 25, 2013
  • Pros: The data of the unit is an excellent upgrade
  • Cons: The port cover comes out by itself, kind of a nuisance .
  • Review: It met my expectation so far. It was a bit difficult to pair to my iPad but that may have been operator error.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Pleasant Hill CA USA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Should be called the Good Elf

  • By Shaun from Sobieski WI USA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
  • Pros: Great battery life, small size, fast start up and satellite acquisition
  • Cons: No rubberized surface or holder. Slides around the glare shield
  • Review: For a small unit, this product is packed with features. It has a very fast start up and acquires satellites faster than my previous GPS. The data logging is not a feature I use but it is nice to have that option. Battery life is fantastic. The only down side is the lack of a mount or rubberized back so it doesn't slide around the glare shield. You can hang it from your neck or hang it somewhere in the cockpit but I would prefer to have a mount for it. Would give it 5 stars if it had a mount or rubberized back.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

staff is awesome

  • By A Customer from Oshkosh WI USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: staff/ease of use
  • Cons: n/a
  • Review: This product works great!!! I did have a problem with it but you know what the support staff is great, always helped me walk through all the issue I had
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Works well and easy to use

  • By Mark from lehigh Valley, PA on Monday, February 25, 2013
  • Pros: Solid construction / GREAT customer support / works as advertised
  • Cons: Needs a non slip holder and the power port cover keeps popping out
  • Review: I bought this to use with foreflight and ipad-3g because my ipad would keep dropping the signal.  I've use the bad elf pro a few times now and it works without any problems. It stays locked on to the signals and I really like the information being shown on the display screen.  I had to contact customer support and they got back to me within minutes, Very pleased with the fast response.  Only thing i would want is a rubber type of holder to keep the unit from slipping around.  Glad to have it , very pleased overall.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cool GPS nav aid

  • By A Customer from Stuyvesant NY USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: Easy and long battery life
  • Cons: Does not show location on Jepp approach charts
  • Review: You have to set it up ahead of time so as to not distract you from flying the aircraft. Works great with iPad, but can have a bit of problem keeping up on the map while going plus 500 knots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

IOS 8.3 issues

  • By Darren from Alexandria VA USA on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: None at this time
  • Cons: Doesn't work yet
  • Review: Purchased product not knowing it does not currently work with Apples 8.3 IOS. So, it is a light weight brick until bad elf and apple work it out. I'll update my review once it works and i go on a flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Accuracy issue

  • By CHRIS from Plano TX USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Jumpy in data points. Inacurate for pilots. Maybe I got a bad one
  • Review: My iPhone is much more acurate. Altitude is off by a couple hundred feet. WAAS mode doesn't seem to help accuracy. I think I have tested it enough to know by now. I won't recommend Bad Elf.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not impressed

  • By A Customer from Redmond WA USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: At least it didn't cost more
  • Cons: See review. Perhaps it's defective.
  • Review: The GPS searches for a very long time to discover satellites. It breaks lock with my tablet frequently, sometimes for an hour at a time. It needs to be re-paired frequently, but often does not show itself to be discoverable. Problem is with the Bad Elf. Others I am traveling with have the same problems discovering it or holding a lock to it. Would not buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

bad elf/bad elf pro

  • By Jim from Bedford TX USA on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Review: Bad elf original - sticks out of ipad, doesn't stay locked on
    Bad Elf Pro - doesn't stay locked on
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Connection to iPad unreliable

  • By Greg Cessna 206 from Springboro OH USA on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
  • Pros: Nothing,
  • Cons: You expect it to work and it doesn't. Can't screw around on plane.
  • Review: Received the Bad Elf Pro, downloaded the app and it would not connect. Emailed Bad Elf they gave me a number of things to do (updates, settings, etc.) none of them worked. They do not have a support phone number. Threatened BadElf that I would return to MyPilotStore if they did not contact me within 24 hours by phone. 20 hours later got phone call. They had me do other magical things and it worked, and said I should have no more problems. One week later on a trip outbound it worked. On the return trip it did not. Fiddled with it for at least an hour in the plane (had copilot). A day later I spent another hour attempting to connect the two (both units said they were "connected" but it would not display on the map and none of the readouts would display (heading, speed, etc.) Everything fully charged. Is not reliable enough for me to use on my plane. If you are going to try it I would suggest having backup plan out and ready for use. Attempted use with SkyChartsPro.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Doesn't Work

  • By ben from Waterford VA USA on Thursday, May 16, 2013
  • Review: We followed both the instruction manual and the app. The iPad shows the Bad Elf bluetooth and the receiver shows a GPS signal. Unfortunately, the airplane position is not shown on our JeppView.

    The second problem is there is no customer support. Jeppesen can't help as it's not their product and I can't find anyone to talk to on our issue.

    I wish I could have tried it before purchasing.

    This seems to be a product for GA and not jets.

    [Editor:  For support, please contact support@bad-elf.com or call 860-233-1526]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad elf 10 Degrees off from my Garmin 650

  • By Shelley from morrisville NC USA on Sunday, April 07, 2013
  • Pros: breadcrums, battery life
  • Cons: freezes, gives wrong direction.
  • Review: So I tried this atleast 2 times before I went ahead and post a bad review.
    Good :
    I moved from DUAL XGPS150 just because this can connect to 5 devices and I use 1 ipad and 1 Iphone and keep 1 ipad reserve (call me crazy, but I live to fly another day)
    Breadcrums : This GPS can log a track to review later on. Good for review (however I think cloudahoy has taken this to a new level)

    Good Battery life , No worries, It hold the carge for a long long time.

    Bad:
    I fly from KRDU and fly a warrior with a Garmin 650 (IFR certified). At all times I keep the Bad Elf hanging from sun visor so it has full access to the sky above (good reception). I have 10-11 satellites in picture and atleast 9-10 are connected.

    My garmin 650 would show about 9-10 Degrees difference(more) from the bad elf. I would put my trust in the Garmin. 9-10 degrees difference is a lot. I thought bad elf was giving me the magnetic north and not the true north as I was close to the 9 degree West variation line but this is GPS it is supposed to show me the true north.

    Secondly, I had it on the warrior dash for a 2 hour flight (spring, OST on the ground was 50F), the bad elf froze (it was showing last known coordinates) It would not shut down, none of the buttons would work. It was slightly warm to the touch (not hot). I left it as it is about 2 hours later I was able to shut it down and restart it. You cannot remove the batteries from this so good luck of you are solely relying on this for GPS coordinates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.