TOP

Reviews for Dual XGPS150A Bluetooth GPS Receiver

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

This is a very good receiver.

  • By James from Salunga PA USA on Friday, June 02, 2017
  • Pros: Strong receiver, app that shows health of battery etc...
  • Cons: I wish it had a bit longer battery life
  • Review: This Bluetooth GPS receiver connects flawlessly to my iPad and has worked very well. The reason I only give it 4 stars is because I wish the battery life was a little better. I get about 6 hours from a charge, so make sure you have a way to charge it always. I also like the app for it that shows the health of the unit.
    Overall, I am very happy with this unit and I would recommend it whole heartedly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use

  • By Kevin from East China MI USA on Friday, September 23, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use, economical
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product was easy to use and link up with the iPad. I use FltplanGo and it seems to work fine, although I am not expert enough in technology to know if it is much superior to the iPad's internal GPS. I have never lost a GPS screen or signal in the 8 hours I've used this receiver.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Delivers As Advertised

  • By Jeff from Columbus OH USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros: It deliveres a stronger GPS signal.
  • Cons: I wish it had a better battery depletion indicator.
  • Review: This GPS receiver boosts the capabilities of my iPad II so my Foreflight app is more reliable which is why I purchased it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works fine

  • By Charly from Sarasota FL USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2015
  • Pros: I like the accuracy
  • Cons: Size (height) is uncomfortable for stowing it in flight suit
  • Review: Works fine with my iPad mini using it for helicopters. Good value for the Price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works

  • By Joseph from Louisville KY USA on Monday, July 27, 2015
  • Pros: Works great with Foreflight
  • Cons: needs opening in rubber case so the recharge cord can be connected easily without taking it out of rubber case
  • Review: Hard to turn on and off. Took me awhile to find sweet spot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Fine

  • By Tom from Olalla WA USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Pros: Does what it is suppose to
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works great, no issues. Wish it had a standard cell phone charging plug.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Kerry from Marco Island FL USA on Tuesday, March 13, 2018
  • Review: This product met my expectations for the program that I am working with which is Garmin BlueChart Mobile. The description of my position is not a 100% precise on the chart but enough to be very helpful no doubt about it !!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Convenient to use

  • By F. Craig Albright from Gilbert AZ USA on Monday, April 17, 2017
  • Pros: Small, easy to use
  • Cons: Only connects to a single bluetooth receiver
  • Review: The product works as advertised and is simple to use.

    The only think preventing a 5 Star rating in my opinion is the product's inability to link to more than one bluetooth receiver at a time. Thus, multiple pilots in the cockpit cannot use the device at the same time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dual gps receiver initial experiences

  • By oran from Warren PA USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: does what it is supposed to
  • Cons: can't think of any aside from mentioned
  • Review: I've been using the receiver with my iPad3, for a sum total of 4 hours so far. Strong Bluetooth connections, likewise with a wide variety of satellite signals. The Dual Receiver seems to work best when it is lying flat, its back down, on a sturdy surface. Put differently, red knob facing upwards. Otherwise signals weak or nonexistent.
    It does not work with each and every gps iPad application, so trials are best when used first, and only purchased later when compatibility is confirmed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michael from Yorktown VA USA on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
  • Pros: No need to physically plug into Mini, quick to find sattelites, recognizes applications
  • Cons: Does not seem to find otherapps
  • Review: I use it on a Mini 1,without 3G and it is great! Easy to connect to Fore flight, and usually gives reliable information. However, it will not connect well to Cloud Ahoy or Glide Path. Not sure why.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good unit

  • By Rich from Naples FL USA on Tuesday, July 28, 2015
  • Review: I use nobeltec TZ on an apple I pad for marine navigation. The Dual allows me to turn off cellular data, the data doesn't work 5 miles or more offshore or down in the ten thousand islands area anyway.  The Dual should have a larger battery.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product.

  • By Jason from Palmyra PA USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Review: I used this for the first time on a 150 mile cross country. Worked as expected. Amazed that the charge held for 4 hours +. I forgot to turn it off and came back to the plane and still got us home. Crossed checked with the garmin gns430 looked the same.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well

  • By chris from Superior WI USA on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
  • Pros: Simple to use with both Android and Ipad/Iphone
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: Works as advertised. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 is I have not used it enough to know about battery life.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard RV7 driver from Colorado Springs CO USA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
  • Review: Works well! Battery charge didn't last as long as I expected in the heat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Floyd from Millsap TX USA on Sunday, February 22, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Met expectations, have no problems and works very well
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far so good

  • By Mark from Bradenton FL USA on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
  • Pros: Ease of operation
  • Cons: Battery loses charge quickly after a few days.
  • Review: Only used it once which explains the 4 stars and not 5.
    Fully charges in about 2.5 hours but seems to lose its charge quickly over 1 week so be sure to check the charge before you need it. Be sure to download the free app which gives you an instant read on your signal and how much battery remains.. Easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

DUAL XGPS150A in a 757 over the NAT or WATRS

  • By Glenn from Astoria NY USA on Monday, February 04, 2013
  • Pros: small, easy to place,
  • Cons: weak battery life
  • Review: This is a good product. It performs as expected. I am using it for North Atlantic and WATRS area. It works from taxi out to taxi into the gate and up to FL 400 (40,000). Its important to have it plugged into an external battery. I use this in conjunction with Jepps and and IPAD 2.  For 100 dollars a great value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Gregory from Martinez GA USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
  • Pros: Small for factor
  • Cons: Battery life
  • Review: It works, just as advertised. I use it on a Motorola Xoom and Ipad Mini.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well-designed unit

  • By Ron from Vashon WA USA on Monday, November 12, 2018
  • Pros: Size, ease of operation, value.
  • Cons: Sometimes my IPad loses connection with the receiver while in flight.
  • Review: A basic unit that is simple to operate, easy to store, and that does the job. I've used it for about six months in 150s and 172s that are owned by our flying club, coupled to an IPad mini, running IFly GPS. This is my first gps receiver, so I have nothing to compare it to in actual use, but it has worked well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as described

  • By Sky Capt - Josh from Alpharetta GA USA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Pros: easy to charge, easy to sync with my ipad, long battery life
  • Cons: no battery gauge on the unit
  • Review: I bought this GPS, sync'd it to Foreflight on my iPad, and then flew from PDK to EDN the next day. It worked great. There was only one time when I noticed my icon jump on the screen. I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Lawrence from Gig Harbor WA USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Jesse from Pawleys Island SC USA on Friday, September 26, 2014
  • Pros: It works and appears very accurate
  • Cons: It has to be taken out of its anti-skid holder to charge. No good way to tell how "full" the charge is
  • Review: Once configured / paired with my tablet (and android helper app) it quickly reconnects and finds itself. When compared to the aircraft's installed GPS the position is spot on every time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it's supposed to do

  • By Ken TR182 from Minneapolis MN USA on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use and works all the time.
  • Cons: Battery life could be longer.
  • Review: I'm a pilot who uses this GPS with the iPad. I've used it for a few months with no problems. I used the GNS 5870 for 6 months and had plenty that the Dual doesnt appear to exhibit like won't shut off, locks up and doesn't broadcast a location.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Dual GPS is singularly excellent

  • By Jeff from Canon GA USA on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
  • Pros: Solid construction and good GPS connection
  • Cons: another thing to charge...
  • Review: Easy set up and quick and consistant GPS connection are best features. Wireless in nice. Just set on the glare shield and forget.... remembering to charge it is another thing.... very nice product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AS PROMISED!

  • By David from Jackson MO USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros: Easy bluetooth connection. Better reception and faster refresh rate.
  • Cons: Battery life shorter than the IPAD's
  • Review: I have a IPAD 1 with the built in GPS which worked poorly in the airplane and not that great in the car. The Dual XGPS150 Bluetooth GPS Receiver has greatly improved reception of GPS signals.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gerald from Salinas CA USA on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.