TOP

Reviews for Dual XGPS150A Bluetooth GPS Receiver

Sort By:
Filter By:

Will not work at high altitudes

  • By A Customer from St. Joseph, Missouri on Saturday, February 23, 2013
  • Pros: Works as advertised below 39,700 feet.
  • Cons: Will not work at the altitudes where we fly!
  • Review: It works just fine until we climb above 39,700 feet. When we hit that altitude it stops providing any location information. It still shows that it is connected however. We use it in a Learjet Model 45 and always fly at 40,000 feet and above. So this does not work for us. Contacted the manufacturer who informed us that they were aware of the problem, that it was the chip used in the unit we had and we were instructed to return it and they would ship out one with a chip that would work at higher altitudes. We had to pay shipping to ship it back. A replacement unit arrived about a week later. Same problem. It quits providing location information at exactly 39,700 feet. Their answer was to ship it back again and they would replace it. Every time I send it back it cost us another $20.00.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.

3 star rating is generous

  • By A Customer from Washington, D.C. on Friday, March 29, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Not completely reliable
  • Review: The device frequently has problems pairing up with my ForeFlight-equipped IPads, sometimes taking 20 minutes or longer for the IPad to recognize the GPS unit. I often have to reset my IPad's network settings, which results in all my stored network connections and passwords being lost.

    The device, despite being charged for hours, often will register under 90% percent battery life upon startup.

    The unit has failed on two separate occasions in flight, both times at low altitudes while navigating in controlled airspace.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Inconsistent signal

  • By Jeff from Mount Juliet TN USA on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: Indicates position on charts!
  • Cons: Undependable signal
  • Review: With the unit on top of the glare shield, it takes a bit to begin working (showing your position on the chart). Once it begins working, it will from time to time, stop showing position as though it's not receiving the satellite signal it needs. When it works, it's an incredible tool, showing your position on sectional charts, approach plates and low altitude enroute charts. Just don't depend on it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Has trouble in a jet

  • By Richard from Tempe AZ USA on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
  • Pros: Small good battery life
  • Cons: Dosn't work in an airliner
  • Review: It works perfect in my plane, but it does not lock onto the satellites in an airliner. I updated the firmware which was supposed to fix the problem, but it still does not work reliably. It will show good SNR on 8 or 9 satellites, but no fix.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

drops out with no warning

  • By A Customer from Honolulu HI USA on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
  • Pros: Allows georeferencing between islands in Hawaii, which the iPad mini doesn't
  • Cons: Georeferencing stops with no indication of a problem
  • Review: I fly in Hawaii between islands.

    Without the XGPS150, there would be no GPS coverage between islands with the assisted GPS in the iPad Mini and the FlyQ program from AOPA and Seattle Avionics. That's a good thing. The georeferencing stopped at the edge of Oahu when flying over water without the XGPS.

    Here's the problem. While the FlyQ georeferencing now works between islands, I have to keep my eye on it as the plane will stop moving with no warning. Another problem is the heading shown on the FlyQ differs significantly (as much as 90 degrees difference) from the direction the plane is pointing in the georeferenced sectional. It works on the instrument approach procedure.

    Here's how I know this. I have a Garmin 296 which has NEVER had any such problems between islands in the last 4 years of using it. The Garmin indicates my georefenced position to cross check the FlyQ and the XGPS. The Garmin and the XGPS sit side by side on the glareshield so it's not a problem with satellite signals. The XGPS shows many satellites in the setup with strong signals, so it's not a loss of signal problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works OK Some Time

  • By Alex C from Macungie PA USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Review: Works ok, but loses contact way too much. Would be nice if more than one device could hook up thru Bluetooth at the same time. Would be nice if it had a suction cup for attaching to windows. Overall a decent device.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dual GPS adequate

  • By Val from Santaquin Ut USA on Saturday, June 16, 2012
  • Pros: Consistent tracking everywhere
  • Cons: Limited information
  • Review: The GPS does a very good job of tracking location and has a very good battery life. However, I was under the impression when I purchased it that it would also provide some weather updates. I use it with my 3G -wifi IPad 2. My iipad tracks almost as well the GPS does, even when the 3G is turned off. When my 3G is on and am within range of a Cell tower, I get far better information.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am not sure

  • By Adil OZGUN from Jamaica NY USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
  • Review: Before I bought the other one gps reciever the little black one . Nowadays I tried to use the XGPS150 via bluetooth but one or two times it connected properly, except these usage the reciever made me mad because of it showed 2 or 1 gps satt. , I dont like this reciever , I am not sure about it works well or not.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.