TOP

Reviews for Vertex CT-96 Headset Adapter for VXA-220 , VXA-300, and VXA-710

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By DARRYL from DAVENPORT IA USA on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Review: Does the job it is supposed to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well done!

  • By Willard from Leavenworth KS USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Pros: Great quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Vertex is known for quality products. This adapter is among the best designs I have seen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works with my VXA-700 just fine

  • By Richard from Nokesville VA USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros: Works
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It was exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect!

  • By Dan from Walnut Creek CA USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Professional
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Precisely what I was looking for!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would be this again

  • By Robert from Greene NY USA on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Pros: fits as good as original adapter
  • Cons: None at this time
  • Review: Met my expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Mistaken connection

  • By R Britton from Aylesbury U.K on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
  • Pros: Seems to do the job
  • Cons: Rubber shroud around plug conceals the threaded connector and is easily missed.
  • Review: I thought I had a problem with the headset connector (intermittent) until I realised it is not a push fit in the handset socket but must be screwed fully home to ensure a proper connection(and weatherproofing. As to its durability, only time will tell.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Decent Quality

  • By Ed from The Villages FL USA on Thursday, November 29, 2018
  • Pros: No loss in audio quality
  • Cons: The two Jack's are on a rather long connector which necessitates t them being connected together.
  • Review: This audio CV able screws into the handheld and it splits into two cables for your headset. I used a velcro strap the keep the plugs next to each other. I use the cable preflight when checking ATIS ane then it remains attached to the handheld as an emergency backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

VXA 220 headsert adapter

  • By Rock from Alamogordo NM on Friday, September 14, 2012
  • Pros: Handy
  • Cons: Fragile, wire breaks at strain relief
  • Review: Good while it lasted
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Third time's a charm

  • By Barry from NJ USA on Monday, October 17, 2011
  • Pros: supports very good radios.
  • Cons: poor quality
  • Review: I purchased this extra headset adapter to use while I was sending back the defective one that came with my radio for warranty replacement. But the first extra one I purchased was also defective in the same way (an intermittent short at the strain relief of the 1/4 inch socket). Fortunately the replacement for it is ok. I'm still waiting for the replacement for the original one from Vertex.

    If you search online you'll find reviews from others experiencing similar issues. Either the design or workmanship is flawed. But it's the only option for what is otherwise a very good radio at an attractive price. Just make sure you check it out as soon as you buy it, and be prepared to send the headset adapter back for warranty replacement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

it should be redesigned

  • By flyingjester from Shelocta PA USA on Monday, June 06, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: too simple
  • Review: This headset adapter should be redesigned. It will not take any stress at all. the weight alone from the plugs and the headset plugs does something to the connection at the radio. It needs to be beefed up. poor design
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Vertex could/should build these a lot better.

  • By George from Sandy UT USA on Monday, July 11, 2011
  • Pros: It worked long enough for me to make it better.
  • Cons: Poorly made product. Take some time to reinforce the wiring around the plug heads or it will soon short out.
  • Review: The CT-96 adapter that came with my radio developed a short within a few uses and Vertex wouldn't replace it, so I purchased another one here and used heat shrink tubing and expandable mesh to reinforce the thin junk wiring so it wouldn't short out the flimbsy wiring again. My new and vastly improved version will last and last. Why can't companies build things well to begin with. Hmmm, maybe I should start my own company.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By R D from Cypress CA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: It is available... I don't know of alternatives.
  • Cons: Needs attention to get audio reception thru to headset.
  • Review: This is my second adapter for the 710. The first one, after plugging in I had to pull back on the audio plug to get a connection on the audio side. The new one I still had to pull back slightly to get a good connection. I tried both on SoftComm and Lightspeed headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.