TOP

Lightspeed Sierra Headset

  • 67 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Lightspeed Sierra Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:

Great value for the price

  • By wheelsoffin45.blogspot.com from Ohio on Friday, June 13, 2014
  • Pros: Works as intended at almost half the cost
  • Cons: Ear muffs split at the seem after 2 years
  • Review: I purchased my Sierra headset almost 2.5 years ago. The do what they're supposed to at half the cost of a Bose A20 and almost $400 less than the Zulu. I've tried the Zulu and I really didn't notice a difference. The Sierra also fit my head much better. They only thing that has happened to them is that after 2 years the ear muffs split at the seam, so I had to purchase a pair of ear seals for $20 to replace them. If you're looking for an ANR headset and you're on a budget, I definitely recommend a Sierra.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Doesn't fail to please

  • By Jack from Perth WA Australia on Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • Pros: Speakers, Comfort, Noise reduction (PNR, ANR)
  • Cons: Must be fitted very well to gain full benefit of noise reduction.
  • Review: As this is only my second headset I've used, the other being the cheap "village bicycle" at the flying school I can't really compare against to many other high priced headsets. However the sierra definitely has high quality sound speakers with every word sounding like it comes out of your car stereo speakers rather than a static filled VHF of usual. Its super comfy, I have worn it for 2.5hours at longest and ever thought about it sitting atop my head. Noise reduction is fantastic, quite often I haven't turned the ANR on till part way through my flight as the passive is that good. When you do turn the ANR on you the world goes all but quite. My only complaint is that you have to have the headset fitted well to get the best benefit from it. Even a little offset and the nose reduction noticeably reduces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I WOULD BUY THIS PRODUCT AGAIN---WORTH THE MONEY

  • By AEROTAT from Vallejo CA USA on Monday, June 11, 2012
  • Pros: Comfort and Clarity are Superb
  • Cons: Intermitent & Scratchy on intercom=but the fault was traced to bad aircraft mic plug receptacle.
  • Review: I have only used this headset on one flight in my Cessna 120, so have not yet used all of the features.  So far, it meets all my expectations.  Comfort is outstanding, and clarity excellent.  Both Lightspeed and Mypilotstore people are helpful and courteous.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this headset again

  • By Alexandre from France on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I used this headset twice. The microphone did not work during the first flight. I think this is the audio panel which was not configured. For the second flight, that was amazing. Very comfortable and we forget the headset. I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Tomas I from Argentina on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: price / quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I am very happy with my purchase, This product has a very good relationship price/quality. The only diference that I could find with the Zulu.2 was that the bluetooth it only works with the telephone, in order to listen music you must use a cord.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very comfortable, good value

  • By Andrew from Cedar Rapids IA USA on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
  • Pros: Comfort, ease of setup, sound quality.
  • Cons: Mike can pick up outside noise every once in a while.
  • Review: This headset is much more comfortable than my previous headset. It is easy to adjust and stays put during flight.
    The bluetooth was easy to set up, however I admit I have not taken a call in flight yet, so I can't comment on the call quality. The adjustment of the volume for each ear is nice to have. Noise cancellation works pretty well, though sometimes I pick up some aircraft noise (engine or outside wind) on the mike. I have also noticed a slight high pitch oscillation when near an airport with radar, not sure if it was somehow picking up something there.
    Overall the sound quality is good and this headset is a good buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good headset, but doesn't fit my head

  • By Jianing from Santa Clara CA USA on Monday, March 14, 2011
  • Pros: sound quality, noise reduction.
  • Cons: fits too loosely
  • Review: I was happy with the sound quality and noise reduction, but the headset fits too loosely on my head and there's no way to adjust it. The headset actually fell off my head during a takeoff roll just as I was rotating. After talking to Lightspeed customer support I upgrade to the Zulu and I'm happy with it so far.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset (unless you're using a handheld radio)

  • By Piper Cub Pilot from Lancaster CA USA on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Pros: Comfort, quiet.
  • Cons: Can't Tx with handheld radio unless you purchase ferrite beads.
  • Review: Great Headset! Only one thing wrong. I use a handheld Icom A23 and my transmissions are not heard by ATC (Rx is fine). Lightspeed recommended trying Ferrite Beads and they seem to work. Not sure why they don't just put them on when they build the headset. Otherwise, very comfortable & quiet with great bluetooth & mp3 playback capability.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very nice headset

  • By Todd on Friday, August 09, 2019
  • Pros: quiet, good sound and build quality
  • Cons: Bluetooth connection is a bit more difficult than others but overall works fine
  • Review: This is a very good headset with sound quality and build quality similar to the David Clark DC-one -X that I already have but for less money. The Bluetooth switch must be held for much longer than the manual claims to activate its feature. Other than that. I would recommend to anybody.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jerry from Mc Alpin FL USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Review: Headset is good however no control / battery holder not good. Don't like it dangling about. I bought a holder off ebay. Was never told how to obtain info for XM radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good headset

  • By Stephen from Howell MI USA on Saturday, January 18, 2020
  • Pros: Did not fatigue ears and had good sound attenuation
  • Cons: A little pricey but not when compared to other high end ANR sets
  • Review: I was surprised the headphones were as comfortable as they were. They did not fatigue my ears after an hour long flight even though they felt a little heavy out of the box. I really appreciated the active noise reduction since this is the first set of ANR's that I have purchased. Wow what a difference. The gain sensitivity of the microphone needed to be adjusted somewhat but it was very easy to do after removing the microphone muff, popping off the small cap and turning the dial. I haven't played with the Bluetooth function yet but that wasn't the primary reason for the purchase. I was looking for a relatively inexpensive ANR set that my wife felt comfortable with after a long flight. Mission accomplished. A good headset without totally breaking the bank.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Its GREAT!... ect for one little thing...

  • By christian from metairie LA USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: great sound..fits my bid head, and is light
  • Cons: I cant get the mike to work for the (on the ground phone call?)
  • Review: It did what I needed.. crisp clear & souds great & didn't cost a grand +
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product.

  • By Andrew from Haines City FL USA on Wednesday, September 09, 2015
  • Pros: Light, clear audio, comfortable .
  • Cons: Bag is total rubbish and only fit for the Bin.
  • Review: Very Good Headset. Light and comfortable and a great price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

High-end headset at mid price

  • By A Customer from Bangkok Thailand on Tuesday, August 14, 2018
  • Pros: Bangs for the bucks
  • Cons: Nothing really.
  • Review: It would get 5 stars from me if it were only 12 oz. The sound quality clarity is great. The ANR is very good in reducing engine noise and still allows me to hear the engine operates. I am sure those highend headset are marginally superior, but at thispricepoint, it is very good for sport flyers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Russell from Pelion SC USA on Friday, August 24, 2018
  • Pros: Comfortable. ANR works well.
  • Cons: Bluetooth volume is a little weak for my old ears.
  • Review: Quality ANR headset for the money. Very comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.