TOP

Reviews for Comm1: IFR Radio Simulator CD-ROM

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome

  • By DANIEL from Bay City MI USA on Friday, September 02, 2016
  • Review: Com 1 is awesome - helped me immensely
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

an informative training tool

  • By Morris from Moss Point MS USA on Thursday, January 09, 2014
  • Pros: plenty of exercises
  • Cons: none so for
  • Review: When I listened to my first response, I knew that I needed to get better - both in VFR and IFR communications. I think that this program will accomplish that.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

GREAT COMM PRACTICE

  • By jaime from Boca Raton FL USA on Monday, January 28, 2008
  • Pros: Saves you lots of flying time and ups at the mike
  • Cons: non that I can think of
  • Review: This is a great IFR comm simulator, but it goes the extra mile and teches you more than you expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By RICARDO from Boiro (A Corua) Spain on Thursday, December 23, 2010
  • Review: It's a perfect comm simulator for a foreign pilot like me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Very helpful

  • By JdA from Marina del Rey CA USA on Wednesday, December 19, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to follow. Makes you talk and you can listen how you sound
  • Cons:
  • Review: I was going through IFR training and found it very helpful. English is not my first language and radios are more challenging to me than they are for US natives. It felt a bit goofy at first to talk to the computer, but it really made it for me. I managed to get comfortable with ATC instructions such as clearances, approaches, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Arlington VA USA on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Review: Very well done.  Great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

One of the best investments towards my pilot license

  • By Simon A. from Benson NC USA on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
  • Pros: Very simple to use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The product is very accurate and similar to the real life situation. It's like talking to ATC with the option to rewind and reply at your own pace. Love the voice recognition, and the simplicity of the program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Terrific Training tool

  • By A Customer from USA on Saturday, February 23, 2013
  • Pros: Very affordable. Works fine on Windows 7; 64-bit laptop.
  • Cons: Having to load the disk every time I use the software is a bit inconvenient.
  • Review: Haven't flown IFR in a while and this was just the review I needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Elizabeth from Dallas TX USA on Wednesday, October 15, 2008
  • Review: A great learning tool!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Domenico from Baltimore MD USA on Thursday, February 09, 2017
  • Pros: easy to use
  • Cons: little bit more training cases
  • Review: It's a useful tool to build confidence on communication skill.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Tool

  • By A Customer from Thomasville PA USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Pros: Great learning tool
  • Cons: Could stand to be updated
  • Review: This is an excellent resource, however it would be nice if an updated version for glass cockpit were made available.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product but some minor faults

  • By Bill from Cincinnati OH USA on Tuesday, January 13, 2009
  • Pros: Great Information and Learning Tool
  • Cons: Won't Allow Fast Fwd and Rewind
  • Review: The content is excellent with very well thought out and detailed explanations of communication scenarios. My only complaint is that with each section you cannot skip forward through the lesson and only work on the practice. If the practice would allow you to fast forward and rewind through sections I would rate the product a solid "5"
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must for all pilots planning to get comfortable using the radio..

  • By Brian from Santa Ana CA USA on Sunday, September 13, 2009
  • Review: It has been a wonderful way to practice using the radio in the comfort of my home where I can recognize my mistakes without embarrasing myself over the airways.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thorough examples of different scenarios

  • By Savvas from Oakland CA USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Pros: Covers a variety of situations and procedures.
  • Cons: add a fast forward option
  • Review: Would be good to be able to fast forward
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

just ehh!!

  • By ken from Brooklyn Center MN USA on Friday, June 26, 2015
  • Pros: helpful
  • Cons: too pricey
  • Review: Over priced, great idea! But needs updating.  For 80 "smackers" I expected more. Should be an on-line version for a less expensive price and immediate use. For eighty-some bucks they should include copying clearances.  If you have money to toss around good to have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good in concept, dated in it's application

  • By A Customer from Florence KY USA on Sunday, June 26, 2011
  • Pros: In depth situations, easy to review, communication breakdowns
  • Cons: No fast forward, Responses can be read, simulated radio tuning
  • Review:

    This is very helpful simulator in that it teaches you proper radio etiquette and what to expect in just about every situation. It would be nice to have the software updated with current ATC phrases (i.e. Line up and wait) but this is minor.

    The software forces you to read through the responses and to pick/say the correct one, thus limiting you ability to "know" what to say and allowing you to just read what you see. (This won't help you to be able to communicate effectively in the air.)

    A multiple choice option makes you unable to just speak your responses and compare it during a debrief to a professional pilot.
    The simulated "tuning of the proper freq" that makes you may be good for beginning pilots, but adds another step that isn't learning what to say and what to expect in the IFR communication environment.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Salvatore from Atwater, CA on Saturday, June 25, 2011
  • Review: I give this 2 stars because it doesn't work on macintosh OS X. I have used Comm1:VFR radio simulator which is great, and this is probably just as good, just doesn't work on my Mac computer. So, Mac owners beware, you will need to have Windows on your Mac using something like parallels or bootcamp to use this product on your Mac Leopard or later, or figure out how to run your Mac in classic mode, which I'm still trying to figure out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.