TOP

Reviews for Comm1: VFR Radio Simulator CD-ROM

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

GREAT PRACTICE TOOL TO HONE YOUR COMM SKILLS

  • By MARK from SIMI VALLEY CA USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: HELPS TO HONE COMM SKILLS IN ALL AIR SPACES
  • Cons: WISH I COULD SHOOT FROM THE HIP AND GET A REACTION WTHOUT PROMPTS
  • Review: While there is nothing out there that is responsive to your voice inputs, this is the closest thing to the real thing to help you communicate the right way with ATC, or other traffic UNICOM,MULTICOM, class A,B,C,D,E, OR G airspace, FSS, towered or non-towered etc. This program covers all the scenerio's from emergency to normal with all the correct terminology. I've been using this program since the moment that I received it. As a result of using this program...my comm skills have become more fluent and correct, and so has my confidence in using the radio's and talking to ATC. I fly out of Van Nuys Ca. "KVNY" a very busy airport, so there is a lot of radio interaction with ATC and So-Cal APP. with mode C active. To sum it up...the money I spent on this program was well worth it, and there is no way I could get as proficient at communications in such a short time without this program. SAFE FLYING TO ALL!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool!

  • By Anita from Palm beach gardens FL USA on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Pros: Teaches solid communication skills - helps eliminate 'mike fright'
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: I have tried other communication courses and this is by far the best for nailing standard radio communication phrases and techniques.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Felix from Keller TX USA on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Sometimes have to repeat a call
  • Review: Does the job of training very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice product

  • By Craig from Lucedale MS USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Pros: Works like I expected and more
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought the VFR version and it covers everything associated with vfr flying. I think they should come out with a app for the iPad with this software, could use a bluetooth headset then and a lot of pilots and students are using the iPad
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Should be updated for current standards since copyrighted in 1997

  • By Reggie from Gastonia NC USA on Friday, October 12, 2012
  • Pros: Clear and practical examples of communication techniques.
  • Cons: I believe this to be 1997 technology. May need updating
  • Review: I like the practical examples and the different situations where radio use is needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Sarah from Sarasota FL USA on Wednesday, December 07, 2011
  • Review: Its a very good training software.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool for learning and practicing

  • By Renato O. from Cambridge MA USA on Thursday, March 19, 2015
  • Pros: Informative. Practical. You can listen to and, if you want, read the lessons.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great product. There are good and clear explanations and examples, and then you can practice recording your own voice. As English is not my first language it is particularly useful for me. But I really think this product is suitable even for native English speakers, since it is a learning tool for a specific technical subject: radio communication.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By ALFRED from Los Angeles CA USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Review: It met the expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I would recomend Comm1 to any student pilot, even if they had a great CFI

  • By Frank W. Dicorte from China Spring, TX on Friday, August 31, 2007
  • Pros: covers every aspect of radio conversation in all airspace.
  • Cons: I am sure there are a few but not to my knowledge
  • Review: The Comm1 Radio simulator surpassed all of my expectations. I highly recommend you purchase the Flight Simulator headphone adapter also, it makes the simulator much more enjoyable.
    I have had my Private pilot Certificate for many years, and never have had the confidence to make me feel at ease talking on the Radio. Comm1 has given me the confidence to fly into a controlled towered airport.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Help me in improve radio communication a lot.

  • By Chumanus from Bangkok Thailand on Thursday, May 15, 2008
  • Pros: Good simulation lesson.
  • Cons: Screen does not adjust according to screen resolution.
  • Review: Easy to install. Good lesson arrangement and pratice simulation lesson. I have improved a lot. My mic fear is gone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good product, but a tad pricey.

  • By William from Okatie SC USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: It often didn't think I spoke the whole phrase and I had to repeat it being careful to hold down the mic button extra long.
  • Review: It gets a little tedious after a while, but all-in-all I think it is helpful in reacclimating an older pilot into the current communication styles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By shaun from fontana CA USA on Monday, February 08, 2010
  • Review: This has been a tremendous help in comunication skills.  Comm1 IFR is next on my list.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Rather B. Flyin from Baltimore, Maryland on Tuesday, November 14, 2006
  • Review: This software helped me out tremendously with my radio calls when I first started flying, especially since I fly from an non-towered FBO located right in between B.W.I and Washington-Regan airport which are both class B's. I can't stress enough to student and private pilots how great of an investment this software is!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best product on the market

  • By Fred V from Norcross GA USA on Monday, June 14, 2010
  • Review: I believe it is the best product on the market. With this product you wil gain confidence. It is not cheap, but it is worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A big help!

  • By Christian from Del Mar CA USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Pros: interactive, listen to your own voice and improve it next time
  • Cons: nothing !
  • Review: A big help for student pilot. One of the most difficult part of starting to fly is mastering radio communication. This simulator helped me a lot. It makes it MUCH easier to get familiar and even comfortable with that part of flying. This program explore all of what we need to know and forces you to practice, improve and master the technique.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Charles from Snellville GA USA on Friday, August 14, 2009
  • Pros: clear, concise, gives practice
  • Cons: cost a little high
  • Review: Met and exceeded expetations. Learned a great deal about airspace also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A definate "Must Have" for every pilot

  • By A Customer from Lawton OK USA on Wednesday, August 04, 2010
  • Pros: Good overall system that covers most any situation
  • Cons: Poor voice interpretation at times, not enough scenarios
  • Review: I have not had the opportunity to fly in some time, so when I got back into it, the thought of communicating with ATC with new phraseology was a bit intimidating. After using ths simulator, the CFI commented on how well I communicated during all aspects of the flight. The CD installs easily (I have Vista Home Ed - 64 bit system) and the program walks you through many scenarios. There were times that I could have said anything and the system would accept my response, then there were some times I said the responses perfectly but the system did not understand. Even with these small "technical difficulties", I would recommend this product if you want to learn to communicate quickly and easily with ATC or other pilots. Wish it had more scenarios to practice...it seemed a little quick, but works effectively.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Weymouth MA on Sunday, October 10, 2010
  • Review: Very useful, highly recommended during training to get comfortable with radio technique.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for beginner or for a "brush up"

  • By Ken from Plano TX USA on Monday, March 30, 2009
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: The interface could use a little updating
  • Review: Good idea for any student pilot or a more seasoned pilot that wants to brush up on thier radio communication skills.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best Airplane talk learning tool available

  • By David from Flagler Beach FL USA on Friday, April 17, 2009
  • Review: I actually understood it and found it very very useful as a new pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Anja from Konz Rheinland-Pfalz Germany on Monday, May 20, 2019
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I recommend this to students and rusty pilots

  • By Michael from Kennewick WA USA on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
  • Pros: Good Value
  • Cons:
  • Review: This was helpful getting back into the flying after a 25 year hiatus. I live in a rural area and will be doing a lot of cross country flying, again. Good refresher for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for Brushing Up!

  • By Amber from Portland OR USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Really easy to use and straightforward. Simplifies the information.
  • Cons: I wish that the "quizzes" had you talk without seeing the word phrasing to choose from. I feel because of that I don't retain as much of the information.
  • Review: This is a great product for practicing communication and getting a review on different airspace rules, nomenclature, phrasing, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for new pilots

  • By Ricardo from Durango Durango Mexico on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: It met my expectations, I get a clear idea about the radio comunication in the difrent class of airports,and it habituate my ear to listen and hear the information, Only some times failure the debriefing, I'll recomend to buy it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

COMM 1 VFR

  • By A Customer from Columbia MS USA on Saturday, December 03, 2016
  • Review: As a student pilot Comm1 VFR CD was very helpful for a beginner to learn what to say and when to say it. It was very helpful but the program could be updated it's a little slow so it takes some time to go through. That said I would definitely recommend it to anyone it will help get comfortable on the radio no doubt!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Richard from San Tan Valley AZ USA on Sunday, January 31, 2016
  • Review: It helped
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good program, easy to set up.

  • By A Customer from Carriere MS USA on Monday, August 19, 2019
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Needs tweaking
  • Review: Good program, took some "tweaking".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Burlington NJ USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use and effective
  • Cons: Outdated interface
  • Review: The interface is not fancy but the product does have excellent content and is organized and effective in conveying the concept of using the radio and was extremely helpful in my quest for my PPL.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Snow Camp NC USA on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Review: instant feedback, love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely useful tool for the student pilot

  • By A Customer from Buffalo NY USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Pros: Simple, well organized, concise.
  • Cons: Tuning the radio is a nuisance.
  • Review: For a student pilot, the product exceeded expectations. The program is simple to follow and presents the material in a standardized rationale format. It is an introductory product that will get the student pilot off and running. More experienced pilots can also use this product to bolster their radio knowledge. Having the opportunity to practice the calls live is essential in building confidence. Adding some interactive practice flights to towered and non-towered airports would increase the value of this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product, Could Use some some improvement

  • By Stephen from Cullowhee NC USA on Monday, April 13, 2009
  • Pros: Good Information, Good teaching tool, An example of almost every possible scenario
  • Cons: Could use multiple examples for more complicated topics (clearance delivery, class B airspce), no good self-review method
  • Review: This product does what it advertises, and has helped me with my towered communications. As a new pilot that spends most of my time flying in uncontrolled airspace, venturing into Class B and C airspace was intimidating. Using the practice found in this product, I feel much more comfortable than I would have without it. My one complaint is their presentation method works very well for teaching, not for reviewing or making sure the student has really grasped the information. Each communication has a "scripted" response that must be selected and read back verbatim. While this method is excellent during the learning phase, it does little to insure complete comprehension during review or extra practice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Santiago from Capital Buenos Aires Argentina on Monday, November 10, 2008
  • Review: Very good for training. As a spanish speaker, I can say this product really helps me to train on understanding radio controllers jargon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product!

  • By Jacques from Timmins, ON, Canada on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
  • Pros: Offers a playback of your voice after each exercise so that you can hear what you sound like.
  • Cons: Ocasionally the voice recognition is too sensitive or ot sensitive enough (but only very occasionally)
  • Review: It met my expectations exactly and does what they say it does very well. It really does help you get over mic fright and lets you focus on flying instead of worrying about radio work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Paso Robles CA USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2010
  • Pros: Informative and simple
  • Cons: Only problems were with my mouse not keying up at times
  • Review: I was very pleased.  It was just what I wanted.  I had been out of the system for years and needed familiarization and repetition...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A little antiquated

  • By A Customer from Pasadena CA USA on Wednesday, February 17, 2010
  • Pros: Informative, Effective
  • Cons: Antiquated, Old Software
  • Review: This product works quite well. It introduces the user to all types of ATC scenarios and instructs you on proper radio opperations...it just does it in a 1990 software environment. :/
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful tool!

  • By Pam from SantaCruzCAUSA on Wednesday, October 28, 2009
  • Pros: Good learning tool and great way to get to know the terminology.
  • Cons: Can't seem to record my voice.
  • Review: I like this product overall. I am not sure whether I have loaded it properly, but seem to have to put the disc in every time to use it, which I would prefer not doing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By C-152 Pilot from Marlboro, NJ on Thursday, February 15, 2007
  • Pros: Step by step structure, make it very easy to follow.
  • Cons: Exercise not flexible enough.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By R22 Student Pilot from Brooklyn, NY on Tuesday, March 06, 2007
  • Review: I am currently training for my VFR Helicopter rating and Comm1 VFR training program has been a great help. I use the program before every flight lesson and I found out that it has help me focus more on my flying instead of my radio communications. One thing that I wish that they would improve on Comm1 is to allow me to pick an airport so that all example and training scenarios are of my home airport and region. Besides that, it is a great program that gets me into flying mode when I am getting ready to train on the weekends.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

  • By Billy from Bentonville, AR on Saturday, February 22, 2014
  • Pros: Basic ATC protocols
  • Cons: CD had to be left in PC- no MAC version!
  • Review: Product is good and uses "real world" examples to get familiar with communication protocols but rote approach did become monotonous. I liked that it was basic ATC communications but not as interactive as I expected.
    I didn't like having to have CD in PC to use product-appears product's "sale technology" hasn't been updated to control "pirating". Overview it was good but far from great. Subsequently, I found Squawk VFR training CD which was excellent for an overview of VFR communications.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

VFR Radio Simulator

  • By A Customer from Fairfield OH USA on Monday, June 15, 2020
  • Pros: Good for familiarizing you with ATC verbage
  • Cons: Several technical issues, but still usable
  • Review: Ok, for getting you into the right phraseology, but I wasn't able to hear myself for the replay. Also, stopped using the debrief. Couldn't fast forward or reverse if needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Comm1 VFR Simulator is Colorful

  • By Dan Patterson from Mansfield, TX on Friday, August 10, 2007
  • Pros: Builds Confidence, Great Training Aid, Colorful
  • Cons: Priced too high for what you get
  • Review: Comm1 seemed to help a bit with my radio skills, by reducing the fear I have talking to the control tower, and making me feel more confident in my transmissions.
    I think the price for what you get is probably not very good, but it is a great training aid.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK Product With A Few Drawbacks.

  • By Timothy from Fort Lupton CO USA on Wednesday, May 12, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Does not run in windows enviornment. Limited content.
  • Review: I think this product is of value to the novice pilot suffering from "mic fright". It covers the basic situations one might encounter in different airspaces. I wish it had more phrases to practice. The feedback part of the program works well. I have MS Vista and the program ran fine although not in a window. It's organized fairly well. I just wish the program had more content. At $90.00 I think it should contain more "beef".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice, but limited

  • By Dan from Edgewood WA USA on Tuesday, November 02, 2010
  • Review: I suppose I expected a more complex program than what this turned out to be. Perhaps it's not realistic to create something better at an affordable price. This program does an acceptable job at presenting various communication scenarios, but each one has only a single example to work through. Everything is script driven, including your verbage, so at no time do you have to actually come up with the words on your own. Additionally, the interface is clearly several years old. It would be nice if it had been updated, though everything seems to function just fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helpful, but could be better.

  • By Michael from Whitinsville MA USA on Monday, August 23, 2010
  • Pros: Recording and Playback is good.
  • Cons: Obsolete interface. Not enough variety of scenarios.
  • Review: The product is helpful, but I feel it could be much more. The user interface is outdated, and there isn't enough variety to the scenarios presented. The ability to record yourself and compare that to a professional pilot is very helpful though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Misleading Product Name

  • By Richard from Los Angeles, CA on Monday, August 24, 2009
  • Pros: Good contents
  • Cons: Not really a simulator. Requires CD in drive all the time.
  • Review: This software is by no means a radio simulator. It is not much more than a recording of the the radio communications training. It does have a good coverage of all aspects of the airplane communications though. The software is kind of primitive. It requires the CD to be in the CD-ROM drive when running, so it's noisy and slow plus incovenient. It blocks the screen when running. The window can not be minimized. So it's hard to access other programs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not worth the price.

  • By Kasper from IrvineCAUSA on Friday, June 03, 2011
  • Pros: Contains a lot of realistic audio
  • Cons: The interface is a constant source of frustration.
  • Review: I was very exited to try this cd, unfortunately it failed to live up to my expectations. Let me get right to the point. The interface is horrible. The interface consists of a list of situations you can play through, and for each situation there are a number of steps you must complete in order to get to the actual radio communication. This gets exceedingly tedious. There is no way to jump to the part of the exercise that is relevant to you, the only choice is to go though it from beginning to end. Even if you previously started an exercise that you had to abort, you can't jump back to the point where you left it, you have to do the whole thing from the beginning.

    If I want to practice radio communication, the interface forces me to spend 80% of my time looking up frequencies in various publications and setting the radios. There is no way to bypass this and it is a waste of time. Don't get me wrong, it's great that this cd allows you to practice looking up important information, but it should be optional. You should be able to practice whatever you're having problems with and the other stuff should not get in your way. At the moment this is not the case.

    In addition to the poor interface design I also experienced technical hiccups. It happened several times that the push-to-talk button was released before I released the mouse button, or that I was told to 'read the entire text next to the button' even though I had done that.

    Such problems would be something you could live with if the product was free, but for $100, this is unacceptable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Needs Some Serious Updating

  • By Mike from Saint Louis MO USA on Thursday, April 01, 2010
  • Review: While this product does help the fledgling student pilot and perhaps helps certificated pilots to brush up on their comm skills, the graphics and interface are so outdated that it takes away from the overall learning experience. It is not intuitive, and clunky at best. At the price of nearly $100.00 it is clearly overpriced when most instructional DVDs a a third of the price. Perhaps the producers should take a look at the superior quality of Sporty's PPL series as a model and redo it. Then the cost would be justified and the learning experience enhanced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than nothing.

  • By Jeffrey from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: crashes,
  • Review: Product crashes a lot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Outdated Dinosaur Software

  • By Adrian from Brooklyn, NY on Wednesday, May 23, 2012
  • Pros: Didn't arrive on floppy disks.
  • Cons: Won't run on modern systems.
  • Review: The product hasn't been updated for modern computers. The minimum system requirements don't list any OS newer than 2009. It absolutely WILL NOT run on OSX that does not support Rosetta (10.7 or newer). Their other products don't even run on 10.4 or newer (look at the screenshots). Even the Windows requirements don't list Windows 7, which came out in 2009. The PC requirements are listed as 486/66 or better. There haven't been 486 PCs out since the mid 1990s. Save your time and money and skip on this piece of software until the manufacturer uses the revenue to update it to the modern age. Maybe if it cost $20 it would be worth it, but at $100 they need to keep it current.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I FEEL VIOLATED!!

  • By Andrew from Philadelphia PA USA on Monday, May 28, 2012
  • Pros: NONE
  • Cons: DOES NOT WORK WITH MACBOOK OS LION
  • Review: I read on the Comm1 website that this product would work on a macbook. I even called the company and they said sure it will no problem. Well I get the product and try it out and it won't even load on my macbook. Apparently, this type of application will not work on the newest version of OS software (lion). To be fair this version of OS had recently come out. Apparently PowerPC applications are no longer supported is the message I get. I called the company and while they were very courteous and helpful, they said it would take a few months to get the software to change. Unfortunately they would not take it back. While I believe they will potentially fix the problem in the future - I was not offered anything more or even an offer to provide me a new CDRom when they fix the problem. THIS PRODUCT DOESNT WORK ON A MAC WITH LION!!! So my options now are to get microsoft windows - (MORE MONEY)... So now Im stuck with software that will not work. I would have expected more from this company.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.