Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for APR's Professional / Military Pilot's Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product! Fulfills expectations.

  • By Daniel from Huntsville AL USA on Saturday, October 23, 2010
  • Pros: Fits very well. Easy to put on and take off in the cockpit. Holds note pad, pen, and logs with no problems. Very comfortable.
  • Cons: If not positioned correctly the yoke with hit it. No place for approach plates or charts. Will not stay on while walking.
  • Review: I am not a commercial pilot so my demands are less than others. For flying a 172 and a 182 this fits the bill. I use a FlyWrite note pad and APR VRF/IFR flight logs. It will hold the pen, note pad, and flight log with no problem. Fits my leg fine. It will not stay on your leg while you are walking. But is very easy to strap on once in the cockpit. I usually have no need for a tri-fold kneeboard but there have been occasions when having approach plates more accessible would have made things easier. With that being said, for point A to point B flights this kneeboard works fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

lightweight but sturdy

  • By firebird 511 from manila philippines on Wednesday, January 12, 2011
  • Review: It's lightweight and very reliable.  Flying is such a breeze with this product.  I recommended it to my colleagues
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

A Compact and Quality Kneeboard

  • By John from North Adams, MA (KAQW) on Wednesday, April 06, 2011
  • Pros: A great kneeboard if space is at a premium, but ranks high in any situation.
  • Cons: A little pricey, but worth it.
  • Review: An excellent and comfortable fit with the molded base and quality strap. Mechanical pencil and backup regular one both have their spots. I keep a few sheets from both the FlyWrite Note Pad and also the APR VFR flight logs, both perfectly sized, clipped on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again if I needed one.

  • By Ray from Henderson NV USA on Monday, May 02, 2011
  • Pros: Same as USN Issue
  • Cons: No light at top
  • Review: As a past USN Pilot, it is the same.  Could have the light at the top for night ops. though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Aaron from Wildwood FL USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By SAL from Las Vegas NV USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Pros: Fits the contour of my leg, well made, best one I have found.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: It met expectations. I like it fits wells.  A lot better than the flat ones they sell.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

APR's Professional / Military Pilot's Kneeboard

  • By Louis from Sacramento CA USA on Tuesday, September 28, 2010
  • Pros: Exactly and faithfully reproduced.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Exact duplicate of my USN kneeboard, long since lost. This is just what I need as a CAP "re-tread" pilot. Thank you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great!

  • By Rob from a Cirrus from Boulder CO USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Pros: sturdy, light weight considering it is all aluminum, holds what you need, comfortabl, compact
  • Cons: pencil holder on side is too narrow to hold all but a few pencil designs
  • Review: I am a retired naval aviator with a few thousand hours, and commercial and instrument tickets. I recently got the flying bug again and am working on getting current and remember why I love flying so much. Somehow I lost my trusty military kneeboard and saw this one from APR that looked a lot like it. It is somewhat smaller than the one I used in the navy, lighter and less bulky; all good things for the transition to a light GA aircraft. It seems sturdy enough and the few hours I ahve flown with it, I can say it holds things in place nicely. I don't think you could put a book of approach plates in it. I am very satisfied with it, considering the first knee board I purchased for GA use was a tri-fold design that seemed to be always in the way of something-it seems that GA cockpits are not as roomy as the multi-engine military aircraft I flew. If I have one suggestion to APR for a design improvement, it would be to enlarge the diameter of the pencil holder on the side so it would accomodate a typical ball-pont pen. I had to search far and wide for a mechanical pencil that would fit, and I have yet to find a retractable pen that fits. Maybe Cross pen would work
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid Construction with one concern

  • By Rob from Chicago - USA on Monday, May 23, 2011
  • Pros: solid contruction and leg forming
  • Cons: Sits too high off my leg with possible yoke interference
  • Review: I really like the solid construction and the heavy-duty clip at the top. It also has a lower, smaller clip. My only issue is the actual kneeboards height above my leg. Because of the leg forming structure, the actual board sits above the leg and the top of the larger upper clip is probably 2-3 inches above leg. I've noticed that it interferes with the flight controls because of its height. This would obviously depend on each persons seat height, but be aware of it. It's irrelevant if you have a stick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid but too big

  • By Calvin from Havelock NC USA on Sunday, October 10, 2010
  • Pros: Solid kneeboard
  • Cons: Soo long for helicopter use
  • Review: This is a traditional kneeboard. It was advertised for helicopter use. Unfortunately it is too long.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Knee board

  • By Nick from Spartanburg SC USA on Tuesday, September 20, 2016
  • Review: This one was poor quality in several areas. Gash in metal base covered over with paint. Bottom clamp too strong - design issue. Was true in original issue to military pilots. I corrected it by having one of our guys in metal shop add an extension to bottom clamp to provide needed leverage. Original had pencil sharpener in side. Useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.