Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for Gleim Private Pilot FAA Knowledge Test Guide

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Don't test without it.

  • By kq from Dayton OH USA on Thursday, September 12, 2013
  • Pros: Layout is easy to use and well designed.
  • Cons: Difficult to read some of the finer print on the maps.
  • Review: Excellent material/study guide for the pilot ground test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good study guide.

  • By jim super viking pilot from Oklahoma City OK USA on Monday, April 14, 2014
  • Pros: Questions just like test!
  • Cons: Their navagation correction way sucks! Do it the old way and quit confusing people!
  • Review: Questions were very much like the test!
    Gleim tried to fix something that wasn't broken! Figuring the MB in the E-6B! Stupid! The old way had one magnet correction, why would you want to do two? Totally screwed me up! Do it the "old" way and correct once!! Someone must have been trying to justify their job when they came up with this!!!!!! KISS!!!!!!! It's hard enough without this kind of stuff!!!!!!!! Made a 92 but screwed up two navigation problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim private pilot written exam guide

  • By eric l from Chester PA USA on Wednesday, October 19, 2016
  • Pros: Very easy to read
  • Cons: Wish the VFR chart graphics were better.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Peter from Olympia WA USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
  • Pros: Comprehensive
  • Cons: Not enough color graphics/images.
  • Review: The Gleim Private Pilot Written Exam Guide was comprehensive. However, students in our private pilot class convey an interest in the other courses which convey more colorful graphics explaining aeronautics.

    For example, Why show a PAPI in black and white when an image of what the colors look like in color could improve comprehension.

    Why not show the various airspaces in an accompanying image to the chart.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the Money

  • By NinePine from Holland MI USA on Thursday, April 18, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to review and test yourself.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Didn't have much of a choice, this is the book my instructor requires his students to use for his ground school. With that being said, still glad I got it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very helpful tool in written test prep

  • By Ryan from Mountlake Terrace WA USA on Tuesday, May 08, 2012
  • Pros: Format with answers/explanations next to the questions.
  • Cons: Some explanations could use more detail.
  • Review: Excellent format, with sections set up in a logical way. All the tested knowledge is in the beginning of each section, followed by the test questions. I really like having the answers and explanations on the same page, thus making it easier to review. Some of the explanations could be a little more detailed (especially those that basically just tell you the wrong answers are wrong without any detail). I highly recommend using this book in conjunction with other materials for full coverage of the knowledge areas.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product - works as advertised

  • By VFRHokie from Ocean Pines MD USA on Monday, January 31, 2011
  • Pros: portability (feels strange to say that) and the charts
  • Cons: yeah, the paper is flimsy but I'm not coloring on them! Seems pricey to me.
  • Review: Although the guide covers info available elsewhere, I liked the ease of having a book to read anywhere. Perhaps I am just old-fashioned.

    The best feature is a set of paper charts; I cut them out of the guide and was actually able to lay them on a desk and work on them. Trying to plan a flight looking at a screen is not my cup of tea.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Ellery from New York NY USA on Wednesday, October 07, 2009
  • Pros: Concise, Effective
  • Cons: Topics not covered in depth so other resources must be used
  • Review: This is a great study guide and I'm glad I picked it up. It doesn't go into too much detail on the subjects, it just gives you the key points you need to know for the test. This is good as it cuts to the chase, but this also means you need to complement this book with other sources. I use the jeppessen textbook and videos, as well as the KING videos as well. Also, the publisher (Gleim) also sells software which covers the exact same material as the book. I have both software and book... I suggest you purchase the software first since it offers tons (including practice exams, study sessions, etc), and then get this book if you feel more comfortable pulling out a book than a laptop all the time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great study guide

  • By Jenny from Michigan on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Review: Its a great study guide for the written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy this product again

  • By Richard from Roscoe IL USA on Wednesday, June 09, 2010
  • Pros: Short learning sequences
  • Cons: There is no fluff here
  • Review: Met expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth ever penny

  • By Mark from Mexico MO USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Pros: It is straight forward about teaching the Knowledge test without any extra distractions.
  • Cons: The question explainations are sometimes not explained enough
  • Review: It met my expectations and I will continue to use it. It is priced economically and it does what it is supposed to do, teach the knowledge test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not enough detailed information

  • By Duane from Houston TX USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2020
  • Pros: Lots of review questions
  • Cons: Not much in study material.
  • Review: There is very skimpy details in the narrative. But the multiple questions seem to open some doors of understanding. This book is a good review book for someone that has already taken other flying instructions from another source. I recommend this as a great review source, not a great basic training book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Allen from Apple Creek OH USA on Friday, December 11, 2009
  • Review: I like it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

convenient size book

  • By A Customer from Burlington WI USA on Sunday, November 06, 2011
  • Pros: Priced well, well written
  • Cons:
  • Review: Seems to make you hunt for answers at time which seem to help in remembering. Do not over do this. The book appears to be well written and enjoyable to learn with.  Thanks Warren.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well enough

  • By Dillon from Ocala FL USA on Tuesday, July 07, 2009
  • Pros: Works very well, inexpensive
  • Cons: Very, very dry reading, some concepts could be explained better
  • Review: The Gleim system works very well to prepare you for your test, but don't expect it to be very fun.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Written Exam Guide

  • By A Customer from Fort Walton Beach FL USA on Wednesday, July 15, 2009
  • Review: This Guide does everything I was looking for: all current FAA questions (on three different/similar tests), the answers, and the explanation why/why not for each; rules and methods in performance/knowledge areas. Everything I needed to prep for the test in a very practical manner; that's what I wanted, and got.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy this book again.

  • By Lawrence from Fremont NE USA on Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Pros: Liked the format layout
  • Cons: Too much advertising for more of Gleim products in the book.
  • Review: Liked the questions on left side of page, could cover up answers on right of page and not look and cheat. Also liked supplements next to questions. Many pages of ads for more Gleim books scattered thru book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Savannah Ga on Wednesday, August 11, 2004
  • Review: Clear and easy to understand explanations of the answers make this exam review a winner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.