TOP

David Clark H10-13X ANR Headset

  • 22 Customer Reviews

Reviews for David Clark H10-13X ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

ANC and durability

  • By Scott from Santa Fe, NM on Saturday, July 04, 2015
  • Pros: Excellent cost/feature balance; if the battery dies, it's still a H10-13 passive headset; excellent noise cancellation, comfortable for long trips, better microphone position adjustment than the H10-13.4
  • Cons: The on/off switch inevitably gets flipped on and drains the batteries (regardless of the auto-off) The solution is simply to remove the 9V battery after use; the tail cable from the battery unit had to be coiled up (new units seem to have a coiled tail from the start)
  • Review: I had been training with the flight-school provided basic H10-13.4. It did the job well and I note that it holds up well to heavy use. However, it didn't have ANR. I had actual experience with the Lightspeed and Bose A10 headsets, but I kept coming back to the basic design of the H10-13.4. The H10-13X is just a H10-13.4S passive headset with ANS -- what I was looking for -- and it does a good job of further quieting the droning noises that fatigue.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good product.

  • By Richard from Fairfax Station VA USA on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
  • Pros: Met all expectations.
  • Cons: Cords are pretty long, but I looped them and secured them with a zip strip to customize the length to my cockpit.
  • Review: Met all expectations. Very comfortable - my longest flight with it so far is a 2.5 hour hop. The headpad that has a space for the button on the top of a ballcap is very nice to have. Sound suppression without the electronic quieting turned on is outstanding - turn it on, and you are in another world. I fly a DA-20 which can get pretty noisy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comfortable and Work Great in My Airplane

  • By CRAIG from PASADENA CA USA on Thursday, July 29, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable (even on long trips), Perfect audio (both listening and speaking)
  • Cons: Minor issue: The cord is way too long
  • Review: I actually sold my Zulus to get a pair of David Clarks. I fly in an older airplane and there tends to be a lot of noise through the intercom system. The frequency response on these DCs is much smaller than the Zulus, so I no longer hear the high-pitched whine that I used to hear. In other words, these DCs performed exactly as expected. There are no "bells and whistles" with the DCs. Buy these if you want a well constructed, very comfortable headset that perform well in GA aircraft. If you want Bluetooth, music jacks, etc., then you'll probably find better choices. But for me, in my airplane, these are perfect!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Tried and True - Good Old David Clark

  • By David from Hyannis MA USA on Monday, August 04, 2008
  • Pros: Quiet, light and comfrtable. Passive attenuation is great, even when the battery goes dead! Sometimes I forget to turn on the ANC.
  • Cons: Occasionally one of the rubber ear muffs will fall off when I wrap the cord around the headset for storage.
  • Review: I bought my first David Clark headset in 1978. I have never been disappointed in the quality of the product or the support of the company. This newest H10-13X exceeded my expectations! David Clark - you've done it again! I've flown professionally for 31 years, from Twin otters to 767's and now back to Cessna 402's. This is one terrific headset!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best headset ever

  • By Harry from Eden Prairie MN USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: Works very well
  • Cons: A little spendy but worth it
  • Review: I have been using a David Clark headset since 1981 and wanted to try a noise cancelling model. The H10-13X noise cancelling headset works so well that I bought a second set after a very brief period. I also sent in the older headset and David Clark essentially rebuilt it for low money. Great company. Customer service should be this good in other industries.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

We keep buying them

  • By A Customer from Lincoln NE USA on Wednesday, March 31, 2010
  • Pros: Durable, noise attentuation, and repair procedures.
  • Cons: Battery usage.
  • Review: We were looking for a durable headset that would stand up to the bumping and thumping that comes with being deployed to Afghanistan, Iraq and Kuwait. These headsets are up to the task. Our unit has 14 of them and we have only sent a few in for repair. They are fixed in a short period of time and return looking like they were new.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Classic DC

  • By A Customer from Moreno Valley. CA on Thursday, March 11, 2010
  • Pros: Its a DC.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I just got mine back from Repairs. Works Great as always. They replaced a whole lot more than what it says on the receipt. I can tell, it's practically a new unit. And best of all, NO CHARGE. =)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

as advertised

  • By Gilly from Palm Desert CA USA on Thursday, January 06, 2011
  • Review: Sturdy, comfortable, and reliable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality Product

  • By Cody from Raymond MS USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: Clear sound, ANR
  • Cons: The ANR can block out all kinds of sound, but in the end is worth it.
  • Review: As a new student in the flight program at my college the David Clark headsets were highly recommended by all experienced pilots. After spending my time using these headsets I can see why, the sound is clear and the ANR feature helps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Liked the first one, so I bought this one

  • By Dave from Avon NY USA on Wednesday, November 08, 2017
  • Pros: Does the job.
  • Cons: The little ribbon is a bit too short to allow some rechargable batteries.
  • Review: Have very noisy cockpit. Good ANR is a must. This does the job without breaking the bank. Been using DC headsets for over 35 years, and like the product line.

    Been using my other one for 4 years, bought this one for right seater.

    Alkaline, and some rechargeable batteries fit OK, but some of the higher capacity rechargeables won't fit unless the little ribbon that holds the battery cover is cut.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset

  • By Christer from Julita . Sweden on Tuesday, March 24, 2009
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought this headset because I've tried David Clark headset before without ANR and I like how it feels soft on my head. This one is with ANR and you can really hear the difference when turning it on. I like it and can recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

DC H10-13X Review

  • By Brian from Tierra Verde FL USA on Thursday, April 03, 2008
  • Pros: Good passive noise reduction, effective ENC. Durable.
  • Cons: Like all David Clark headsets, it needs Oregon Aero upgrades to be suitable for all-day use
  • Review: I purchased this headset for use in a Citation Ultra, to replace a DC H20-10XL. The 20-10XL couldn't be fitted with Oregon Aero ear cushions, and the Oregon Aero fabric covers kept coming off. Also, due to the type of headband used on the 20-10XL, it was a bit too tall for me to use in the Ultra. Even with the seat at its lowest position, I kept bumping into the headliner. The 10-13X doesn't have any of those problems. Plus, it has the setting to turn it off when the aircraft avionics are off, which is a real battery saver. (The later 20-10XLs may have had that feature, but mine did not.) I didn't go with the DC X11, due to the number of bad reviews. Also, I was concerned about the passive noise attenuation of the X11 in case the battery failed, a number that David Clark steadfastly refused to disclose. So I went with the tried-and-true style, and, once you put the Oregon Aero SoftTop, cushions and covers on it, it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love the headset. Great value.

  • By Scott from Allen NE USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.