TOP

AirClassics HS-1A Headset

  • 129 Customer Reviews

Reviews for AirClassics HS-1A Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Really great headset!

  • By Brian from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Clear sound, feel nice.
  • Cons: none as of yet.
  • Review: Great looking headset, high quality and very clear!
    As a student the cost was great and surprised how well it works, im sure I will be using this for years to come.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great value

  • By Dan from Pilot Point TX USA on Friday, February 01, 2013
  • Pros: value
  • Cons: needed gel ear covers
  • Review: Great value, added gel ear seals much improved comfort.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent for the money. Got them for a starter but see no need to upgrade anytime soon

  • By Dewayne from Ellsinore MO USA on Friday, August 26, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to use controls
  • Cons: Sound canceling would be nice but then again, not their fault
  • Review: Fairly comfortable. I had to bend the metal frame a little, it had a little to much curve for my fat head but that's more my fat head's fault than the headphones. I doubt any others would be much better. Love the individual volume controls.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Cedaredge CO USA on Saturday, August 27, 2016
  • Review: The headset is working very well, noise cancellation, working . A very good headset. Quality built.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the Money

  • By David from Pahrump NV USA on Tuesday, December 13, 2016
  • Pros: Good fit. comfortable, clear audio, clear mic. Adjustable volume controls
  • Cons: Earcup size just a hair on the small side but gel replacements are available.
  • Review: I bought this headset as I'm just getting back into flying after a long absence and couldn't see spending $80-$1000. The first time I used these in the cockpit I could hear nothing from the aircrafts noises. The earphones were clear and the tone was great. The mic does a great job and is clear to the others in the cockpit. Adjustable volume controls on each side is a plus. I would purchase these again in a heartbeat, especially if you need something for passengers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, December 23, 2016
  • Review: Pros: Affordable, adjustable, good ATC communications.

    Cons: Uncomfortable on long trips.

    Great for the money. Good option to use as backup/passenger headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definatly a Student Headset

  • By Anthony C. from Prescott, AZ on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Pros: Good fit, easy to use, ear pieces are fairly comfortable, and Embry-Riddle Student Approved
  • Cons: Uncomfortable earpiece, and lack of compatable parts.
  • Review: When I began my search for my first headset, I knew that since the cost of flying is as much as it is, I needed a cheap headset, but fairly good quality. I knew from the reviews it was a beginner entry level product, and that was what I needed. Upon arrival I was excited to finally try my first headset, in the beginning it was comfortable, but as I started wearing it more and more, it got more uncomfortable, particularly on the headpad when wearing for over 2+ hours of flying. Otherwise, I love it, I recently ordered the gel ear pieces for increased comfortability, and will soon order a new headpad once one is available. Thanks you guys!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good budget headset

  • By Seth from Middleburg FL USA on Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • Pros: Good price and works well as a budget set
  • Cons:
  • Review: Works well and also keeps the noise out pretty well. For the price the headset performs very well. I can't see spending 500$ on a set of headphones that I'll just upgrade in a couple years when this 120$ budget set will do just fine for flying the small planes until I upgrade to the bigger stuff. If you buy this set then get the Gel earseals as well as they really make it a lot more comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product for the money

  • By Jeremy from Richmond, VA on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Pros: Inexpensive, great sound quality, good noise cancellation, good fit, not too tight
  • Cons: Adjustable mic gain would be nice
  • Review: I'm a student pilot, just starting out training. I wanted to get an inexpensive headset to start out with so I'd have a passenger headset once I purchase an ANR headset later on down the road. This has fit that bill perfectly, and while using it, I don't really even see the need for ANR.

    The headsit sits comfortably on my head (under 2 hour flights so far) and the sound quality is excellent. I don't have difficulty hearing radio calls or my CFI, and the mic quality is sufficient that it seems I'm always understood as well. I wish there was a way to increase the mic gain, as sometimes I have to speak louder than I wish in order for the mike to start transmitting. We don't usually change the squelch on the intercom, as my CFI does not have this problem with his headset, and increasing the squelch causes his mic to inadvertently transmit.

    Overall, I would definitely recommend this product to pilots starting out or on a budget.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value, adequate for budget pilots

  • By Keith from Katy TX USA on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
  • Pros: Value, good quality, made in USA.
  • Cons: Could be more comfortable.
  • Review: Sound and mic quality good enough for my use - working on IFR and occasional trips in C-172. Just took a xc total 15 hrs and occasionally was aware that my ears hurt a little, but not too much to stand, some readjusting helped. Clamping force is maybe a little to hard. I ordered the gel seals and I believe that gave me a little more room.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad for the money.

  • By Greg W from Ashton ID USA on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
  • Pros: Very functional for the money.
  • Cons: Took a little time to adjust for comfort.
  • Review: Nice headset for the money. My biggest complaint was it fit too tight and became painful after an hour. It was an easy fix after I landed. I manually flexed the headset, bending it until it felt better and fit my head. Worked well and is almost as good as my David Clark set. The noise reduction works well and communication is crisp and clear. Can't beat the value. I ordered the gell ear pads although the pads that come with the set seemed comfortable enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value

  • By michael from Incline Village NV USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: price/value
  • Cons: few features
  • Review: Good basic headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK product

  • By Leonard from Des Moines IA USA on Monday, April 02, 2018
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good quality, especially for the price

  • By robert from Burbank CA USA on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Pros: durable quality
  • Cons: not noise cancelling
  • Review: Met all expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Head set worked great.

  • By Jay from Camden SC USA on Wednesday, July 01, 2015
  • Pros: Worked as avertised
  • Cons: Can not get the jell ear muffs to fit
  • Review: Very satisfied with the head set but are unable to get the jell ear muffs I purchased to go on the head set. Any ideas as how to make them fit would be appreciated . Thanks
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for the price!

  • By Terry (Funk B85) from Rockwall TX USA on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
  • Pros: A lot of bang for the buck!
  • Cons: Wish I would have know about them sooner!
  • Review: I was really surprised at how comfortable and how quiet they are. I tried a friends headset and quickly ordered one for myself. I have two of the ANR headsets and this is as quiet without having to worry about batteries. I really don't like the gel ear piece in the summer as they make me sweat to much. So these work just fine with the foam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well in my noisy Cub.

  • By Martin from Hayden Lake ID USA on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Review: Flying a Super Cub on floats with window out and door open is a noisy environment, and windy from the back seat. This headset works well, better than my noise cancelling Telex.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset, needs some features.

  • By Byron from Kuna ID USA on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • Pros: Great audio. Rugged.
  • Cons: Needs PTT on cup.
  • Review: The HS-1A is a great headset at a great price through MyPilotStore.com, but needs the addition of some features that would make it even better. While it is NOT a noise cancelling design (ANR), it is very quiet with the gel ear seals. It is as comfortable as a headset of this type can be, WITHOUT gel ear seal cushions. I purchased the gel seal cushions for the product, and that makes all the difference in the world, both in comfort and noise immunity. It also needs a cup mounted PTT to be more operationally flexible. Overall, the headset is a great buy, and I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Lee from Huffman TX USA on Sunday, September 15, 2013
  • Pros: great value with good sound and comfort
  • Cons: none yet
  • Review: I bought this headset for my passengers and what a great value. clear, comfortable, good fitting headset, yet doesn't cost a fortune.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

worth every cent

  • By christopher from Chicago IL USA on Tuesday, December 09, 2014
  • Pros: light weight, clear speakers, excellent price
  • Cons: mouthpiece has to almost touch the lips
  • Review: I have been using DCs, and was wary of a brand other than DC or Bose. This set is light, bars out excessive outside noise, has sharp clear ear speakers. The only concern is that the mouthpiece has to be REALLY close to the mouth to activate. However, if that does not bother you, I doubt there is a better value in aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset

  • By A Customer from Asheville NC USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Review: Good headset. Easy to adjust ear cups for head size. Good sound.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Set, Good Price, Good Warranty

  • By A Customer from VT on Monday, August 13, 2012
  • Pros: Lifetime Warranty, Value
  • Cons: Weak Strain relief where cable enters headset
  • Review: I bought this set as a secondary headset for passengers and was really impressed with not only the functionality, but the price as well. What sold me on this headset was the flexible mike boom, the price tag and the lifetime warranty. There is even more volume adjustment on these than my David Clark 13.4's. I agree with others that the clamping pressure is a little more than desirable, and could see them getting uncomfortable on long flights. The one major thing that concerns me with this headset though is the poorly designed strain relief on the cable where it enters the headset. The strain relief dosen't pass through the headset housing but is simply butted up against it allowing the wire jacket to rub on the plastic as it pivots. If this set didn't have the lifetime warranty, I would have probally thought about returning them only for that reason, but should that wire wear through and they stick by their warranty, I'm a happy customer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality sound

  • By Darrell from Concord NH USA on Monday, September 19, 2011
  • Pros: sound quality
  • Cons: could be lighter
  • Review: I'm pleased with the product...great buy for the price. They are a bit heavy and could use some more padding on the top to ease pressure on the top of the head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headsets for the money

  • By A Customer from Portland, OR on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Pros: Good PNR, flex boom.
  • Cons: foam earsels make the headset a bit snug, but not painful.
  • Review: I up graded from the David Clark 10-40 to the HS-1A and haven't looked back. Good headsets for the money and very dependable. Although they were first a little snug, the gel ear sels made it more comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By Rayford from Temple TX USA on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Review: Audio is clear and crisp in and out. Comfort is unremarkable. Too soon to evaluate durability.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Really great headset!

  • By Brian from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Clear sound, feel nice.
  • Cons: none as of yet.
  • Review: Great looking headset, high quality and very clear!
    As a student the cost was great and surprised how well it works, I'm sure I will be using this for years to come.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Steven from Medina OH USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable and clear.
  • Cons: Microphone could be more sensitive.
  • Review: Very comfortable (I added the gel earseals), clear sound. The FBO where I train has a set they use as "loaners", so I knew what I was getting when I bought it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Recommended

  • By Jackson from Houston ,Texas on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
  • Pros: Cheap, well built, durable, good sound
  • Cons: A little uncomfortable on trips 3 hours or more
  • Review: Great for their price good for the sunday flyer who doesn't want to spend a ton.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent so far

  • By Toni from Venice FL USA on Monday, February 20, 2012
  • Review: I purchased it for my 16 year old grandson. He used it once so far and says it was great. His instructor was jealous! Since I didn't experience it myself, I have limited knowledge.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

A Good Headset Does Not Have To Be Expensive

  • By SpamCanFlyer from Los Angeles, CA on Thursday, September 30, 2010
  • Pros: A great alternative to the DC H10-13S at a great savings.
  • Cons: Air foam earseals are too hot on the ears.
  • Review: It goes without saying that this is a very reasonably priced headset. What the price won't tell you is that this is a great headset. I own a DC 10-13XL and a Flightcom 6ANX. Both have served me well but I grew so attached to them that I refuse to leave them in the aircraft. I got the ASA HS1A thinking I would not care much about such an inexpensive headset. But, after doing side-by-side tests with my other headsets, I found the HS1A to be equal to both of my older headsets in terms of passive noise attenuation and its microphone is comparable to the DCs M7A mic and far superior to the Flightcom mic. I am now thinking of of upgrading this headset with ANR. Do spring for the gel seals, the difference in comfort is night and day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good geadset for the money

  • By Justin from Illinois on Monday, October 18, 2010
  • Pros: Fit Well, Volume control is great, Noise reduction is much better than my CFI's backup set, pretty comfortable
  • Cons: Only thing that bothered me was the mic could be a bit more sensitive to activate, but works great once its listening - very clear
  • Review: Ive only used this headset two times now. My first impressions are very good. My background - I am a student pilot midway through my private pilot. I have been using my CFI's back up headset up until I ordered this headset. I fly a 180hp cessna 172 skyhawk. Review - Overall this headset is much better than the David and Clark headset I was using from my instructor. I would definitely recommend this headset for pilots in training or for anyone looking for a good value on their primary headset or backups.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the old style better but they're good headsets

  • By john from jupiter FL USA on Wednesday, December 08, 2010
  • Review: The mic adjustment was easier to move away from your face on the old style. Volume is a little lower on the newer style. The newer style is more comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Micheal from Webster SD USA on Thursday, December 09, 2010
  • Pros: Good sound quality, comfortable, Price
  • Cons: Wish it had a bag of some kind
  • Review: The sound quality is very good and it is a comfortable set to wear. I would look at this headset for additional ones in the future. So far, I am impressed. Wish it came with a bag of some kind, I would even be willing to pay a bit more with a bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best deal in headsets

  • By Gary V from Dallas GA USA on Tuesday, November 23, 2010
  • Pros: works as good as any David Clark they let me us
  • Cons: the headset does not hurt at all but not comfy either...if they just softened the pads a bit
  • Review: For the price I would so recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

solid product for a good price

  • By Jose Cintra from Santa Cruz de Tenerife Spain on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
  • Pros: Light, and good design
  • Cons: For the price no cons.
  • Review: A product that meets the specification of users.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Headsets - But if you have a big head...

  • By CB from PSL, FL on Friday, June 12, 2009
  • Pros: Cost, practical application, excellent mic and great sound.
  • Cons: It's like wearing a vise on your skull - ear muffs don't allow your ears to breathe.
  • Review: I'll give four stars to the operative portion of the set itself. However - the top band will cause headaches if you have a normal to big circumference of a head. It's like a vise! I also suggest changing the muffs - the plastic ones that they come with will leave you sweating into your ears.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well Built For the Price

  • By Eric from Buena Park CA USA on Monday, March 07, 2011
  • Pros: Well built does not feel cheap
  • Cons: heavy and can get a little uncomfortable after a couple of hours
  • Review: Headset works well, sound quality is good. the headset began to be uncomfortable about after two hours. It is a little heavy. Well worth the money, good for passengers or student pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good basic headset

  • By Richard from Weaverville NC USA on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
  • Pros: Inexpensive and reliable
  • Cons: Head band adjustment screws come loose easily
  • Review: I bought 3 of these headsets for each of my occasional passengers and they have worked well over the years. They were inexpensive and they have a lifetime guarantee.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Donald from Lexington KY USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Ear pads could be softer
  • Review: Good value for cost
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.