TOP

Reviews for Logitech Saitek Pro Flight Radio Panel

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Adds great immersion

  • By Benjamin from Springfield Missouri USA on Tuesday, October 27, 2009
  • Pros: Add good immenrsion and makes Vatsim so much better!
  • Cons: Dial sensitivity
  • Review: Anything that gets your focus from the screen to an actual tactile element on the desktop is great. I now have all three saitek panels and the immersion is so much better. I like the fact that the radio panel does several functions - radio, nav, ADF, transponder etc. I don't have any real issues. The one thing I would note is that the dial is very sensitive and will skip numbers you are trying to land on. I have dealt with this type of dial before - I just "rock it" back and forth and the number will come up correct. My YouTube video "Components of the system" is shown below.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy radio switching

  • By Scott from Renton WA U SA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: takes over using radio's onscreen / mouse wheel scrolling
  • Cons: Observation Not a CON: If your using xplane some custom aircraft might require tweaks for radio frequency changes - but once addressed no problems
  • Review: Used this with X-Plane - just a heads up to anyone else who uses windows 8 you may encounter an issue with USB3 ports that causes this display to be blank text... there is a software bug 'caused by MS' .. to fix you simply find the USB deviceID and and shut off the advanced power management in the registry...

    Link to the thread I found to fix...
    http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=71325&page=3

    If radio frequencies act up when setting 'skipping a tenth when switching active standby frequencies...

    http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=82236&p=876418
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Concept.... But...

  • By Steven from Tampa FL USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2009
  • Pros: Price and Functionality
  • Cons: Inacurate Control
  • Review: The combination of a radio stack and an affordable price has been something for which I have been waiting a long time. Thank you to Saitek for answering the call! However... operationally, the tuning control detents are not accurate and changing frequencies is often difficult; very annoying. I would still recommend this product even with this design flaw.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saitek radio Panel

  • By Mark from tampa FL USA on Friday, September 04, 2009
  • Review: In general I really like this product. It was easy to install and it works great. A couple key observations; The unit is a bit bigger than I though it was going to but thats OK is not a Major deal. It acts differently depending on plane your flying . i.e. if your flying an older AC that dosent have a stand by option for Coms and or Nav. Then the second set of numbers light up but dont do anything. Also you need to have your NAV powered up. This may seem like a no brainer and it kinda is but the panel is lit up and so it may deceive you for a second into thinking your Nav power is on. This is all minor stuff, There is one troubling design flaw which is the rotary knobs click as you rotate them, Similar to your car radio. and you would think that 1 click would change your radio 1 increment. This is not the way it works with this unit. Sometimes the station you need to select is between clicks an is very hard to select and some times it will slip to a different freq. If they could fix that issue I would give this product a 5 out of 5. However even knowing about this flaw I would still purchase it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellant Training Tool

  • By Ronald from Bremerton WA USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2009
  • Pros: see review
  • Cons: see review
  • Review: Frequency dials whould have been better if they were "clickers". The smooth dial is touchy and to sensitive when setting frequency numbers and you have fine tune it. Still a good traing tool. Hope the number lights last a long time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It makes working the radios a lot easier!

  • By John from Eau Claire WI USA on Saturday, August 25, 2012
  • Pros: Feels like the real thing
  • Cons: Too sensitive (can miss frequency, taking attention away from the IFR 'scan')
  • Review: Very solid product - built well. I appreciate the mounting hardware that comes with it. It works very similar to the Bendix/King radios found in many single-engine trainers. Minor issue - sensitivity is very high with dials. If you're a spinner (like me), you'll easily blow through the desired frequency. This is solved by slowing down when turning, but takes away from the instrument scan when I'm simulating IFR/IMC scenarios.

    Overall, this is a great product, bringing the simulation one step closer to the real thing. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to use the computer to save some flight time to gain proficiency.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

pretty cool

  • By scott from hayesville NC USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: I did learn how to track VOR's and towers
  • Cons: Sometimes the left and right side don't work correctly
  • Review: I think it does what it's supposed to do with just a few glitches. I wish it came with better instructions
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Monty from Olton TX USA on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
  • Pros: nice looking and functional, better than instuments on a screen
  • Cons: knobs could be stronger
  • Review: Good product, had one out of 7 that didnt work and broke a knob off of one of them. Even so quality was better than I expected. Ads say you can get 12 instument designs I only found 6 and would like to have vor head and an HSI if there is a way someone let me know how.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saves a lot of tedious mouse work

  • By Richard from Jackson GA USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Pros: faster set up and changes
  • Cons: would have to be reset for accurate freq changes. would skip 2 no.s
  • Review: Works very well for what I wanted it for
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

When the eyes don't have it!

  • By Ted from Woodbridge VA USA on Thursday, September 03, 2009
  • Pros: If you have the full stack of Saitek add-ons,the internal hub of the yoke may not have enough power to drive all of the devices.
  • Cons: Easy to use
  • Review: Easy installation and use. If you are like me, the radio comms on the computer screen can be hard to read, and using the mouse or keyboard take extra time. With the radio panel the displayis large and well lit. Tuning the knobs is a breeze! It's a key part of my Saitek stack.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks great, works OK

  • By Jim from Austin TX USA on Tuesday, November 17, 2009
  • Pros: Much easier to adjust and read than trying to mouse about on the screen.
  • Cons: No backlight of switch label's - This is a bad design oversight with all 3 of the Saitek switch clusters.
  • Review: I really like the large readable numbers. The switches are smallish but tend to work well. The integration to FSX is pretty solid as long as the machine does not go to sleep in between flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Unit, but has a few minor issues

  • By Firefox from Houston, TX on Friday, December 11, 2009
  • Pros: Active/Standy is nice, quick tuning, multiple functions via selector knob
  • Cons: Tuning can be sensitive, Selector Knobs can be hard to turn
  • Review: Works exactly as expected in FS 9. The unit DOES have two issues that need to be addressed: 1) The tuning knobs can sometimes be very sensitive causing you to be off by one full digit. 2) The selector (Gorilla) knobs on the left can be very hard to turn. If you are technically inclined, a fix can be found at: http://www.pegasuswoodcraft.com/fs/articles/Saitek_Radio_Panel_Fix.htm
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bigger than necessary but it works

  • By Nick from Kenmore WA USA on Monday, August 31, 2009
  • Pros: Works, shallow depth for mounting as you like, bright LED readouts, stores several nav & comm. Freq.
  • Cons: Bigger than necessary, Radio knobs are not realistic & the potentiometers are of poor quality making it difficult to change frequencies quickly, Radio/ Nav/ xpndr switch is very stiff, transponder freq displays on NAV/ COM readout. Would appreciate a separate transponder display.
  • Review: Works with FS2004. Saitek give the impression on their website that its primarily for FSX, however they include the required plug in on the install CD. Install was quick & easy. Bottom line, the unit works as advertised, perhaps even a bit better. Will make your sim experience MUCH more realistic so you can focus on the flight rather than pausing the sim to try to find the key to press.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.