TOP

Reviews for Garmin G1000 PC Trainer for Cessna NAV III

Sort By:
Filter By:

Installed under Windows 10

  • By BrianB from Herndon, VA on Thursday, October 06, 2016
  • Pros: It does actually appear to work
  • Cons: Setup doesn't work for Windows 10
  • Review: It wouldn't install using the normal Setup.exe in the CD base Folder.
    It did install when I did this:
    - Open the Install Folder
    - Right-Click Cessna NAVIII G1000 Trainer v10.00.exe
    - Run as Administrator
    The first time I ran it it hung up, after that it seems to be ok.
    I hope that helps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin1000's guide through the enigma - v 13.02

  • By Wilfried Markus from Spiez BE Switzerland on Monday, July 27, 2015
  • Pros: Provides an excellent synopsis.
  • Cons: Lack of certain details. Not enough examples.
  • Review: Overall...an excellent tool! A MUST before any real flight.
    Particularly the "Pilot's Training Guide" including lessons 1 - 13.
    A small number of functions are not simulated: The "Audio Panel" (which I regret) and a few others of secondary importance.
    The section of Arrival-Approach-MAP- and H-procedures is not sufficiently explained - neither is (e.g.) the "Closest Point Of Flight Plan". -
    A few more detailed exercises/examples would be a great help.
    Summary: best value for the price! I shall buy any new version of it.......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Joystick recommended but not necessary

  • By Herb from Canton MI USA on Sunday, January 17, 2016
  • Pros: Tailored to C172
  • Cons: Need a wide screen to do dual monitors
  • Review: I've never caught on to flight simulation on the PC and this was just as difficult. I couldn't control the speed of the simulation, so I bought a joystick to add a little more precision to my flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Granite Bay CA USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Pros: For the price it's great.
  • Cons: I'd pay more money, for more functions.
  • Review: Very good product.  A little limited in some areas, but for this price an excellent value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Installs on Win 8

  • By A Customer from California on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
  • Pros: Good way to practice using the G1000 without spending $100s of dollars at your local flight school
  • Cons: Hard to operate the dials and knobs by mouse
  • Review: To get the trainer to install on Win 8, don't run setup.exe in the root directory on the CD. Instead, go to the 'install' directory and run 'Cessna NAVIII Trainer V12.00.exe' instead. It will work fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Luis from Katy, TX on Monday, August 27, 2012
  • Review: Great trainer. Helped inmensely in getting checked out in a G1000 airplane, and for Instrument ratings purposes as well.
    Recommendable.
    Could be improved by being "linkable" to a flight simulator (aka Microsoft FSX or XPlane). Also, could provide a means to create flight plans and export them for use in the real aircraft, which it currently cannot.
    Overall a great product though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very helpful

  • By Lon from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Pros: Provides an inexpensive method for practicing all the G1000's features.
  • Cons: Autopilot didn't work.
  • Review: I trained and took my Private Pilot checkride in a Cessna 172 with round dials. After getting my Certificate, I did some transition training so I could get checked out in a C172 with a G1000. The training was good: ground school, Redbird simulator time, and two flights. Still, the G1000 offers lots of features, and I found the G1000 PC Trainer to be very helpful in learning them. My only disappointment: the "autopilot" feature didn't work on my computer. I exchanged a couple of emails with Garmin's Tech Support folks, but they weren't able to help me get the autopilot going. I don't know whether the problem is with the software or with my 64-bit Windows 7 computer. All the other features of the Trainer work just fine, though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works better than Microsoft Flight Sim

  • By A Customer from Naples FL USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Works well.
  • Cons: Poor instructions and always Kansas
  • Review: Did not come with good instructions. It seems to only open up at a position in Kansas. I wish I could use it at my Florida home base. I study Max Trescott's training software then I practice with the simulator, then develop a mission of actual tasks from what I learned and execute the mission in the school's G-1000 C-172S. Saves $$$.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Product

  • By Terry from Raleigh NC USA on Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Review: Good product. Gives you a good overview of this complicated system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Neat software

  • By Brent from Orlando FL USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Way cheaper to learn on your home PC than in the Plane
  • Cons: Controls aren't natural via keyboard/mouse vs with your fingers
  • Review: I bought this thinking that I could use it to learn more about the G1000 without having to pay to spin the prop, since I'm working on my private certificate right now. There are a lot of great features for the primary student to be able to use and be more comfortable with (overlay maps, terminal maps, using Direct, etc) that otherwise I feel that I'm fumbling through to learn while flying. Why then 4 stars? The radio and AP panel in the middle isn't included (or, at least I haven't found it), which makes it less valuable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great learning tool

  • By Bill from Oakland CA USA on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Pros: Simple and realistic
  • Cons: Simulation settings in g1000 menu instead of app menu
  • Review: Worked well for me on a mac running Windows under parallels. Works best with either a large monitor or two monitors. I could not get it to work without a joystick though. Documentation is weak. Setting for demo mode is buried in menu pages of g1000 interface.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Must Have for G1000 Intro

  • By Dean from CA USA on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
  • Pros: Saved many of $$$ avoiding inflight learning
  • Cons: Glitches and Lockups could confuse realtime working
  • Review: This product paid for itself within the first couple uses. The "initial location" setup instructions could use some help, and occationally while working with flight plans, approaches, and the autopilot, it would lockup. Otherwise a must for introduction to the Glass Cockpit. Mind you, I didn't find this to be a full blown sim product, but its use in learning "buttonology" was invaluable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like the real thing

  • By A Customer from Washington D.C. on Wednesday, March 16, 2011
  • Pros: A great tool to learn the G1000. You basically get checked out before you actually get checked out
  • Cons: The 'windows' part of the software is a little finicky but that could be because I only have a 1.6GHz processor
  • Review: The G1000 trainer works just like the real thing. You can basically do everything on the ground from the safety of your laptop before going up in the air. I worked through the student training manual that was provided on the CD and after 2 weeks of practice, met with my instructor. He was impressed at the amount of knowledge I had gained from this trainer. I knew more of the intricate details about the G1000 than he did.
    The only issue that I had was that I got the sim stuck in Reversionary Mode and couldn't figure out how to get it out. I did fix it eventually but don't know exactly what I did to fix it. Also, if you have a joystick, you can fly the sim! (However the physics aren't too accurate)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for orientation

  • By Bert Love from Murphy NC USA on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
  • Pros: Authentic G1000 functionality.
  • Cons: Not a simulator.
  • Review: Although not a simulator, it's close enough to the real thing to provide a thorough orientation to the G1000/NAV III glass cockpit. It may be the only show in town.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value super training aid for basics

  • By Jon from Parker CO USA on Thursday, May 02, 2019
  • Review: Super for learning the basics! Does not have all features but very helpful with basics so well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.