TOP

Reviews for Garmin G1000 PC Trainer for Cessna NAV III

Sort By:
Filter By:

Installing the G1000 Trainer on Windows 10 Based Systems

  • By Al from B16 on Saturday, January 28, 2017
  • Pros: Gives you "No Cost" ground time to learn the G1000
  • Cons: None... Well.. Sadly.. No sound of the "Engine Running"...
  • Review:

    So the Garmin G1000 Simulator/trainer can be successfully loaded and run on Windows 10 based system. It takes less the 5 minutes to install.

    The auto installation will not directly run if the disk is just place in the CD drive . It requires the following steps.

    Place disk in CD Drive.
    Use the "File Explore" option to see the files on the CD.
    Click on the "Install Folder" to see the files within.
    Now the trick. You need to "Right Click" on the "Cessna NAVIII Trainer vXX.XX" (This install was v13.02)
    Now click on "Trouble Shoot Compatibility".
    Then choose "Trouble Shoot Program"
    Choose "Program ran on earlier versions of Windows But wont run or install now" Choose Windows 8.
    Choose "Test the Program"
    NOW Look at the lower portion of your screen. You will/should see two(?) or more installation shield warning from Windows 10.
    Choose YES for all the shield warnings
    You are getting close now!
    The Cessna NAVIII program will be requesting that you accept the terms, etc..
    Choose.. "I Agree"
    Make sure you choose all the components / aircraft you want.. including "Flight Charts" located at the bottom of the list.
    You will then get to choose where you want the files installed.. I suggest you just let the program decide.

    When done...

    Go to the installed files location .. If you chose the default file locations .. You will find the Cessna trainer in the "Program Files (x86)".. Open the Cessna folder. Copy and past the "Start_Dual_Screen" file, located at near the bottom of the file listing onto the Desk Top. And you 99% there !!!

    When you click on the desktop icon. You will get the MFD and PFD. From there. It depends on your set up. I use two monitors and setup the screens like the aircraft.. PFD on left. MFD on the right. ONE MORE TRICK.

    The only place I can find to initially "Resize" the MFD and PFD is in the upper LEFT corner of the two displays.

    Lastly..

    The program should be closed by "Right Clicking" on the taskbar dual Cessna icons on the bottom of the computer screen, and choosing "Close all windows." This way when the program is restarted the original screen locations will be preserved.

    There you go. FYI.. Running Windows 10 Home. G100 Trainer: v13.02 Using CH Products Flight Sim Yoke (USB) and CH Pro Pedals (USB) with full functionality. Fly's great with the above. and via the AP.

    There may be slight variation in your installation.. But 99% of the above should be the process.. Enjoy.. Be safe... Al N522CS - 182T

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 28 Other people found this review helpful.

Great G1000 Training Tool

  • By JP from Heartland, USA on Friday, June 02, 2017
  • Pros: Amazing capability; beats having to go to an actual G1000 equipped plane if just starting to learn.
  • Cons: Wish it could be integrated to a sim software like Microsoft Flight Simulator. But, again, the sim software may not support it either.
  • Review: I do not understand some of the complaints. Folks, this is not a flight simulator. It is, as its name suggests, a G1000 trainer software to help you get familiarize with the G1000. Yes, you can set yourself up in the air so that you may practice using the device, learn its features, etc. You may control your altitude, speed and heading via your keyboard, or a joystick if it is connected to your computer. The software is not going to behave like a plane because, again, IT IS NOT A FLIGHT SIMULATOR. Manual not needed - lots of videos on YouTube to show you how to use the G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value, excellent product

  • By A Customer from Glendora CA USA on Monday, May 04, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Limited screen size in dual screen mode
  • Review: Great way to learn the use of the G1000. Great for practice and gaining understanding of IFR approaches, though not authorized for recording in any log books.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

I am buying this product again!

  • By Michael Scott from Durham, NC on Monday, April 29, 2013
  • Pros: Accurate Sim
  • Cons: Poor documentation
  • Review: A good sim to learn G1000 'knobology'. I am working on my IFR Cert, there is never enough time in the cockpit to play or explore the functionality of the G1000, but I can at home with this product. I've learned a lot, even taught my instructor a thing or two that he didn't know the system could do.

    First, you must expect the documentation that comes with the product is very, very poor. After 'Pwr On', hit the 'Menu' button twice...this exposes the 'Demo Mode' where you can start from anywhere you have the coords for. For whatever reason, when you prgm the joystick controls, it does activate them??? So, after you program the joystick, ...power down, then power again, then they're applied.

    I purchased this some months ago, then lost the media, so I am re-purchasing it...its a great value compared to how many hours you have to spend in the cockpit learning this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding Way to Learn Everything about the G1000

  • By Robert from Burke VA USA on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
  • Pros: Super learning tool. Learn at your own pace and then apply in the cockpit later.
  • Cons: Took me a while to figure out how to get the airplane moved to my home airport.
  • Review: Well worth the money. When I started my instrument training, I also made the switch at the same time from steam gauges to the G1000 panel. With so much functionality in the G1000 this was the best and cheapest way to get familiar with all its features and capabilities on the ground and it has greatly helped my learning curve in the air. I stared using my old Microsoft Flight Sim X but it doesn't have all the buttons and capabilities for the G1000 that you need to learn. This has everything you have in the cockpit and you can drill down to every last page and feature.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Summerfield FL USA on Monday, March 11, 2013
  • Review: Well worth the price and a great help to familiarizing you with the operation of the G1000 panel. One of my better purchases.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Tech Support Helpful Too

  • By Lon from Santa Monica, CA on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Pros: Helpful and persistent tech support
  • Cons:
  • Review: When I first reviewed this software on September 5th, I said that the autopilot didn't work, and that Garmin's Tech Support folks weren't able to help me. Well, much to my surprise and delight, they had not given up on my problem. The Garmin Tech Support department followed up, by sending me emails after my first review, and they had me try a couple of things. I'm pleased to report that their recommendation worked, and the autopilot works fine now. For others who may be having problems with the autopilot, the recommendation that worked was this: uninstall the G1000 Trainer and reinstall it. That did the trick!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Jim Kress from Lakeland FL USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent training device
  • Cons: Needs some printe instructions on how to set the airspeed and paramaters. Use the menu key for this.
  • Review: Was very easy to download and comes up quickly when the icon is clicked. Everything works very similuar to the real thing. Autopilot is great when flying the approaches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful

  • By Steve from Houston TX USA on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Review: Very useful for learning the functions and controls of the G1000
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great G1000 Training

  • By Gerry from Redmond WA USA on Friday, December 18, 2009
  • Pros: Dual mode, synthetic vision simulation, audio, variety of Cessna models
  • Cons: Would like to see the audio panel added at some point.
  • Review: This is one of the best simulators for G1000 training I have seen or used. Of course, it comes from the source, Garmin, but it is still well done. The dual mode allows you to simulate a cockpit with synchronized PFD and MFD. Pair this simulator with Max Trescott's Glass Cockpit Handbook and you are ready for some serious G1000 learning without burning fuel or relying on a GPU. Of course the Cessna manuals are a great read too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The easiest way to get used to the switchology needed to operate the G1000, short of actually running up the system on the airplane!

  • By Randy from Kiefer OK USA on Monday, July 27, 2009
  • Pros: Requires the student to operate the switches like the real system.
  • Cons: Sometimes the switches are not easy to select. They can be a little bit finnicky.
  • Review: It works well on a computer with dual monitors. I understand that it can work well on a single-monitor system, but haven't had time to experiment with that feature.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin G1000 PC Trainer for Cessna NAV III

  • By Ken from White Rock B.C. Canada on Thursday, August 08, 2013
  • Pros: Effective training aid at low cost.
  • Cons:
  • Review: We have the Garmin G1000 trainer for Cessna NAV III at flying club which is part of upgrade training to our new Cessna 172 with G1000. I purchased the program for my home computer allowing me to work through G1000 manual and reference procedures on screen in comfort of my home and as and when I have time. I particularly like the dual screen mode.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far so good.

  • By Alex from Lincolnwood IL USA on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
  • Review: So far it's working well especially both PFD and MFD displays. With previous G 1000 trainers the MFD display did not work . I called Garmin and they told me its some type of glitch !!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G1000 NAV III Trainer - worth every penny

  • By A Customer from San Jose CA USA on Friday, March 11, 2011
  • Pros: Accelerates training in aircraft, excellent, excellent, specicic to the C172S
  • Cons: None really
  • Review: Excellent trainer for going through learning the G1000 as well practicing approaches. Will save you hours of grief trying to learn this in the airplane and will save you hundred's of dollars.

    It has some software quirks but that's to be expected - and it's nothing major.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jacky SNEESSENS from BOIS-COLOMBES France on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Review: It met expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jerry from Trenton NJ USA on Monday, May 24, 2010
  • Pros: Does what it says
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Good for a in cockpit reference guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Erik from La Jolla CA USA on Monday, May 16, 2011
  • Review: This course is excellent for getting familiar with the G1000. The lessons take you through all of the functions, PFD and MFD, with interactive sessions after each lesson. I would recommend that you also get the G1000 simulator from Garmin, it's about $30 and allows you to practice what you learn in this course
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Philip from Cosham Portsmouth United Kingdom on Tuesday, November 24, 2009
  • Pros: A cheap way to learn the G1000
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Latest version (9.03). Covers all Cessna Nav III aircraft.  Dosn't need the latest PC (XP is fine). Works with 2 monitors (PFD / MFD) but even a 3.3GHz processor has problems refreshing both screens (autopilot drops out). Essential product if you really want to explore the Garmin G1000 safely.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good training tool

  • By Scott from Katy TX USA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
  • Pros: Allows simulation of flight prior to actual
  • Cons: Should provide more help to install
  • Review: Read where some were having trouble installing. I did have trouble at first, but I was able to install on Windows 7 after setting up admin account. Program has worked as advertised and is a very good training tool to get familiar with the capability of the G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Trainer

  • By Joe T from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, September 06, 2011
  • Pros: Intuitive, feature rich, Excellent documentation, Excellent graphics
  • Cons:
  • Review: I am a student pilot learning in a Cessna 172 with a glass cockpit. This trainer has really helped me understand all of the features available on the G1000 and how to navigate to those features. I really like the dual PFD/MFD mode. Well worth the small investment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY Ver 20 from GARMIN

  • By Carl - Go Civil Air Patrol ! from Granbury, TX on Monday, October 05, 2020
  • Pros: Very precise, duplicating the in-cockpit environment. And it will even fly if you read the user manual.
  • Cons: The mouse is ugly, but it is needed to force you to learn reaching habits that you will duplicate in flight.
  • Review: Folks this is a great trainer. This is Version 13.02. The Mouse, just like previous versions, may be ugly, but it trains your hand to reach for the correct softkey or knob to turn. You actually learn and create habits that you will use in flight. I just also bought Ver 20 from Garmin for twice the price thinking that there was something different in NXi. There is not. Version 20 is a video game now using the PC space bar, arrow keys, and a little bit of the mouse. You keep switching your hand from mouse to spacebar to arrow keys. Remember you fly with one hand and use the other for the GPS. You are no longer training your hand where to move which needs to become habit. This is the version to buy, and the price is insignificant compared to what you learn in this Trainer - not game.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than the previous version!

  • By DrDavo from Springfield MO USA on Tuesday, December 10, 2019
  • Pros: You can fly faster than real time!
  • Cons: Haven't really found any.
  • Review: I like that I can fly 999 Knts when going from one airport to another instead on having to fly the flight plan in real time! (Cessna 182)

    Having the PC trainer version lets me practice IFR approaches all day long if I want without spending money on fuel. Being able to "try" different ways of making approaches risk free is a great way to learn.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Installed under Windows 10

  • By BrianB from Herndon, VA on Thursday, October 06, 2016
  • Pros: It does actually appear to work
  • Cons: Setup doesn't work for Windows 10
  • Review: It wouldn't install using the normal Setup.exe in the CD base Folder.
    It did install when I did this:
    - Open the Install Folder
    - Right-Click Cessna NAVIII G1000 Trainer v10.00.exe
    - Run as Administrator
    The first time I ran it it hung up, after that it seems to be ok.
    I hope that helps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin1000's guide through the enigma - v 13.02

  • By Wilfried Markus from Spiez BE Switzerland on Monday, July 27, 2015
  • Pros: Provides an excellent synopsis.
  • Cons: Lack of certain details. Not enough examples.
  • Review: Overall...an excellent tool! A MUST before any real flight.
    Particularly the "Pilot's Training Guide" including lessons 1 - 13.
    A small number of functions are not simulated: The "Audio Panel" (which I regret) and a few others of secondary importance.
    The section of Arrival-Approach-MAP- and H-procedures is not sufficiently explained - neither is (e.g.) the "Closest Point Of Flight Plan". -
    A few more detailed exercises/examples would be a great help.
    Summary: best value for the price! I shall buy any new version of it.......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Joystick recommended but not necessary

  • By Herb from Canton MI USA on Sunday, January 17, 2016
  • Pros: Tailored to C172
  • Cons: Need a wide screen to do dual monitors
  • Review: I've never caught on to flight simulation on the PC and this was just as difficult. I couldn't control the speed of the simulation, so I bought a joystick to add a little more precision to my flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Granite Bay CA USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Pros: For the price it's great.
  • Cons: I'd pay more money, for more functions.
  • Review: Very good product.  A little limited in some areas, but for this price an excellent value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Installs on Win 8

  • By A Customer from California on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
  • Pros: Good way to practice using the G1000 without spending $100s of dollars at your local flight school
  • Cons: Hard to operate the dials and knobs by mouse
  • Review: To get the trainer to install on Win 8, don't run setup.exe in the root directory on the CD. Instead, go to the 'install' directory and run 'Cessna NAVIII Trainer V12.00.exe' instead. It will work fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Luis from Katy, TX on Monday, August 27, 2012
  • Review: Great trainer. Helped inmensely in getting checked out in a G1000 airplane, and for Instrument ratings purposes as well.
    Recommendable.
    Could be improved by being "linkable" to a flight simulator (aka Microsoft FSX or XPlane). Also, could provide a means to create flight plans and export them for use in the real aircraft, which it currently cannot.
    Overall a great product though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very helpful

  • By Lon from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Pros: Provides an inexpensive method for practicing all the G1000's features.
  • Cons: Autopilot didn't work.
  • Review: I trained and took my Private Pilot checkride in a Cessna 172 with round dials. After getting my Certificate, I did some transition training so I could get checked out in a C172 with a G1000. The training was good: ground school, Redbird simulator time, and two flights. Still, the G1000 offers lots of features, and I found the G1000 PC Trainer to be very helpful in learning them. My only disappointment: the "autopilot" feature didn't work on my computer. I exchanged a couple of emails with Garmin's Tech Support folks, but they weren't able to help me get the autopilot going. I don't know whether the problem is with the software or with my 64-bit Windows 7 computer. All the other features of the Trainer work just fine, though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Product

  • By Terry from Raleigh NC USA on Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Review: Good product. Gives you a good overview of this complicated system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works better than Microsoft Flight Sim

  • By A Customer from Naples FL USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Works well.
  • Cons: Poor instructions and always Kansas
  • Review: Did not come with good instructions. It seems to only open up at a position in Kansas. I wish I could use it at my Florida home base. I study Max Trescott's training software then I practice with the simulator, then develop a mission of actual tasks from what I learned and execute the mission in the school's G-1000 C-172S. Saves $$$.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Neat software

  • By Brent from Orlando FL USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Way cheaper to learn on your home PC than in the Plane
  • Cons: Controls aren't natural via keyboard/mouse vs with your fingers
  • Review: I bought this thinking that I could use it to learn more about the G1000 without having to pay to spin the prop, since I'm working on my private certificate right now. There are a lot of great features for the primary student to be able to use and be more comfortable with (overlay maps, terminal maps, using Direct, etc) that otherwise I feel that I'm fumbling through to learn while flying. Why then 4 stars? The radio and AP panel in the middle isn't included (or, at least I haven't found it), which makes it less valuable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great learning tool

  • By Bill from Oakland CA USA on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Pros: Simple and realistic
  • Cons: Simulation settings in g1000 menu instead of app menu
  • Review: Worked well for me on a mac running Windows under parallels. Works best with either a large monitor or two monitors. I could not get it to work without a joystick though. Documentation is weak. Setting for demo mode is buried in menu pages of g1000 interface.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Must Have for G1000 Intro

  • By Dean from CA USA on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
  • Pros: Saved many of $$$ avoiding inflight learning
  • Cons: Glitches and Lockups could confuse realtime working
  • Review: This product paid for itself within the first couple uses. The "initial location" setup instructions could use some help, and occationally while working with flight plans, approaches, and the autopilot, it would lockup. Otherwise a must for introduction to the Glass Cockpit. Mind you, I didn't find this to be a full blown sim product, but its use in learning "buttonology" was invaluable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like the real thing

  • By A Customer from Washington D.C. on Wednesday, March 16, 2011
  • Pros: A great tool to learn the G1000. You basically get checked out before you actually get checked out
  • Cons: The 'windows' part of the software is a little finicky but that could be because I only have a 1.6GHz processor
  • Review: The G1000 trainer works just like the real thing. You can basically do everything on the ground from the safety of your laptop before going up in the air. I worked through the student training manual that was provided on the CD and after 2 weeks of practice, met with my instructor. He was impressed at the amount of knowledge I had gained from this trainer. I knew more of the intricate details about the G1000 than he did.
    The only issue that I had was that I got the sim stuck in Reversionary Mode and couldn't figure out how to get it out. I did fix it eventually but don't know exactly what I did to fix it. Also, if you have a joystick, you can fly the sim! (However the physics aren't too accurate)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for orientation

  • By Bert Love from Murphy NC USA on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
  • Pros: Authentic G1000 functionality.
  • Cons: Not a simulator.
  • Review: Although not a simulator, it's close enough to the real thing to provide a thorough orientation to the G1000/NAV III glass cockpit. It may be the only show in town.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value super training aid for basics

  • By Jon from Parker CO USA on Thursday, May 02, 2019
  • Review: Super for learning the basics! Does not have all features but very helpful with basics so well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cessna Nav III simulation

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Pros: Inexpensive
  • Cons: not realistic in all aspects
  • Review: I am a computer instructor at a technical college so I have good computer experience. I am also a flight instructor. I have about 75 hours teaching the G1000 in a Cessna 182T Nav III. I also have over 100 hours of experience with the G1000 in a Frasca Mentor trainer.

    I have found this software difficult and frustrating to work with. I can make it work to a certain degree but that is mostly due to the fact that I know how to configure my computer and I know how the G1000 works.

    Most of my frustration with this software is with the autopilot. It "kicks" out all the time when you are flying approaches. Also it does not capture the vertical path when flying a GPS LPV approach. There are some other problems that don't come to mind right now.

    For $26 dollars I don't know if I should expect more. You can achieve some basic functionallity from this software so it might be worth it but I wouldn't expect a "perfect" replication of the G1000 and GFC 700 functionallity.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Manual Not Updated

  • By A Customer from Baltimore MD USA on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
  • Pros: good practive
  • Cons: The version 12 that I got was not fully documented
  • Review: I was expecting what the manual said to occur. I tried to write batch scripts to get the center radio stack to show back up. I tried to get a side by side display to show up, but could not.
    I had to settle for not being able to practice without the radio stack and had to figure out that I had to jerry rig a 2 screen viewing of the PFD and MFD. They just need to update the manual in order to make it rights
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, but doesn't match my aircraft with KAP 140 Autopilot

  • By Vic from Gilbert AZ USA on Thursday, June 06, 2013
  • Pros: Helps to practice many G1000 functions
  • Cons: Some functions are not like my aircraft, so at times it's confusing.
  • Review: I got this trainer mainly to practice approaches, but it's quite different than my plane which has a KAP 140 autopilot.  It's still helpful, but not like my plane in some ways. The older versions of the trainer have the correct autopilot, but are not up-to-date with the software updates, so I'm out of luck either way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

no value in the synthetic vision, just burns processor with little benefit

  • By Leonard from Dallas TX USA on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • Pros: good training tool
  • Cons: won't install on Win 8, synthetic vision is not needed
  • Review: The sim is a good tool for practicing the "knobology" of the G1000 system. I see no value in the synthetic vision feature as it just seems to burn processor without any real value.

    Although it runs on Windows XP, Vista, and 7, it will not install on Win 8. Is impossible to buy a new computer with XP or Vista, Win7 is really hard to find. Please do an update to allow it to install itself on Win8.

    I upgraded a laptop from XP to Win8 that runs an older version of the Sim (8.02, I think). It works fine on Win8, so I don't understand why the installer refuses to work on Win8.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Search and Rescue Feature Missing

  • By A Customer from Delaware on Saturday, March 28, 2020
  • Pros: Easy to install, works well, just like the real G1000.
  • Cons: Missing the Search and Rescue function.
  • Review: I've purchased three Garmin G1000 PC Trainers for Cessna NAV III. The first two had the Search and Rescue function. Unfortunately, the first two were loaned out and were never returned. The third does not have the Search and Rescue function, which I need to train others in the use of the G1000. Garmin no longer supports the trainer. But on the positive side, other than the missing function, it is very good for training. It installed easily on Windows 10 by running the executable rather than the install file.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G1000 NavIII simulator

  • By Ken Jacobs from FLORIDA on Tuesday, August 27, 2019
  • Pros: It looks nice, worked great initially
  • Cons: Had some difficulty with loading it at first. Froze, unable to switch as noted above. I , personally, did not find instructions to help me. To be fair, I have not contacted MyPilot Store to see if they can help me resolve this issue..
  • Review: Initially I liked it and was getting a lot out of using it. Then it started freezing and eventually, I could not get it off the PFD to switch to the MFD.
    I tired looking in the instruction to see if there were any answers, but I could not find any.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from San Antonio TX USA on Monday, August 06, 2012
  • Review: It caused my computer to crash. I uninstalled it and the computer then worked fine. I re-installed and it crash again and I was unable to repair it. Had to get a new hard drive
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Meh. Pretty poor interface makes training super slow and boring.

  • By A Customer from Palo Alto CA USA on Monday, December 12, 2016
  • Review: Two stars because, I suppose, it works.

    You have to use the mouse to click on knobs to tune, so entering a 5 letter checkpoint, e.g. VPSUN or ALTAM is incredibly slow. At least on the real thing you can turn the knobs faster. They could have allowed the keyboard to tune the knobs etc, but don't.

    To use the sim, you have no reference to the ground other than the g1000 instrument. Yes, this is by design, but the inability to integrate with FSX or some other flight sim makes it pretty tough to actually practice. The aircraft "model" has no concept of velocity or how an AC performs, so you can go super fast or slow down to zero.

    Summary: I found reading the manual for an hour to be fare more enjoyable *and* valuable for my g1000 transition than this sim.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Too Much Guessing

  • By CW from Fairfax, VA on Sunday, January 11, 2015
  • Pros: Excellent terminology and systems.
  • Cons: Extremely difficult to use and frustrating as a "learning" tool.
  • Review: The product is not documented whatsoever. A canned tutorial or a Quick Start to get started would have been helpful. The terminology is excellent; however, the program is not very user friendly and it takes multiple tries just to bring up the Demo Mode. I was disappointed in the product based on the advertising hipe and if you are looking for a real hands on "how to learn the system" approach, go to School and spend the extra money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not very happy!!

  • By FRANK from TORONTO ON Canada on Thursday, December 09, 2010
  • Review: I purchased this CD because the original one I received when I bought the plane kept "crashing". The new one I bought from you is no better. In the middle of a flight it will suddenly crash.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

just an emulator :(

  • By Luis from racine WI USA on Monday, June 06, 2011
  • Pros: price,
  • Cons: not what i expected
  • Review: I thought this would include spoken course how to use the garmin 1000, but is just an emulator, I rather use microsoft fight simulator instead.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Out-of-date

  • By Richard from Chantilly VA USA on Monday, November 04, 2019
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Most everything
  • Review: Wishful thinking led me to take a chance. Unusable. Awkward. Clumsy interface. Why doesn't Garmin update this software?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Doesn't Run and Just Crashes (on brand new Windows XP install)

  • By A Customer from Reston VA USA on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Pros: Zero Pros, software does not run, just crashes
  • Cons: Software Does Not Run, It Will Just Crash
  • Review: Product would not install and run on a modern windows OS, so I tried creating a Virtual Machine and installing an ancient Windows XP OS that the CD said it would run on. It still doesn't run nor work (just crashes). It was just wasted time and money and now I am out the cash that I could have used toward a working product.  Maybe others will have better luck than me, but my experience was disappointing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

WONT WORK

  • By Dirtbikeskinman from Pittsburgh Pennsylvania on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
  • Review: Can not get it to do anything just get the box. Will not work need another program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't waste your money...you get what you pay for!!

  • By Frank from Wylie TX USA on Tuesday, August 03, 2010
  • Pros: CHEAP
  • Cons: Zero Value
  • Review: I got exactly what I paid for...nothing. This "simulator" does nothing, and the instructions are useless. I am an IT Project Manager, and a certified hardware technician, but that experience was usless when using this product. I never did get it to work the way it supposedly was designed to.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Garmin 1000 Review

  • By Robert from Marina del Rey CA USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Pros: The ideal is great
  • Cons: It did not work on Windows 7, 64 bit operating system after spending time on the telephone with Garmin
  • Review: I have a Windows 7, 64 bit oepating system.

    It does not show the map on the MFD.

    This inlcudes after talking with Garmin.

    I have found the system useless.

    Max Trescott's outline is better even though one does not get the hands on feel and touch feeling.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

unusable on any modern day computer

  • By William R from Oviedo FL USA on Wednesday, September 30, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: unusable
  • Review: Could not use it! It is only useable on an old high end computer that uses windows 2000 or XP. Then that computer must have a lot of ram and a fast processor. Generally, someone who has a high end computer has up to date operating systems. It also was not useable on a mac/PC clone, no matter if all the parameters are met; the program determined something was amiss. Either the sellers of this program (Garmin) are living in the past and don't know how to upgrade their program, or they are so afraid it will be shared somehow that they make it unusable, therefore it is!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.