TOP

ASA Instrument Rating Prepware

  • 16 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Instrument Rating Prepware

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the written!

  • By Derek from Portland OR USA on Thursday, November 19, 2009
  • Pros: Perfect for studying
  • Cons: none
  • Review: What else can you ask for. Use it right and it pays off. I took 4 days to study for the test. On the 4th day I took 8 tests and 6 were over 90% went and scored an 88%. Better than most people. Its easy, just do it. Get it over with and move on to what important.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No better product

  • By CFII from Bridgeport WV USA on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
  • Pros: Flexible, can concentrate on one area, can do tests when convenient, can take advantage of down time to practice, Inexpensive compared to classroom instruction
  • Cons: Not good for someone with insufficent self-discipline to educate himself (but then should they become pilots?)
  • Review: The test prep software is the best and fastest way to prepare for a written exam if the student is motivated enough to challenge himself repeatedly by taking exam after exam until (s)he can score 100% routinely. Those who wish to have someone else direct them will do better in a formal classroom, but for me that takes longer, costs more, is more difficult to schedule, is more boring and doesn't get as good results. As an instructor I insist that a student show me that he can pass three practice exams in a row with score of at least 80% before I will endorse them for the written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

required

  • By Gary from Kennesaw GA USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Review: I would consider this a requirement. I could not have passed without it. If you put in the time studying you will pass.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Edmond from League City TX USA on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: ORGANIZATION OF MATERIAL NOT INLINE WITH FAA STRUCTURE
  • Review: ASA INTRUMENT RATING SOFTWEAR IS CURRENT AND THOROUGHLY EXPLAINS ALL ANSWERS. STUDENTS SHOULD HAVE NO PROBLEMS USING THIS PREPWARE.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Most Helpful Thing You Can Buy

  • By A Customer from Boulder, CO, USA on Monday, February 18, 2008
  • Pros: Fast Easy Learning
  • Cons: You pretty much have to have the Corresponding computer testing supplement, but its free from the FAA
  • Review: Awesome!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good software great retailer

  • By Miles Lowry from Cleburne, Tx on Monday, May 12, 2008
  • Pros: really good for what it does
  • Cons: cannot print out study sheets
  • Review: The ASA software is really good for what it does. The setup is just like the CATS testing Center. I have used it to pass my private, FOI and commercial Helicopter tests. The only drawback is that I cannot print out study sheets. Mypilotstore.com is a boon to pilots, I order all of my FAA and test prep materials. The shipping is super fast.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than Gliem

  • By kenny from Vero Beach FL USA on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: great study tool
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have got two test prepware dvd's from ASA, and they are awesome study tool. One thing that I find with the software is the ease of use versus Gliem.  Currently, I'm working on CFII and already had a Gliem cd.  Because I like how ASA allows you to grade the section you are studying and see the right answers without even taking the tests. just one more way to review.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great way to learn with the computer

  • By Joseph from Jasper IN USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: Very interactive.
  • Cons: Cannot simultaneously use the legends, maps, charts, and figures on the computer.
  • Review: Met my expectations. I loved the ability to have the system create a quick short quiz. I liked taking the timed tests. Immediate feed back on the missed questions. I liked the ability to easily go back to an unfinished lesion after taking a break. Did have to use Gleim book for the maps, figures,and legends.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product Very Helpful

  • By Russ from Lewiston ME USA on Sunday, July 01, 2012
  • Pros: Short but sufficient explanations to the questions with links to further reading when in a study session.
  • Cons: A few of the examples do not appear to pertain to the question being asked
  • Review: This software based learning aid is what I expected. It has all of the questions and answers broken down by subject mater with chapters so one can study a particular topic before moving on. I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Useful/Use it

  • By A Customer from Washington on Saturday, March 24, 2018
  • Pros: Updates give you the latest charts, tables, graphs, and questions.
  • Cons: Format is difficult to use, unable to zoom in to read around clutter on Low enroute charts.
  • Review: Very useful prep tool. The charts, graphs, and tables are OK. The U.I. sometimes will cause you to answer the wrong question unintentionally but overall this is very necessary if you want to have a chance of doing well as opposed to JUST good enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Its a good product, However:

  • By James from Bald Knob AR USA on Thursday, October 23, 2014
  • Review: There have been a couple of questions that I've been getting wrong. Then reading the explanations, it is obvious that the figures they based their answer on is not the figure that you are given in the question.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not very good - outdated

  • By A Customer from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, June 21, 2016
  • Pros: Ok for individual questions.
  • Cons: hard to uyse as a study guide
  • Review: Many old graphics. Not up to date despite the 2016 title.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Could be a lot better!!

  • By Ron Robinson from Lufkin TX USA on Monday, May 31, 2010
  • Pros: Framework not well thought out!! Menu needs better navigation.
  • Cons: Good questions--good explainations.
  • Review: Basically like the other courses. All the questions and through explanations. However navigating the courseware is almost impossible. Like how can you send in for a recommendation after you've finished the course?? Where do you go for on-line help?? I have used ASA in the past and this is not up to their standards.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Seperates Helicopter Questions

  • By John from California on Tuesday, May 06, 2008
  • Pros: Just like the FAA CATS tests
  • Cons: No sound on questions. Couple of incorrect answers.
  • Review: Was ok for me. Not great. I love the KING SCHOOL products much better, but King has a problem with seperating helicopter questions for review (if you want to review all of the questions, King doesn't allow you to break them down for SEL, RW, etc). The ASA course does allow for individual category study. I did find the ASA format exactly like the FAA CATS system, which is a plus. King uses the older version of questions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good information, riddled with errors

  • By A Customer from California, USA on Monday, June 14, 2010
  • Pros: Typography, ASA reputation
  • Cons: Too many errors endemic to ASA products in general
  • Review: ASA continues to be one of the go-to companies in written exam preparation, for better or worse. Unfortunately, my classmates and I discovered a few too many errors along the way, which can be said for a lot of ASA products. As long as one is willing to cross-check any irregularities, it'll be fine. Just don't assume that the answer is right if it sounds wrong, or the calculations don't add up. Other ASA products with errors include the IFR video series, and especially the Instrument Flying Handbook. The latter actually came with numerous-page supplement of revisions! It was necessary to cut and paste the updated diagrams into the book (which seemed a little extreme). Worse, the typographical errors were of such magnitude (paragraphs at times) that they changed the pagination of the book itself, rendering the index all but useless toward the rearmost chapters. ASA should have realized its mistake and reprinted. It's wrong to sell a publication so flawed, especially when dealing with something like instrument flying. Currently using Gleim for my FOI written and I'm finding their presentation a bit more precise and informative. The design is a bit less sophisticated, but content seems more accurate and effective.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Did'nt like, would not buy

  • By Larry from Lindale TX USA on Wednesday, February 20, 2008
  • Pros: none
  • Cons:
  • Review: Was a paine to scroll through questions for students. A pain to look at figures while looking at the questions. More trouble than it's worth.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.