TOP

Reviews for Garmin 12V Power / Cigarette Lighter Adapter - GPSMAP 296, 396, 495, 496

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By timothy from north sioux city SD USA on Thursday, November 19, 2009
  • Review: The original chargers that came with my 296 failed at the plug, both of them.  This charger is just what I needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works.

  • By Donald C from Waynesboro VA USA on Thursday, May 05, 2011
  • Review: It works like it is supposed to.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

You can't go wrong with this

  • By Forrest from Prescott AZ USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Pros: Right price, right product, great service. No surprises.
  • Cons: None - but be gentle with the plug.
  • Review: My Garmin 396 power-supply plug broke in two just as I was plugging it in for a weather-full trip across the country. I have used it for 5 years, and usually unplug it so I can stash the 396 out of sight when I am parked on the ramp. I managed to make the trip OK through very careful rationing of the 396 (The XM weather really hits the battery hard), and ordered the replacement unit from MyPilotStore as soon as I got home. The price was right, the cable arrived promptly, and the plug seems more robust than the original one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Works nicely. 12v is misleading.

  • By SDL Pilot from Scottsdale AZ on Thursday, January 29, 2015
  • Pros: Works right.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this unit today to replace the cord that came with my 296. The original cord passes source voltage directly to my 296 and so does this one. Because my 296 and my 496 both run perfectly on 10-35 volts I can tell you with utmost certainty that this cord itself does not care what the input voltage is. Check with the booklet that came with your Garmin. Your Garmin unit probably regulates it's voltage internally just like the 296 and 496 that I ran on 28v today. I have hundreds of hours running this cord on a 24-28v system.
    Secondly: This cord was a little harder to plug in than the original. I pushed a little harder and it plugged in perfectly and securely. Original version of this cord has a 90 degree bend but I like this one better. This new one feels like it will last longer. This item was made by Garmin and not an imitation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

GPS - Cigarette lighter adapter.

  • By A Customer from Albuquerque NM USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: I know where to get one if I everf need another one.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Works as it is supposed too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Grove City OH USA on Wednesday, October 11, 2017
  • Pros: Works well
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

cigarette lighter power cord for GPSMAP

  • By Charles from Cape Coral FL USA on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • Pros: Durability and user friendly
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: I had to replace the original unit from Garmin three times before they changed the plastic compound for the right angle part of the cord that plugs into the unit. The new cord has a straight plug and is much less prone to failure. Also, it is easier to install and remove.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

it works! restored my decade old GPS to service!

  • By john from Leawood KS USA on Monday, August 19, 2019
  • Review: Prior power cords that came from Garmin had weak point at the device connection and eventually failed... though ten years wasn't a bad service life. but it has been great to restore to service the 296 that has served so well over the years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stephen from Newbury Park CA USA on Monday, August 26, 2013
  • Review:

    Exactly as described.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This product works well.

  • By Tom from Des Moines IA USA on Tuesday, August 02, 2011
  • Review: This product is all it says it is and works like a charm in my RV-9.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.