TOP

Reviews for Rod Machado's Private Pilot Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Rod Machado's Private Pilot Handbook, 2nd Edition

  • By danger from Los Angeles CA USA on Thursday, November 03, 2016
  • Pros: easy to understand, humor, not a dry FAA book
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This is a great book. Made learning about flying easy. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Book is very well written and easy to follow

  • By Jeff A. from Wyoming PA USA on Friday, December 02, 2016
  • Pros: Clearly written in a manner that makes the topics fun to read. The chapters on each topic are not so large that it overwhelms the reader with information...just enough to explain each topic.
  • Cons: Honestly don't have any negative comments about the book. It explains the flight topics clearly and I enjoy reading it.
  • Review: I already have my private pilot rating and was looking for a book that summarizes the flight topics in an organized structure. The book uses a cartoon style presentation with pictures that clearly presents the information in a way that makes all the topics fun to read and understand. Now that I have this book, I may get the CD to use in the car on my daily commute. For the price of this book, well worth it. I've been out of flying for a number of years now and this book is a quick read to bring me back up to speed again. Enjoy the book!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By carole from Scottsdale AZ USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
  • Review: The book was a gift to an aspiring pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Study Guide

  • By Jon Thornburgh from Redondo Beach CA USA on Friday, May 02, 2014
  • Pros: Informative, well written, comprehensive
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Excellent study guide. I recommend it to all my students.
    Jon Thornburgh, Flight Instructor
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wish I had this back when I was flight instructing

  • By John R. from Cuero TX USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Review: I loved it and find it explains basic principles very well. Should be required for all private students.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book

  • By shawn from Cortez CO USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Review: I started flight training with this book. Very good place to start.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Patricia from Ocala FL USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Review: Very informative with fun thrown in at no extra cost.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent read

  • By Don from Potomac MD USA on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Pros: great text, very well designed, large colorful text and pictures
  • Cons: book is heavy....no cons
  • Review: Vert thorough complete text with the author's wacky sense of humor. He teaches concepts with samples outside of flying....enjoyable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thorough and entertaining

  • By B.C. from Newport Beach CA USA on Saturday, March 24, 2012
  • Pros: Thorough and easy to understand.
  • Cons: Maybe too much material, but that's not really a con.
  • Review: I've always liked Rod's books for their thoroughness and descriptive photos and diagrams, as well as a bit of humor (which may help you remember the topic). Often there is too much information about a subject (even the shear size of the book is daunting), but that's better than not enough. If there was any confusion about a subject, a little time with Rod's books will clear it up. I'm a 17,000 hr global airline captain and I found this to be a great book for myself and my teenage nephew who wants to learn to fly. My explanations tend to be too complicated, and seeing how Rod presents the material has been a great help.

    Capt. Ben C.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book

  • By Eric from Vancouver WA USA on Tuesday, July 10, 2012
  • Review: I have been flying for two years and wanted this book to brush up on some of the things that I learned when I started flying. It has done that as well as taught me things that I didn't know! It uses pictures to show concepts that are difficult to explain and really speeds things up. Overall great book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michal from Bratislava Slovakia Slovakia on Thursday, August 30, 2012
  • Review: Easy to understand, great reading, very helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rhonda from Fargo ND USA on Tuesday, August 03, 2010
  • Review: Anything Rod Machado does is excellent and this is no exception.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very informative and a pleasure to read

  • By Bill from Cary NC USA on Tuesday, April 27, 2010
  • Pros: Everything you need in one book
  • Cons: Too big to put in your pocket and take everywhere you go
  • Review: I would not have thought that a reference with so much information and so much detail would be such an easy and fun read. Coming back to flying after 20 years this is the perfect reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this book again.

  • By A Customer from Leesburg FL USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to read. Lots of funny pictures. Hard to put the book down.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Easy and fun to read. Some subjects I didn't fully understand have been made clear. Thorough!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

HUGE help!!!

  • By Kristen from Frederick MD USA on Thursday, September 24, 2020
  • Pros: Much more interesting and easy to comprehend.
  • Cons: Some of his jokes are getting pretty old or are a little off-color for current generations. Would like to see those updated.
  • Review: This book has been so helpful and I wish I'd found it so much earlier in my training!
    If you have trouble digesting the cold, wordy FAA Pilot Handbook, this is such an easier read. I'm picking up things I just couldn't from the FAA book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Book......

  • By Pancham from Crofton MD USA on Thursday, August 07, 2008
  • Review: This is very good book. It has nice language. It has lots of Pictures. It has everything.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will use this and would buy it again.

  • By Kip from Bankston AL USA on Tuesday, May 18, 2010
  • Pros: Covers everything and should be used with the Workbook.
  • Cons: Not really a Con but the workbook is needed.
  • Review: This is excellent for a Private Pilot Student. And can get the job done for less cost than some other products.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

At last - technical explanations that make sense!

  • By Kathleen from Marietta NY USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: Understandable; great illustrations and charts; use of color helps keep me awake
  • Cons:
  • Review: Rod Machado uses illustrations and humor to demystify complexities. I learned more from Rod's pilot handbook than any other source I had used to date. Hard to grasp concepts were made understandable, and I had a laugh along the way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kim from Amarillo TX USA on Wednesday, July 16, 2008
  • Pros: Analogies, pics, graphs, humor and simplicity of his writing style are pros
  • Cons: The only con I have come across is the water/electric analogy. Seemed confusing as I know nothing about either, and intermingling the two confused me at times.
  • Review: Excellent teaching by Machado. He uses analogies that make learning even the most complicated material much easier. The pics and diagrams bring the literature to life. The authentic pilot stories he shares are very interesting and educational.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book!!

  • By Debbie from Medford OR USA on Monday, November 09, 2009
  • Review: Although each chapter is much longer than my class book, it has really helped to explain things where they make sense. With the visual pictures, etc. it helps to remember. I would highly recommend this book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Nancy, Stearman Driver from Spokane, WA on Saturday, June 02, 2007
  • Review: [This review refers to the first edition] I love this book - it is my second one because I loaned one to a friend and didn't want to be without it just prior to my BFR!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

This book should be mandatory reading for all student pilots

  • By Alan from hartwell GA USA on Monday, February 04, 2008
  • Pros: Good price and arrived on time.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review refers to the first edition] I became familiar with this book while a student years ago. The book I purchased was for a friend's son who has expressed some interest in learning to fly and wanted to make sure he had what I believe to be the "student handbook for flying". Service buying this book and getting it delivered was exceptional.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Impressive

  • By Ken Blumenthal from Valparaiso IN USA on Wednesday, July 30, 2008
  • Pros: Excellent, well written book with tons of information.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I was hesitant to order this book because some of the reviews I read about the author's attempt at humor. This new edition, however, is a treasure. It is full of useful information written in an easy to understand, not overly technical style. Rod Machado's experiences shine throughout the chapters and definitely make for an enjoyable approach to the many aspects of learning to fly. This book has really helped me in my studies as a student pilot and it is an invaluable reference. I highly recommend this book to any and all student pilots who are not only interested in passing the FAA test but who want to learn about airplanes and flying from a master teacher.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book for learning about flying

  • By David from Bellevue WA USA on Monday, August 09, 2010
  • Pros: Fun read while learning, lots of illustrations to aid in understanding
  • Cons:
  • Review: What I like about this book is the great delivery of information. It was easy to pick up on the topics because it felt like you had a dialog with Rod and his pictures and illustrations really help visualize the concepts. I recommend using the workbook to help quiz and check on what areas you need focus, and the workbook questions reference the textbook so you can review. Go to Rod's website to update sections with errata.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is a pilot must have

  • By A Customer from So Cal on Wednesday, April 06, 2011
  • Pros: Complete, with an index that makes it easy to find information.
  • Cons: Corny jokes
  • Review: I am a 141 chief instructor. Rod's book is terrific for new students and a useful reference resource once you have your rating. His instrument book is even better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well done.

  • By Greg martin from Shreveport LA USA on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to apply and understand.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book or the author is the best at explanations. Some learners like myself need to know the whys and hows in order to remember and apply aviation knowledge to our learning process.  This has been the best resource I had read (and I have read a few).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great test prep material

  • By gary from rancho palos verdes CA USA on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
  • Pros: cross reference
  • Cons: confusing with a few ambiguous terms
  • Review: A well organized and carefully scripted workbook to aid in prep for the knowledge test. Each question cross references to the book page, column, paragraph. Very helpful
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Recipient was extremely pleased with this gift.

  • By Suzanne from Albuquerque NM USA on Tuesday, January 13, 2009
  • Pros: Son thinks the author is very authoritative and interesting.
  • Cons: None of which I am aware.
  • Review: I bought this book as a Christmas gift for my son, who is taking flying lessons. He was thrilled with it, and his first comment was "this is THE guy!". Not knowing anything about flying, I can only report on his reaction - and he would kill me if I gave out his email address!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book

  • By Anthony from Leawood KS USA on Thursday, May 05, 2011
  • Review: Practical Examples and easy to comprehend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Jeppesen with Comic Relief

  • By Steve from Saint Petersburg FL USA on Tuesday, July 07, 2009
  • Pros: Funny and informative
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Rod Machado does a great job conveying the more complicated topics with simple humor. The anecdotes help to relate to the lessons. Perfect for someone with a shorter attention span.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book for Experienced and Beginners

  • By BigBrownPilot from Weatherford TX USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to understand and humorous.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I'm an ATP-rated pilot and I'm using the book to introduce my daughter to General Aviation. It's a great resource!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Art of Flying High - Safely

  • By Bob from Pasadena CA USA on Thursday, September 17, 2009
  • Pros: Informative material; the complex made simple.
  • Cons: none that come to mind
  • Review: A great read. A must for pilots, even old ones like me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Frank from Stewartsville NJ USA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Pros: Great book for research. Written for ease of understanding.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well written With embedded humor to keep it less dry.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.