TOP

Eyeglass Overcasters

  • 62 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Eyeglass Overcasters

24
14
11
3
10
Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great for eye glass wearers

  • By A Customer from Daytona Beach FL USA on Friday, October 09, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to store, does it job
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Easy to store and carry, does its job with no problem, and putting on is very easy during simulation time. "Smart" is the comment I heard when I whipped it out to show my version of foggles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works for me

  • By A Customer from Rapid City SD USA on Monday, November 23, 2015
  • Pros: Clips to my glasses like flip-up sunglasses.
  • Cons: A little flimsy, so I have put them in a case so they don't get crunched in my flight bag.
  • Review: I wear glasses and the foggles my instructor let me use were just too big and wouldn't stay up. This alternative worked and at a reasonable price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Seattle WA USA on Monday, August 10, 2020
  • Pros: Lightweight, easy to put on, switching from under hood is very pleasant
  • Cons: Bends a little bit and blocks upper peripheral when not on
  • Review: Absolutely perfect for my PPL. Loved these over traditional foggles. I wear glasses and it made life a lot easier. Also was great on sunglasses (obviously...)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Light - best ones that I've purchased

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, April 28, 2015
  • Pros: light weight, work with headset and your sunglasses!
  • Cons: they are somewhat fragile -so you have to be careful with them
  • Review: They are a little fragile but then the weight isn't too much for your nose either - these are the best IFR limiting glasses I've worn and I've tried the Jeppesen Foggles and the traditional hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best for anyone who has prescription glasses.

  • By A Customer from Pittsburgh PA USA on Monday, December 11, 2017
  • Review: I wish I had this when doing my instrument rating training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding replacement for the hood!

  • By stu from Escondido CA USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Light weight, effective, easy to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Absolutely a terrific training device. Light weight, easy to use and effective. Just slip them onto your sunglasses before takeoff, flip them up when visual and down when practicing on instruments. Love this prdouct!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Ashland, OR on Saturday, April 22, 2017
  • Pros: light, good for prescription glasses.
  • Cons: Can let in too much distracting light over the top, depending on aircraft heading
  • Review: If you need to wear glasses, this may be the best thing. I've found them effective, lightweight, and they've held up so far. The other devices I've tried have been too bulky or heavy over glasses. They do let in some light over the top, but a hat solves this problem. As for cheating?  I don't cheat--I'm trying to learn to be a good instrument pilot. Cheating is possible with many view-limiting devices, but it's not in my interest to do it. Besides, you can only sneak a glance out a side window, and that doesn't do you much good or help you keep the wings level.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Richland, WA on Friday, January 04, 2013
  • Review: Better then any other on-the-eyeglasses limiting device I have tried. They block-out more peripheral view and make the IFR practice a real sweat-fest (meaning a better, tougher workout).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Under the hood

  • By Kevin from Irwin PA USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros: light weight and quick to flip up no more fumbling with glasses
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Perfect and very easy to use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

IFR Checkride

  • By Richard from Gig Harbor WA USA on Monday, December 11, 2017
  • Review: Worked better with my progressive lens than any other foggles I tried.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for us glasss wearers

  • By Michael from Falls Church VA USA on Wednesday, February 21, 2018
  • Pros: They don't have the glare I got from frosted plastic flip dons
  • Cons: I will they included a protective case
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ivan from Los Angeles CA USA on Tuesday, May 09, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this to product to any instrument pilot

  • By Nyron from Pawtucket RI USA on Monday, December 11, 2017
  • Pros: Very helpful tool to switch from IFR to VFR after take off and before landing
  • Cons: I have no bad experience of it thus far
  • Review: It's a great tool to use while learning about instrument. I thought at first it would be difficult and hard to adjust to, but from the first time I clip it on my glasses I forgot I was wearing it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great product

  • By Danny from Novato CA USA on Wednesday, May 24, 2017
  • Review: Easy to use. Very lightweight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Mark from Sugar Land TX USA on Wednesday, March 28, 2018
  • Review: They fit my glasses just fine. I like the fact that I can flip them up on final instead of having to take the foggles off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

TOP CHOICE for simulated instrument flying

  • By Paul from Canyon Lake TX USA on Wednesday, April 18, 2012
  • Pros: Total attributes
  • Cons: store where they can't be crushed
  • Review: Easy to attach, just the right size, blocks just enough of your view to truly make you rely on the gauges. Light weight, easily stored. Flips up easily for a landing at minimums. The black plastic material is thin, so don't put something on top of them, in storage. But, they need to be thin to keep the weight down. I keep mine in my airplane glove box. So light, you don't notice the weight, when worn. I definitely recommend them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Second time I have purchased

  • By Vicki from Midland TX USA on Thursday, December 10, 2009
  • Pros: Light, quick on and off
  • Cons: Less coverage than older hoods, but adequate
  • Review: Easy, quick way to go "under the hood" for currency flights. Great for folks who wear glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Leave the hood home and use this

  • By Richard from DURAND MI USA on Tuesday, December 18, 2007
  • Pros: Great for people who wear glasses
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Light weight, easy to flip up out of the way during IFR practice when needed. This is much better than a hood when wearing a headset. I wear blended bifocal glasses and recommend anyone who does to try this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

better than best

  • By Jim from Catoosa OK USA on Monday, January 14, 2008
  • Pros: lightweight, perfect for hood work
  • Cons: none
  • Review: With 40 hours of hood time facing me for my instrument rating I was looking for something more comfortable than the old style hoods. This is it. It fits on my glasses, is a featherweight and perfectly limits the vision to the instrument panel. My flight instructor loves 'em and so do I. Can't recommend them high enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Buying a second one

  • By Rick Musson from Durand, MI on Monday, August 11, 2008
  • Pros: Light weight and easy to use
  • Cons: Care must be used to avoid damage to overcaster
  • Review: After trying other options while working on my instrument rating the overcasters were the best! (1) Light weight (2) Flip up tor safe taxi operation (3) Your instructor can deceide when he wants your vision restricted and you can just flip them up or down.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

the best for eyeglass wearers

  • By don from Long Island NY USA on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
  • Pros: light and easy
  • Cons:
  • Review: If you wear glasses, these are the best view limiting device, they clip on to most any glasses and don't make you look through another layer of plastic to see the panel. flip-up / flip-down convenience...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Work Great!

  • By Bruce from Howell MI USA on Tuesday, April 05, 2022
  • Review: Fit well, very light, occupies little space in my flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Seattle WA USA on Monday, August 10, 2020
  • Pros: Lightweight, easy to put on, switching from under hood is very pleasant
  • Cons: Bends a little bit and blocks upper peripheral when not on
  • Review: Absolutely perfect for my PPL. Loved these over traditional foggles. I wear glasses and it made life a lot easier. Also was great on sunglasses (obviously...)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Can’t complain.

  • By Dennis from Lake Tapps WA USA on Friday, January 18, 2019
  • Review: Superb!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.