TOP

Reviews for Rod Machado's Instrument Pilot's Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Light hearted seriousness

  • By Peter from Rindge NH USA on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to read and understand with anecdotal stories and illustrations
  • Cons: Soft cover would cost less
  • Review: Used Mr. Machado's book for my private license, this one much of the same style and very readable. With some repetition from the first book, this one continues on with the more advanced subject matter, again well presented. It makes a difficult subject somewhat more easily learned.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By John from Birmingham AL USA on Thursday, January 20, 2011
  • Review: I have never flown an airplane, but I love to try all sorts of problems flying Microsoft Simulations such as #10. I like to plot trips to VORs and Cities. I have a plan that requires me to have to land if I take off from anyplace. The new front panels have me stumped sometimes. How about a book that gives explanation of all panels in the most planes especially simulations such as Flight Simulator 10. I am 83 years old and have never been in a small plane. I can use GPS, also
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rod Machado's Instrument Pilot's Handbook

  • By Daniel from Marina CA USA on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to read, lots of pictures and graphs.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Covers everything you need for the instrument rating plus more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Primary knowledge tool

  • By Neil from Marietta GA USA on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Review: Great book and makes it easy to learn and retain the concepts. Written very well with some humor to keep it from being really dry. Keeps it fun.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Marina, CA on Saturday, August 30, 2014
  • Review: Excellent publication, with the typical Rad Machado humor. An easy ( lengthy read)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Corny and well-written

  • By Mark from Missoula MT USA on Friday, December 02, 2016
  • Review: Comprehensive, much easier to follow than the competition. Corny joke every other paragraph but breaks up the monotony. Learning IFR and have used Jeppesen. Cant say content is different but easier to learn for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent explanations w/examples and for referral

  • By Billy Carnley from Bentonville, AR on Saturday, June 07, 2014
  • Pros: Approach to explaining techniques, concepts, etc.
  • Cons: The "jokes" are a bit much at times and take away from what he's explaining.
  • Review: I have Rod VFR private pilot handbook and expected his IFR to be an excellent book too and it is. He explains IFR regulations, instruments, techniques, etc in a way where you understand what normally is dry and hard to understand technique or concept. His experience as a flight instructor definitely benefits his his approach writing aviation handbooks- he writes like he talking to you.

    I have the FAA IFR and other manuals and a part 141 "student kit" that describes IFR techniques and requirements but not always in a way that I understand. This is when I refer to Rod's IFR handbook to really understand the what other "drier" manuals attempt to explain.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

He makes you laugh when you feel like crying

  • By randall from Richland Center WI USA on Thursday, March 04, 2010
  • Pros: LOTS of pictures, diagrams, examples, and of course... HUMOR.
  • Cons: Maybe a little TOO much humor... and quite a few typos as well.
  • Review: As usual, Mr. Machado has artfully taken a very challenging curriculum and made it approachable. Though he does not skimp at all on rigor, he manages to get you to smile time after time, right when you are on the verge of giving up. I can see where the more "serious types" might find his writings to contain too much "fluff", but for those of us who enjoy laughter... even if we are laughing at ourselves as we work toward becoming better pilots, Rod Machado provides a spot of blue sky in the murky greyness of attaining new knowledge. Thank you so much Rod for seeing the value in humor, and the strength that comes with being able to laugh at yourself as you grow as a human being. Aristotle once said... "There can be no learning... without PAIN"... and though I agree with that statement... I see nothing wrong with a little laughter infused between intellectual beatings.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worthwhile book

  • By Jody from Sterling VA USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Review: He does make a lot of dumb jokes. But the book is very long and detailed. Without the jokes, I probably would have had a tougher time staying focused. Good read, good reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nobody Does It Like Rob

  • By Terry from Encinitas (San Diego) on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
  • Pros: Witty, remarkable, interesting, thorough, precise, understandable.
  • Cons: None, except it is HEAVY and hard to read in bed.
  • Review: Got Rob's book for my Private Test after slogging through the FAA manuals for 6 months. He makes difficult concepts easy. All I used to pass the Instrument Written was Rob's book and Gleim's kit with test book and test CD. The two combine to be at once interesting, informative, and practical. Rob's "real life" explanations make me feel like I'm talking to him. There are not many questions that I can think of that Rob does not answer perfectly, with great humor (that I believe reinforces the learning).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book

  • By A Customer from madison IN USA on Friday, September 25, 2009
  • Pros: Puts complex issues into an easy to understand format
  • Cons: A little too humorus at times.
  • Review: Love this book. I am currently studying/reviewing for the checkride. Rod's book really lays it out in an understandable way. Wish I had it when I was studying for the written.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

2 for 2

  • By Jim from Arlington VA USA on Thursday, August 18, 2011
  • Pros: Explains topics in a way that is easily understood.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I first purchased Ron's Private Pilot Handbook, which was fantastic. Having earned my certificate, I've started reading Ron's Instrument Pilot's Handbook and find it equally enlightening. I recommend both books.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michal from Bratislava Slovakia Slovakia on Thursday, August 30, 2012
  • Review: Good information, helps to improve the skills.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

GREAT book!

  • By Thomas from Hiram GA USA on Saturday, December 08, 2012
  • Review: From the time I took the book out of the box I was impressed. Paper stock was heavy. There are "hundreds" of figures in this volumne. The artwork was well done and very detailed. Text is up-to-date with reference to T routes. Well worth the price. Would recommend to any instrument student or instrument rated pilot who wants to brush up on the details.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's big and expensive but worth it.

  • By John from Rancho Palos Verdes CA USA on Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Pros: Very Complete
  • Cons: Not on Kindle but it wouldn't work well there, too many graphics.
  • Review: It's a little on the expensive side but might be the best book instrument flying I've seen. It's up to date and covers the basics as well as new stuff like GPS approaches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very indepth book on the insturment rating

  • By Dennis Falcon Driver from Riverside IL USA on Thursday, July 04, 2013
  • Pros: Excellant
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Takes alot of time to assimulate all the information.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

learning with out trying

  • By Thomas from Loudon TN USA on Monday, July 08, 2013
  • Review: Better than I thought it would be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent - provides all of the essential information in a clear form

  • By Wayne from Exeter NH USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2019
  • Pros: Information is well explained - book format allows time to study / review material
  • Cons: None
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

  • By Kenneth Stec from Indian Head Park IL USA on Friday, January 18, 2008
  • Review: Great way to learn! Informative and lively writing style makes the subject matter jump off the page.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Phil from Greensboro NC USA on Monday, January 21, 2008
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book

  • By A Customer from CA USA on Friday, June 13, 2008
  • Review: Fantastic book for IFR review
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Every instrument pilot needs this!

  • By Laurie from Waukesha WI USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2007
  • Pros: Breaks down complicated information in an easily understandable format.
  • Cons: Couldn't really come up with any!
  • Review: Rod's sense of humor and easy-to-understand explanations of the technical aspects of instrument flying make this a MUST have for instrument students, as well as seasoned pilots. The color graphics and vignettes add to the overall quality of the layout and content. If you can't work with Rod himself, this is definitely the next best thing!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

everything you thought you knew about IFR is in this book

  • By Bill from Gladstone NJ USA on Wednesday, December 05, 2007
  • Pros: Well Written---great graphics
  • Cons:
  • Review: Far exceeded expectations.
    Graphics are great---the explanations of why things are done they way they are in IFR flying provides a depth knowledge beyond the mechanics.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

A Clear and Concise Guide to Flying in the Clouds

  • By Tom Gilmore, MCFI from Stuart, FL on Wednesday, September 26, 2007
  • Pros: A must have for a new instrument pilot or one considering the training.
  • Cons: So big it will hog ten spaces on your bookshelf!
  • Review: Rod has outdone himself on this book! The graphics and simple explanation of many complex instrument flying tasks are worth the cost of this publication alone!
    This book will serve the instrument pilot community with a great addition to their aviation library. I loved the layout and presentation of vital information in a fun and factual format. As a welcome addition, all of the latest technology is described in an easy to assimilate style for the reader.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Resource

  • By Wally from Fayetteville GA USA on Friday, April 25, 2008
  • Pros: Great style and humor
  • Cons: Voluminous
  • Review: This is a great resource book for both the new IFR pilot and the experienced pilot. It answers all the questions that might surface during any IFR checkride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

More Than a Paper Weight

  • By Carl from Galt CA USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2008
  • Pros: Exceptional graphics and explanations
  • Cons: The book is heavy and should have been made in two volumes
  • Review: Excellent details and tips, though you may need a bucket to gag in because of his gags. I needed a new book with more on GPS and changes in the system. I chose his book as review prior to taking up instructing after a long hiatus and forgetting more than I knew.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I like Rod's personal writing format

  • By William Allan Chambers from Palm Coast FL USA on Sunday, March 09, 2008
  • Pros: Authoritative , illustration Rich
  • Cons: Too many short interuptions for humor (although funny sometimes its just slightly too much).
  • Review: Rod Machado's style of writing leads to instant understanding of some complex subject matter. No doubt his years of experience teaching students in the intricacies of various aviation subjects.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Best IFR Book for Me

  • By A Customer from Santa Clara CA USA on Monday, February 04, 2008
  • Review: Rod does it again, Very similar to style in his private pilot book. I'm in middle of training and this is by far the most useful book i've purchased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very thorough

  • By Mike In AZ from Peoria, AZ on Thursday, February 14, 2008
  • Pros: Comprehensive
  • Cons: Lots of typos. Cover printing started to separate from paper backing
  • Review: The depth of material and how Rod is able to illustrate a concept really helps it to flow very well. It still took me two months to read it cover to cover. Although, I'll need to re-read it again so it soaks in some more. It was great knowledge to know past PTS. We should all be more proficient pilots and not just accept the minimums right? ;)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pound For Pound - Good Value

  • By Rayson from Hebron IN USA on Monday, September 15, 2008
  • Review: A very well written book. However it should come with a small trolley on which to move it around. It could be re-marketed as a strength developing aid. Herin lies the trickery of Mr. Machado for when one is exhausted from carrying this tome one is tempted to set it down and flip through the pages. That is when ones interest is peaked and, flyer or not, one becomes enthralled. A good book that acheives its aim.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Claudio from Burbank CA on Tuesday, May 13, 2008
  • Review: One of the best aviation related texts I have ever read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book at a great price

  • By Darbar from Crestwood KY USA on Thursday, May 15, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Rod's trademark sense of humor can be a bit dry
  • Review: There are a few typos but the information is exact.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.