TOP

Reviews for Rod Machado's Instrument Pilot's Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great book but silly comedy overload

  • By Luis from Nashua NH USA on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
  • Pros: Well Written Illustration
  • Cons: Overuse of comedy
  • Review: Great written book jam packed with information that is easy to digest. Rod explains difficult concepts well. Lots of illustration to make the points. However, he is overly comedic and sometimes gets in the way of the great content. I am fine with humor, just dont overuse it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Informative, yet extremely corny"

  • By Bill from Folsom, CA, USA on Monday, November 29, 2010
  • Pros: First book read on instrument flying. Very informative.
  • Cons: Ron Machado's jokes would NEVER make it on the BIG stage.
  • Review: Ron's book is my introduction to instrument flying. It contains a wealth of information for the beginning reader on instrument training. I learned (and am still learning) a great deal from it. It will go along way in helping to reach my instrument rating. However, the constant bombardment of corny, B-rated jokes actually distracted me in my reading of the book. While some (about 5%) of the jokes made me chuckle, most of them were really, really NOT funny (except maybe to Ron himself). On my second reading, I am lining out all the unnecessary "humor" so that I can skip over it and concentrate on my training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good stuff

  • By Peter from Williamstown VT USA on Tuesday, February 17, 2009
  • Pros: Good quick reference without online baloney.
  • Cons: None I can think of.
  • Review: Does the job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Book.

  • By James from Fulton MD USA on Thursday, March 19, 2009
  • Pros: Entertaining
  • Cons: Expensive
  • Review: It is one of the only training books that keeps me from falling asleep.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Material Coverage, Too many bad jokes

  • By Christopher from Grayslake IL USA on Tuesday, March 24, 2009
  • Pros: Very good at getting info across in a pragmatic manner.
  • Cons: Too many bad jokes - lots of fluff
  • Review: Great book at getting the info to you. A lot of pictures that identify runway details, approach equipment, radio antenna etc. The book could probably be a 2/3 of it's current length if there weren't SO MANY bad jokes. It is overkill.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Classic Rod Machado

  • By A Customer from Arizona on Wednesday, December 12, 2007
  • Pros: Very clear explanations of instrument topics.
  • Cons: Rod's humor can be a bit trite at times, but it's worth enduring for the rest of the content.
  • Review: In his typical style, Rod Machado tackles all the intricacies of instrument flight. I haven't yet found an aviation author who explains things more clearly. More comprehensive than his previous "IP's Survival Manual".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Well written

  • By Jayant from San Jose CA USA on Tuesday, March 04, 2008
  • Pros: pictures and good explanation
  • Cons: humor sidetracks issues sometimes but can keep things moving
  • Review: Anyone starting with IR would benifit from reading this book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Packed with good info and insights

  • By Joe from Glendora CA USA on Monday, December 17, 2007
  • Review: Overall a great book. My biggest criticism is that there were/are a number of errors that seemed to be more related to inadequate proofreading rather than mistakes in facts by the author.
    Rod Machado is very good at illustrating concepts and this book is no exception.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.