TOP

ASA VFR Kneeboard

  • 124 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA VFR Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

SIMPLE AND PERFECT

  • By Joe from New York NY USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: As a low time student pilot, I did not want to invest in a tri-fold kneeboard. I am just looking for something inexpensive to hold my checklist, map and ATIS sheets. This board fits the bill. No bells and whistles. It is exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does exactly what it's meant to do

  • By Paul from Collinsville IL USA on Monday, May 23, 2016
  • Pros: Comfortable and light
  • Cons: Strap is a little short, would have liked a plastic buckle.
  • Review: I bought it to hold documents to a hard surface, strapped to my leg. This board does exactly that, and has a handy reference sheet on the face of it.

    The strap can be switched to move the pen holder, which was handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My first kneeboard

  • By Gary from Venice FL USA on Friday, February 05, 2016
  • Pros: Good basic info for the student and experienced alike
  • Cons: Can't think of any
  • Review: East to attach. Practical size.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and useful

  • By A Customer from Mount Juliet TN USA on Friday, October 10, 2014
  • Pros: Simple and small. Doesn't interfere with cockpit controls or movement of legs.
  • Cons:
  • Review: For the cost its a great and simple tool to have. I'm a student pilot and having this thing makes a wold of difference in writing down notes form ATC, ATIS, whatever. Its handy in keeping airport diagrams, small charts, and checklists right at your lap. After my first lesson it was very clear I needed something to write on and keep papers from falling/blowing around the cockpit and keep a pen near by, now its priceless. Also has handy info printed on it.

    Once I start cross-country I imagine i'd want something that folds open for charts but for learning maneuvers and flying in and out of class C airspace its perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good for beginners

  • By David from Banning CA USA on Wednesday, March 09, 2016
  • Review: As a new person into flying, this product did its job getting me started but now that I have been flying for awhile, I need to upgrade to the kneeboard with the pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I recommend it to other flyers

  • By A Customer from Alexandria VA USA on Monday, January 25, 2016
  • Pros: Stays tight on your thigh and you can use on either leg.
  • Cons: could use morte places to hold pencils, pens, etc. If you drop one, you would have another
  • Review: I had no kneeboard before, so this one greatly satisfied my need to keep charts and papers organized and ready for use.
    All the data on the base board, common use info, morse code phonetic alphabet, radio frequencies, etc are very helpful. NOTE: this is from a report from my 17 yr old grandson who is getting ready to get his license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, but effective.

  • By Harve from Colleyville TX USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Light. Compact. Strong.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This product does everything I need a kneeboard to do, yet is light and compact. It did slip around a bit until I glued two strips of the soft part of velcro tape on the reverse side. Works great now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Perry from Saint Louis MO USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: straight-forward, handy, easy to use, well-made
  • Cons: nothing
  • Review: This is a great product! I bought it to have something to use when I write down ATIS data, and other ATC instructions. It works well, attaches easily, and remains in place. A plus, is all the data found on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as intended

  • By John from Cleveland OH USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Well constructed and works as you'd expect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By tom from Kingman AZ USA on Tuesday, May 23, 2017
  • Review: Good product, easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy again

  • By Mark from Clifton Park NY USA on Wednesday, December 09, 2015
  • Review: Perfect product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, July 07, 2016
  • Review: Nothing beats the classic. Durable and high quality, too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfect

  • By A Customer from Glendale AZ USA on Tuesday, July 19, 2016
  • Pros: It works as stated
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: Met expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Sean from Lehigh Acres FL USA on Saturday, April 20, 2019
  • Pros: Compatible with my large size. Rugged
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: When this arrived, it was bent. I used the online DM for mypilotstore and after a 5 minute conversation and some email pics they sent me another one.
    It arrived in perfect condition. I am a big guy, 6'4" and 305lbs. The strap fits my fat thigh fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By A Customer from Newport News VA USA on Wednesday, April 25, 2018
  • Pros: It has a large amount of info needed for VFR flight. The info is well organized on the clipboard, easy to read.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great item at a great price. Has a lot of useful info on it for anyone flying VFR.I would recommend this to anyone needing a kneeboard for flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just What I Needed

  • By Caitlin from New York, NY USA on Saturday, October 12, 2013
  • Pros: Light, easy to put in bag
  • Cons: Cold on skin
  • Review: Light weight, easy to fit in my flight bag. It fits nicely around my leg, I didn't realize there was a pen holder and haven't tried that yet. The con for me, wearing this with a skirt it can be cold against my skin at first, but warms up after a bit. It stays perfectly in place for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great item for fisheen

  • By Larry from Devils Lake ND USA on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
  • Review: Love it. I use it to hold my trolling motor remote control in place on my leg so I have both hands available to fish.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good design

  • By Morris from Moss Point MS USA on Thursday, January 09, 2014
  • Pros: added features
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This was a good quality purchase
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's just what I need

  • By William from Kings Mountain NC USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Review: Little but big enough to do what you need to do I like it perfect for training
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Cumming, GA on Monday, June 30, 2014
  • Review: This vfr kneeboard is great. light weight metal and easy to read. I have large thighs and the elastic strap fits me fine. the spring on the clipboard holds well and is not hard to lift. excellent for a training school kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Midland TX USA on Wednesday, July 26, 2017
  • Review: Bought this for my student pilot daughter. She had been using a small notebook in which she used paper clips to separate info, but now she loves this item. Watch it closely to keep the into presented upon it current.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good simple tool

  • By A Customer from Fallbrook CA USA on Wednesday, May 18, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, thin and strong binder clip.
  • Cons: No pen holder, but I've never had one that works well anyway
  • Review: This kneeboard was exactly what I wanted, a good, simple no-frills product. It is thin, sits flat against the thigh and is held securely by the strap. The spring clip is strong enough to actually hold things in place. The info listed on the board is useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product!!!

  • By Sheldon from Cincinnati OH USA on Monday, May 09, 2011
  • Pros: Inexpensive, durable, long lasting
  • Cons: maybe a better pen/pencil holder could be desired
  • Review: This is a great Kneeboard! I've had the same one for almost five years, with thousands of hours of use. I purchased these to sell in my flight school because they are very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A MUST piece of equipment

  • By A Customer from Birmingham AL USA on Monday, February 28, 2011
  • Pros: Lightweight yet large enough to provide an ample writing area
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a piece of equipment that every pilot should have. You never have to worry about where your pen or pencil is and everything falling to the floor.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great board!!!

  • By A Customer from Doral FL USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: Sturdy little board..not bulky but not petit
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: Well you see I bought the board for my cross country routes and I needed a surface to write and to hang on my papers for fuel flow control etc... Also, I bouhgt the board because it had the light signals in case of a radio failure........

    On my last route day I had a radio failure and needed to land using the light signas which of course due to stress I forgot!! But then remembered the board had them and used them to follow instructions from the tower.......THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for student pilots

  • By andrew from hackensack NJ USA on Thursday, October 07, 2010
  • Pros: light weight, good strong clip, doesn't take up a lot of room.
  • Cons: no fancy pockets for e6b or charts
  • Review: Student pilot - Kneeboard works great. meets all my expectation and gets the job done without cluttering up the cockpit. Currently holds my TAC and Sectional and scrap paper while I fly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Matt from Fall City WA USA on Thursday, January 27, 2011
  • Pros: Good value
  • Cons: None
  • Review: What I wanted in a kneeboard was: something sturdy that will stay put on my leg, take abuse well and still look good, hold my sectional map and flight plan, and be reasonably priced. This board does all of that, and is great bang for the buck. I am pleased with the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Small, light, and does the job

  • By Paul from Loma Linda CA USA on Tuesday, May 26, 2009
  • Pros: Inexpensive, small, light
  • Cons:
  • Review: The aluminum kneeboard has adjustable velcro straps, to fit almost any size leg. It has pertinent VFR information printed on its face. The clip is big enough to hold a fairly decent size pad, or a few nav logs and a pen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What you see is what you get, economical aluminum clip board.

  • By Keith from Katy TX USA on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
  • Pros: Light weight, stays in place in use. Economical.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Easy to carry and does what it should do. Will hold a couple of sectionals and notes. Pen loop could be a little bigger but it works with narrow pen or pencil size.   Quality looks fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Meets Expectations

  • By Morgan from Lincoln NE USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Kneeboard!

  • By Chris from Van Nuys CA USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Pros: Compact compared to the fold-out size
  • Cons: Wish there were a pen/pencil holder on the kneeboard itself, not the strap
  • Review: Keeps charts, notepad, etc carefully put, without slipping off my lap. Great info on the kneeboard itself, too. Perfect size, not too big, not too small. I highly recommend it to any pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

New to Flying...

  • By Sean P. A. Williams from Humble TX USA on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
  • Pros: stylish!
  • Cons: None...
  • Review: I am new to flying and I have no review for this product...maybe in the future!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Still happy with the purchase, even after 5 years

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, June 23, 2020
  • Pros: Sturdy
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It does what is supposed to do: keep your check list and sectional attached to your lap. It is sturdy and the elastic band is still working the same as first day. I've had it for 5 years now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ideal for both newcomers and senior pilots

  • By rufino from Utuado, PR USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to secure / attach any paperwork, for the flight, i.e. flight log, map, etc.
  • Cons: May need to relocate the velcro in the strap, if you're an skinny guide.
  • Review: Made of very light material but strong at the same time, and an appropriate size which do not becomes an interference in the cockpit.  A very affordable price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful tool

  • By michal from santa fe NM USA on Wednesday, April 13, 2011
  • Pros: Good size,has some useful basic information printed on.I am strarting my XC flight training and it is very helpful.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Met all my expectations and needs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By John from Canandaigua NY USA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just the right size not to bulky
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product agan

  • By Larry Jones from Ogden UT USA on Saturday, December 04, 2010
  • Pros: gives a good stable writing surface and keeps a pencil handy.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This prduct is as I expected too be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and Useful

  • By Brian from Stanford CA USA on Sunday, December 26, 2010
  • Review: It works great... just as expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By A Customer from Atlanta GA USA on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
  • Review: Cheap and effective. The only con is the pencil hole which then again isn't very bad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By A Customer from Gainesville Florida USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Review: Great product for students
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the application

  • By KIP from LONGVIEW TX USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Pros: safer while driving and taking notes or instructions
  • Cons: there really aren't any
  • Review: I am not a pilot but do a lot of traveling around. I do about 90% of my business on my cell phone which is linked up with my blue tooth hands free on my chevy truck. I am left handed so jotting notes has been a real problem. The kneeboard is perfect for my business and application. I highly recommend this product for any similar applications
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrew from Hackensack, NJ on Saturday, September 04, 2010
  • Review: Great VFR kneeboard. Worth every penny.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

does exactly what I wanted

  • By Mike from Paso Robles CA USA on Monday, February 21, 2011
  • Review: Actually wanted to have something "quick" to attach (and hold firmly) an IPAD if I don't have my RAM IPAD yoke mount along with me.......and this works well in that capacity.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Travis from Placerville, CA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Review: I use this on a day to day basis. Sits where it's supposed to, isn't too bulky, but isn't too small to write on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By A Customer from Nevada on Thursday, October 22, 2009
  • Pros: Simple and complete
  • Cons: none
  • Review: For a simple kneeboard this is great. It is small, stays on your leg with adjustable velcro, has a pencil holder, and all the important basics for VFR navigation on the board itself. Plus, the clip opens wide enough for your flight plans/log, a sectional, and a notepad, plus more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I AM GLAD I DIDN'T WAIT FOR SANTA TO ARRIVE WITH THIS!!

  • By Airman Bob from Irvine CA USA on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: The information etched on the knee-board is very helpful
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: This product was exactly what I needed and met my expectations, as I find the configuration perfect for my flying needs. The elastic band fits snug around my knee. I did not need to make any adjustments. I considered purchasing a knee-board with a wider writing area, but as a student pilot this serves my needs at this juncture.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works well

  • By Benson from West Richland WA USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
  • Pros: Works well for my needs
  • Cons:
  • Review: I use it to hold my check list and flight information sheets. It beats sticking them in the pocket by the door or up on top of the dash. It keeps them handy and easy to find. It is quite inexpensive for the convenience it provides.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not used for aviation.

  • By James from Bastrop TX USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Solid platform, very good leg strap.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Wife uses for school bus driving to make notes on names, times, addresses, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good, useful info imbedded to aluminum board

  • By George B from Neptune NJ USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Review: Does what it's supposed to. Probably will not hold all of the sheets a pilot would have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Clarkesville GA USA on Friday, February 02, 2018
  • Review: Great price, quick shipping. It seems to be quite sturdy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By A Customer from El Cajon CA USA on Saturday, October 12, 2019
  • Review: Just what I needed
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Nogales, AZ on Friday, November 30, 2018
  • Review: Strong & cool, great price & worthy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By A Customer from Bremerton WA USA on Monday, October 08, 2018
  • Pros: Really helps to keep information at your fingertips
  • Cons:
  • Review: It worked exactly as needed
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Robert and his Stinson from Sun City AZ on Monday, August 10, 2020
  • Pros: My profile is simple VFR in severe clear conditions. I like the durability of metal, I like what's printed on it for ready reference, and I like the size.
  • Cons: I removed the leg strap because I like to set set the kneeboard aside during take off, landing, and turbulence. Like most planes I fly with a yoke it interferes with "controls free and correct". This is not a compliant as it is a fact of life and I insist on full control freedom especially during take off and landing.
  • Review: This kneeboard meets all my requirements, which are few.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good

  • By Joel from Albuquerque NM USA on Wednesday, October 08, 2008
  • Review: Met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

More than I expected...

  • By JC Finch from Sturgis, Michigan on Friday, April 13, 2007
  • Pros: Fits on leg well.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Excellent references printed on the aluminum backboard which are clean and easy to view. Clipboard spring is strong and easy to operate during flight. Velcro holds kneeboard well. This product is a great value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excelent Product

  • By Richard Schwartz from Mc Henry MD USA on Wednesday, November 07, 2007
  • Pros: Durable, well-priced
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just right for a small cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellant product

  • By from Stafford, VA on Wednesday, August 29, 2007
  • Pros: As stated above, the kneeboard fills al my requirements for storage and a surface to write upon.
  • Cons: The only con is that I didn't get it before now!!
  • Review: The kneeboard is perfect for my needs. I use it every time I get into my airplane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent item for pilots

  • By Gwen J from Lawrenceville GA USA on Thursday, February 07, 2008
  • Pros: Compact and effecient
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this item for my son, who is taking private lessons and he said he didn't know how he went without it so long! It really helps him with his notes in such a confined area.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I like it

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Saturday, April 19, 2008
  • Pros: Works like expected
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Works well. Really not much can change on this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from gloucester MA USA on Sunday, August 17, 2008
  • Pros: solid construction,
  • Cons: strap is really bad
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Practical kneeboard that does the job

  • By Frank from Plano TX USA on Monday, January 26, 2009
  • Pros: Sturdy, right size, comfortable to wear
  • Cons: None for an economical kneeboard
  • Review: The ASA kneeboard is sturdy and about the right size with a comfortable leg strap with Velcro closure. It's large enough to hold a folded Sectional and a flight log. It also has notes on VFR cruising altitudes, weather minimums, light gun signals, common VHF comm frequencies, special equipment suffixes and an FAA Flight Plan diagram. Student pilots should find this helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good kneeboard

  • By Mark from Milwaukee WI USA on Sunday, October 26, 2008
  • Pros: Not too big or small, wide velcro strap
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It's about the right size. Doesn't interfere with the stick. The velcro strap is wide enough to keep it in place comfortably without it sliding around. Printing on the board is clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Great" Kneeboard!

  • By Terry from Winter Haven FL USA on Wednesday, May 13, 2009
  • Review: Strong clip, Wide strap, Super information, photo engraved on the board, Economically priced!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

light in weight

  • By Vivian from Pflugerville texas USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: durable and light
  • Review: Lightweight.  All VFR information in the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect for the price

  • By Rebecca from Durham NC USA on Monday, May 04, 2009
  • Review: Simple, inexpensive kneeboard, perfect for new pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.