TOP

Reviews for The Cockpit Navy G-1 Antique Lamb Leather Jacket (Dark Brown)

Sort By:
Filter By:

Outstanding jacket. Kick the tires and light the fires.

  • By Stinger from San Diego, Ca. on Sunday, March 11, 2012
  • Pros: The sound, smell and heft is great. Brings back fond memories.
  • Cons: Zipper is stiff but solid. A little paraffin wax on it, be good to go.
  • Review: I have been in NAV/AIR for over 30 years as a sheet-metal mech. USN (RET.) 22 years of that time. I have worked on F-14 Tomcats, A-7 Corsairs and F/A-18 Hornets. I am 6' 4" and weight 220lbs. I purchased this item in XXL size and it fits me perfectly. I have always wanted one of these jackets. I would like to see an image of Navel Aviation on the inside of the jacket instead of Army Air Force. Nothing against the Army, however this is a Navel aviators G1 jacket. I like the side hand warmer pockets too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

After an exhaustive search, this jacket is a home run!

  • By Tony from Hockessin DE USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Soft leather, great fur collar, Very cool lining. A great looking jacket.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This Bomber jacket is a classic. The quality of the material and workmanship are incredible. Love everything about it. Also want to give high praise to My Pilot Store. This jacket runs really true to size, and unfortunately, I ordered and extra large which was way too big and long in the torso (I am a 42 Regular), so I had to return it and get the large. MPS, was very understanding, made the exchange with no problem. Definitely will purchase from them again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

The best of The best

  • By christian from long island ny on Thursday, October 15, 2015
  • Pros: warm , attractive and historic accurate
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I am very excited about this Bomber jacket - I have actually flown in a WW2  T6 thanks to the folks at history flight - there are other companies that sell faux leather bombers - you get what you pay for - so why not get the best - very please and delighted by all of the reviews - This is a jacket that will last many many years - could not be happier - no fake materials
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This jacket jacked is better than the original!

  • By Dale from Lawton OK USA on Tuesday, January 20, 2015
  • Pros: Fit... Lined sleeves... Fur collar... Heavy duty... THE LOOK!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Having been a crew member in United States Marine Corps in Vietnam in 1969, I was issued a check original Navy flight jacket. This jacket is far superior to that one. I'd buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I Would buy this again!

  • By Laural from Brookfield, IL USA on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
  • Pros: Very Warm - Well Made - Heavy - It's made in the USA
  • Cons: Cost (But worth it!) - A bit stiff but after wearing it softens.
  • Review: I purchased this jacket for my husband as a Christmas gift. It fit perfect, and IS very warm. - With the cold weather we've been having, it has kept him very warm. - I know it's more than I wanted to pay, but after seeing his reactions IT'S worth every penny!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best jacket I have ever had

  • By Chris from Naperville IL USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Warm, well made, sturdy and fits well
  • Cons: None that I have been able to find
  • Review: This was a Xmas present from my wife, and I love it. It is well made and fits like a glove. I have gotten many compliments on the looks and the apparent quality. I live in the Chicago area and have worn it every day since Xmas. The jacket is wind and weather proof and the collar nice and warm, no scarf needed. I also like the side pockets (even though this is not original navy issue) to keep my hands warm. I would recommend to anyone looking for quality. The sizing chart works well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Great fit-this is how to-

  • By Wade heli pilot from Lake Charles Louisiana on Monday, January 09, 2012
  • Pros: Heavy jacket , soft , very warm , heavy duty zipper , warm collar
  • Cons: Guard it well- and hope no one steals it- you will see
  • Review: This is Wade I bought one, but I had them email me a size chart to take measurements and call or email the company. Neck 17", sleeve 33", chest 44", waist 39, back 21- so they told me I needed Extra Large and wow what a fit. My pilot store has their info- just ask-
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By J.R. from Portland OR USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: soft plush leather
  • Cons: very warm in the cold weather
  • Review: It was everything you fella's said it would be , it's taking on new wrinkles every time I wear it . Which is pretty much everywhere. It makes the true meaning of what a leather jacket should wear, feel and smell like it makes a very distinctive sound that only leather on leather can make and I really dig that .The pleats the way it is taking on a patina that is truly antique, I have often thought of purchasing another and still vey well might here in the future. Thanks again for your quick response to changing my order from large to medium I'm real happy fellas!!!  So being a former marine, Not a pilot, this coat has become one with me I have found the jacket that expresses my personality and i feel that it breaks in right, when you truly appreciate what quality of craftsmanship that went in "TO MY JACKET" when I wear it it's like were dancin. THANKS AGAIN I WILL KEEP SPREADING THE WORD JUDSON RUSSELL HOLDEN III
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Old marine finally found what he has been looking for

  • By Floridajim from Tampa, fl on Saturday, March 08, 2014
  • Pros: Great look, fit, captured historic character, excellent quality, great leather, heavy..made for the cold.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Exceeded expectations. Great cut, character, quality. There are jackets out there for less and I am sure more, but this one is just great. To be totally honest, but it was my fault. I had to send back first jacket and get one size larger, but I should have consulted the sizing guide. My bad. As far as I am concerned no bad features. It took me years find a replacement jacket but very happy I found it. It wil be an heirloom, but not too soon I hope.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely worth the cost.

  • By tom from Pleasant Ridge MI USA on Monday, October 20, 2014
  • Pros: Will last a life time.
  • Cons: Leather is really stiff. It will take a while to break it in, but that's half the fun.
  • Review: Top quality, beautifully finished and constructed for heavy duty wearing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I hoped for!

  • By Dave N from Loveland CO USA on Monday, April 01, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Sleeves a bit longer than I'd like but not a problem.
  • Review: I had a G-1 given to me when I was in HS 40 some yrs ago. I always loved the look and feel of the leather and the fit also. That one is long in the past but I always wanted another. It's heavy but supposed to be. It's very warm and wind proof. The history behind it makes it even more special. I'm very happy I purchased it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

One great jacket!

  • By Wayne from Maurertown VA USA on Saturday, January 16, 2016
  • Pros: Quality, fit, warmth.
  • Cons: Heavy, but minor complaint
  • Review: My Navy G-1 is exactly what I hoped it would be and then some. I followed the sizing instructions, and they were spot-on. I'm 6'1", 255 lbs and ordered the XXL. The belly is very slightly snug, but still very comfortable fully dress underneath. Length and shoulders are perfect. The arm length is perfect for me and I appreciate the expanded back to allow easy forward arm movement. I've only worn it to about 32 degrees or so, but it has been utterly warm so far. The fit and finish are excellent, the leather is oh-so-soft and the color is perfect. It is a little on the heavy side, but I think that's the small price for the added warmth (my A-1 is light, but good only for fall and spring). This was the most expensive jacket I've ever bought, and was also the most expensive of all the G-1's I looked at. However, the difference is relatively small when viewed as a lifetime investment. Totally satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Tuesday, November 01, 2016
  • Review: I absolutely love it. I am 6'2" and weigh 225, I suppose I'd say I'm athletic and have long arms and a long torso, so I ordered the XL Long/Tall, I wanted a little extra room, for me I love the fit of the long, the leather is nice and thick and smells great.  This jacket will probably last me until I'm 100, I cant wait to put it to the test!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfection

  • By Marcia from Ashton MD USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Pros: Fit, quality, style
  • Cons:
  • Review: I purchased this jacket for my husband and he LOVES it. I went with one size larger and it fits great. The quality is excellent and the style is very authentic. I highly recommend this jacket if you want a true Pilot's Jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jerry from Edinburg TX USA on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
  • Pros: Heavy and warm...fits great and looks great
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great jacket....Almost like my original Navy flight jacket, only heavier and better all around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

I would strongly reccomend this jacket to anyone.

  • By Angel I. from Kln, Germany on Wednesday, March 09, 2011
  • Review: This Navy G1 Jacket is exactly what I was looking for: high quality, good looking, very well made and it fits perfect on my body and when I'm wearing it I look much younger.I love this jacket! It's impossible to find such a beautiful, high quality jacket and GOOD PRICE in Europa.
    I am really happy that I have bought the jacket from your store. The shipping with USPS Global Express was also very good and fast.
    Excelent service!
    You are great Brandon, thank you from all my heart. I'm going to wear this jacket with great pleasure and I would strongly reccomend it to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Richmond VA USA on Monday, March 14, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent craftmanship. Almost too good. Has a good heavy weight.
  • Cons: The fur collar color is too red. a brown would be better. The inner breast pockets could be a little larger.
  • Review: This is great jacket. Very similar to the real Navy flight jacket in the 60's. I like the side pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love this jacket! Really brings back memories.

  • By Michael from El Cajon CA USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Pros: Overall, of the highest quality. As good in quality and design wise better than military issue.
  • Cons: 2X runs small, I am 6'-2", 52 inch chest and 3X fits perfect.
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations. Side pockets are great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Jacket. Worth every dollar.

  • By A Customer from Roslyn Heights NY USA on Tuesday, February 15, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The jacket is better than I imagined. Very warm in the New York cold. Order one size larger than you normally use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By George from La Mesa CA USA on Monday, January 14, 2013
  • Pros: Perfect lookingJacket. Gets a lot of good comments all the time.
  • Cons: Leather too fragil.
  • Review: Met all expectations
    I loved everything about it but don't like the fact that the zipper gets caught on the opper side of the lapel and is running the leather in that aeria.
    Also in my openion the leather should be a little tougher.It scratches ad chafes too easaly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

'Bone warmer 4 Sure"

  • By Daniel from Bristow IN USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
  • Review: More than I ever dreamed of so warm and no wind on these bones.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

This G-1 Antique Lamb Leather Jacket Tops Them All.

  • By Joel from San Diego, CA on Wednesday, June 22, 2016
  • Pros: Very well maade, and the leather apears to be as strong as an Army Airborne Ranger.
  • Cons: I have no cons, only good comments.
  • Review: In my 22 years of being in the Army Airborne, I had seen a few leather jackets that I thought were really nice. I had always wanted one but just never been able to get one. The picture in the catalog really makes it look great, but the true justice was served when It arrived and I opened the box. I am so proud of my G-1 Leather Jacket that I can't wait for the weather to turn cold so I can wear it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from The Valley BWI Anguilla on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
  • Review: High quality, perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Jacket

  • By Lisa from Portland OR USA on Tuesday, May 30, 2017
  • Pros: Perfect Nostalgia products
  • Cons: I can't think of any
  • Review: I have always wanted one of these Jackets and I can't wait to wear it this next winter! The company was so awesome to purchase from and I highly recommend them! I know I will be ordering from them in the future too!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A beautiful and quality piece of clothing.

  • By Clay from West Bountiful UT USA on Monday, May 16, 2016
  • Pros: Look good in any setting.
  • Cons: The sleeves do fit snug. If your heavy through the arms, your usual size will fit tight.
  • Review: All of 'My Pilot Store' jackets are great pieces of clothing,but this particular jacket is exceptional. It is very attractive and very heavy duty. High quality in every respect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Heavy Weight

  • By wtcrjk from Atlanta, GA on Wednesday, April 05, 2017
  • Pros: Warm well made excellent jacket lifetime wear
  • Cons: HEAVY at 8 lbs
  • Review: I give it a 5 all they way.
    First day out was sub zero temp. Could not tell, other than my legs! Super WARM
    However, the heavy weight was not expected. A full 8 lbs.
    Twice the weight of my flight jacket from Nam. I wore the leather out in places and wanted a replacement.
    This one will do but only in the winter. Summer thru Fall and some of winter is what is HOT-LANTA, GA
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is great

  • By Joseph A. from Staten Island NY USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Very well insulated
  • Cons: ?
  • Review: It is a warm, comfortable jacket
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

woold buy this again

  • By Peter Sturzenegger from Miami FL USA on Monday, February 04, 2013
  • Pros: excellent measure table, you can rely and trust ( i didn't and so i had to make it twice)
  • Cons:
  • Review: It did exceed my expectation, wonderful product, design and finishing.  Price wise you can't make it in this quality.  Will use it for my oldtimer rallies
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is just what I was looking for.

  • By Eddie from Charlottesville VA USA on Monday, March 12, 2012
  • Pros: It is exactly what I was looking for.
  • Cons:
  • Review: It is the best leather jacket that I have seen anywhere. The best thing is it is made in the USA!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mitchell from Phila PA USA on Thursday, March 13, 2014
  • Review: This jacket is beautiful and warm.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Chicago IL USA on Tuesday, February 01, 2011
  • Pros: The jacket was very well-made.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I purchased the Cockpit Navy G-1 jacket for my best friend. He just loved it and said it kept him very warm. His friends loved the jacket too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazingly Wonderful!!!!!!

  • By Patricia from Corpus Christi TX USA on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent workmanship,Excellent quality of leather
  • Cons: Side pocket opening to far aft
  • Review: This jacket MORE than met our expectations!! There isn't anything my husband really didn't like....except he thinks the opening of the side pockets are too far back toward the side seam (aft) He has to make a concuss effort to find the pocket opening. The zipper wants to rub and catch on the strip of leather behind the zipper,unless you realize you have to hold the zipper out for it not to do it. These two things are something he will get use to the more he wears it...which he loves to do.The jacket is heavy.  My husband says the only time he realizes HOW HEAVY is when he picks it up to put it on.....but wearing it he does not notice it. He is 6'2" and 225 lbs and the XL fit perfect!  It comes below the waist and the sleeves are long enough that when he reaches for something it doesn't ride up his arm...this is a wonderful thing because he does have long arms. Over all it is an amazing jacket and HE LOVES IT!!! It is a little darker leather than I had thought it would be but it is Beautiful. I think my husband walks with Pride when he wears it.He Loved the map inside!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

American Made Functional Beauty

  • By Chris from New Paltz NY USA on Sunday, January 23, 2011
  • Pros: Style, quality, comfort - U.S. MADE
  • Cons: Collar doesn't fold down flat on neck but might break in.
  • Review: This shows how good American-made can be - worth every penny for the quality of design, materials and construction. Those who shell out less on cheap imitations are missing the point. A practical classic that never goes out of style. It looks and feels great and is SO warm. My dad had an original and this really fits the bill! The hand warmer pockets are an excellent update for the non-military version. The real wool Mutton collar is the best! Top notch all the way. Glad you still offer this gem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Husband loves the jacket

  • By Beverly from Marlboro NJ USA on Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • Review: We were skeptical about buying the jacket on line. We are very happy with it. My husband weighs 170 and is 5 ft 10 and got the large. He was very happy and is showing it off to all his friends.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic bomber jacket

  • By Martha from Grand Rapids MI USA on Tuesday, January 02, 2018
  • Pros: worth every dollar I spent
  • Cons:
  • Review: Gorgeous leather, the color is lovely (brown), fits perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

money well spent.....

  • By Ludwig Czyzewski from Fairbanks, Alaska on Friday, October 19, 2018
  • Pros: styling and extremely well made and put together.
  • Cons: sleeves a little too long.
  • Review: A very high quality set-up. Would buy another if I needed one. Also, really liked the jackets lining. Ideal for Alaskan wear, nice and heavy.....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I couldn't be happier

  • By Forrest from Walnut Creek CA USA on Wednesday, December 07, 2016
  • Review: Incredibly solid construction. Took it with me on a recent European tour. Temps never above 0-4 degrees, and I was never lacking for warmth.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cockpit Navy G-1 Antique Lamb Leather Jacket

  • By Gregory from St Louis Park MN USA on Wednesday, April 12, 2017
  • Review: Enough said. I loved it so much, I BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE !!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highest quallty garment I ever bought!

  • By Steve from Carroll IA USA on Monday, March 13, 2017
  • Pros: It will last a last a lifetime and I will it with pride
  • Cons: Very warm. Thats a pro when cold but definitely not a spring coat.
  • Review: Fit and finish are of highest quality. It's fit was as if I had tried it on prior to purchase!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love my jacket

  • By robert white from Spartanburg SC USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: Heavy duty comfortable jacket
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I saved my Navy Squadren patches from my days in Fighter Squadren 213.  I bought this jacket to put them on and just love how it turned out!!! Chicks really dig it!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket

  • By Joseph Valotta from Collingswood NJ USA on Thursday, February 28, 2019
  • Review: I had all my patches from the Navy placed on the jacket .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rusty from Lafayette LA USA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: not sure about fur collar
  • Review: Love it. perfect fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, June 01, 2018
  • Review: Wanted this jacket, but waited for a sale. I am 6' and 200lbs. and the XL fits great. Wonderful heavy jacket with beautiful fine leather and quality fur collar.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

One sharp looking jacket

  • By Dave from Pickerington OH USA on Wednesday, April 03, 2019
  • Pros: Keeps you warm in cold windy day!
  • Cons: small hole inside left front pocket
  • Review: Great jacket, good looking. The fact you can remove the collar makes it great when weather is warmer. Remove collar and continue wearing..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jim Heilgeist from issaquah WA USA on Thursday, December 09, 2010
  • Pros: Just what I was looking for.
  • Cons: Subject to damage due to the softness off the lamb skin.
  • Review: I love the jacket.  It fits great, and looks even better. I do find the operation of the zipper to be a little less then smooth. If you are not careful it tends to hang up on the inside leather flap. Some zipper marks are evident. The freedom of movement due to the design is noticeable. I did get a slight tear in the surface of the leather on the RT arm as it was nicked by something sharp. Any suggestions for repair?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Got what I paid for..."Go big or go home"

  • By A Customer from Riverside CA USA on Sunday, December 26, 2010
  • Pros: Everything is a "GO"
  • Cons: Nothing negative can be said. It is so nice to be able to order a product online and he 100% happy. I spent alot of money on this jacket and I got my money's worth. They delivered.
  • Review: This jacket more than met my expectations and I did alot of reaearch before ordering. It was my husbands big Christmas gift and he was so happy with the jacket. Originally the sheepskin collar came defective but mypilotstore.com was happy to replace it and did so in record time at no additional cost to me. These guys are true professionals. They stand behind their products.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Randy from Oshkosh, WI on Friday, February 09, 2007
  • Pros: Style
  • Cons:
  • Review: I was hesitant to buy an expensive leather coat over the internet from a company I had no experience with. Happily, the coat was even better than I had hoped. The map inside it was an unexpected surprise. I am very pleased and thus far it is wearing quite well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By sandor from lafayette CA USA on Saturday, May 19, 2012
  • Review: I have been looking for a bomber jacket for years,but none of the many I have tried were completely what I dreamed about.  Then I decided to look for it on the internet. I am completely satisfied, extremely happy with the delivery, promptness and above all the very fine quality of the product, so he a week later I ordered one of the other jackets. It is made in the blessed. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Sandor Hites
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

THIS JACKET IS THE REAL DEAL

  • By A Customer from Gurley AL USA on Thursday, September 24, 2020
  • Pros: It is a very heavy jacket, but that is because of the high quality materials used to make it.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Folks,
    I wear a size 47 long sport coat, and I wear a size 18-inch neck 36-inch sleeve dress shirt. I am 6'2" tall and I weight 215 lbs., and this jacket fits perfectly( XL Tall). It is an extremely high quality jacket that is WELL worth the money. Yes, I know it is expensive, but I have found that you normally get what you pay for. I was on a destroyer from 1967 to 1970, out of Norfolk, VA, and while I was enlisted then, I recall the officers, and E-7's and above all wore jackets similar to this one. It is simply outstanding in its workmanship.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Erittäin hyvä takki (very good coat)

  • By Heikki Keränen from Vantaa Uusimaa Finland on Tuesday, January 08, 2019
  • Pros: Kiitän kaikesta. (Thank you for everything)
  • Cons: --
  • Review: Materiaali ja takin malli erittäin hyvä.
    (Material and jacket model very good.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again without a second thought.

  • By Nick from Twin Lakes CO USA on Wednesday, October 21, 2009
  • Pros: Wears well and looks good.
  • Cons: It is a bit pricey but well worth it.
  • Review: It more than met my expectations. Its quality and attention to detail is far above the Chinese reproductions. When wearing it in town, you know that people notice you are wearing a quality leather jacket. It catches the eye and demands attention.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Beech Mountain NC USA on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Review: Beautiful jacket. I bought it for my husband for Christmas and he loves it.  Very well made, very happy with the purchase, thank you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Jacket, comfortable

  • By The Wood Man from Ashton Il. on Thursday, October 08, 2009
  • Pros: Comfortable, and great looking jacket,
  • Cons: No big deal but could live without the picture of a map on the inside liner.
  • Review: Today when I left home it was 46 degrees out. It warmed up to 57 later in the day. And I've got to tell you this jacket was the best. I've been riding in Northern Ill. for 32 years. And have had a few leather jackets. And for a cool weather riding,this one was the best. Very comfortable for my all day ride. Even was great to wear when off the bike. Looking forward now to keep on riding into November. Being in Northern Illinois a lot of our riding is in not so good weather. Its good to know that I have a good weather gear to wear, and this jacket is on the front line of my gear. Great jacket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jimmy Kay from Jefferson City MO USA on Tuesday, February 03, 2009
  • Review: My Husband loves his new jacket and wears is ALL the time!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent jacket

  • By David from N Huntingdon PA USA on Monday, March 23, 2009
  • Pros: Overall quality of the jacket and excellent customer service.
  • Cons: elastic hoop connectors around buttons for the sherling collar.
  • Review: Great jacket, just what I was looking for. Unable to find anywhere near this quality in retail stores. The original size I ordered was a little too tight so I exchanged it and received excellent customer service. The sherling collar is very warm and soft and is removable. The one and only con is that the collar is attached with elastic hoops which go around buttons and at least one or two hoops seem to always need to be reattached around the button when putting the jacket back on. Definitely recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Wow, you look great honey!" "I KNOW!"

  • By Donna from Lake Arrowhead,CA on Thursday, January 14, 2010
  • Pros: Great fit, quality, and worth the money! Added plus, made is USA
  • Cons: Alot of women are flirting with him!!!!!
  • Review: Just purchased this jacket for my boyfriend. He is a motor officer for the CHP and always looks impeccable in his uniform. I was concerned that this jacket might not meet his standards. It exceeded his expectations! He loves the fit, warmth, and the softness of the leather. He is not one to show "excitement" over material things. However, his smile said it all! I for one think the jacket is absolutely beautiful and it looks great on my honey!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well worth the money

  • By Kevin from Norwalk CT USA on Friday, January 29, 2010
  • Pros: stylish and durable
  • Cons: none
  • Review: You can tell by the smell of the Jacket its authentic lambskin leather my brother described it as "butter leather". It's the warmest winter jacket I have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this product to my friends. It is wonderful.

  • By A Customer from Pueblo CO USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2010
  • Pros: Well made and high quality. And best of all made in the USA!
  • Cons: The only con and it is not a big one I wanted the Map and I got the other linning and was told it was the luck of the draw, It seems like you should get exactly what you want at that price.
  • Review: The jacket met all of my expectations and then some. It is well made and the materials are excellent. Keep up the good work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Best jacket ever!

  • By A Customer from Kennesaw, Georgia on Thursday, December 30, 2010
  • Pros: Excellent fit, warm, high quality.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: I received this as a Christmas present from my gorgeous wife. Slipping the jacket on for the first time felt so natural - like the jacket was made just for me. The fit and proportion were perfect. It's incredibly warm in cold weather and simply looks ruggedly handsome. I couldn't have received a better present.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best leather jacket I've ever seen or owned.

  • By John from Sammamish WA USA on Tuesday, November 02, 2010
  • Pros: Quality, construction, fit, style, appearance.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I love everything about this jacket. Instead of just being old, fat and out-of-shape, I can make believe I'm a U.S. Navy pilot!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, February 22, 2019
  • Review: The Cockpit Navy G1 Jacket is what I have been looking for. I am 6'2 with 240 lbs and XXL was perfect fit. One small item that I needed to take care of, the seam in the left side pocket came loose and need to be stitched up. Small matter. This jacket is great on cold winter day!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Adam from Toledo OH USA on Friday, November 16, 2018
  • Review: Love it!
    Highest quality imaginable!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I just bought my second jacket

  • By Joe from Staten Island NY USA on Wednesday, February 22, 2017
  • Pros: Very warm
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought my first jacket 4 years ago. The only reason for buying another is that I picked up a tear in the leather from a very sharp object. Although the jacket is heavy in weight, it is heavy in warmth. I live in the New York area and wear it all winter long no matter how low the temperature.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Stiff but gorgeous

  • By jacques from Reseda CA USA on Monday, April 13, 2020
  • Pros: Gorgeous, worth every cent
  • Cons: Stiff and pricey
  • Review: It's hard for me to put it on and take it off because it's stiff and I have no left-side function, but it's worth the effort.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent leather jacket.

  • By Clay from Walling TN USA on Thursday, January 28, 2016
  • Review: Very well made leather jacket. The removable fur collar is exactly what I wanted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Jim from Issaquah Wa. on Friday, October 22, 2010
  • Pros: Color and fit just right.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It is exactly what I wanted and hoped it would be. Perfect fit!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loved it!

  • By A Customer from Southampton PA USA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: My only other preference would be goat skin leather
  • Review: This Navy G-1 jacket was exactly what I was looking for to replace my original jacket. It has all the original features.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Katrina from College Station TX on Wednesday, December 31, 2008
  • Review: Gorgeous jacket. I got this for my sig other and my only concern was it having "The Cockpit" logo on the chest of the jacket. But I was plesantly suprised when I recieved the jacket and the patch was not sewn on but instead loose in a pocket for optional attachment. The inside map is a beautiful addition. I was very hesitant to order a $400 jacket, but this was WELL worth it and looks like it'll last forever. He never takes it off!!! Thanks!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Quality Leather Jacket

  • By Richard from Churchville PA USA on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Pros: quality of construction and materials
  • Cons: a little pricey but worth it
  • Review: I am very pleased with this purchase. I wear a 42 long and this large size fits me perfectly. Great quality leather and materials. It is well worth the extra money over the Chinese copies sold in most retail stores. The removable collar is now held in place with heavy snaps . . . so it has been improved with the latest design.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Just Like What I Used To Wear

  • By John a Retired Marine Fighter Pilot from Newport Beach, CA on Thursday, July 10, 2008
  • Pros: As Indicated
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Both my father and I wore one of these jackets for many years. The only reason I even considered looking at the G-1 remake is that our 40's version finally wore out. This is an incredible replacement with updates that really improve the design and function. 5 Stars for a great product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Lisa from charleston WV on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Pros: very warm, love the pockets too
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a wonderful jacket! I love it and would reccomend it to anyone. It's great for flying, or to wear for warmth. My dear husband gave this jacket to me and I love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, December 17, 2015
  • Review: My Son love's the jacket runs a little big but great quality & very well made.
    Thank you so much.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best of The best

  • By christian from ridge ny on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Pros: super warm and comefort
  • Cons: nonr
  • Review: I searched days to find the right jacket as I do fly for money and even ones that are more expensive than this is the real deal shop no one where else well worth over 1500.00 just have to break it in - should last 10 years at least.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Absolutely beautiful

  • By Scott from Willows, CA on Friday, April 17, 2009
  • Pros: Leather, fit
  • Cons: Cuffs
  • Review: This jacket was exactly what I had hoped for when ordering...and it got to me lightning-fast! The leather is so soft and supple it seems as if I've been wearing it for years. I bought it as a motorcycle jacket and am thrilled at how the jacket "moves" with me and doesn't pull and tug when my arms are outstretched. My only complaint, if you could call it that, is that the cuffs are not as tight around my wrist as I would like. I plan to have some wide elastic sewn into them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.